We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baywatch Motor Inn

Save
Share
349a Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (37)
Pool & Beach (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 13 hotels in Mount Maunganui
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mount Maunganui's best located motel, close to downtown shops and cafes and just 3 blocks to the beach. We offer fully air conditioned, quiet rooms with whisper glass panoramic windows, King beds, En-Suite Bathrooms, Kitchenettes and 50+SKY channels. *2 x 1 bedroom Spa suites with TV in lounge and bedroom with 50+ SKY channels, King bed, sofa bed in lounge. *10 x studio rooms with king bed, spa bath, 50+ SKY channels. * 2 x family rooms with king bed or 2 singles in a bedroom and queen bed in the lounge. * 1 x twin studio with 2 double beds * Free parking, unlimited free WIFI, unlimited warm KIWI hospitality.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Whirlpool bathtub
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Separate dining area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
180Reviews0Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 122
  • 47
  • 7
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bristell NZ wrote a review Feb 2021
Hamilton, New Zealand84 contributions39 helpful votes
We stayed a night here at short notice. Very comfortable room, everything you need. Very quiet inside room. Great location, easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Lovely owners who easily accommodated an early check in.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
EggGirl wrote a review Jan 2021
Whanganui, New Zealand83 contributions85 helpful votes
We booked this accommodation at the last minute and found Barry very helpful both on the phone and in person on arrival. We stayed with our 14 year old daughter. There was a king size bed in the bedroom and pull-out couch in the lounge. The room was a good size for the 3 of us. We walked to the beach both days we were there. Took about 7 minutes. Was a quick walk to a restaurant/bar but slightly too long in the heat to the Mount itself. The pool was nice and refreshing and again very clean. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Gareth & Gem wrote a review Dec 2020
5 contributions
Decided to stay in the Mount for the night, found Baywatch Motor Inn, drove up to reception was met there by Barry who was super friendly and accommodating. The outdoor pool is salt water and refreshing,the spa bath was bliss, the room tidy clean and well air conditioned and the bed one of the comfiest we've slept on! This Inn recycles ♻️ Perfect for what we needed. Thanks Barry!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Sinclair, Owner at Baywatch Motor Inn
Responded 29 Dec 2020
Thanks Gareth, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.
Read more
C Franks wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions
Got made to cancel a booking because we had a 12 week old baby. The halfwit on reception had no cognitive function to apply discretion and applied a blanket child ban (which makes no sense for such a basic/bare minimum standard of accomodation), it’s Newborns sleep 16 hours a day.... I think you would have been fine.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Sinclair, Owner at Baywatch Motor Inn
Responded 29 Dec 2020
We have recently implemented a minimum age for children, and to be fair to those that book our property because of this we cannot make concessions. We book these types of properties ourselves when we travel and are appreciative of the ambience they provide. There is no point in making personal attacks on good staff who are implementing policy.
Read more
Nick L wrote a review Nov 2020
North Shore, New Zealand384 contributions25 helpful votes
We booked this motel because of the location and the good reviews on Trip advisor. The ground floor studio unit we had was very spacious and has everything you will need except cooking facilities - but there are restaurants within an easy 1-10 minutes walk Although it is right on a busy road, with the windows closed we didn't hear any road noise The bed was very low down and although comfortable enough was hard to get out of sometimes. Both of the armchairs in our unit were not very comfortable to sit on and one of them was showing some obvious wear and tear on the arms. The pool area was locked and when unlocked we were told it had not been used since last summer and upon inspection it was in need of cleaning. It was quite warm 2 of the days we stayed and it would have been nice to have been able to use it. The spa bath in ther studio unit was nice and there was plenty of good pressure from the shower head Overall we felt the motel was 'ok'
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Sinclair, Owner at Baywatch Motor Inn
Responded 22 Nov 2020
Thanks for your review. We are pleased you generally enjoyed your stay. Please know that we have had new furniture on order since August this year. Many suppliers are experiencing delays in components that need to come from overseas. The room you were in is one of the last beds we need to update, and the import of latex has been an issue, but they hope to have delivery to us before the end of the year. We have been advised that the order for new chairs are due this week - finally! The pool has finally warmed up this week too with some sunshine on it, so is cleaned and now ready to go for the summer. While we had some warm days the water itself was no where near swimmable during your visit, hence why the pool had not been cleaned that week.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionTaurangaMount Maunganui
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Baywatch Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Baywatch Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Pilot Bay (0.7 km), Pohutukawa Gallery (0.8 km), and Anzac War Memorial Cenotaph (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Baywatch Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Baywatch Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Baywatch Motor Inn?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Baywatch Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Baywatch Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include EasyGo Thai, Rice Rice Baby, and Smart India.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Baywatch Motor Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Baywatch Motor Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Mount Maunganui.
Are any cleaning services offered at Baywatch Motor Inn?
Yes, self serve laundry and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Baywatch Motor Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Elms (4.1 km).
Is Baywatch Motor Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.