We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Te Koi - The Lodge at Bronte

Save
Share
133 Bronte Road East, Mapua 7173 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 7 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (90)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (16)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 24 in Mapua
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Te Koi - The Lodge at Bronte is an exclusive luxury lodge in a tranquil natural setting. Nestled on the edge of the Waimea Estuary on Nelson’s historic Bronte Peninsula, Te Koi is surrounded by its extensive mature gardens, family-run vineyard and apple orchards. As Nelson's premier 5-star waterfront property, Te Koi - The Lodge at Bronte is New Zealand owned and operated, with five purpose-built suites and villas set apart from the homestead. Dressing rooms, spa baths and kitchenettes provide the ultimate in luxury and comfort. Guests can enjoy the meandering gardens and parkland, heated swimming pool, tennis court, petanque, mountain bikes, and canoes and the seasonal beauty of the Estate’s 65 acre coastal orchard.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Tennis court
Massage
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Iron
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
164Reviews0Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 140
  • 13
  • 6
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lesley A wrote a review Jan 2022
6 contributions
We stayed in a villa. Very private and lovely views. Spacious and luxurious. Everything you need in the villa. The breakfast was fabulous and we enjoyed having it in the privacy of our villa. Dinner at the lodge is a must - a beautiful setting, amazing food and wine match was perfect with each course.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Villas are lovely!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
LNG wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
At a prince point of almost 700 dollars a night I would not recommend this property at this cost. Having worked in the hospitality industry for a few years I know what I should expect at this price range and that was not what was provided. Lower price and I would say good place, but when you are spending this much you expect much more. Head's up for those that are booking - there is no in-room dining (although not listed - the kitchen is currently closed) and you are not near restaurants; pictures of the water is only at high tide otherwise its a mud flat; suite is all one space; continental breakfast is not continental (e.g. no choices of bread or cereals) just breakfast supplies (e.g. jar of muesli and a few other things for the week - no change or variety); pool was nice, but no whirlpool/spa/hot tub (apparently only in for some room types, but not how its portrayed on expedia which lists it as available). Could be good at a lower cost, but if you are expecting luxury amenities which you should expect at this price range you will not get it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Maybe best to go for broke and get the villa
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Metcalfe, Owner at Te Koi - The Lodge at Bronte
Responded 6 Jan 2022
Dear Leslie, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We were disappointed to read your review, especially given it is in such stark contrast to the otherwise overwhelmingly positive reviews guests have left from their recent stays. We were especially disappointed given that when you reached our to us prior to your arrival noting that you were unable to travel due to limited ferry bookings that we offered to open the lodge early from our Christmas break with our family to accommodate you. Our breakfast offering is local, house made and fresh daily – accompanied by our own handmade touches such as the muesli and preserves.The images shown on our website show the Estuary both at high and low tide, given the natural and ecological significance of the Waimea Estuary to the local area we were also surprised that you found the view underwhelming, this is one of New Zealand’s most significant tidal estuaries and certainly the evolution of the waters through the day and night are a unique aspect of our property – all of which is clearly outlined in our imagery. All the information related to our dining, offerings and facilities at the lodge are listed on our website. Leslie, we appreciate you staying with us and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are disappointed that you did not take the time to share this with us in person whilst staying to ensure that we could have made your stay more memorable, we are not a large property – the team we have is made up ourselves (owners) and our hard working team, we all engaged with you and feel surprised that you didn’t feel comfortable to share this in person – more so as you note you have experience in Hospitality and would therefore understand your feedback could have been easily addressed. Regards, Ian & Ali Metcalfe
Read more
JB R wrote a review Jan 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a wonderful stay at Te Koi. The view from our room over the estuary was spectacular at sunset and at dawn. Lovel hosts ready to share their knowledge of the region. A great place to base your Nelson and Abel Tasman adventures. Only wished we could have stayed longer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Hinano B wrote a review Jan 2021
Queenstown, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
I would not know where to start so much te koi lodge has seduced me. Chic and elegant for sure, warm and authentic, Ali and Ian made us feel like special guest and family at the same time. We are first welcome by their two lovely dogs followed by Ali. It takes just a few second to know that you are at the right place if you look for quietness, beauty and confort. We stayed in a villa and there was more then Enough space to accomodate the three of us. The decoration is distinguished and tasteful, the bed very comfortable, homemade treats are delivered everyday, fresh bread and beautiful product of the region for breakfast. If you are not conquered already, spend a moment with Ian and Ali and their love and knowledge for the region will make your stay even more unique and memorable. We follow their advice by the letter and we only wish we had more time and we stayed a week! The only regret is not have been able to have diner there. With the difficult time all the hospitality Industry is facing with Covid, some heart broken choices have to be made but there is plenty of nice restaurant to visit around the lodge . But it just gives us more reason to come back when the lodge will operate fully. I can only warmly recommend Te Koi lodge, if you are a couple, a family, a single traveler, this place is a rare jewel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Paul A wrote a review Mar 2020
Sonoma, California11 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Te Koi is an upscale small Lodge between Nelson and Abel Tasman. All of the rooms are extremely comfortable and private. Your host Ali and Ian are wonderful. Ali is a great and creative chef. Highly recommend you take advantage of their evening meals either with the other guest or a table by yourself! Peaceful, beautiful and well maintained. Every staff member is wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: We enjoyed a suite right on the water. Excellent
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$472 - US$1,657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Bronte Country Estate
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandNelson-Tasman RegionMapua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Te Koi - The Lodge at Bronte
Which popular attractions are close to Te Koi - The Lodge at Bronte?
Nearby attractions include Rabbit island (4.4 km), Rare Creations Interactive Wooden Art Gallery (2.0 km), and Hoglund Art Glass (6.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Te Koi - The Lodge at Bronte?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Te Koi - The Lodge at Bronte?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Te Koi - The Lodge at Bronte?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Te Koi - The Lodge at Bronte?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Te Koi - The Lodge at Bronte?
Conveniently located restaurants include Forsters Moutere Hills, Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar, and The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Te Koi - The Lodge at Bronte?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Te Koi - The Lodge at Bronte?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Michael Macmillan Sculptor and Country Homeware (8.7 km).
Is Te Koi - The Lodge at Bronte accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.