We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
16 The Promenade, Takapuna, Auckland 1309 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
US$253
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$253
View deal
Expedia.comUS$253
Priceline
CheapTicketsUS$253
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 7 hotels in Takapuna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Top quality beachside accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. 39 superbly appointed suites and motel units with kitchen facilities nestled amongst sub tropical gardens. Free wireless internet, free off-street parking, BBQ area, swimming pool and guest laundry. Takapuna, on Auckland's North Shore, is only 10 minutes from the CBD via the Harbour Bridge. The beach is recognized as one of Auckland's finest with safe swimming, sail boat hire and miles of glorious sand for walking or jogging. We also offer a luxury, 3 bedroom self contained holiday home (min stay 3 nights) and two bedroom villas (min stay 5 nights) - ideal holiday letting and short term rental accommodation.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Car hire
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
162Reviews4Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 68
  • 27
  • 10
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
frinny38 wrote a review Oct 2020
Pukekohe, New Zealand13 contributions2 helpful votes
Beautiful location a few minutes from the beach but disappointed by the in room facilities. The room itself was clean and well presented however we had the following issues. No kitchen sink so we had to wash up in the bathroom sink (round baisin so very awkward). No shower screen so the bathroom got soaked when we had a shower. Two small towels were all we had and we had to use these to wipe down the bathroom after our showers. No towel rail of any description to hand said soggy towels on - a beautiful sign asked us to consider reusing our towels but I’m not sure how we were supposed to dry them with no rail. All in all disappointing considering the price we paid for the room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice Heffernan, General Manager at Emerald Inn
Responded 5 Oct 2020
We appreciate the points you have made in your review. The Spa room you reserved does not have kitchen facilities, however you are able to make tea and coffee. The spa suite has been of this design for many years and I am surprised you found it difficult to manage. I will investigate the issues you have raised and ensure that we do not need to modify the setup. I thank you again for mentioning these issue to us.
Read more
Angus L wrote a review Jul 2020
Whangarei, New Zealand472 contributions81 helpful votes
Beautiful surroundings in city location. Parking is tight. We had upstairs room , beautifully presented and spotless. Down side was the shower over bath was slippery , needs non slip mat. Also beds are small and not very comfortable. Management were very pleasant and welcoming. Close to restaurants and the beach, good location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Rus H wrote a review Jun 2020
Gisborne, New Zealand178 contributions16 helpful votes
Great find - close to everything and really quiet and peaceful. Large units with lots of windows and nice green leafy views. Would be nice and cool in summer and was nice and warm in winter. Will definitely be back....
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Steve B wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom4,229 contributions446 helpful votes
+1
After an absence of nearly 3 years my wife and myself are visiting Auckland again and, in common with many of our other visits (see previous Review), we have returned to the Emerald Inn in Takapuna - not much more than a hop, skip and a jump from the increasingly popular Takapuna Beach. We were also extremely fortunate to be able to spend our 15 night stay at a Emerald Cottage (a beautiful 3-bedroomed whitewash house in Alison Avenue - see attached photos) which - particularly as our two week visit has been blessed throughout with lovely sunny weather - has some of the best views in Auckland. No need to repeat the many positive comments in my previous Review about this impressive other than to say reiterate the same Management team are still in place and - as we have consistently found - they would both welcome and value your custom. Book early, however, as this is a popular venue!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
hichelle wrote a review Jan 2020
Boston, Massachusetts152 contributions103 helpful votes
My husband and I did a lot of research for the 2nd half of our 1st trip to beautiful NZ. We had just spent 10 days doing a South island motorcycle trip. For the North island, we had a car and were initially going to rent a house on a beach. We decided to stay locally near airport and do day trips. We flew in from Christchurch on 12/31 and arrived around late morning and were please that Janice let us check into our 2nd floor room #521. There is no elevator but we have good mobility and were able to manage the stairs. Our room was clean and ovelooked the pool, it had a clear corner view to be able to see (and hear the surf) which is a simple 5 minute walk down the street. We found many shops, restaurants and the Metro grocery store (take a cloth bag or they will sell you one for .99 cents) nearby. The kitchen had a stovetop, microwave and small fridge with dishes, utensils, pans, mugs/wine glasses, bottle opener, coffee maker with coffee and tea and single use dish soap, We brought breakfast foods and something to cook on the premises propane grill. You need to supply your own napkins, papertowels and kleenex. The bathroom had single use shampoo, soap and makeup remover pads. There was a couch and table with 4 chairs along with table and 2 chairs on balcony. There is no air conditioner but there was a fan in closet (which we didn't use) and we slept with windows open at night, except for when there was no breeze and the mosquitos came in. There was also no safe, (which I think would be nice to have). The bedroom had a vanity area with plug/light which I found handy, 2 night stands and a comfortable bed. I appreciated all of the closet hangers and shelf above to put stuff on. There was also a blow dryer, iron/board. The bathroom was a decent size with a towel bar system but no hooks/shelving otherwise. A few mornings we ran out of hot water, but never water pressure. Housekeeping came around the same time generally at 10 in the morning. We're not high maintenance needing new towels everyday and washed our own dishes, etc. It was a decent property and well located for doing day trips and getting around. We found the property busy at times but once evening came, then fairly quiet. I did use the pool several times and enjoyed that. The grounds are decent with many pretty flowers and there seemed to be enough parking, though tight even for our Corolla.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Emeraldinn, Manager at Emerald Inn
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Thank you for your thorough review and we would love to welcome you back to The Emerald Inn in the future should you pass this way. I hope the rest of your travels are safe and memorable
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$145 - US$226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
emerald hotel takapuna, emerald hotel auckland
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandNorth ShoreTakapuna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Emerald Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Emerald Inn?
Nearby attractions include Bruce Mason Centre (0.2 km), Escape Rooms New Zealand (0.4 km), and Berkeley Cinema (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Emerald Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Emerald Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Emerald Inn?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Emerald Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Emerald Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tokyo Bay, Al Forno, and Tok Tok Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Emerald Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Emerald Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Takapuna.
Are any cleaning services offered at Emerald Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Emerald Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (7.3 km), Auckland Town Hall (7.7 km), and J.F Kennedy Memorial Park (3.2 km).
Is Emerald Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.