We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Courtlands Hotel

Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (34)
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (3)
19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE England See on map
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Multilingual Staff
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly More grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style
On the Beach
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Hotel Style
On the Beach
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
Price range
US$64 - US$265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Courtlands Hotel Brighton
United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 nearby hotels
Langfords Hotel
544 reviews
.37 km away
665 reviews
.47 km away
Best Western Princes Marine Hotel
861 reviews
1.06 km away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
2,130 reviews
1.08 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,318 nearby restaurants
186 reviews
.22 km away
Bake Out
22 reviews
.17 km away
212 reviews
.18 km away
Latinoamerica Argentine Grill
380 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 474 nearby attractions
Cameron Contemporary Art Gallery
18 reviews
.24 km away
Xpress Beauty
11 reviews
.44 km away
Natural Balance Therapies
216 reviews
.07 km away
126 reviews
.26 km away
Reviews & more
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 69
  • 139
  • 119
  • 78
  • 87
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
When we looked out the window we were horrified please see pictures. Very upset with customer service asked for a refund or reduction were told NO said its 152.00 because it sat night! And it was a take it or leave it attitude left us with no option but to stay no apology. Window
Read more
Response from SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel
Responded 1 Oct 2018
Naturally we were very sorry to read this review. Clearly your stay did not hit all the right notes but with no proper details of your room etc we are left with the hope of reaching out to you through the good offices of TripAdvisor We should however make it clear that hotels operate in a transparent and competitive marketplace where pricing is highly dynamic and sensitive to fluctuation in demand. It is also fair to say we know of no hotel in the City which provides "free" parking with most tariffs much higher than the amount to which you refer
Read more
When you first arrive at the hotel it looks dated and tired from the outside, the inside is the same. The room was reasonably clean but again needs a makeover.

Speaking to the staff everything seems to be an extra. They charge you £10.00 per night to park your car in the car par
Read more
Response from SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel
Responded 29 Aug 2018
We were disheartened to read this somewhat down at heel review but surely it is for a prospective guest to decide what may or may not represent value for money? To be clear hotels operate in a highly transparent and competitive marketplace where pricing is truly dynamic and sensitive to fluctuations in demand In Brighton, with parking at such a premium we know of no other hotel which does not charge, with our tariff - for guests choosing to book through an online travel agent - one of the lowest. At no point would it have stated parking was inclusive
Read more
My first room was had a horrible looking carpet, a terrible mattress and a bare light bulb hanging from the undecorated ceiling. I was offered two alternatives but was moved from the one I chose. The FOURTH one, which I had, was clean and newly decorated.
BUT the main point is
Read more
Response from SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2018
We were disheartened by this review; it would appear that the reception team bent over backwards to find you the right room which you have been kind enough to highlight. Positively, the hotel is the subject on ongoing investment and we are proud of the Courtlands long heritage and commanding position along The Drive
Read more
I had yet another lovely stay at this hotel. This time with my Mum and young son.
I find it is the perfect location and has a lovely quirky feel to it. The room we stayed in was lovely. Lots of original Victorian features.
I very much look forward to my next visit.
Read more
Response from SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2018
Thank you for this delightful review. So pleased for you and your family and having you as loyal and lovely guests
Read more
We stayed for a couple of nights at this older style hotel in Hove on a spur of the moment short stay in Brighton. The reception area was welcoming, whilst the young reception staff were polite, friendly and responsive to our needs. Free parking is available around the back of th
Read more
Response from SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel
Responded 29 Jul 2018
We appreciate your visiting us from Colchester and for leaving this review. Your thought feedback is similarly welcomed and hopefully your plans will allow you to stay with us again before too long. Meanwhile, renewed thanks
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
lits jumeaux
The single room
Photo provided by managementThe Courtlands Hotel
View from The Drive
Photo provided by managementThe Courtlands Hotel
Comfy chair to chill on.
Is it true that the owners' father is Nicholas Van Hoogstraten the notorious 'UK's worst landlord' who went to prison for murdering a tenant or something? Maybe I'll be next on his hit list for writing this! An extremely wealthy and powerful man - terrifying - my dad's a copper so am not overly worried.
Yes you are quite correct and it just about sums up what this hotel is all about ... my review says it all!!!
2 votes
Show all answers
hello would like to know if suite 11 is available this friday 26 september my wife has some lower back probs so just checking that the bed is of good quality . many thanks lester young
we cant remember if the bed was two singles joined together, as a lot of places do that! I would suggest you contact the hotel. steve and silva
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello, I would like to know if parking is free to stay in your hotel?
The cost is £10. Thanks for your question
0 votes
Show all answers
"Views from the rooms are none existent."
"Don't expect too much from this shabby hotel."
"Street facing rooms are probably best."
"Rooms st the rear are quieter but an awful outlook!"
"Rooms not facing the street have pigeons waking you up"
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing