We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
349a Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$141
eDreams
TravelocityUS$141
Priceline
FindHotelUS$138
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (38)
Pool & Beach (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 13 hotels in Mount Maunganui
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mount Maunganui's only corporate, adult-friendly motel, close to downtown shops and cafes and just 3 blocks to the beach. We offer fully air conditioned, quiet rooms with whisper glass panoramic windows, King beds, En-Suite Bathrooms, Kitchenettes and 50+SKY channels. *4 x 1 bedroom Spa suites with TV in lounge and bedroom with 50+ SKY channels, King bed, sofa bed in lounge. *10 x studio rooms with king bed, spa bath, 50+ SKY channels. * 1 x twin studio with 2 queen beds * Free parking, unlimited free WIFI.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Adults only
Baggage storage
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Newspaper
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Whirlpool bathtub
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Separate dining area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
184Reviews0Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 124
  • 47
  • 8
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ian W wrote a review Apr 2022
Auckland, New Zealand24 contributions2 helpful votes
Located on the main street, the local bus stops at the door and there is a choice of four Fast Food shops less than 50 metres away. A short walk takes you to some excellent shops, cafes, restaurants and bars. The proprietors are very friendly and the allocated car park was adjacent to the room.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mary G wrote a review Dec 2021
Paraparaumu, New Zealand160 contributions38 helpful votes
This motel is looking a bit dated, but extemely comfortable with a very soft bed and big fluffy bath towels. It is very clean, but the fridge is really tiny and with the door shelf broken, held very little for a three day stay. The reason I haven't given a higher rating is because there was no table and chairs - just a desk with one chair. We did ask for another one and were given a plastic outdoor chair so we could both sit at the desk for meals, but not really satifactory. I always stipulate what I want when booking a motel, but never thought to ask if a table an chairs were provided as I have never stayed anywhere before where they haven't been!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PJC18 wrote a review Apr 2021
Queenstown, New Zealand268 contributions125 helpful votes
A reasonably basic property at one end of the main strip. Whilst there was nothing wrong with the room it lacked “comfort”. The bedroom was dark and nothing really appealed about it. Furnishings need to be softer and more comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tonia H wrote a review Mar 2021
Wellington, New Zealand13 contributions2 helpful votes
Although the motel looked a bit dated from the outside, the Interior of the king suite was spotlessly clean and roomy. The room had everything I needed and the service was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bristell NZ wrote a review Feb 2021
Hamilton, New Zealand93 contributions39 helpful votes
We stayed a night here at short notice. Very comfortable room, everything you need. Very quiet inside room. Great location, easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Lovely owners who easily accommodated an early check in.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
EggGirl wrote a review Jan 2021
Whanganui, New Zealand89 contributions102 helpful votes
We booked this accommodation at the last minute and found Barry very helpful both on the phone and in person on arrival. We stayed with our 14 year old daughter. There was a king size bed in the bedroom and pull-out couch in the lounge. The room was a good size for the 3 of us. We walked to the beach both days we were there. Took about 7 minutes. Was a quick walk to a restaurant/bar but slightly too long in the heat to the Mount itself. The pool was nice and refreshing and again very clean. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Gareth & Gem wrote a review Dec 2020
5 contributions
Decided to stay in the Mount for the night, found Baywatch Motor Inn, drove up to reception was met there by Barry who was super friendly and accommodating. The outdoor pool is salt water and refreshing,the spa bath was bliss, the room tidy clean and well air conditioned and the bed one of the comfiest we've slept on! This Inn recycles ♻️ Perfect for what we needed. Thanks Barry!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Sinclair, Owner at Baywatch Motor Inn
Responded 29 Dec 2020
Thanks Gareth, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C Franks wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions
Got made to cancel a booking because we had a 12 week old baby. The halfwit on reception had no cognitive function to apply discretion and applied a blanket child ban (which makes no sense for such a basic/bare minimum standard of accomodation), it’s Newborns sleep 16 hours a day.... I think you would have been fine.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Sinclair, Owner at Baywatch Motor Inn
Responded 29 Dec 2020
We have recently implemented a minimum age for children, and to be fair to those that book our property because of this we cannot make concessions. We book these types of properties ourselves when we travel and are appreciative of the ambience they provide. There is no point in making personal attacks on good staff who are implementing policy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick in NZ wrote a review Nov 2020
North Shore, New Zealand395 contributions26 helpful votes
We booked this motel because of the location and the good reviews on Trip advisor. The ground floor studio unit we had was very spacious and has everything you will need except cooking facilities - but there are restaurants within an easy 1-10 minutes walk Although it is right on a busy road, with the windows closed we didn't hear any road noise The bed was very low down and although comfortable enough was hard to get out of sometimes. Both of the armchairs in our unit were not very comfortable to sit on and one of them was showing some obvious wear and tear on the arms. The pool area was locked and when unlocked we were told it had not been used since last summer and upon inspection it was in need of cleaning. It was quite warm 2 of the days we stayed and it would have been nice to have been able to use it. The spa bath in ther studio unit was nice and there was plenty of good pressure from the shower head Overall we felt the motel was 'ok'
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Sinclair, Owner at Baywatch Motor Inn
Responded 22 Nov 2020
Thanks for your review. We are pleased you generally enjoyed your stay. Please know that we have had new furniture on order since August this year. Many suppliers are experiencing delays in components that need to come from overseas. The room you were in is one of the last beds we need to update, and the import of latex has been an issue, but they hope to have delivery to us before the end of the year. We have been advised that the order for new chairs are due this week - finally! The pool has finally warmed up this week too with some sunshine on it, so is cleaned and now ready to go for the summer. While we had some warm days the water itself was no where near swimmable during your visit, hence why the pool had not been cleaned that week.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tomás wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution
I arrived from Argentina wanting to work and get to know New Zealand. A pandemic, out of a fiction almost makes me come back and abandon this dream. Luckily that did not happen, but I also met two excellent people. Barry and Lee allowed me to stay during my self-isolation time, having been rejected by other hostels. They helped me a lot and always with the best predisposition. I am very grateful to both of them for that. The place is more than recommended for what has been said above and for the excellent service they offer. If you come to the mountain do not hesitate, Baywatch is the place. Cheers
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$128 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionTaurangaMount Maunganui
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Baywatch Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Baywatch Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Pilot Bay (0.7 km), Pohutukawa Gallery (0.8 km), and Anzac War Memorial Cenotaph (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Baywatch Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Baywatch Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Baywatch Motor Inn?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Baywatch Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Baywatch Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Smart India, EasyGo Thai, and Rice Rice Baby.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Baywatch Motor Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Baywatch Motor Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Mount Maunganui.
Are any cleaning services offered at Baywatch Motor Inn?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Baywatch Motor Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Elms (4.1 km) and Brain Watkins House Museum (Tauranga Historical Society) (5.2 km).
Is Baywatch Motor Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.