We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highfield House Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (3)
Overview
119 Highfield Lane Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
3 Star accommodation
Reviews (630)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveller rating
139
249
154
45
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
139
249
154
45
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast was excellent buffet style self service trouser press three star plenty of parking free wifi car park full english ironing board hotel guests twin room a bit tired cooked breakfast an overnight stay high street only stayed one night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 613 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Ideal location and well worth the money. Spent 2 nights there and found it comfortable, clean and friendly. We will return there again in the future. We didn't have a meal there though. Sainsbury's just nearby (breakfast) and the main shopping area. Plenty of parking...More

Thank spy777
Response from PaulU372, General Manager at Highfield House HotelResponded yesterday

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your genuine, kind review. The team and I are delighted that you found the hotel to be comfortable, clean and friendly. It's always pleasing to see when our efforts are noticed by our guests and is an encouragement to continue...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a two night stay for self and partner as I had a hospital appointment in Southampton. Two stars because the staff were as helpful as they could be and the bed linen was clean, but otherwise this place is awful. Where to begin? The...More

Thank 13_DBLE
Response from PaulU372, General Manager at Highfield House HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion on your recent stay. I'm sorry that we failed to live up to your expectations. Our name derives from the history of the building, as this was in fact a house that belonged to a passenger of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a quiet, clean room on the third floor, but no elevator. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet (included in price) had many choices and a machine that made specialty coffees. The location was good with an easy bus ride to the...More

Thank Victoria_BCTravelbug
Response from PaulU372, General Manager at Highfield House HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your detailed review, I'm delighted you had a good stay and found the team friendly and helpful. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best thing about this hotel is its location in the up and coming Southampton suburb of Portswood surrounded by pubs, bars and a huge Sainsburys almost over the road. It's situated between Avenue and Highfield Campuses and ideal for stopovers delivering and visiting students....More

Thank SouthLondonClare
Response from PaulU372, General Manager at Highfield House HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thanks for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. I'm surprised at your feedback regarding our breakfast offering as this is normally highly praised by our guests, rest assured, I'll be sharing your feedback with the team in effort to improve. We have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A Hotel which surely needs a good refurbishment although if you are not a fussy traveler it might not make a difference. The beds/mattresses were extremely uncomfortable and given that we live in a word of ipads, laptops and smart phones having only one double...More

Thank PeterB4434
Response from PaulU372, General Manager at Highfield House HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience. I was delighted to read of your satisfaction with the team, we strive to deliver the highest levels of service at all times, therefore, it's pleasing to see you experienced this. We do have exciting plans,...More

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
71
Price range
US$74 - US$167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Highfield Hotel Southampton
Location
United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
71
Price range
US$74 - US$167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Highfield Hotel Southampton
Location
United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Photos
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 nearby hotels
Elizabeth House Hotel
439 reviews
1.28 km away
Travelodge Southampton
386 reviews
1.28 km away
The Blue Keys
546 reviews
1.99 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
1,562 reviews
2.02 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 950 nearby restaurants
Kohinoor of Kerala
1,620 reviews
.28 km away
Ceno
602 reviews
.01 km away
Pho Vietnam
256 reviews
.29 km away
Kate's Cafe Lounge
112 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 285 nearby attractions
Nuffield Southampton Theatres
206 reviews
.82 km away
The Brook
201 reviews
.81 km away
Riverside Park
191 reviews
1.19 km away
University of Southampton
49 reviews
.86 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lazylamb
5 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from m0dam | Reviewed this property |
I don’t believe they offer parking for the duration of a cruise. The car park is a standard size for a smallish hotel. However, we didn’t ask the question so maybe contact them directly.
1
Vote
BillyT9999
7 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PaulU372 | Property representative |
Hi there, the hotel does not have a Bar or Evening Restaurant. A selection of bottled drinks may be purchased from reception and there is a neighbouring restaurant and bar. The hotel does have a Breakfast room. Hope this... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Request a room on the low floor if stairs are an issue."
Victoria_BCTravelbug
2 weeks ago
Read review
"Maybe avoid a room overlooking the car park on week days."
traveller9147
20 Aug 2018
Read review
"Suggest you ask specifically for one that meets your needs."
christinag40
20 Aug 2018
Read review
"the rooms at the back are quieter & cooler (north facing)"
mumsarebest
26 Jul 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing