We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
9-17 Byron Avenue, Takapuna, Auckland 0622 New Zealand
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$134
View deal
Expedia.com
US$147
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$125
View deal
Hotels.comUS$147
TravelocityUS$147
PricelineUS$147
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (233)
Room & Suite (99)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 7 hotels in Takapuna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Spencer Hotel is located just 500m from Takapuna Beach with fantastic views of the city, Hauraki Gulf, Lake Pupuke and Takapuna. This Auckland hotel is the first business class accommodation provider on Auckland's North Shore and spectacular panorama of Auckland CBD to the south, Rangitoto Island to the east, and Lake Pupuke to the north. With Studio or One Bedroom Suites available including disabled access rooms, plus a swimming pool, spa pool, tennis courts, gym, restaurant and bar, The Spencer Hotel has something for everyone.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Tennis court
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
913Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 331
  • 353
  • 153
  • 45
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
sandysviews wrote a review Jul 2022
Himatangi, New Zealand136 contributions111 helpful votes
I’m back at the Spencer again, because, inexplicably, my head office still chooses to book us here for work visits. I hope our rooms are free. So, this is a multi story hotel on Auckland’s North Shore. We as a nation are just coming out of a pandemic which decimated our tourism industry. Our national borders are about to fully open for the first time since Covid started. I last stayed here in 2017. My review of my last visit is a long and detailed description of the myriad failures of this hotel to meet its most basic expectations. Yet here I am again. I’ll keep it brief this time. Nothing about the hotel has changed since I was last here in 2017, except the staff. That and there’s currently no bar or restaurant due to ‘renovations’. So, room service is a microwave meal and over priced bottles of whatever alcohol you might choose from the limited selection available. Also, as I came back to my room, after being out all day, and finding my room unserviced, not visited by house keeping at all, I phoned housekeeping to ask why they hadn’t visited. It seems they don’t service your room until you’ve been here 3 days, apparently due to lack of staff, because of covid, but last time I was here, before covid, they didn’t service my room either. However, despite a lack of staff, who can’t service my room, because they don’t exist, due to covid or work visas, if I found an extra $35 a day, they COULD find some staff to make up my room. Which let’s face it fellow travellers, is a pretty basic expectation, to have your room serviced, when you are paying for hotel accommodation. But not at the Spencer, on Byron. So, dejected, thoroughly defeated by the utter indifference of a large, premium (for no good reason at all, except maybe, potentially, a nice view) Auckland hotel, to its valuable clients, corporate guests of a local company who give them a decent amount of repeat business, because the options locally, within walking distance of our head office are limited. Or frankly any human being who walked through the door, simply looking for accomodation somewhat approximating the amount they were expected to pay for it. I ordered one of the crappy microwave meals they called room service for 7:15pm. The only member of staff on duty arrived at my door at 7:05pm with my frozen microwave room service meal and over priced bottle of wine, in an expensive Auckland hotel, having travelled up in the lift, and walked through the hotel corridors, not wearing a mask. I had a few choice words about her hotel, hotel management, reassuring her it wasn’t her fault. I told her of my previously unsatisfactory experiences with the hotel and how now it’s inexplicably worse, rather than better, while reminding her it wasn’t her fault. That’s before I talk about the unsatisfactory, uncomfortable rooms, tired furniture, slow wifi, and frankly half arsed, and sub standard everything. On the single plus side. There’s possibly a good view of Auckland city or Waitemata harbour, depending upon which room you get. It’s literally the only redeeming feature of this hotel. According to the signs about ‘body corporate meetings’ in the lift, people also actually live in apartments in this building. That’s truly grim and sad. The Spencer on Byron has to be the worst value, biggest missed opportunity to be something awesome, in New Zealand.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Simon G wrote a review Jun 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand78 contributions24 helpful votes
Clean and tidy, great views from the dirty windows, 1990’s decor. Bed not very comfortable but the suite I stayed in was large and spacious. They didn’t do breakfast or lunch and the one meal they usually did, dinner, was cancelled as the head chef didn’t come in - do they only have cook?
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
honey wrote a review Jan 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand2 contributions
We have stayed twice before, so thought since we had a family function in Devonport we would stay here. Unfortunately it's abit rundown since last stay. Unfortunately the bar only opens at 5pm. Free voucher for drink was a lovely suprise, Unfortunately the beer taps weren't working and the house wine wasn't nice. We had to ask front desk to ask guests in 801 to turn thumping music down after 12 as our bedroom wall was vibrating. Then they talked loud all night. Unfortunately for us we got no sleep. And upon check out were told they are permanent guests. Unbelievable. Won't be back for sure
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't stay 5 star
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jackie v wrote a review Aug 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand62 contributions5 helpful votes
Upon arrival front desk made it near impossible for a smooth check in. My husband asked about parking and was told it would cost $30 for the one night to park his work van in their basement. When he said how ridiculous that cost was for one night, the lady threatened to phone the police on him for saying “f*** that’s a bit ridiculous for one night”. When he finally got to his room after parking his work van on the street, he walked in and there was a dirty toenail on the floor 🤢 so gross. The room was dated compared to other 5 star hotels we are used to and we wouldn’t be returning. Not welcoming and a dirty room are two things you don’t want when paying for a hotel that’s meant to be 5 star.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
pavlova83 wrote a review Jun 2021
Auckland, New Zealand7 contributions2 helpful votes
The room that I had was very comfortable and had a lovely view of Auckland city. It was clean and comfortable overall. The night that I stayed on wasn't too busy, so noise wasn't an issue. The only thing that I can comment on is staff were not very friendly. They were polite but the staff I encountered upon check in and check out, none of them even smiled at me. ( I am not seeking much validation here, but just think this is one of the basic paramount of good customer service) The staff personnel who took my reservation over the phone was professional and friendly enough. I am also in the service industry, so I can understand the pressures of the job. But it would make a world of difference if staff are a bit more welcoming to guests, no matter who they are. Hope future encounters with the hotel will see an improvement in this.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
EveNic wrote a review May 2021
42 contributions9 helpful votes
The room had a lovely view and it was spacious. The staff were polite and welcoming which is always nice. The location is great, close to everything. The furniture really needs an update as a lot of it was old and worn. We ordered room service for dinner and breakfast and it was really disappointing. The desserts were premade and not as described. They tasted like flour! We ordered 3. The burgers were tasteless and had no salad inside. We really wished that we had ordered Uber Eats! When I ordered breakfast, eggs benedict, it came with lettuce which was really strange! I wouldn't eat from the restaurant again. We did let reception know and they kindly took off some of the charge.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ron T wrote a review May 2021
Auckland, New Zealand137 contributions22 helpful votes
We have stayed here several times over the last couple of months. We've had several different rooms depending on price. All the rooms were very clean and tidy and spacious. Service was great especially at the front desk.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Best rooms are ones with stand alone showers.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dennis J wrote a review Mar 2021
Hamilton, New Zealand608 contributions303 helpful votes
Our room was spacious enough, clean, had what should, and the view was superb. Reception was friendly and helpful. The overall feel of the place is that it is on the edge of needing a major refurbishment. The high traffic area of the floor in reception is not good, the finish in our bathroom shows temporary use of silicone filler, and one wonders what sort of a staff attitude would allow an ironed bed sheet to be put on a bed with a rip in it. Overall it feels like it is in some sort of holding zone trying to make up it's mind as to whether it should go down market or find a lot of cash and smarten up. My guess is it will end up as apartments.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
GDH1903 wrote a review Feb 2021
Cambridge, New Zealand53 contributions14 helpful votes
Ok so Spencer on Byron is located in a great spot in Takapuna, easily walkable to Parks, Beaches, Rock Pools, Bars and Restraunts which is a major plus point. The gym and pools are great and the Tennis court looked good to if your into that sort of thing. We have stayed in the Family 1 bdrm Suite and a standard 1bdrm suite and both rooms were fine albeit a little dated. There are a few comments re. the poor communication of the reception staff. This is true however on all our stays todate the staff have been great and ensured our needs were met. One thing to note is you have to pre book parking spaces which we didnt know but the reception staff sorted this for us without any fuss.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jo Bridge, Owner at The Spencer Hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Spencer, we really appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to Takapuna, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristina wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Hello, all staff is working at Reception should not be working there: very rude service, don't know anything, can't fix any problem, look like each staff give you different solution for the same problem and we would not stay over there. Very unpleasant experience with Reception and never seen any Manager (any girl call herself as manager), but can not provide polite service.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jo Bridge, Owner at The Spencer Hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2021
Hi Kristana, We believe that your booking was with a privately managed apartment in the same building. You did not have a reservation with our business. You did not stay with us. The reason our staff were unable to help you is because you did not have a booking with The Spencer on Byron Hotel. Could I suggest you remove your review and post onto the correct business that your booking was with, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$123 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
spencer on byron hotel, spencer on byron auckland
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandNorth ShoreTakapuna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Spencer Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Spencer Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Takapuna Markets (0.4 km), Escape HQ (0.2 km), and Thrillzone Auckland (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Spencer Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a fitness centre, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at The Spencer Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at The Spencer Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Spencer Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Al Forno, El Humero, and SmokePit & Buoy.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Spencer Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Spencer Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Takapuna.
Does The Spencer Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Spencer Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (6.5 km), Auckland Town Hall (6.9 km), and Symonds Street Cemetary (7.6 km).
Does The Spencer Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is The Spencer Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.