We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Peace and Plenty Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Peace and Plenty Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peace and Plenty Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 462: English reviews
Brisbane
Reviewed 23 April 2016

We have just had four nights at Peace and Plenty and would highly recommend it as a very special place to stay. Judy and Cooper are wonderful hosts, the rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast delicious. The location is superb and within a stones through are many great cafes and restaurants, a lovely cinema and shops. We ate out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MsDarcyTwining
judydevonport, Owner at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review, Cooper and I were delighted you enjoyed you stay with us. Cooper says a very big thank you. I am so glad you enjoyed our breakfast, and the ease in which you could go across to Auckland. We look forward to seeing you back with again.

Hertforshire
Reviewed 15 April 2016

With the help of Trip Advisor we carefully picked our accommodation on a trip to New Zealand. I liked the sound of the Peace and Plenty Inn and we were not disappointed. If you don't like chintz this is not the place for you! It was so pretty and comfortable, gorgeous gardens, a lovely house in a perfect location, steps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patsy45
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 April 2016

My parents recently got married here! It was a small group of us and the outside setting for the ceremony was beautiful. After the ceremony we stayed for wine, cheese and cake. The accommodation was stunning. It was so welcoming and beautifully presented. Judy was so kind and once Cooper returned home from his walk what a true surprise he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KLamond
judydevonport, Owner at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review we do appreciate it. i am so glad you all enjoyed the wedding, and enjoyed the icing on the cake as " Mini Cooper the most stupid, lovable, Cocker Spaniel you could ever wish to meet.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely time at the Peace and Plenty Inn. July and her gorgeous dog Cooper are a delight. The place is immaculate and the attention to detail is first class. Our breakfast was delicious with homemade and local products plus cooked choices. We had a fabulous time and would certainly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteGRichardS
judydevonport, Owner at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this review

Hi Charlotte and Richard, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed having you stay with us at the Peace and Plenty, what a surprise for you Charlotte. Come and visit us again but do not forget to call in and say hello when you are next in Devonport.

S E Kent,UK
Reviewed 20 March 2016

A first class B&B in a lovely "village" which is only a ten minute ferry ride from downtown Auckland.Judy runs the place very well and ensures all guests are comfortable and well looked after. Set in a gorgeous Victorian mansion of which Devonport has many. Chose this place for a peaceful and wonderful stay in Auckland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We stayed at this most peaceful, quaint Victorian Villa, without doubt it is exceptional and sooooo very comfortable. We stayed 3 nights and moved rooms for the last night as our room was booked out before I booked it, but I must say this was no problem at all. It was so lovely to stay in another room and just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zara58
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewed 6 March 2016

The Peace and Plenty Inn is truly an historic home with beautiful antique furnishings and decorations. Our room on the main floor was large, comfortable and clean. Judy and her family served an absolutely delicious breakfast in a beautiful dining room overlooking the garden. The inn's location in Devonport is very convenient to shops and restaurants and the ferry to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith - David S
judydevonport, Owner at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write the review, I and my family and very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was good that you pointed out in shower over the Victoria Bath, hopefully our guest read this on the description of the rooms or by our pictures. Again may thanks.

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Built in 1888 this house reeks class. Beautiful furniture, lovely Victorian bedrooms. We had a room with a balcony and on the landing was a Juliet balcony facing in the opposite direction. Both lovely for sharing a pot of tea from lovely china. The breakfast was to die for. We even got a discount from a recommended restaurant just a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bettysmate
judydevonport, Owner at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this review

Hi from Judy, Thank you very much for your lovely review. I appreciate you taking the time to write it. So glad you enjoyed our breakfast and tea from our lovely china. Also the ambiance of our Victorian Villa. Hoping you might make your way down to New Zealand in not too distance future. And maybe come and see us...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed one evening - twin room upstairs. Very hot evening - no air cooling in room and with an open window for cooling we had mosquitos troubling us and was very noisy all night. Ensuite very very small. On the plus side a beautiful breakfast served and close to perfect with home made marmalade etc etc. Interesting internal decor...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jay B
judydevonport, Owner at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this review

Can I make it perfectly clear. We do not have an air conditioning in our 1888 historic Victorian Villa. We do not advertise this fact. So I really cannot accept your remarks regarding lack of air conditioning. You had 2 open windows which gave you through draft, plus if you have looked in the wardrobe you would seen a fan...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 24 February 2016

The Peace and Plenty far exceeded my expectations. The inn was cozy, comfortable, clean and quiet. Each room in the inn was beautifully decorated. The garden is equally lovely. Judy, her family and her adorable dog Cooper made me feel right at home. Breakfast was delicious! As a female travelling alone, I felt completely safe and well cared for. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackie J

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.2 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
211 reviews
3.9 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
4.3 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
1,148 reviews
5.3 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Peace and Plenty Inn is a magnificently restored Victorian villa (circa 1880), situated in an unbeatable waterfront location in the heart of the historic maritime village of Devonport. We invite you to stay at our gracious home offering comfortable and friendly luxury accommodation. We host visitors who come to relax from all over the world, along with New Zealanders enjoying a weekend away. High Teas are available most weekends and we also host small boutique weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peace and Plenty Inn

Address: 6 Flagstaff Terrace, Devonport 0624, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Devonport
Price Range: $253 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peace and Plenty Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peace and Plenty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace And Plenty Hotel Devonport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peace and Plenty Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Peace and Plenty Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Albert Room”
799nevilleb, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“This is not a B & B for the quiet location is a just 3 minute walk from the harbour side and 5 minutes to the ferry into Auckland city.”
elmgrove5, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
mlemmard, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room at front site.”
hermant668, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for first floor”
188lizm, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5