We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beachside Bed & Breakfast

Save
Share
21b Oceanbeach Road Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116 New Zealand
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (35)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Maunganui
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Superb location. Our modern sunny well appointed home has great sea views and is only 30 second’s from the beach. We are close to the action yet far enough away to be quiet. Our superb location makes a great start to a memorable holiday. We are here to help you to enjoy your stay and our locality. All 3 bedrooms have their own bathroom.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Great View
168Reviews4Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 160
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Grace wrote a review Feb 2019
London, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
Jim and Lorraine’s bed & breakfast is a simply home away from home by the sea. Situated a minutes stroll from Mount Maunganui beach right out of their back gate, we were able to hear the waves crashing as we slept - pure bliss. Our room was comfortable clean and cosy, which is exactly what we needed after a busy few days in Queenstown. Jim greeted us and made us feel instantly at home. Nothing was too much trouble. Their is no sea view from the bedrooms, but the guest lounge looks out over the beach - a wonderful view whilst tucking into Jim’s home cooked breakfast accompanied by a selection of fresh fruit, cereals, juices and as much tea and coffee as you can drink! We were even invited into their lounge to watch the international cricket on the TV during our stay! Make
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Responded 3 Mar 2019
Hi Gracieharrison, Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and at beautiful Mount Maunganui. I agree with your comments about Mount Maunganui, it is hard to find a better place! Thanks for your lovely review, maybe you will be back. Best regards Jim & Lorraine
Read more
Cojo wrote a review Feb 2019
Northland2 contributions1 helpful vote
This place to stay was absolutely wonderful - we will be back!! Right on Mount Maunganui beach. Welcome at the door as we parked our car on the property. Cleanliness of the whole place made us feel very comfortabe as did very soothing toning of furnishings in our room & ensuite with super white bedding & towels. Filtered water, easily accessible free wifi & private courtyard for resting & contemplating!. Breakfast choices taken care of night before, financial matters taken care of quietly & no surprises here. Guest lounge one floor upstairs very accommodating with many choices of teas & coffee with oh-so-oh-so-comfortable seating. Excellent very full breakfasts on third level of house with very fresh fruit salad, home made bread, mueslies & coffee to die for!! as well as the
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Responded 3 Mar 2019
Hi Lobelia2 You two were wonderful guests to have stay, and we are really looking forward to seeing you again when you return. You and J are certainly enjoying your retirement. So full of life and living. Thanks for your lovely review of our place. Glad you enjoyed it. See you soon. Kind regards Jim & Lorraine
Read more
DeniseM wrote a review Feb 2019
Sydney, Australia192 contributions42 helpful votes
Located down a driveway on the beachside with other properties between it and the beach, the only sea view is from the third floor quest lounge & breakfast room (there are no quest rooms on this level). We were very disappointed as our room on the ground floor was very small & basic (I kept knocking my knees on the wooden bed frame) We were overlooked on both sides by neighbours so had no privacy and the bathroom was small, basic and needed a good clean as there was mould in the shower with dirt & dust on the floor PLUS it needed a new toilet seat as the one we had was very old and vile ! To hold the curtains together for privacy a dog clip was provided !!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Responded 24 Feb 2019
Hi Denise, Thanks for your review; but we are disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. You say not quite beachside; we chose the name as we are on the beach side of Oceanbeach Road. In other words you don’t have to cross the road to go to the beach. Yes the room is small but we have never had complaints about the size before, guests prefer to relax in our Guest Lounge with lovely views rather than stay in the bedroom. Between guests we always open the ensuite door (weather permitting) to let the breeze flow through the room. So dust and sand will blow in, particularly if there is a sea breeze. Rest assured that the floors are cleaned between guests. I was surprised that you found mould in the shower. I had to go down on my hands and knees and did find some under the sliding shower door rail. We agree that the toilet seat does need replacing and has been done already. It wasn’t VILE, only discoloured by the sunlight and cleaning chemicals. Regarding your privacy. All of the sections here used to have one house, but due to the popularity of Mount Maunganui most of the sections now have 3 or even 4 hours on them. We have been running the bed @ breakfast for 16 years and often get comments about how clean our rooms are. You are the first to complain! But we are sorry that we didn’t live up to your expectations.
Read more
ross m wrote a review Feb 2019
Auckland, New Zealand6 contributions
Very friendly couple, great room with en-suite. Guest lounge was upstairs with beautiful views of the beach, tea,coffee making facilities, sky tv, dvd. Breakfast was the best, all fresh food and the coffee was magic. Will definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Responded 16 Feb 2019
Thanks Ross m for your review and for choosing Beachside Bed & Breakfast. Look forward to seeing you again. Best regards Jim & Lorraine
Read more
CandiSul wrote a review Feb 2019
Hong Kong, China31 contributions8 helpful votes
We had a last minute change of plans and needed to return to Auckland (from Havelock North) two days early. We drove most of the day and ended up in the Mount looking for somewhere to stay for one night. Saw the B&B sign outside and thought we’d try our luck. What a lucky find indeed. Jim answered the door and was incredibly welcoming and hospitable. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Nothing was a problem. We had a beautiful breakfast- hot eggs, bacon etc for my husband and fresh fruit salad and yoghurt for myself....lots of other options available. Jim makes a great cappuccino too! Direct access to the beach - wish we could have stayed longer and taken full advantage of the location and fabulous hospitality. You won’t regret a stay here
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Responded 13 Feb 2019
Thanks Candice for you nice review. Great to have you stay with us. Lovely chat after breakfast. looking forward to seeing you again. Regards to V. Jim & Lorraine
Read more
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionTaurangaMount Maunganui
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing