Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham

Traveller (77)
Courtyard view from the 6th floor
Room & Suite (35)
Courtyard Toronto Markham
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#9 of 15 hotels in Markham
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Patio
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Baggage storage
Convenience store
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

65 Minthorn Boulevard, Markham, Ontario L3T 7Y9 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 62 out of 100
62
Toronto Pearson Intl Airport
26.9 km
See all flights
Toronto Island Airport
21.3 km
See all flights
284Reviews1Q+A41Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 132
  • 51
  • 15
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Vinodh S wrote a review Apr 2022
Manama, Bahrain19 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I normally don’t write reviews because the choice of Hotels I have stayed across umpteen cities have been good be it 3,4 or 5 star hotels.

First I will start off with the positive reviews.

The Hotel rooms look brand new , stylish, well equipped with reasonable good space for three persons in a King room with sofa bed . The rooms are definitely 4-5 star standard .
The breakfast at the Bistro was good and the Philipino staffs were extremely nice . The once in three days housekeeping is understandable due to Covid / staff shortage. There are quite a bit of restaurants nearby too about a 5 minute walk .

Negative reviews

The Indian staff who checked me in was polite but the attitude of the other ? Indian staff was a big put off . The hotel rules and policies can be conveyed in a better way and likely it’s because I am an Indian . I just asked where the breakfast is served and the response was “your room rate does not include breakfast “ . It’s not like as if a 5 star breakfast buffet is been served for those who booked a bed and breakfast package.

Before coming here I was at Delta Marriott property and a Fairmont property where sofa beds were there which were already made up before I checked in . When I asked the reception staff if the sofa bed is made up the response is
“ you have to do it by yourself . Everything is there in the room . Even if we give you a roll away bed you have to open and make the bed by yourself” .
When I check into a hotel after a 6-7 hr long flight I want to rest right away and not struggle for half an hour making up a sofa bed . If the hotel policy is not to prepare the sofa bed for its customers it should clearly mention it in the website .

And also dinner is not served at the Bistro but in the website it says so. The website needs to be updated .

Over all a good property apart from the attitude of Indian staff towards Indians .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Concord Hospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham
Responded 30 Apr 2022
Dear drvinodhsubash, We aim to impress, so I'm sorry that your visit was just okay. Your comments, which highlight some successes and areas for improvement, are welcomed as they foster change for the better. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Sincerely, Anita Shu General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly wrote a review Jan 2023
Little Current, Canada45 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An amazing stay! From the moment we arrived we were treated to friendly and efficient service. Avery on front desk made us feel welcomed and appreciated- my husband was having surgery the next day and Avery went above and beyond to make sure we would be comfortable. So appreciated! In fact, as a comment , all of the front desk staff were so very friendly. Susan even held the elevator doors for us as we managed a new walker. We definitely felt welcomed!

Our room was spotless (wheelchair accessible) the bed was comfortable, lots of hot water/pressure and the fridge was appreciated for a three day stay.

The gym was nice and clean-good selection of weights and machines (a yoga or exercise mat would be a good idea!) We didn’t use the pool but it was nice and big.

Starbucks coffee in the Bistro was wonderful!

Will definitely stay again-very convenient to North York General and plenty of dining options near by.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham
Responded 16 Jan 2023
Dear IslandKelly, Reviews don't get any better than this one, so we want to ensure it reaches the correct hotel. We appreciate your kind words regarding staff, but we don't have any team members with the names you mentioned. Might you have us confused with another property in the area? Thanks for your attention in sharing a review. Best, Anita Shu General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jeffng1029 wrote a review Jul 2022
Hong Kong, China143 contributions103 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here during a weekend trip to the area as a family (3 adults and 2 kids). The hotel is conveniently located in Markham, near major highways and neighborhoods. The recently renovated rooms were clean and comfortable with many conveniences like plentiful charging ports and separate sink from the bathroom.

The pool is on the small side, especially if 3+ families are using it, but we were there alone on a Sunday night, which was nice. The hotel is currently offering housekeeping every 3 days, which is a little inconvenient.

Bottom line, if your expectation is that this is more of a neighborhood hotel rather than a 5 star resort, you will enjoy your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham
Responded 8 Jul 2022
Dear jeffng1029, I appreciate you sharing your kind review with us and other travelers. I’m delighted to hear that we were well suited for your family's weekend getaway. I’m happy you were able to take advantage of our comfortable rooms and convenient location. We hope to host your family again soon. Best, Anita Shu General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LR wrote a review Jun 2022
Toronto, Canada2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First room TV not working. They changed the room to TV working as the first TV could not be fixed. The fellow who came to try and fix TV did come promptly, was very friendly, and tried his best, but no cigar. System problem in some rooms.

Nice new rooms. However first room smelled some of cigarette smoke. Second room just a slight odor.

Partly friendly partly good service. Needed bottle of water early one morning to make my morning coffee and they refused to bring one up, told me to come down and get and pay for one. I was still in pjs and wanted to relax in them for the morning so I did not go down. I told them they should take that off their website then (it says that they do provide inroom water). Maybe they have since corrected that, I did not bother to check. That turned me off, so I cancelled my extended booking there. I am also turned off of Marriott Bonvoy. An elite Platinum member, and they refused to bring a few cent bottle of water (convenience sake for the guest, not for guest to save a few cents for Pete's sake). I had not asked for any the other days. The second room they gave me was an upgrade from the first, however that was not even offered upon check in first room (supposed to be as Elite member). Also MB does not provide efficiently proper rewards points and it takes forever to post. Such a hassle to get it done and sometimes it never does get done. I have since moved on from Marriott (& Bonvoy) to a much better brand.

No restaurant onsite, just a counter breakfast bar in lobby. I think it says restaurant onsite on their website. Maybe that has changed since. Rooms were clean. Well lit. Location quiet. The hotel was quiet during my stay. Just an OK stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham
Responded 18 Jun 2022
Dear T2910IW, While I am glad that your stay was okay overall, I regret that we didn't provide a WOW experience. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations and I am sorry we fell short. Thank you for sharing your detailed review. We thrive on the feedback and count on our guests to help us focus our efforts on areas that need improvement. We hope to see you back for an even better stay in the future. Sincerely, Anita Shu General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J-Period wrote a review Feb 2023
St. Petersburg, Florida140 contributions68 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is about 40 mins walk from the quaint, historic town of Unionville and about 45 mins drive from Toronto. There is a train that runs direct from Unionville to Toronto. There are a few restaurants in Unionville and Markham, close to the hotel.
The lobby area is a great space with wide open bar and restaurant with an impressive ceiling helix-like decoration above them.
The gym on the third floor had ellipticals, treadmills, bikes and plenty of free weights and several weight machines.
There is a lounge on the fourth floor, sadly the coffee maker was not working on our visit, but thankfully we were offered delicious coffee from the coffee maker in the bar on the ground floor.
We moved rooms because our first room looked out across the street to another block of offices and shops, which we did not like. The second room looked out over the parking area but at least there was no construction and the view was open and bright. A big thanks to Ashan (receptionist- I hope I didn't spell your name wrong) for kindly moving us and to the bar staff- Bernice and Watson for being so attentive. Thanks for introducing us to some delicious Canadian wine from Niagara!
The rooms were clean but we were surprised to see that the cupboards and shelves were open and did not have doors to them like in most Marriott hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham
Responded 1 Mar 2023
Dear J-Period, Our team strives to provide a pleasant stay. We thank you for writing a review, as your feedback is helpful in obtaining this goal. We are thrilled to hear your stay was enjoyable. I appreciate you choosing our hotel while in the area, and we hope to see you again on a return visit. Best, Anita Shu General Manger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Prfct_Fan_Food_Srvc wrote a review Jul 2023
Birmingham, Michigan1,360 contribution120 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Business brought me to the area and this establishment was centrally located.

It was apparent at check in that they had a lot of their customers were business travelers. This makes my concerns more abhorrent and egregious.

I was told thar due to weather issues, the televisions in the guest rooms were out of service. Understandable. There was no service for over 24 hrs. I am unsure why there was no communication or signage to reflect this dreadful reality.

Apparently, the weather and electrical issues were so significant that it burnt wires in the bistro area. They could not take any electronic payments. One had to pay cash or charge it to their room.

Later in the day, I stopped at the front desk to check the progress of the repairs. The verbal response, voice tone and facial expression/non-verbal communication that I received from the front desk team member was deplorable and derogatory. It's not like I was getting a credit on my bill for no television service. I was only asking because there was no communication or updates provided by management. Any posted communication would fix a lot ills and save many from asking the same question over and over again. Yet still no could or cared to explain why there was television service in the Bistro area.

The room itself was acceptable. And it's easy to tell that the roo.s are well worn. However, housekeeping needs to improve/revise their check list. It's a bit annoying reaching for a clean glass in the bathroom only to find both are stained and dirty.

Management and Leadership are missing the mark here.....in a big way.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham
Responded 28 Jul 2023
Dear Perfect_Fan_Food_Ser, We are sincerely sorry that the television service was interrupted due to the weather and that we did not properly communicate an update on the unfortunate situation. I greatly apologize that the incident beyond the control of our hotel negatively impacted your stay. Additionally, I apologize that you found our associates unhelpful. I regret that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay and service you’ve come to expect. We value your business and your loyalty to our brand. I appreciate your feedback as it allows us to positively impact future guest experiences. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Firass Ismail General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yves Labbe wrote a review Jan 2020
Cornwall, Canada211 contributions74 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently stayed at that hotel for one night. It is very well located nearby hwy 407/404. The hotel is clean, in good shape, and service was friendly. The only negative thing I can say is that my washroom needed an update. It was clean, but the old tub and shower head wasn’t representative of what I am used to with that chain of hotel. I would consider staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham
Responded 18 Jan 2020
Dear yves_labbe, Your feedback assists us in our mission to continuously improve our offerings and guest satisfaction, so we thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. I’m happy to hear of the comfort you experienced while staying with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding the washroom; I have taken note. On behalf of our entire team, I thank you for choosing the Courtyard Toronto Markham. Please visit us again soon. Best, Anita Shu General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrPhileasF wrote a review Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom2,272 contributions390 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Courtyard Markham Toronto is located about a 20-minute drive from the airport, YYZ. The hotel offers easy access to both downtown and the surrounding parks. There is plenty of onsite parking, both outside and covered at $8 a day for guests. The hotel lobby is big and next to the reception you have a small pantry. There is also a restaurant and bar for breakfast and dinner as well as a spa with a nice range of treatments. On the lower level is a good size gym and an indoor pool. The rooms are nice and big with plenty of storage and a good working surface. If you want more space, then the suites will add a nice sofabed and living room to the equation. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping a few minutes drive from the hotel. Overall, it is a good base for exploring Toronto if you have a car.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fantastimo91 wrote a review May 2023
New York City, New York10 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This location is a bit out of the way for most travellers in the area but it’s worth the drive for the safety and comfort. Plenty of safe free parking and easy access. Great check in experience as well with the overnight person going out of his way to get me my complimentary water bottles. The Manager and all his staff were exceptional. The bar guys, amazing as well.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Ask for the upgraded rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham
Responded 30 May 2023
Dear fantastimo91, What a lovely review! It is always appreciated when guests take a moment to let us know that they loved their time at our Courtyard by Marriott. We are in the service business and work to make guests happy above all else. Thank you for your kind words, and please consider a return trip. Best, Firass Ismail General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Francis C wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DO NOT STAY HERE! Cathy Bas, the operations manager, manages the hotel like a circus and with fear on her staff. Her staff are equally incompetenent. This hotel is not customer oriented at all with very poor management, service and attitude. One of the two elevators has not been operational for months and the wait for the remaining one elevetor takes a long time. There are many hotels in the area or even next door. Do not stay in this one. It is also very overpriced!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not stay in this one!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham
Responded 6 Aug 2023
Dear francisc938, Thank you for your review. I’m sorry we didn’t provide the high-quality of service you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one and we are sorry for falling short of this goal. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity to make your stay the best it can be. Sincerely, Firass Ismail General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sheri S wrote a tip Nov 2023
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay there unless you are 18-22. "
Read full review
Francis C wrote a tip Aug 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay in this one!"
Read full review
fantastimo91 wrote a tip May 2023
New York City, New York10 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for the upgraded rooms."
Read full review
batman408 wrote a tip May 2023
Lakeshore, Canada51 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Place next door is called Courtyard " Residence Inn" so be sure to go to the correct location. (bit confusing). "
Read full review
Michelle M wrote a tip Apr 2023
Leamington, Canada4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free onsite parking. Easy access to anything in Markham/Richmond hill"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Markham area.
PRICE RANGE
$210 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtyard by marriott toronto markham hotel markham, courtyard markham, courtyard toronto markham, markham courtyard
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioMarkham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
144
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COURTYARD BY MARRIOTT TORONTO MARKHAM | UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham
Which popular attractions are close to Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham?
Nearby attractions include Splitsville Richmond Hill (1.2 km), York Cinemas (0.6 km), and Le Firme Menswear (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, kids activities, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What are some restaurants close to Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Richmond Hill, Moxies, and Touro Churrascaria Brazilian Steakhouse & Wine Bar.
Are any cleaning services offered at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Black Creek Pioneer Village (13.2 km), Gibson House Museum (8.4 km), and Epping-John Muir Lookout Conservation Area (13.3 km).
Is Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Markham HotelsMarkham Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MarkhamHotels near Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Markham
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire