We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Peace and Plenty Inn

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Peace and Plenty Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peace and Plenty Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 460: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We made our booking 10 months earlier in February for our one night here. At that time it was possible to book any room so I picked Victoria ($385NZ) because it was upstairs and I liked the photo showing its light "colour scheme of primrose and cream" and that it had a "Private balcony with unhindered views of views of...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank annagram09
judydevonport, Owner at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this review

It was disconcerting to read your review when we discovered that you hadn't had a great experience staying with us. Also that you would assume you would receive an aggressive response. Why, we ask ourselves? We have consistently received the 5 star Qualmark rating every year since 2003, for "guest and hosted" and "sustainability", so we are confident that our...

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

This place couldn't be more convenient being only about 50m from the beach and the main shopping street in Devonport where there a many eating choices. The rooms are all comfortable although a little cluttered and old-fashioned for my taste. Judy is an excellent host who cooks a great breakfast to start the day. Expect a comfortable bed, a quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
judydevonport, Manager at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. How lovely to call me an excellent host. We have an en-suite in every room but 2 rooms we do advertise have small compact bathrooms to fit the 1880 villa styled architecture and are priced accordingly.

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

We spent sadly only one night after a long flight. We were welcomed by Judith with a great smile. Each room has an individual decorating British style. Very neat, clean and cute. And above all , silence enabling you to rest! The garden is an absolute highlight for those who can recognize the different types of plants and the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maiki1978
judydevonport, Manager at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this review

We would be delighted to have you back and thrilled to hear you appeciated the efforts we have put into creating the hotel. It is the middle of summer now and the garden is looking its very best. Thank you for your comments regarding our sustanability efforts too.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 5 December 2016

This is a nice, comfortable, relaxing little boutique Inn. Nothing to complain about but it wasn't my favorite. It has comfortable rooms (I stayed in the Devenport room). Beautiful large windows overlooking the flower garden, comfortable bed, good internet but very tiny bathroom that clearly used to be a closet that was remade into a bathroom. The room was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jeffrey A
judydevonport, Owner at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this review

Oh dear Oh Dear, perhaps the other people at the breakfast table were not so friendly towards you as they were still somewhat tired from you banging and ringing to door bell instead of using the door phone and waking half the house up at just gone 5.30a.m. in the morning (even though I was waiting for you to phone...

Reviewed 14 November 2016

It was a really amazing stay. After 24 hours of flying I ended up at Auckland and from there directly to Devonport, imagine how much I needed a sleep. I was reading a booklet called The Organic Explorer, written from a friend of mine and in it's pages I met a place (from another era) close to Auckland which would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thanos K
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We got bumped from the Esplanade in Devonport due to a "clerical miscommunication" which translated to 'wedding' lol even though we had booked 3 months earlier.....they diverted us to Judy at the Peace and Plenty but on arrival she had no idea we were coming.....out of towners on a long weekend & an All Blacks test on....get the picture? We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toddsta
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Beautiful house in a nice and wonderful area and so close to Auckland CBD by ferry if that is your wish. If Auckland CBD is not for you then you have so many choices locally. Peace and Plenty offer a beautiful room with a wonderful choice of breakfast delivered to you by a friendly and warm host.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IainShinto
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I booked this with family for my mother who was visiting from overseas. The place is beautiful and well decorated with vintage furniture and free hats on arrival. The whole idea seemed fabulous and unique but we were slightly disappointed with the attitude, service and overall experience. We did arrive a little late (due to high traffic on the road...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Whereintheworldru
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here to recover from our long flight before continuing to Rotorua, this could not have turned out better and we were very happy with all aspects of our stay, it's a wonderful location within walking distance from shopping and restaurants. The breakfast was a special surprise, the food was of the highest quality and expertly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Begley32
judydevonport, Owner at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review it was very kind of you to take the time and write such positive comments about your stay at the Peace and Plenty. I hope you had a good trip to Rotorua. Again many thanks .

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Everything was beautiful in this house, the rooms, the furniture, the decoration, the breakfast and of course the owner Judy. We can't speak highly enough of how amazing our stay was. I will definitely recommend this place to our friends. Weiwei

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vv w

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.2 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
206 reviews
4.0 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
4.2 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
2,096 reviews
3.8 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,370 reviews
3.1 km away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Peace and Plenty Inn is a magnificently restored Victorian villa (circa 1880), situated in an unbeatable waterfront location in the heart of the historic maritime village of Devonport. We invite you to stay at our gracious home offering comfortable and friendly luxury accommodation. We host visitors who come to relax from all over the world, along with New Zealanders enjoying a weekend away. High Teas are available most weekends and we also host small boutique weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peace and Plenty Inn

Address: 6 Flagstaff Terrace, Devonport 0624, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Devonport
Price Range: $275 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peace and Plenty Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Peace and Plenty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace And Plenty Hotel Devonport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peace and Plenty Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Peace and Plenty Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is not a B & B for the quiet location is a just 3 minute walk from the harbour side and 5 minutes to the ferry into Auckland city.”
 of 5 bubbles elmgrove5, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles mlemmard, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room at front site.”
 of 5 bubbles hermant668, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for first floor”
 of 5 bubbles 188lizm, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Devonport Room is nice but has a VERY small bathroom. Choose another if you like space in the toilet!”
 of 5 bubbles 189jeffreya, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
*
View Deal
Travelocity
Agoda.com
Priceline
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates