We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart Hotel

Share
Traveller (309)
Room & Suite (121)
Dining (23)
Overview
55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Fitness centre
3 Star accommodation
Reviews (1,061)
Filter reviews
1,053 results
Traveller rating
90
276
232
191
264
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
90
276
232
191
264
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel leisure facilities sauna and steam room sloping floors full english breakfast beams tudor downs
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,053 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was okay. Service slow, hope things improve. The place looked a bit tired carpets and chairs neded a bit of a clean, frankly quite disappointed at the time; went else where for a drink. I expect things have improved since I was there nine...More

Thank Scenic564968
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Booked 8 rooms but rooms tired and dirty. We had mouldy bathrooms. Dirty sheets, frayed towels and slopping beds. Breakfast was no better as they served old cut up grapefruit with mould. It is such a shame as location is good...More

2  Thank Maylenedavis
Response from GAC380, Manager at The White Hart HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the constructive review regarding the hotel. We have checked the room this morning as nothing was reported to reception on check out. And we did find a small piece of mould on the bath sealant. So to say the whole bathroom was...More

Reviewed 5 October 2018

I don't like doing a negative review particularly as it is affecting someone's job or livelihood, however when money is being taken and poor (very) facilities being offered potential travellers should be aware. The White Hart has a special history as on old established place...More

2  Thank M80KMB
Response from GAC380, Manager at The White Hart HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the constructive review about the hotel. As you have stated the hotel does have a lot of history and is over 600 years old. With the view from room 10 it is not the best as another building is attached to the...More

Reviewed 3 October 2018

Great expierence in a realy old type hotel. Positioned in the old centre of Lewes, close to all city's specials. The equipment of rooms is a little worn out, but it gives that special charm. Stuff is realy polite and the breakfast and the breakfast...More

Thank janezn2014
Response from GAC380, General Manager at The White Hart HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely review regarding the hotel and staff. We are still under refurbishment at re moment and still continuing rooms and hallways. Hope to see you return soon Jonathan Cleaver General manager

Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

The white hart has a prime location and our double room was a good size, the room was clean & had lots of little extas the only problems were the tv needed the channels installing which only took us a few minutes & we couldn't...More

Thank Kath W
Response from GAC380, General Manager at The White Hart HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review regarding the hotel and staff. Sorry to see the tv issue retuned. We have now found the issue that keeps causing this. As the TVs system keeps resting itself for some unknown reason. Not sure about the WiFi since the...More

View more reviews
About
Description
The White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th-century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful More historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free Internet
Spa
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Sauna
Beachfront
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
51
Price range
US$69 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
White Hart Lewes
Location
United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
51
Price range
US$69 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
White Hart Lewes
Location
United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Photos
Traveller (309)
Room & Suite (121)
Dining (23)
Pool & Beach (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
296 reviews
.33 km away
The Shelleys
438 reviews
.45 km away
Newmarket Inn
284 reviews
3.77 km away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
989 reviews
8.92 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 126 nearby restaurants
Erawan Thai Bistro and Takeaway
182 reviews
.14 km away
The Rights of Man Pub Lewes Sussex.
307 reviews
.06 km away
Limetree Kitchen
332 reviews
.12 km away
Cote Brasserie - Lewes
182 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 62 nearby attractions
Southover Grange Gardens
215 reviews
.34 km away
Lewes Castle & Barbican House Museum
489 reviews
.14 km away
Anne of Cleves House
347 reviews
.60 km away
Cliffe High Street
104 reviews
.44 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
hel140
28 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Magrithea | Reviewed this property |
There is a bar, open to the public, which keeps normal licencing hours
0
Votes
Cuan M
27 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Magrithea | Reviewed this property |
There is a Campari, accessed by a narrow entrance and it fills up quite quickly.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"AVOID THE ANNEXE - main hotel old fashioned but a bit charming."
mrsfdavies
4 Sep 2018
Read review
"Some of the rooms at the back have views of the South Downs"
jpvacances
20 Aug 2018
Read review
"This hotel is in a great location, but needs major refurbishment. If it were to be modernised, it would be..."
MATT1881
7 Aug 2018
Read review
"Parking is through a very narrow alleyway adjoining the hotel......there are more spaces further downhill..."
catrunner
4 Aug 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing