We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3506 West Island Highway, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2H4 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$310
View deal
Expedia.com
US$287
View deal
Trip.com
US$242
View deal
PricelineUS$327
Hotels.comUS$287
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (28)
Pool & Beach (15)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 16/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Riverside Resort
Updated 16/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 9 hotels in Qualicum Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our 7 acre site offers lots to see and do plus a great location to experience the Parksville/Qualicum Beach area. With a wide array of campsites, cabins, contemporary style sleeping rooms and a recently renovated convenience store, Riverside Resort has a variety of activities that are sure to bring out the kid in everyone.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Mini golf
Water park
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Outdoor pool
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
269Reviews4Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 138
  • 50
  • 26
  • 11
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ravina D wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Like another reviewer, I had a stay booked for July. I only made the booking in March by calling the resort directly to make the reservation. Was extremely peeved that the owner is choosing to increase rates for summer and not honor their confirmation email with prices and dates. They phoned us to tell us their new price and stated that they absolutely don't have to honor our reservation since they have given us more than 30 days notice. Further, the owner replied to another reviewer and said that it was because they booked a year in advance.... Seems like a last minute cash grab? I would hate to go and see what other ways the owner might gauge customers.....
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marie F wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I had a reservation for a 2 bedroom townhouse for July 2022 that was booked in Sept 2021 with the front desk staff at a rate of $299/night. Today I got a call from the resort saying they could not honour my reserved rate and that it would $499/night or I would have to cancel. This is horrible business practice!! That reservation was made 6 months ago and it was the rate that was negotiated with the front desk staff!! I have a confirmation letter and everything. Now most places in the area are full for the summer. I would never stay there now!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Riverside Resort, Owner at Riverside Resort
Responded 2 May 2022
Unfortunately, you reserved your accommodation a year in advance and the rates have gone up since that time. We gave you a courtesy call for you to hold, or cancel far in advance, outside the 30-day window we have to change the rates, according to market trends. We can still book you in at the new rate if you wish. We have beautiful accommodations, with a waterslide and mini-golf, included in this rate, more accommodating than any other property in the area. Thank you, for your understanding Riverside Resort Management.
Read more
TMcF wrote a review Apr 2022
Victoria, Canada197 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
When looking for a girls get away with my daughters and granddaughter, I came across this little gem. The resort was prompt to reply to my email questions and after booking they followed up to see about upgrading us. Upon arrival we were greeted and had all questions answered. The rooms were clean, appeared recently updated and the basic cooking utensils were there. We attempted to set up the TV streaming service however the wifi did not appear to support this very well with spotty viewing. We enjoyed seeing & visiting the Qualicum Saturday Market, Little Qualicum Falls, and Coombs. The evenings were quiet. This looks like a great spot for family fun in the summer with the pool, waterslide, play areas and other family activities. I certainly recommend this spot.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ms H wrote a review Oct 2021
Victoria, Canada8 contributions1 helpful vote
I really enjoyed my stay here. It was surprisingly quiet, and only a 5 minute walk down the road to the beach. There's laundry and a convenience store on site. Most people staying at this time of year seem to be long stayers or permanent residents. The bed was a large king size and super comfortable. A couple of improvements I would suggest for the executive suite: provide a small stool so people who are under 6 ft can reach the shelves in the kitchenette. Replace the battered furniture with something more comfortable and in better shape. Since electrical outlets are in hard-to-reach places, provide a surge protected power bar.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: choose a cabin or an the king executive suite - quieter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sandy Kirkpatrick wrote a review Aug 2021
Victoria, Canada1 contribution
My husband, 2 children, and I had a lovely stay. The pools, waterslides, and mini-golf were definitely highlights. Not one thing I can fault. The resort, amenities, accommodation, location, and staff were perfect from beginning to end. After an exhausting year and a half during Covid as an RN, this holiday is just what my family needed to rest, reset and build memories, thank you and we mean it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mike A wrote a review Jun 2021
Qualicum Beach, Canada6 contributions1 helpful vote
My family and I have always had a wonderful experience here. Excellent location near the beach and a friendly, helpful staff. The kids love the waterslides and the mini putt but the beach being so close as well as the river is amazing. Keep up the good work! Thank you again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mike A wrote a review Jan 2021
Qualicum Beach, Canada6 contributions1 helpful vote
The resort was a great time for me and my family, great location and everyone was really friendly and accommodating. I come here all the time and have never had an issue, thanks again Riverside and keep up the good work. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
zustlinda wrote a review Dec 2020
Parksville, Canada7 contributions1 helpful vote
we rented a pet friendly rom here, the only good thing was the fenced in yard for the dogs!!!!!! went to take a bath mould all around the tub and the towels OMG!!!!!!! they smelled like old towels that you would use in your garage. Brought it too their attention the next day and left, cancelled following bookings
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
David C wrote a review Aug 2020
Victoria, Canada2 contributions8 helpful votes
Originally, we had tried to book a cabin with two rooms for two nights, but the agent at the resort ended up reserving a room with two beds for us instead. Of course, with our easily agitated autistic teenage son, and the two 10-year-old girls we had with us, two large beds in a single room was not going to be appropriate. When we arrived, they upgraded us to a cabin they had available for the first night and charged us a premium. We were informed we had to vacate by 11a and move to the room instead. When I explained all this to the edgy and uncooperative front desk clerk in the morning, she refused to give us a refund for the second night because it would constitute “a last minute cancellation," even though we had intended to reserve a cabin, not a room. As of the writing of this review, no such cancellation policy is clearly posted anywhere on their website. The resort called us at 2:10p (when we were most of the way home to Victoria from Parksville) to tell us that an upgrade to a full two-bedroom unit actually was available. We didn't drive back. All of this on top of the fact that the cabin was pretty gross. The sides of each between the stove and counter had obviously not been cleaned in some time and the bathroom ceiling was dotted with dead bugs and boogers. Especially during this time of need for heightened hygienic practices and disinfecting procedures due to the COVID situation, we did not consider this reasonable. The uncovered breaker panel in the bedroom and the exposed hot water heater in the corner of the bathroom were also less than appealing decor. The water slide, the main attraction of the "resort" was only open sporadically. To our disappointment, although not really the fault of the "resort," there was no hot tub available, the only bathing that would have been enjoyable in the otherwise stormy weather, and the irate woman in the cabin adjacent to us, obviously somewhat intoxicated, confronted us with a dramatic complaint about our girls being unsafe with their frisbee, while her own boys were throwing their own frisbee quite without supervision. Apparently "our" frisbee almost hit one of her precious boys while they were all playing in the field. She was self-righteously obnoxious, so we ignored her, but it didn't make our visit any more enjoyable. What the resort should have dealt with, however, was the group of obviously long-term campers adjacent our cabin on the other side who were drunkenly carousing with loud music and cackling laughter until 5am!! The beds were actually pretty comfortable, including the couch futon that our son used, but that was a small consolation. In the end, when we emailed them (to two different access addresses) with this information requesting a refund for the second night, we did not even hear back from them in any way. All in all, even without our unfortunate experiences, this resort is not really worth its price, and I would give it a pass.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Riverside Resort, Marketing at Riverside Resort
Responded 17 Jul 2021
Thank you for taking such a long time to write your review and display your disappointment with our property. At the end of your review, you mention tensions with your neighbor. Perhaps you have a natural propensity to complain. With that being said, everyone reading this review can disregard it... Corey Resort manager Riverside Resort
Read more
SB J wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
This business refused to give me a refund which was owed to me. No replies to phone calls, letters or emails, which they pretended they had not received. Had to go to a legal hearing just to get part of what owed. Warning to the wise: make sure you don't pay for ANYTHING in advance here -- only after you've got what you ordered.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$203 - US$304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riverside resort and campground hotel qualicum beach
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandQualicum Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Riverside Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Riverside Resort?
Nearby attractions include Little Qualicum Falls Provincial Park (7.2 km), Milner Gardens & Woodland (5.0 km), and Heritage Forest (3.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Riverside Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Riverside Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Riverside Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Riverside Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Riverside Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro 694, Black Bird Schnitzel Haus, and Final Approach Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Riverside Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Riverside Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Riverside Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Milner Gardens & Woodland (5.0 km).
Is Riverside Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.