We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
21b Oceanbeach Road Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116 New Zealand
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (35)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Maunganui
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Superb location. Our modern sunny well appointed home has great sea views and is only 30 second’s from the beach. We are close to the action yet far enough away to be quiet. Our superb location makes a great start to a memorable holiday. We are here to help you to enjoy your stay and our locality. All 3 bedrooms have their own bathroom.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
169Reviews4Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 161
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alan_490416 wrote a review Mar 2019
Warwickshire, England176 contributions115 helpful votes
We stayed in the "Rimu" room on the ground floor - it's plenty big enough although the bathroom is a bit on the small side. There's also a small patio area. The property is the middle one of three on a plot with direct access (no roads to cross) to the beach. The shared guest lounge where the excellent breakfast is taken is on the third floor with a balcony offering a sea view. The only downside from our point of view was that the walk into Mt. Maunganui was a bit of a struggle after dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Grace wrote a review Feb 2019
London, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
Jim and Lorraine’s bed & breakfast is a simply home away from home by the sea. Situated a minutes stroll from Mount Maunganui beach right out of their back gate, we were able to hear the waves crashing as we slept - pure bliss. Our room was comfortable clean and cosy, which is exactly what we needed after a busy few days in Queenstown. Jim greeted us and made us feel instantly at home. Nothing was too much trouble. Their is no sea view from the bedrooms, but the guest lounge looks out over the beach - a wonderful view whilst tucking into Jim’s home cooked breakfast accompanied by a selection of fresh fruit, cereals, juices and as much tea and coffee as you can drink! We were even invited into their lounge to watch the international cricket on the TV during our stay! Make
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Responded 3 Mar 2019
Hi Gracieharrison, Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and at beautiful Mount Maunganui. I agree with your comments about Mount Maunganui, it is hard to find a better place! Thanks for your lovely review, maybe you will be back. Best regards Jim & Lorraine
Read more
Cojo wrote a review Feb 2019
Auckland, New Zealand2 contributions1 helpful vote
This place to stay was absolutely wonderful - we will be back!! Right on Mount Maunganui beach. Welcome at the door as we parked our car on the property. Cleanliness of the whole place made us feel very comfortabe as did very soothing toning of furnishings in our room & ensuite with super white bedding & towels. Filtered water, easily accessible free wifi & private courtyard for resting & contemplating!. Breakfast choices taken care of night before, financial matters taken care of quietly & no surprises here. Guest lounge one floor upstairs very accommodating with many choices of teas & coffee with oh-so-oh-so-comfortable seating. Excellent very full breakfasts on third level of house with very fresh fruit salad, home made bread, mueslies & coffee to die for!! as well as the
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Responded 3 Mar 2019
Hi Lobelia2 You two were wonderful guests to have stay, and we are really looking forward to seeing you again when you return. You and J are certainly enjoying your retirement. So full of life and living. Thanks for your lovely review of our place. Glad you enjoyed it. See you soon. Kind regards Jim & Lorraine
Read more
DeniseM wrote a review Feb 2019
Sydney, Australia210 contributions50 helpful votes
Located down a driveway on the beachside with other properties between it and the beach, the only sea view is from the third floor quest lounge & breakfast room (there are no quest rooms on this level). We were very disappointed as our room on the ground floor was very small & basic (I kept knocking my knees on the wooden bed frame) We were overlooked on both sides by neighbours so had no privacy and the bathroom was small, basic and needed a good clean as there was mould in the shower with dirt & dust on the floor PLUS it needed a new toilet seat as the one we had was very old and vile ! To hold the curtains together for privacy a dog clip was provided !!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Responded 24 Feb 2019
Hi Denise, Thanks for your review; but we are disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. You say not quite beachside; we chose the name as we are on the beach side of Oceanbeach Road. In other words you don’t have to cross the road to go to the beach. Yes the room is small but we have never had complaints about the size before, guests prefer to relax in our Guest Lounge with lovely views rather than stay in the bedroom. Between guests we always open the ensuite door (weather permitting) to let the breeze flow through the room. So dust and sand will blow in, particularly if there is a sea breeze. Rest assured that the floors are cleaned between guests. I was surprised that you found mould in the shower. I had to go down on my hands and knees and did find some under the sliding shower door rail. We agree that the toilet seat does need replacing and has been done already. It wasn’t VILE, only discoloured by the sunlight and cleaning chemicals. Regarding your privacy. All of the sections here used to have one house, but due to the popularity of Mount Maunganui most of the sections now have 3 or even 4 hours on them. We have been running the bed @ breakfast for 16 years and often get comments about how clean our rooms are. You are the first to complain! But we are sorry that we didn’t live up to your expectations.
Read more
ross m wrote a review Feb 2019
Auckland, New Zealand6 contributions
Very friendly couple, great room with en-suite. Guest lounge was upstairs with beautiful views of the beach, tea,coffee making facilities, sky tv, dvd. Breakfast was the best, all fresh food and the coffee was magic. Will definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Responded 16 Feb 2019
Thanks Ross m for your review and for choosing Beachside Bed & Breakfast. Look forward to seeing you again. Best regards Jim & Lorraine
Read more
CandiSul wrote a review Feb 2019
Hong Kong, China31 contributions8 helpful votes
We had a last minute change of plans and needed to return to Auckland (from Havelock North) two days early. We drove most of the day and ended up in the Mount looking for somewhere to stay for one night. Saw the B&B sign outside and thought we’d try our luck. What a lucky find indeed. Jim answered the door and was incredibly welcoming and hospitable. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Nothing was a problem. We had a beautiful breakfast- hot eggs, bacon etc for my husband and fresh fruit salad and yoghurt for myself....lots of other options available. Jim makes a great cappuccino too! Direct access to the beach - wish we could have stayed longer and taken full advantage of the location and fabulous hospitality. You won’t regret a stay here
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Responded 13 Feb 2019
Thanks Candice for you nice review. Great to have you stay with us. Lovely chat after breakfast. looking forward to seeing you again. Regards to V. Jim & Lorraine
Read more
John S wrote a review Jan 2019
Peterborough, United Kingdom162 contributions73 helpful votes
A very welcoming B&B. Our room was on the ground floor. It was clean, comfortable and well furnished. Breakfast was served two storeys up with a lovely view over the adjacent property onto the surf. There was room for three cars and restaurants were only a short drive away.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Responded 31 Jan 2019
Thanks John for your informative review. very appreciated. Regards to you and Jan Jim & Lorraine
Read more
Harrisons2 wrote a review Jan 2019
Surrey, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything was top-notch from the hosts to the location. We went to Mt Maunganui to watch cricket at Bay Oval which is a very easy walk. Had no idea what a gem this place is! Jim & Lorraine were wonderful and inviting with a lovely home with very easy and fast access to a gorgeous, somewhat private area of the beach. They had a full house so started our stay in the room at the top of the house with 2 twin beds..loved the breeze at night, but we basically had the place to ourselves as we didn't see any of the other guests. Breakfast is served in the upstairs guest lounge with gorgeous view of the water and lovely deck. Food lives up to all the reviews.. generous and delicious. The home baked bread is just the icing on the..toast? All the other guests had adventures planned so me
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Responded 15 Jan 2019
Thanks Kelly & Karl. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Mount Maunganui is a very special place in NZ and guests do keep coming back, so it will be nice to see you again. No doubt Karl will be wanting to return to his roots in Taranaki. All the best from us and thanks again for doing a review.
Read more
ROSEDOLA wrote a review Jan 2019
Friedrichsdorf, Germany9 contributions5 helpful votes
First of all, I am a returning (multiple times) guest - this should explain a lot. This is the perfect B&B to stay while being in Mount Maunganui or the vicinity. It is close to the airport (approx. 5 mins by car) but the airport does not really bother you. Free parking is available and it has direct access to one of New Zealands best beaches, which indeed is endless. Restaurants, shops, city center, etc. is 5 minutes by car. The B&B itself has three rooms, I was always using the bigger one with own bathroom. Breakfast is a celebration of its own, you have every morning a wide selection of fresh fruits, muesli, yoghurt, self made bread (!!!), tea or coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, eggs, cooked breakfast and most likely other individual wishes. Breakfast is served on a
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Responded 15 Jan 2019
Thanks for your superb review of Beachside & Breakfast. It is always good to see you In Mount Maunganui or Germany! Also thanks for taking us on a flight to Pauanui. Very special afternoon and memory! Looking forward to your next time in NZ Best wishes Jim & Lorraine
Read more
Pioneer761319 wrote a review Dec 2018
1 contribution
First things first: Although everyone on here is praising the amazing breakfast and it might sound like people are overselling it: Trust us, they are not! It. Is. Amazing. (even when you choose not to try the bacon and eggs, Jim will insist on you trying it and it is WORTH IT! We already miss the hell out of it!) We stayed in Jim's and Lorraine's Beachside B&B for our whole one week long stay in New Zealand and enjoyed every second of our stay with these wonderful hosts. It started with a warm, German "Guten Tag", to a tour of the house and our room, the Queen room. The Queen room has an amazing, albeit small view of the Pacific and is completely sufficient for two people. Even though we were more than happy with our accomodation, Jim offered for us to move into the way bigger
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Responded 29 Dec 2018
Hi Jenny & Till, Thank-you for your splendid review of Beachside Bed & Breakfast. It is so good to have guests that stay for a few days so that we can get to know each other. We loved having you and would be very happy to see you return to Mount Maunganui in the future. Best Wishes for 2019 Jim & Lorraine
Read more
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionTaurangaMount Maunganui
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing