We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
Winchester Road, Southampton England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Official Site
US$109
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/21
Booking.comUS$108
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (452)
Dining (64)
Room & Suite (12)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Updated 11/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#20 of 30 hotels in Southampton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa is one of the finest ----four-star hotels in Southampton. Set in acres of beautiful countryside, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to Southampton airport, Eastleigh, Portsmouth and the M3, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. And if you are setting sail at the nearby port, then we're an ideal stopover destination before your exciting holiday begins. When the business or adventure of the day is done, unwind in our swimming pool or gym or thrash it out on our tennis or squash courts.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Squash
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Polish
2879Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 781
  • 935
  • 653
  • 313
  • 197
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
travelchic67 wrote a review Yesterday
Littlehampton, United Kingdom65 contributions14 helpful votes
The actual hotel and my room very nice. Plenty of hot water and the room was a great temperature. However the rest of the hotel was cold. Last night was so noisy. People who were not staying chatting to guests who were at 1 am in the corridor outside my room. Shocking behaviour. Where this hotel is let down is the restaurant it’s a joke and quite frankly a disgrace. I’m here now having breakfast. Staff just not trained to do this job. They are all young and don’t have a clue. They could not find me when I arrived for breakfast on their system. She was actually looking under the name Alan!! I’m a female and clearly don’t look like an Alan. She picked up a menu and walked off, no please can you follow me or this way please. She sat me at a table that had been used but not cleared up. I noticed after she had gone and moved. She then proceeded to show a couple to that table and I said it’s not been cleaned since the last person so I have moved. She told the couple I can’t sit you here and then walked off. The table was not cleared 10 minutes later and another couple were seated there. Covid safe I think not. I ordered the yogurt and muesli when she brought it she said here is your fruit salad I informed her I didn’t order one she informed me they had no yogurt and brought the fruit instead. Really they could not come out and tell me that so I could choose something else myself. I don’t blame the young staff I blame management these staff are not trained how to work or talk to customer the correct way. It’s cringe worthy to watch and listen to them. Last night a young waiter brought a prawn cocktail out to a gentleman and said here is your dessert the customer laughed and said I’ve not had my starter yet it’s laughable that the staff have no idea what they are serving. The toast is awful hard and cold. A waitress wondering around with breakfast items going from table to table as don’t know who’s they actually are for. Just heard a waitress tell another customer they have run out of brown bread. This is a 4 star hotel! The food at dinner is passable and some actually quite nice but it does not feel freshly cook. All in all an ok stay but would I stay again not if I have to eat in that restaurant such a weird but at times laughable experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Hemant Vijan, General Manager at MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa
Responded yesterday
Thank you travelchic67 for reviewing your stay at the Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa. We apologise for any disturbance caused by other travelers at the hotel. We were sorry to read that your experience of Winchester Restaurant was not as expected and you did not experience our usual high standards of service. I also apologise as we do have some new staff who have joined us recently and are in the process of being trained. We hope to have the opportunity to host you if your travelling in the area again. Regards Duty Manager Botley Park
Read more
David M wrote a review 16 Oct
1 contribution
For a 60th birthday present I was given a one night stay with two sod treatments. Having read the reviews I was a little unsure on what to expect. However from the moment we arrived to when we left we had a brilliant time. The spa was fantastic with a special mention to Emily who welcomed us to Catherine and Leanne who performed our back and facials treatments . The best treatments I have ever received. We had a three course evening meal followed by a breakfast in the morning which were both exceptional and a special mention for Suzie who looked after us for breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff helpful and polite. We will definitely be returning as we were made to feel special.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from DM Botley Park , Guest Services / Front Office at MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa
Responded today
Dear davidmF3744KI We thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, were delighted to see that you scored the hotel 5/5/ and had a brilliant stay. Thank you also for your comments and special mentions for our Spa & Food & Beverage Team members, they will be pleased to read that your stay was so memorable and you would be happy to stay with us again. Travel Safe
Read more
Julie H wrote a review 14 Oct
1 contribution
We stayed for one night at the end of September. Paul on Reception was very professional and welcoming. Amy in the restaurant was attentive and Harry in the Sports Bar is a star. We wouldn’t hesitate in recommending this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Every room we’ve had has been a good room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from DM Botley Park , Guest Services / Front Office at MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you D5133BHjulieh for your 5* Review. We are so please to read that you had a great stay with us and our staff looked after you during your stay. Thank you for your recommendation, we hope to see you on your next visit.
Read more
Sandra C wrote a review 14 Oct
Chichester, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
What a great time my friend and I had. I had a facial with Leanne. She was amazing it was my first facial but it won’t be my last. I also had a manicure done by Libby. She did a great job. We finished off our stay with afternoon tea. What a fantastic way to finish a fantastic stay. The food was excellent, thank you to Emily, Suzie and all the staff for making our stay perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from DM Botley Park , Guest Services / Front Office at MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear sandrac164 Thank you for taking the time to review your Spa Break at the Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa. We are most pleased to read that you had a great time away with your friend and enjoyed the Spa Treatments taken with the Spa Team. We shall pass on your feedback to the whole Botley Park Team. Regards
Read more
Geoff Pride wrote a review 13 Oct
2 contributions
I have been staying at Botley for about 3 years now on almost a weekly basis ( pandemic allowing). Why - because i have clients in Southampton and Winchester but more importantly because the rooms are spacious and clean, the food is good and i like to work out in the gym. However, the main reason i choose to stay at Botley is due to the wonderful team there. As a regular they make me feel important and go out of their way to ensure a good stay. Suzie on the breakfast team is a perfect example of someone who is a brilliant host with a lovely warm manner and engaging smile. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from DM Botley Park , Guest Services / Front Office at MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Mr Pride Thank you for sharing a review of your stays at the Macdonald Botley Park, we were delighted to receive it. Our Botley Park Team work hard every day to ensure guests stays at the hotel are relaxing and enjoyable and although when having to travel for work can be challenging we are pleased to read that your find us like a home from home. I'll be pleased to pass on your comments to Suzie and we look forward to welcoming you soon. Regards Botley Park Duty Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald botley park hotel, golf & country club hotel botley, macdonald botley park hotel, golf and country club, macdonald botley park hotel country
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Sneaky Dog Escapes (7.9 km), Go Ape Southampton (4.6 km), and Partyman World of Play (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paddle And Peel (it’s A Pizza Thing), Alexanda's Restaurant & Bespoke Deli, and The Roll Call.
Are there opportunities to exercise at MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bishop's Waltham Palace (5.1 km), Bursledon Windmill (4.6 km), and The Central Parks (7.6 km).