Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Takapuna Beach Holiday Park

22 The Promenade, Takapuna, Auckland 0622 New Zealand
Traveller (76)
ferry service Devonport to the city .
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#1 of 1 campsite in Takapuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Property amenities
Wifi
Paid wifi
Beach
Shared kitchen
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette

Location

22 The Promenade, Takapuna, Auckland 0622 New Zealand
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 73 out of 100
73
Auckland Intl Airport
25.4 km
See all flights
194Reviews0Q+A51Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 55
  • 41
  • 28
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Saintbaxter wrote a review Apr 2021
22 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had three nights in this camp after 10 days travelling in a camper around Northland great communication when booking replying to emails. Hassle free on arrival great views close to restaurants and a mall, $25 to get to Auckland city by Uber. After camping in plenty of other camping grounds this one was the middle of the road but lots of potential!!! My only gripe was that in the ladies showers the floors were dirty & there was no where to sit toilet bags or clothing all other camps had shelving for your gear. It’s also was the most expensive out of 6 camping grounds we would go back for views alone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim Ford, Other at Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Responded 27 Apr 2021
Thank you for the informative review! Yes the surrounding view is stunning! We have exciting plans for the redevelopment in the future; so watch this space... We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and your comments have been noted. Happy travels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PhilJackie T wrote a review Jan 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand23 contributions22 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Went for 2 nights camping, stayed one and came home. The pitches are very small, we only have a smallish tent but could just fit that and car onto it. We kept falling over the guide ropes every time we moved. Everyone is on top of one another, not relaxing at all. The toilets, showers and kitchen, although cleaned daily, are very old and in desperate need of a refit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KimTOP10, Business Administrator at Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Thank you for your comments. Yes we have exciting new plans for the future of Takapuna Beach Holiday Park. We hope to have you back to stay in the future 🙂
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IainR wrote a review Sept 2020
Whangarei, New Zealand819 contributions159 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here in our camper van for 2 nights whilst visiting family in Auckland.
The site is right on the coast at Takapuna with lots of facilities close by and easy access to the motorway. The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful when we checked in.
The sites are small in comparison to other sites but perfectly useable unless you have a massive camper. There is power hookups, waster, dump station, kitchen facilities, unlimited hot showers and load of rubbish bins. The facilities are a little dated but perfectly useable.
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kimberly Ford, Other at Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Responded 23 Sept 2020
Thank you for the awesome feedback! You described our park perfectly. We are in the prime location to explore all the Takapuna Beach area has to offer. We also have exciting re-development plans on the horizon. We look forward to your return 🙂
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Serene L wrote a review Oct 2022
Singapore, Singapore2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
for my 2 weeks vacation in NZ which I stayed in around 8 holiday parks, this is the worst holiday park. the whole place is super run-down and driveways around the holiday park are poorly maintained.

this holiday park does not provide individual clean water tap at each electric power point. it’s very inconvenient to have to go to designated points to get clean water.

i strongly discourage staying in this old, poorly- maintained holiday park.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not stay in this holiday park
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from K Ford, Other at Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Responded 6 Oct 2022
Thank you for taking the time to submit some feedback Serene. Yes the Holiday Park is old and does not have all the extras you would expect at a new Holiday Park. We have a big redvelopment planned which will see all the new bells and whistles included, the design is on display in reception. However, Covid has pushed this back in regards to timing and funds. We can't wait for this project to commence, watch this space 🙂
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff R wrote a review Jun 2022
New Plymouth, New Zealand21 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The most beautiful caravan park I’ve had the pleasure to stay in.
The bathrooms were immaculate with glass shower doors and handbasins in each cubicle. The concrete pads were large and each had its own picnic table on the adjacent lawn area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The only place so far where we were unable to take our little dog so check first. Red Beach,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from K Ford, Other at Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Responded 6 Jul 2022
Hi Jeff, thank you for your review. Although I think you have us (Takapuna Beach Holiday Park) mixed up with another park. Feel free to come and check out Takapuna too! 😉 We are located right on the beachfront with the most spectacular views, and within walking distace to the restaurants, bars and shopping in the main centre.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate wrote a review Dec 2023
Wellington, New Zealand143 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely location, Can watch the sun coming up over Waiheke island from my open tent flap! This is a really good small campground with old school care provided

Kitchen has dishwash liquid and scrubbers, sponges, hand towels, laundry had iron and ironing board
2 x washing lines with pegs,

An upgrade is planned in April. I hope they retain the old school stainless steel sink benches and the gorgeous 1960s hand rails - made from scaffolding! Be cool to re-use!

I like the large size of the shower stalls
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from K Ford, Other at Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Thank you for the awesome and positive feedback RBerry163! It definitely has that old school feel about it doens't it! We agree, the views and location are phenomenal We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay! 😊
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob..... wrote a review Aug 2023
New Plymouth, New Zealand123 contributions92 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dreadfully cramped scruffy camp site. Looks as though any kind of maintenance is avoided. We had number two pitch and it was just way way to small for our van. As it was on a bend with cars coming and going all day you’re constantly worrying. The women in charged said she would put cones out after she’s agreed where we should park. She didn’t….so I just moved our van into 2 spots and hoped no one else wanted to park there. You are also right next to a busy path with zero room to sit out. Dogs defecating there right by you. Takapuna is a lovely place but this camp site really needs a shake up. It’s so water logged, muddy and generally in a very poor state. I found the women in charge very curt and “off” very unhelpful..

We travel to Auckland every other month, but we won’t be staying here again….in fact it’s as bad as it’s ever got in Auckland..
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from K Ford, Other at Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Responded 8 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We apologise you were disappointed with your stay. Yes, Auckland has most definitely had an uprecedented amount of rain for months now and our poor holiday parks grounds have not coped well. The drainage is terrible and something that will be rectified in the redevelopment. We have some grounds maintenance planned in the next few weeks to tide us over until our redevelopment. Apologies you also found the customer service not up to scratch, this is not our usual standard of service. We really appreciate your feedback and always take on board the comments we receive to help us constantly improve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Becky Gibson wrote a review Jun 2021
Dunedin, New Zealand535 contributions144 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We absolutely loved this spot. The waterfront powered sites are amazing with a view of both Takapuna beach and Rangitoto Island. It’s also very close to lots of eats in Takapuna. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating and kept us in mind when a waterfront spot became available. Would highly recommend this holiday park!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim Ford, Other at Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Responded 8 Jun 2021
Thank you for the awesome review! We are glad you had a nice stay in one of our prime Waterfront Sites - isn't the view stunning! Many thanks for your recommendation. We hope you come to stay in the future 🙂
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
roscoe39 wrote a review Jun 2022
new zealand181 contributions101 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a night here in one of the camps Portacabins to share the weekend with friends in their camper vans. They were located in magnificent waterfront sites and the porta cabins are towards the back of the site with no view but only 30 seconds walk to the beach..

Facilities are a little tired, I believe that there is a program about to start to update the bathrooms and kitchen. Not before time, but the view and position of the camp makes up for their condition.

A few minutes walk to the cafes and bars of Takapuna,

Position can not be beaten.

The female staff member of the management team was terrific to deal with.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: pay the extra for a waterfront site
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from K Ford, Other at Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Responded 20 Jun 2022
Thank you for taking the time to submit some feedback! Yes our beachfront location is hard to beat, and we are located within walking distance to the centre of Takapuna. Yes, we have a redevelopment planned however, Covid has significantly delayed this. We are so pleased you had a great stay with us and hope you come back to visit in the future. 🙂
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mud pit, unsafe, no lights around the camp, holes in the ground. Go anywhere else until they get their act together. You pay for the location, which is spectacular, but you get the worst camping experience in New Zealand. It's like a rained out festival site.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from K Ford, Other at Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Responded 15 Jun 2023
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Yes we acknowledge that the sites are very wet given a record wet summer and spring in Auckalnd however, we are working with council on consents to start earthworks which we will start as soon as we possibly can. Yes, our beach front location is simply beautiful!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Susan H wrote a tip Jun 2023
Tauranga, New Zealand30 contributions27 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go elsewhere until the grounds have been made safe."
Read full review
Serene L wrote a tip Oct 2022
Singapore, Singapore2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay in this holiday park"
Read full review
theoldwharf wrote a tip Aug 2022
Plymouth, United Kingdom66 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay here if you want to feel safe and secure in a great location"
Read full review
Jeff R wrote a tip Jun 2022
New Plymouth, New Zealand21 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The only place so far where we were unable to take our little dog so check first. Red Beach, through the security gate is a must see."
Read full review
roscoe39 wrote a tip Jun 2022
new zealand181 contributions101 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"pay the extra for a waterfront site"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Takapuna area.
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandNorth ShoreTakapuna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TAKAPUNA BEACH HOLIDAY PARK - Now $119 (Was $̶1̶3̶2̶) - UPDATED 2023 Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Takapuna Beach Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Bruce Mason Centre (0.3 km) and Berkeley Cinema (0.4 km).
What are some restaurants close to Takapuna Beach Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tokyo Bay, Tok Tok Kitchen, and Takapuna Beach Cafe.
Is Takapuna Beach Holiday Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Takapuna.
Are there any historical sites close to Takapuna Beach Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (7.3 km), Auckland Town Hall (7.8 km), and J.F Kennedy Memorial Park (3.2 km).
All Takapuna HotelsTakapuna Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TakapunaHotels near Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire