Telunas Beach Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Telunas Beach Resort

Ruko Imperium Superblock Block B No. 35&36 Jalan Sudirman Taman Baloi, Riau Islands Province 29432 Indonesia
Traveller (1151)
Telunas, view from the beach
Pool & Beach (177)
Trying to catch our dinner
Dining (63)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 1 resort in Sugi Island
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Just an hour from Batam (3+ from Singapore) but a world away, Telunas Resorts has two distinct properties to serve guests seeking rest, relaxation, and fun. Telunas Beach Resort provides "rustic elegance" (i.E., Cozy bed-and-breakfast) while Telunas Private Island provides "simple luxury" (i.E., Comfortable private resort). Built entirely above the water, enjoy Telunas' stunning sea and jungle views and let sea breezes and lapping water ease you to sleep. Facilities: Private Island - 15 sea villas, grand lodge (dining, lounge, etc.); Beach Resort - 10 private chalets, 4 deluxe rooms, 1 multi-family suite, 5 dorms, meeting room, lounge, dining room, private beach.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free wifi in the business centre
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Beach
Canoeing
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Sun umbrellas
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Game room
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Room features
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic
Languages Spoken
Indonesian, Malay

Location

Ruko Imperium Superblock Block B No. 35&36 Jalan Sudirman Taman Baloi, Riau Islands Province 29432 Indonesia
Getting there
Hang Nadim Airport
49.7 km
See all flights
Changi Airport
66.9 km
See all flights
830Reviews43Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 681
  • 121
  • 21
  • 6
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Seph wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Staffs were all friendly, room was nice, property was great, overall experience was great.

We just find that the everything was quite expensive. Perhaps you can lower down the price for the transfer as S$90 2 way per pax for a traditional boat is too much. S$63 per person for a 3 times buffet is also quite pricey for the actual food selection. Since the property is on a beach, for that price, we expected more fresh seafood. Plus, extra fees for simple activities were also expensive that's why we opted not to avail and spend more.

If you can lower down the prices, you can get more guests and attract previous guests to come back and stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karin wrote a review Feb 2023
6 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My mother in law found this gem while searching for different places for us to visit on our honeymoon. Telunas was perfect, even though the weather was exactly what we wanted with pouring rain 3 out of 4 days.

We stayed in a room in the big house, and it was huge! The room had a double bed, two single beds stacked and a private bathroom with a shower. Telunas provided us with insect spray and mosquito spray, which we used before going to bed every night. The sound of the ocean lapping underneath the room gave us the perfect backdrop for sleep.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner was buffet style, and there was several different options for all tastes. At every meal, there were served either fruit or dessert, or sometimes both.

Even though we only got one day of sunshine, the beach was lovely. The staff cleaned the beach for sticks and leaves, and the sun lounges had mattresses. Beach towels was accessible for everyone, as well as beach toys and games for both children and adults.

During our stay, we got to see lots of wildlife, with monkeys, hermit crabs and a type of bird that I’m not familiar with.

When our stay ended, we were staying 2 more nights in Batam. As the rest of the guests were traveling back to Singapore with the ferry, the staff actually escorted us to our next hotel to make sure we got there safely! That is a whole new level of customer service 🤩
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from rayu ardika, Layanan Tamu/Resepsionis at Telunas Beach Resort
Responded 10 Feb 2023
Thank you so much for taking time to provide such a wonderful review. It is heartwarming to learn how much you enjoyed your stay at the Telunas Beach resorts. We have shared your comments with our team and they were happy knowing when they have made a positive impact on our guests' stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when you return to this part of the world. Kind regards, Team Telunas
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JacCass wrote a review Mar 2020
Brisbane8 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great time at Telunas. Everything went to plan. Right from the moment we met the staff at the ferry terminal we were made to feel safe and that we belonged in this paradise. We enjoyed activities such as the jungle hike to a waterfall , where we saw monkeys and squirrels in the wild as well as enjoying a swim at the base of the waterfall. The local village tour was a highlight seeing how the locals lived and included a memorable school visit.
These activities were undertaken in the morning, leaving us free to swim and relax in the afternoons. The hammocks on the beach were so comfortable an afternoon snooze was inevitable.
The food was great with a mix of western and local food and it was no problem to have a beer with dinner.
Awesome time with a perfect combination of activity and relaxation, all while being attended to by great staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Des wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From my last visit since 2014, Telunas Beach Resort has made significant improvements, notably in the dining area and quality of food. The choice on their menu is excellent. The reception and common area is also wide and spacious. Housekeeping is also done on a daily basis on par with any hotel services.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Talk to Staff at Telunas via email.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rayu Ardika, Guest Services / Front Office at Telunas Beach Resort
Responded 12 Aug 2022
We appreciate you completing a Trip Advisor survey for your recent stay at Telunas Resorts. On behalf of Telunas Resorts we thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards Team Telunas
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yi De wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I really enjoyed my short stay at Telunas Resort. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming, they made me felt right in place and it felt like it was a reunion with old friends even though it was the first time I've met any of them!

The resort was designed and constructed with sensitivity towards the environment as well as respect towards the villages nearby. Overall an amazing place for a short getaway but do equip yourself with all the insect repellents in the world because the insects there are on another level! It might be helpful to install mosquitoes nets around the bed and the option of burning incense around the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from rayu ardika, Layanan Tamu/Resepsionis at Telunas Beach Resort
Responded 11 Dec 2022
Thank you for making time to submit your review. We appreciate it as much as learning how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your suggestion to have mosquitoes nets in the villa . Thank you again for staying with us. Kind regards, Team Telunas
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rohan B wrote a review Feb 2020
11 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Telunas Beach Resort was amazing! We had a beautiful overwater bungalow and sleeping over the sea was magical. The beach resort had plenty to do, but it was also quiet and peaceful to just relax and chill. The staff were exceptional, genuinely caring, friendly and helpful. Too many to remember them all, but in particular Rolland, Marse, Anun, Sophie, Robbi, Dika were fantastic they were great with our kids who loved the resort and staff. Mark, one of the main managers was also visiting when we stayed and he was incredibly helpful and understanding especially with helping us with issues with extending our stay in Indonesia. We would love to go again with our friends. Thank you to all at Telunas.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TelunasBeachResort, Guest Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Hello Rohan, True, sleeping over the sea is a completely different experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! It’s always a great encouragement to our team to see their names mentioned and read the specific things that guests enjoyed. Our team would be really happy to have a chance to welcome you back in the near future at Telunas. Best regards from the staff and management of Telunas Resorts. William
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bachmannw wrote a review Feb 2023
Singapore, Singapore23 contributions28 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Plus:
* Quite remote location
* No internet at all
* Over water bungalow quite ok, not luxurious though, recommend to go with one with balcony
* long private beach, kept quite clean
* very friendly staff
* spacious public lounge area where one can mingle, chat, play games

Minus:
* No internet at all
* The meals are quite poor and a bit boring, they call it buffet but actually there are no options per meal, one veggie dish, one fish or meat, some rice or pancake, that’s it.
* We have been advised which return ferry to book from Singapore to Batam. After we did they let us know that they changed the schedule for bringing us back to Batam which meant that our booking was wrong and we would have to buy new tickets. After complaining they changed the schedule back to the original. This approach was quite bold, completely unnecessary and annoying.
* Overpriced and a bit over advertised.
* Mosquitos: the mosquito net was offered but if they know it’s an issue they should just hang them on the bed. I guess for the bunkbed is not such solution. Our son was quite heavily bitten by mosquitos, so better let them set the nets up right from the beginning of your stay.
* Wastewater except from toilet goes strait into the ocean.
* The water is not for snorkelling, too murky since the location is too close to the highly frequented shipping routes (ship crews still consider the ocean as a trash dump nowadays)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from rayu ardika, Layanan Tamu/Resepsionis at Telunas Beach Resort
Responded 24 Feb 2023
Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor review for your stay at Telunas Beach Resort. We are pleased to learn of the things you enjoyed, including our remote location, bungalows, private clean beach, friendly staff and the lounge areas for games and socializing. We are grateful of the significant number of reviews we receive on Trip Advisor recognizing our top rated performance in these areas and others. Regarding internet availability; Telunas Resorts intentionally does not offer Wi-Fi at either location. One of our unique distinctives is that we work hard to provide our Guests with peaceful refuge from the fast pace of life. Most Guests who need to be connected on-line use their own personal phone internet plans as needed. Meals are an important part of what we provide our guests so we take your comments seriously and will continue to monitor the food we provide to address areas you outlined. We are very sorry for the transportation snafu, and your experience with the mosquitos. Both situations are not typical for guests. We have a variety of water currents in our area which are seasonal and can impact water clarity depending on several factors. Thank you again for your comments which we will use for continued improvements at Telunas. Best rgards, Telunas Resorts Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emmanuel wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What a disappointment! At this level of price was expecting a good resort as this is the case for Indonesia. Not really what happened. Food was disgusting (and expensive too: 60$ per meal for something well below a 5$ Singapore food court), accomodation ok but definitely not at the level expected. Very poor value for money. Not recommended knowing what you can get in the region. Frankly one of my top disappointment in my last 15 years of trips in Asia!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NathanTelunas, Manager at Telunas Beach Resort
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Greetings Tasmania5, We thank you for choosing Telunas Resorts for your holiday and we are very conscientious of your review and the cristisms you have made after your stay. We take your comments very seriously and we have looked deeply into every concern you mentioned and I personally spoke to every head of department involved to address these issues to ensure our standard is held high, and in some cases address immediate changes needed. We are deeply sorry that your dining experience did not satisfy your expectations as our desire is to always exceed expectations with a uniquely unforgettable time with great food over the ocean. Our meals are IDR 630,000++, which equals around $62++ for all three meals. We work with the best suppliers that we have access to to provide quality food with experienced chefs who take pride in providing the best we can at this price point, but we regretfully failed to wow you during you stay. I have spoken with the executive chef and we are implementing improvements in the new year, including a brand new dining room and modern kitchen, not to mention a whole new menu to showcase the skills of our chefs like never before. We hope that you were able to enjoy the numerous activities and facilities in our natural haven and over water bungalows and that your journey home was smooth. I personally wish you a blessed new year and hope one day the opportunity will come to meet again and give you that "wow" experience that we desire for our Telunas guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sjbiotchiii wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the most amazing time during our stay in Telunas!Staff are genuinely happy and assisted us in everything that we need with wide smiles in their faces.The food is delicious,I like that it is already included in the package so I was to try their indonesian twist in every meal. Had a great time in their floating spa too while i got my treatment. Everyone was polite and I like that they try to make conversation with their guests.Like that one staff serenades the guests during the last day of stay before the boat pick us up back to Batam. Everyone was so polite,they made feel so much like home!Beautiful place indeed,lovely staff!This is highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Morgan R wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the time we got on the boat, we were impressed with how incredible all of the Telunas staff was. The staff was attentive to any needs and went above and beyond what was expected. When we left, it truly felt like we were leaving good friends. Can't wait to come visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TelunasBeachResort, Guest Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Dear Morgan, Thank you for all your kind words. Our staff read these reviews and your summary of your experience will encourage all of them to continue to strive to provide excellent service and help other guests to have the same or greater experiences in the future. We hope to see you again next year! Best regards from the staff and management of Telunas Resorts. Willam
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Emem2
Singapore, Singapore361 contributions88 helpful votes
No idea, perhaps email them?
Takemeaway asked a question Jun 2019
38 contributions11 helpful votes
Is Wifi available? Are we still able to connect to our own data?
Answer from Tom081254
Oss, The Netherlands125 contributions48 helpful votes
Nope. Thank God.... what a pleasant surprise being off the grid. But they do have an emergency number for your relatives to call if they are dead....
847deving asked a question Feb 2019
Hong Kong, China
What currency you accept ?
Phyu wrote a tip Mar 2024
Singapore, Singapore2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"recommand to try nature."
Read full review
Patrick H wrote a tip Feb 2024
Windsor, Australia3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't come expecting any internet connection.. but that's the good part ! Perfect for 2-3 days escape "
Read full review
rakhee b wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Probably best to avoid busy seasons to get the true private island experience."
Read full review
Greg R wrote a tip Jan 2024
17 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book the beach bungalows"
Read full review
Pioneer28938579791 wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plan you time really wisely, start early, 7am. prepare for it to rain and plan water activities during high tide (7am-2pm) (kayak/fishing)"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sugi Island area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
telunas beach hotel sugi island, telunas beach hotel batam, telunas beach batam
LOCATION
IndonesiaRiau Islands ProvinceRiau ArchipelagoSugi Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TELUNAS BEACH RESORT - Reviews (Sugi Island, Indonesia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Telunas Beach Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Telunas Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Telunas Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Telunas Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Indonesian and Malay.
Does Telunas Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
FlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire