We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers

Save
Share
432 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116 New Zealand
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Expedia.com
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Updated 10/05/20

About

#3 of 26 Speciality lodging in Mount Maunganui
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Pacific Coast Lodge has been awarded “Best Accommodation in New Zealand” at the Backpacker awards in Australia in 2019, 2017, 2016 and 2014!! We've got it all: The beach, the surf, and the sun! We offer FREE onsite car parking, FREE WIFI and FREE surfboards. Located within walking distance to the beautiful shores of Mount Maunganui Beach, offering affordable accommodation for one night stays or weekly boarders looking for work. The friendly team at Pacific Coast Lodge will give genuine advice on activities and adventures to help you make the most of your stay, from swimming with Dolphins, amazing walks & hot pools, to deep sea fishing, kayaking & surfing. We are the only hostel in Mount Maunganui that actively assists you in finding work! Anything from fruit picking and orchard work, in bars, to factory and labouring jobs - we have people calling us daily for workers! The hostel is well established and provides loads of the comforts you crave from a Backpackers, but most of all our culture is one that our guests call home about.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Game room
Table tennis
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Board games / puzzles
Newspaper
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Portuguese
319Reviews0Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 209
  • 56
  • 24
  • 18
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Harry D wrote a review 18 Jan
1 contribution
Stayed long term In a 4 bed dorm. Comfortable beds, lots of sockets and room fan. Dark at night thanks to proper shades and lots of air flow. Friendly staff and nice owner. Sisters of the equally good Wonderlust hostel in Tauranga proper. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Marine F wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions
Great location (close to the beach, town and supermarket New World by walk or bike), staff (day and night team) is incredibly friendly and very professional, facilities are clean but can be better. I also appreciate that they help you to find a job. However, as a backpacker, this hostel is overpriced $210 a week a 6 bed room for long term and it's becoming worst with the Christmas holidays ($350)... it's too small and under equipped compared to the capacity. Didn't have a window in my room, by the lounge so always loud at night... Maybe I could have change room but it doesn't resolve the problem as some people will still have to stay in this "room". I enjoyed my stay because of the amazing people that I've met and the staff. Cheers to them x
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Meadows, Owner at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Responded 18 Dec 2021
HI Marine, We are glad you loved the staff and met some amazing people - that's what staying in a hostel is all about! Unfortunately Mount Maunganui is a top holiday destination and it is expensive to stay over the busy New Year period in all types of accommodation - the other hostel in town is $80 a night instead of our $50 and the camp ground is about the same price as us but for that you get to stay in a tent. It has been a difficult year in our Industry any many hostels have closed down due to lack of tourists. There is only one room without a window in the hostel- though does have air conditioning, we would of happliy moved you to another room if you had seen our lovely staff. Our staff work hard to offer a great stay so we are happy you enjoyed yourself. Take care on your adventures, The Pacific Coast Lodge Team
Read more
EELV wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Love PCL such a good vibe, friendly staff, clean facilities and close to the beach what more could you want? Highly recommend spending your summer in the mount, PCL helps you find a job and there's always lots going on.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Laure Gam wrote a review Sep 2021
Tauranga, New Zealand4 contributions
I had a great time! Planned to stay 2 days...ended up staying almost 3 months! Made friends for life! Big up to the staff who are always here to help you and clean the hostel all day. Seriously, it was so lovely to stay with you guys.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
HonestReviewer wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions
I enjoyed my time at pacific coast lodge - I stayed here for about 5-6 months and made many fond memories. The social aspect of the hostel is great with many cultures mixing. If you are a solo traveller then it is very easy to make friends here. In summer it’s nice to go chill on the outside table and rent the surfboards available at the reception. Another pro is the lounge which is big enough to hold lots of people for movie night. A big up to Lauree who started transforming PCL into a much nicer place to stay, a member of staff who had some passion to her job which was easily seen by everybody who stayed. A few things that didn’t quite sit with me was getting pots and pans from reception, the giving people their own set of plates, mugs and cutlery which just didn’t really work. I’m giving 3 stars because I’ve read PCL responses to reviews and I’m actually horrified about how rude and personal some of the responses are. Whoever is writing the responses I’m really appalled about the professionalism in customer service here. I also think that the hostel takes advantage sometimes of the lack of hostels in mount Maunganui. If someone is kicked out of pcl hostel then they will ring the other hostel (mount backpackers) and tell them not to let them in, effectively making them homeless and forcing them to bribe their way in with a bond. Also advertising jobs that don’t exist to encourage more people to the hostel, when picking season started there were many of us at the hostel who had moved due to the advertised work (which didn’t exist). What was worse is whilst all of us were unemployed waiting around they preceded to carry on putting posts on social media saying ‘immediate start, all you need to do is stay with us and you can start in the next few days’. So a good hostel, good location with a lot of potential, just some major things that need to be addressed and maybe some lessons to be learned. Just hoping I don’t get slandered with personal insults from this review.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Meadows, Owner at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Responded 21 Jul 2021
Thank you for staying with us for over 5 months!!! You must of loved the culture within our award winning hostel. Our staff work hard at bring people together and creating memories that will last forever. Our team love constructive criticism as that means we can keep on improving the business... we are sorry you found it a hassle that we gave guests their own set of cutlery and had to ask for pots and pans - after 17 years in the business and many complaints about the messy kitchen and disrespectful guests leaving dishes everywhere we took those complaints on board and have found this option works better and keeps our kitchen cleaner for all to enjoy. Responses to reviews allows both sides of the story to be told, there are always 2 sides. When people are asked to leave it is because they have done something wrong, we do not kick people out of the hostel for no reason. All hostels work together in Tauranga (8 of them) as we have a great working relationship and look after each other - disrespectful guests that cause the business trouble are not good for business or other guests. We understand that it can up setting for other long termer to lose a friend if they have not followed the hostel rules and have been asked to leave, all rules are in place to keep everyone safe and enable them to have a comfortable stay. We offer a job finding service - free of charge to our guests, we are not the employer for seasonal work so we have no control on when the work starts, or if it is delayed due to sugar levels. This is always clearly explained on the phone, through emails and on the work board - unfortunately we are given a start date by the contractors, we work hard to gets guests signed up for that date and then the start date changes - that is out of our control, and guests do get upset when this happens understandably, our intention is to always keep the work board updated so everyone is updated. We are so glad you think we are a good hostel and in a good location and stayed with us over 5 months! We hope these memories of your time in PCL and the friends you have made will stay with you forever. Remember, "Life's better at the Mount!" Kind Regards the PCL Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$41 - US$59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionTaurangaMount Maunganui
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include The Lion & Tusk - Museum of the Rhodesian Services Association (0.9 km), Rocktopia Adventure Centre (1.0 km), and Anzac War Memorial Cenotaph (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, laundry service, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include EasyGo Thai, Smart India, and Fife Lane Kitchen & Bar.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Elms (3.7 km), Gate Pa Memorial Reserve (8.0 km), and Brain Watkins House Museum (Tauranga Historical Society) (4.8 km).