We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southernhay House Hotel

Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (6)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Charming boutique townhouse hotel with 11 individual bedrooms, chic cocktail bar, private dining room for parties and informal Club Room for casual dining and meeting. Al fresco eating and drinking on our terraces and secluded garden. Food is modern, local and highly seasonal with daily changing menus. Southernhay House is located in the centre of Exeter just yards from the Cathedral and within easy reach of the University and Quayside. Staff are long-term, friendly and live locally so are able to recommend seasonal and regional activities during your stay. Languages spoken: English, Portuguese, Italian, Russian, Hebrew.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
128Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
38Attractionswithin 0.5 km
309Reviews
78Photos
2Q+A
66Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 177
  • 74
  • 23
  • 20
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cannot fault this hotel .. lovely staff and we love the spa area Fabulous stay as always .. see u next year Already booked for darts next year although prices appear to have doubled ? Any reason for this ?
Read more
Response from Deborah C, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your very kind review. I need to confess, ‘though; we may be the wrong hotel! Not complaining and I wish we had had the pleasure of hosting you here - but we don’t have a spa and our rates have stayed the same for the last 5 years or more.....check us out for next year’s visit!
Read more
My husband and I stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary in the Tulip room. Stunning room, wonderfully spacious, amazing free standing bath, was just such a delight to stay there. From a welcome pot of tea (or offered bubbles) to free fudge, and such amazing
Read more
Response from Deborah C, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
It’s great to hear from you and it was a pleasure to welcome you for your anniversary. Because we’re a small (and quite personally driven) hotel, we like to be able to make special events more.....special. Maybe see you both next year?
Read more
I recently visited this hotel to celebrate my sister's 60th birthday.As we were a party of 12 we booked the private dining room , we were told they couldn't seat parties of more than 10 in the restaurant ? maybe this is because they charge £100 extra for the private room!!. We
Read more
Response from Deborah C, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel
Responded 14 Dec 2018
No, we can’t seat parties of more than 10 together in the main restaurant because that’s the size of our largest table! Parties of 14 plus are welcome to book the entire restaurant. Reader, please view this together with the last review. We could have avoided both reviews by waiving your room hire as you both demanded after the event, to quote you “or else...” But, after serious self scrutiny of our booking emails with you, our offer to cancel your booking well ahead of the date and our considerable efforts to accomodate your party’s dietary and other requests on the day, we decided to bite the bullet and not give way to blackmail. We’re not robots; dealing with your campaign after the event has not been pleasant but what has been is the positive feedback from the organiser and the knowledge that the birthday girl enjoyed herself.
Read more
There are few dining experiences that you never forget. Our family celebration for 12 in the Southernhay House Hotel Private Dining Room was one of them; for all the wrong reasons. The advertising boasts fresh local food, 3 courses for £38 but omits to disclose a £100 room
Read more
Response from Deborah C, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2018
Of course we’re sorry that you did not enjoy the meal. We felt that the venue was not right for your party from the beginning. We suggested that you cancel well ahead of time (with no penalty) and set our terms and pricing out clearly in writing. Yet you insisted in maintaining the booking. With that in mind, we were expecting something special but nothing in our collective experience matches the hour long invective you hurled at our senior manager a few days after the event, or the threats made during that conversation. The birthday girl enjoyed herself, which is what we take away from the evening.
Read more
Absolutely gorgeous place to stay, it’s old fashioned and up to date at the same time. Seriously comfortable bed, historic house, totally luxurious rooms. Breakfast is good with the most excellent service and the staff cannot do enough for you. I would love to stay here again.
Read more
Response from Deborah C, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel
Responded 30 Nov 2018
Thanks for posting this: “old fashioned and up to date at the same time”. I absolutely love that précis of what we aim for (and hopefully hit). We look forward to seeing you again, and soon.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementSouthernhay House Hotel
The open bath in Tulip Room
Sugar's bedroom
PreviousNext
1234
Hi Dan We do not have a spa. Best regards Sally
0 votes
Is there free parking at the Hotel?
Hi Nina. We have four free parking spaces here, which are for resident guests on a first come first served basis. If you have a disabled badge, please let us know and we'll reserve one specifically for you. If the spaces are taken, guests can drive up to the hotel door to drop off/collect luggage and our nearest parking is just minutes away. There is also free overnight parking from 6pm on the road itself.
1 vote
Show all answers
"Try asking if there is a quiet room"
"Ring the hotel (01392-439000) to discuss the bathing, toilet facilities before booking."
"A Big Smile, it probably won't do any good but you will be on your way to making a friend"
"Don't go for Opium Room, unless you're fond of washing machines."
"Luxury Double Room Spacious with free standing bath"
PreviousNext
12345614
PRICE RANGE
US$118 - US$264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandExeter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing