Mineral Park Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mineral Park Motel

3 Parakai Avenue Parakai, Auckland New Zealand
Traveller (13)
BED
Room & Suite (3)
LOUNGE
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

2.5
#51 of 73 motels in Auckland
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Indoor pool
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
39Reviews0Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 4
  • 9
  • 2
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Anil N wrote a review Jul 2014
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand16 contributions16 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Been here a couple of years ago and was ok then. Stayed one night only thankfully. Whole unit smelled musty and old and felt creepy. Bed was uncomfortable, linen looked clean. Private hot pool got too hot (over 42 degrees). Had to manually turn hot water off at valve or we would have been cooked ! Did not have a relaxing soak as planned so was disappointed. Poor value at almost $200 for 4 people. Staff were helpful and friendly though.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Cannot recommend , whole place needs a revamp.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aims79 wrote a review Oct 2016
Canberra, Australia77 contributions23 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
On check in the gentleman that checked us in was friendly and helpful.

We booked the three bedroom cottage that is actually located next to the motel. The cottage exterior had a lawn that needed mowing and weeds growing up through the stairs.

The interior was old and in desperate need of updating and a good clean. There were a couple of holes in the walls and the walls were marked and chipped. The furniture was stained and the leather futon had run marks from something that had been spilt but not cleaned off. The carpet was also stained.

The kitchen was large and had everything we needed. Moved three dirty mugs aside before finding a clean one.

The beds need updating but the linen was clean and comfy.

There is a large deck with a hot tub which was excellent. We had trouble with the pump on the hot tub and the same man from check in came and fixed it quickly.

The motel has a lot of potential but needs a massive overhaul and upgrade. We were packed up and gone by 8.30am.
Wouldn't stay again in its current condition.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
scorpiosheep W wrote a review May 2014
Mount Gambier, Australia44 contributions36 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I chose this motel because of the fact that it had a private pool with each room, and paid $130 a night for this privilege. This was the most I paid at any motel on my two weeks in N.Z., and if it hadn't been for the convenience of the pool it would have been money down the drain. The pool had two quite high steps up into it which because of an arthritic knee I could not manage - the manager was quite unsympathetic and said it was not that hard to get into - well for me it was, with not even any handrail, and I had to climb in over the side of the pool which was quite awkward. I could see into some of the other rooms and the pools in those ones had lower sides which I would have found easier to cope with, but I was not offered an alternative. On the first night I stayed the pool was at a perfect temperature for a long soak, which was very pleasant, despite there being a bit of scum around the seats and at the bottom. The next night the pool was too hot to stay in for more than a few seconds. I left the pool cover off and it rained in the night so the pool was perfect temperature again at dawn the following day. There should be access to cold water to cool the pools down, as I believe from other reviews this is a recurring problem.

As for the room, well it was pretty basic for the money. The bed was OK and clean, with an electric blanket which came in handy as the nights were cool, but the pillows were flat and rock hard and I was tempted to go out and buy myself a soft pillow to use on my holiday. In the end it was the only place I stayed in that had inadequate pillows. The kitchen, although dated, was clean and had all the amenities which I needed, including an efficient oven. The rooms had no extras like bed lamps or even tourist literature.

I think the management could spend a bit of money on the place, as it had the potential to be very good, but just seemed to be not cared for any more. The location was good, in a quiet neighbourhood with shops close by and only a short drive from Auckland. There is not all that much to do in the area, you really only stay here for the pools.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The rooms with private pools in the front block are all basically the same. Need a bit of updating.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gav wrote a review Jan 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
These photos are of a very Disgusting is a nice way of putting it. Advertising as a motel taking bookings for tourists without warning them its now emergency housing. The rooms are unkempt dirty, we then see lots of cockroaches in room last night, advertising working spa pools in each room and they are dirty and falling apart not working, they advertised indoor pool and spa but they were filled with rubbish and beds, their website shows photos of the motel before these owners took over it definitely is not up to acceptable conditions. They had cheek to charge us $185 for over night stay when we complained about the conditions and how they did not inform us it was a emergency housing place they made up excuses blaming his on site manager for the state of the motel. The manager moved us to another room but it was worse than first while we were moving to the new room she was cleaning the only spa that worked for us we took photos of the new room with mess in it, yet the owner was more concerned about me giving bad reviews which would hurt his business than give us a refund when I was able to get a refund he only wanted to give us $40 back I demanded for $90 for inconvenience which was agreed upon last night after seeing the cockroaches in the room we were given $40 more bringing up a refund of $130. The owner is more worried about making money than doing the place up to liveable standards. Now I have already posted a review previously and he hassled me to remove it which we did but it is not right that he can run the motel like this and not be held accountable. I'm adding photos of the motel 2 years ago which he is advertising as current. Rest of the photos are of the current condition.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lady241 wrote a review Dec 2016
1 contribution5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Owner very intimidating from get-go,dirty spa pool, black mould in bathroom, broken light fittings, no pillowcases,very outdated. We left not long after checking in. Didn't ask for refund(not worth the confrontation), just left vowing never to return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harty062015 wrote a review Jun 2015
Hamilton, New Zealand22 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My hunting partner and I have stayed at this motel complex for the past four years. The property under new management is in poor condition, very outdated, cold spa, poor service and furniture that is a lower standard than backpackers.

Owner did not check that I had prepaid for a night and requested we pay again. Room was not serviced.

Will never return and suggest travellers rethink before booking.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: No good rooms at this stage.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hollyg321 wrote a review Feb 2018
Hamilton, New Zealand11 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
At all costs - do not stay here.

You are better off to sleep in a tent than stay here. Disgusting.

We are now having to go to the small claims court against this place. No refund after many phone calls and the manager has LIED multiple times saying he has refunded us. No money seen.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colin M, Manager at Mineral Park Motel
Responded 9 Mar 2018
Cut the tall stories Eve, you know exactly what happened.Just to let everyone else know, we have a new cleaner and for some reason she didn"t clean the room you were given. Please ease up on the crap about being lied to multiple times, we have spoken twice about this and you have your refund. Do you really think you were given that room deliberately......and thought i was speaking to somebody intelligent. Next time you are in town i will pitch that tent you would rather have slept in. Have a nice day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
riverrocker15 wrote a review Jan 2018
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This establishment should not hold a "motel" title! It is filthy and rundown and has an extremely bad manager to match it. Whoever owns the place ought to be ashamed and either give it a complete overhaul or close it down! We refused to stay in the filthy unit that someone had been smoking in and left cigarette butts stubbed out everywhere and with a spa pool full of hair and such. We demanded our money back and the manager first refused to do this blaming a plumbing contractor and the cleaners but after some heated discussion he then assured us he would put it back on our credit card. After some 5 weeks we are still waiting for our money to be refunded. Luckily we were able to find alternative air b&b accommodattion at Brighams Creek, having travelled from Whangamata that day. We are considering taking this to the Disputes Tribunal if our money is not refined in full soon and we will continue to derecommend this place to everyone we know.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colin M, Manager at Mineral Park Motel
Responded 9 Mar 2018
You must be Eve's mother, I won"t waste my time with your comments but just say you guys have stayed before and not 1 complaint. If you read my previous response you might realize it was a mistake, a big one i admit but a mistake none the less. Not sure what a spa pool full of hair looks like. The place is old and does need a lot of work but to have your guys unnecessary and quite vicious remarks is a bit over the top. I have a 2 bedroom tent if that"s any help...... You have a nice day to.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
moahobson wrote a review Apr 2017
Whangarei, New Zealand5 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
1) Reception would be quite intimidating to non-native Nz'ers
2) When you get a booking prepare the pools to a swimmable tempreture!
3) Mind out for ginourmous holes in the floor
4) You have mice.
5) The dishes were a bit mucky
6) The toilet is leaking
7) There is rubbish relics laying round like an old foozeball table
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Too expensive for what it is. Not a good representation of NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colin M, Manager at Mineral Park Motel
Responded 9 Mar 2018
1) You must be that English bloke that doesn't smile 2) When you say you are coming at 4.00pm don't turn up at 1.45. 3) We don't have any holes in the floor. 4) I will speak to the cat. 5) Can you be a bit more specific ? 6) Would have called a plumber if I had known. 7) An old foose ball table sitting in the corner of a large section shouldn"t bother any one. 8) You could have put those dirty nappies in the bin. 9) Here is a tip, take some spelling lessons.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wandering_savage wrote a review Aug 2013
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have had the displeasure of staying at this sub standard motel on more than one occasion because of a lack of alternatives in the area.
We originally stayed in the house which was damp, cold and tired. The beds were uncomfortable, pillows hard and had a few thin blankets I may as well have slept on the floor. Electric blankets were the only saving grace. We stayed for over 2 weeks in which time we could watch the filth accumulate on the lounge floor. (only remedied by asking for it to be vacuumed)
We were then expected to move to a smaller more cramped unit for the same cost. (which we argued against)
I'd also advise parents not to trust their kids in the private spas without them being half boiled. The Temperature was far too hot to use comfortably with no way to adjust (cool down or heat up)
The owners were polite and helpful but it was overpriced and the facilities/ chattels need a lot of work/ investment to bring them up to par. The owners may counter this review with a claim I am being malicious, well I've traveled the width and length of the country with my work for over 10 years and this is the first motel I have felt so disappointed I have been compelled to warn others.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
lizferris2018 wrote a tip Jun 2018
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We loved the studio units for a small group of 3 and the house was perfect for the rest of the team :)"
Read full review
moahobson wrote a tip Apr 2017
Whangarei, New Zealand5 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Too expensive for what it is. Not a good representation of NZ"
Read full review
Harty062015 wrote a tip Jun 2015
Hamilton, New Zealand22 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"No good rooms at this stage."
Read full review
qldflyer wrote a tip Jun 2015
Kuching, Malaysia151 contributions96 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid, until a major refurbishment"
Read full review
campmother2015 wrote a tip Apr 2015
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"make sure you check the cupboards before putting food in there. and wash the plates and cups you don't want to get sick from mouse poos."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Auckland area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAuckland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MINERAL PARK MOTEL - Reviews (Auckland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mineral Park Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Mineral Park Motel?
Nearby attractions include Palm Springs Hot Pool (0.2 km), Helensville Railway Station (1.9 km), and The Sandpit (2.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mineral Park Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a spa.
Is parking available at Mineral Park Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mineral Park Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Ville Turkish Cafe, Ginger Crunch Cafe, and Black Pete's Bar and Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mineral Park Motel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
All Auckland HotelsAuckland Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AucklandHotels near Mineral Park Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire