The Crane Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Crane Resort

Traveller (3972)
Panorama at The Crane Resort
360
Panoramas (13)
The Crane Resort
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
$702
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 resort in Diamond Valley
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Summertime Bliss!

Location

Diamond Valley BB18098 Barbados
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 58 out of 100
58
Grantley Adams Intl Airport
3,700Reviews245Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,165
  • 836
  • 299
  • 209
  • 191
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Charlene L wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort is breathtaking, the views are spectacular, the service is top notch. I checked into this hotel after checking out of The Barbados Beach Club after staying one night— beware, you will be traumatized if you stay there and I got sick after eating/drinking there but that is for another review. As for The Crane, after my trauma, I was soooo scared and was pleasantly surprised, I wanted to cry. The first hotel was just that bad. When you enter The Crane, there is a security gate where you have to give your name to see if you have a reservation before entering. Once entering, you drive down a very tropical driveway to reception. Once my room was assigned, I could not be taken to it, until it was given a once check to make sure everything was good. I was taken to my room and my beautiful birthday vacay began. Honestly, I could have stayed on the resort the whole time, my bathroom had its own jacuzzi. I will post a video of a room type an acquaintance I made. Okay so I couldn’t upload the video but I did add a few pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: This is really good location for couples looking for a romantic getaway. There were some...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Crane Barbados, Other at The Crane Resort
Responded 26 Feb 2024
Dear 252charlenel, Thank you for sharing this lovely review and for choosing The Crane for your birthday getaway. We're thrilled to note that we could provide a pleasant and memorable experience for you. It was certainly our pleasure to host you. We're delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back for another unforgettable stay in the future. Warmest regards, Simone Lashley
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FelixstoweSue wrote a review Mar 2020
Felixstowe114 contributions110 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a one bedroom suite with which was an impressive size and included two bathrooms it overlooked the gardens and was well away from the construction site . The only problem we had with the room was the AC in the bedroom which every so often made a loud buzzing noise as we were only there for 4 nights we didn’t bother to report it . The gardens and outside areas where immaculate but we were disappointed that the jacuzzi was not heated especially as the the east coast is the cooler part of the island and the swimming pools were quite cold . The buffet breakfast was disappointing with tasteless under ripe fruit ,no tomatoes or mushrooms with cooked breakfast, sliced bead only and cheap juice. At the Azzure restaurant the women servers definitely had an attitude. Water was not offered at the table unless you went a la carte and they were very slow to bring coffee. However when the breakfast was moved to the Carriage house on certain days the staff were much more welcoming and made it a more enjoyable experience. Staff around the resort were generally very helpful and efficient and looked very content.
The one downside of the resort is the sargassum seaweed at the time of our visit it was overwhelming and any attempts to clear it from the beach were not successful. The seaweed made wave jumping or even walking in the water unpleasant . When the tractor did clear the seaweed it was dumped straight back into the sea only to come in again. The boom installed had broken up and seemed to keep the seaweed in rather than out of the bay .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear FelixstoweSue, Thank you for sharing this review. We are happy to note the areas you enjoyed during your stay. Please be assured that we have noted your suggestions for improvement and these will be discussed with the relevant teams for correction. Regarding the seaweed, we had experienced deposits during your stay. While this is not a typical occurrence during this time, we do understand the negative impact this can have on our guests. As such we implemented several mitigating measures including the deployment of a team and machinery to clear the beach daily. I am happy to report that these deposits have since subsided. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you again in the future to enjoy a true Crane experience. Warmest regards, Sean Alleyne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Livewell67 wrote a review Feb 2020
Boston, Massachusetts304 contributions52 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Crane resort in a 2 bedrooms penthouse with ocean view for one week in February 2020. The room was super clean, bright and spacious. The resort is quite large with multiple restaurants, a bar, a grocery store, a cafe, gardens, pools, lots of trees, birds, frogs and even monkeys! We liked overall the the vibe and all the employees were super friendly.
The beach is facing on the Atlantic so you get lots of waves but it never felt dangerous. The seaweed is a constant problem and they try their best to keep up with the daily influx by raking the beach with a tractor.
Please keep in mind that due to the location, you are a bit isolated comparing to other hotels on the west coast for example. That’s especially apparent in terms of restaurants selection. The restaurants on site were ok but certainly don’t give you the full range of flavors available on the island unless you are willing to drive some distance. We did that for lunch but avoided driving at night.

The reason for the lower overall rating is the ongoing construction at the resort. There is massive construction ongoing. Unfortunately our room was in a building adjacent to a new building being constructed. That means construction noise from 8am to 6pm from Monday to Saturday. The resort management said they were truly sorry but the resort being booked they were unable to find a suitable penthouse replacement. Instead they offered a room on the first floor with a garden view that looked too dark and claustrophobic so we passed on that option. They also offered an 8% credit that was applied towards food and beverages at the resort’s restaurants. We did appreciate the gesture but that still left us with the construction noise. We ended up minimizing our stay in the room during the day by going on daily excursions and hanging out at the pool and the beach. I would have given a much higher rating if it wasn’t for the construction.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Dear Livewell67, Thank you for sharing as your feedback is important to us. We are happy to note the areas you enjoyed during your stay. We are however disappointed to learn of the areas that fell short of expectations. We do apologise for any inconvenience caused by property works, as we do try our best to limit any noise disturbance to our guests. Under normal circumstances, we are happy to accommodate room moves, but I can assure you that during the period you stayed with us, we were indeed at a very high occupancy and were unable to accommodate a move to another suitable penthouse. We strive to consistently meet and surpass our guests' expectations and hope to be given another opportunity in future, to create the true Crane experience for you. Sincerely, Sean Alleyne General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter F wrote a review Feb 2020
Montreal, Canada22 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited the Crane Hotel for 4 days at the end of January while we were in transit to the island of Dominica. We had a spacious, well appointed, one bedroom suite furnished in a style consistent with the resort's status as the oldest in Barbados. The property itself was lovely and well maintained with more swimming pools than you could ever use. The fitness facility was one of the best I have ever encountered at a resort, with state of the art cardio and weight training equipment of superior quality. The beautiful white sand beach was groomed regularly to remove the constant stream of seaweed coming ashore. The latter really did not impede our enjoyment of the water or the beach experience generally. Service throughout was very good and consistently friendly. We ate all of our breakfasts and dinners at the resort in its various restaurants. Food quality was o.k. but there is definitely room for improvement here. Our best dining experience was at the Azure restaurant. My wife and I are not generally "large resort" people, preferring a smaller and more intimate type of resort setting. Still, we really enjoyed our stay at the Crane and it was well situated only 10 or 15 minutes from the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We were in the 300 block. Some daytime noise from the pools and some nighttime from the pub.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear Peter F, Thank you for sharing this review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Please be assured that we have noted your suggestion for improvement and this will be discussed with the relevant teams. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Warmest regards, Sean Alleyne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chloe P wrote a review Jun 2020
Wokingham, United Kingdom15 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Although our visit was last summer, I thought with the lack of current reviews due to coronavirus this was still very relevant.

During our time at the Crane, we upgraded ourselves to a two bedroom contemporary suite which was definitely worth the amount extra per night. Due to the fact that it is located in the new private residence block, it featured all new appliances, was very large and beautifully furnished. I would recommend researching the cost of upgrading before arriving because it ended up being much less than we expected. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Crane and thought all of the food was excellent and L'Azure in particular had a wonderful view which made breakfast even better. All of the amenities at the hotel were of a high standard - the pools in particular were excellent and we spent the majority of our time at the adults only pool as it was quieter. The seaweed was not an issue at the beach as they worked hard to clear it.

All of the staff were very friendly - Vivienne on reception and Yvette at breakfast both stood out in particular for being so helpful. Overall we thought it was an excellent hotel with stunning views and we would definitely consider returning. The only thing I can think of which could improve the hotel would be upgrading the chairs around the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Crane Barbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort
Responded 18 Jul 2020
Dear chloephilp, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this wonderful review of your Crane experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and have taken note of your recommendation for improvement. It was our sincere pleasure to welcome you and we hope to have the opportunity to do so again in the not too distant future. Warm regards, Simone Lashley Director of Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan S wrote a review Feb 2020
Ottawa27 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Can’t say enough about how great the Crane Resort is. We were able to use a friend’s time share week to book an ocean view room with a plunge pool in building 5. It was massive with a large living/seating area, a grand bedroom with another large lounge chair, makeup table and large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, dual sinks, shower and lots of closet space. The restaurants were all great expecially ZEN (Thai/Japanese) and D’Onnofrios (Italian). We had breakfast one day at L’Azure (a la carte, not the buffett) and enjoyed coffees most mornings from the Village Cafe. We had lunch at the Carriage House a couple of times. Service there was a bit slow, but worth it. On our first night, we had finger foods at Bar 1887 and a cocktail. LIve music most nights in that bar as well. The pools area was quite spacious though not a lot of shady spots unless you could score some lounge chairs in the 4 person or 10 person cabanas. The staff were VERY friendly from the restaurant workers to the gardeners, front office staff and even the garden and housekeeping crew. Overall, a peaceful and relaxing way to start a holiday in Barbados. Being on the east coast, the breeze makes it cooler than the west coast and the ocean is a bit rougher. The Crane Beach is a lovely picturesque spot with bar and food service available too.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear X439HVdans, Thank you for sharing this review. We are thrilled to note that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us, as this is always our aim. We are happy to note all the areas you enjoyed during your stay. It was certainly our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Warmest regards, Sean Alleyne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Courtney Daniels wrote a review Jan 2021
New York City, New York5 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was so excited to visit The Crane Barbados as it was also my first trip to beautiful Barbados. My boyfriend and I booked The Crane for both New Years and his birthday. I booked an Ocean View suite. Right from booking there were lots of problems. They overcharged me and did not send me a confirmation email - I had to call 5 times. to receive one I also called to ask about the rules for quarantine and was not told that we could not go to the beach or use any of the amenities and would be locked in our room (I would have stayed elsewhere). When we arrived in our suite, our jet tub was broken - we reported it (it was never fixed). There was zero room cleaning. The concierge at the hotel also lost our original COVID-19 tests when we checked in and rudely blamed us of this and threatened to not let us get tested. The toilet was broken (reported & also never fixed). Room service was always very late and rude even though we spent thousands on ordering in. We left disgusted and checked into The Little Arches, a luxury boutique hotel and thank god they were so lovely and we had a wonderful experience in Barbados after all. The Crane was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in in my entire life. I would highly suggest never staying there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ocean View with Plunge Pool is the only thing that will save you
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Crane Barbados, Other at The Crane Resort
Responded 27 Jan 2021
Dear CourtneyCocoDaniels, Thank you for sharing. Your feedback is important to us. We regret that your recent stay fell short of expectations. Up until 3 January, 2021, guests were allowed to walk the property with restricted access while awaiting second test results. Unfortunately, on 4 January, the Ministry of Health of Barbados mandated that all guests in quarantine are to remain in their rooms until their 2nd COVID-19 PCR test is complete and their results have been returned. We do understand and apologise for the inconvenience, but we are required to adhere to policies implemented by the Government of Barbados.. It is our policy, as a precautionary measure, that suites occupied by guests in quarantine do not receive housekeeping service. However additional linen is supplied on request. When guests receive a negative second test, a daily housekeeping service is offered. We are disappointed to note your other concerns, as our staff is known for being professional and friendly. However, please note that these have all been noted and passed to the relevant teams for investigation. It seems as though The Crane was not quite what you were looking for on your Barbados holiday but we are happy you were able to enjoy our beautiful island. Sincerely, Simone Lashley Director of Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mohsen T wrote a review Aug 2021
Bromley, United Kingdom9 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place could be a 4 star hotel if you fire the whole management team and start over.
First of all if you want to get frustrated by numerous things that I will mention shortly, you're better off booking it through Hilton as it's half the price for the same room.

If you're still thinking of booking be ready to stay in the long queue at reception from the moment you arrive, your room for sure will not be ready although they have had all your information already. Once you're waiting in the hot reception area, you will see that it's usually 1 or 2 reception desks that are open from the four available, and there are also many people just watching others work.

If you're lucky and get you're room and cards that work, you better be patient as you're luggage won't be arriving anytime soon.

If you have booked three people in the one-bedroom, most likely the sofa bed will not have bedding and that's if the sofa bed is a sofa bed. Trust me as I had to move 3 times and this was the same in all the rooms.
Forget about calling reception, housekeeping as for sure no one will answer the phone. If they do, you better have patience. Room service is also virtually non-existent.
The toilets will most likely have a flushing problem. The aircon works random, the shower is warm, you won't have enough towels, room service is random and back to reception for each of these and hours of waiting at the front desk. One thing they have got right is to sanitise your hand and wear a mask which is acceptable but in the outside area when their is tropical rain pouring down is funny.

For sure they won't give a dam about this review as there is no manager to be seen. The receptionists are running this hotel or camp, whatever you want to call it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just avoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Crane Barbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Dear mohsent782 Thank you for your feedback. This is important to us. We are truly saddened by your recent experience and we wish to offer sincere apologies for the inconsistencies you experienced during your stay. Please be assured that your experience has been noted and will be shared with the relevant teams for review and correction, as we continue to strive to be better for all our guests. We hope you will give us the chance to restore your trust in us if your future travels return you to Barbados. Sincerely, Chris Forbes General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tourist790943 wrote a review Jan 2020
7 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at The Crane in January with friends and family and never enjoyed a vacation more. Everyone went out of their way to make sure our vacation was beyond excellent. The waitresses at both L’Azzure and Zen were outstanding and very patient with us. Our housekeeping staff made sure that we had everything we needed and a few things we really didn’t expect. I highly recommend you stay at The Crane for anyone looking to stay in Barbados
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Dear Tourist790943, Thank you for sharing this review and for your recommendation. We are delighted to note that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We are always especially happy when our staff contribute to our guests' wonderful stays, as we always aim to surpass our guests' expectations. It was certainly our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Warmest regards, Sean Alleyne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruth T wrote a review Aug 2020
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom11 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were booked to stay at The Crane for 20 nights in August 2020, we lasted 1 night and moved to another hotel for our holiday.
The rest of the hotel is worn and they didn't seem ready for guests following their reopening. We arrived at after 4pm and our room wasn't ready. We were told there would be no housekeeping throughout our stay and that we would be given enough bedlinen to change ourselves, we were offered a drink, which never arrived and when we spoke to the hotel manager about this he said we could have daily housekeeping we would just need to pay.
We had a two bedroom suite, with my son sleeping on the sofa bed. Reception had told us that the restaurant services were limited, but that the pool restaurant was open till 8pm - we arrived at 7.35pm to be told they were closed. We went to the Zen to be told that they were fully booked till 9.30pm - 9 hour flight from London, 3 hungry kids and nowhere to get anything to eat! We gave up and returned to our room. Still no bedlinen for my son, despite a call to reception at 7.15 - at 10.30pm we gave up and he slept under an airline blanket!
The following morning after the gym, with no a/c and being told off at breakfast for not wearing our green covid wrist bands (we arrived with negative test certificates) and then hearing the noise from the building work which is taking place on one of the accommodation blocks, we decided this wasn't the hotel for us and left.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Crane Barbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort
Responded 1 Sept 2020
Dear Ruth T, Thank you for sharing this review of your experience. We were disappointed to learn that your stay fell short of expectations and extend our sincerest apologies for the inconsistencies you experienced. Please be assured we have taken note of, and action in, the areas highlighted for improvement. Regarding our wristband policy, we do appreciate that your party entered the island with negative test results but we have implemented this policy to maintain the safety of our valued guests and staff, as we adjust to our new normal. However, we do apologise for the way this was communicated to you, as this is not in keeping with our usual standards. We do regret that you did not enjoy The Crane experience for the duration of your Barbados holiday but hope that you enjoyed our beautiful island. While we do understand your reluctance to return, please be assured that we strive to consistently meet and surpass our guests' expectations and hope to be given another opportunity in future to create the true Crane experience for you. Sincerely, Karen Oliver Director of Hotel Business Development
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from kenneth_hodge
Southampton, United Kingdom124 contributions61 helpful votes
I would imagine if you atte d at the re emotion they should be a le to assist
Answer from Bob E
El Valle de Anton, Panama129 contributions53 helpful votes
Talk to Mgmt
Peta A asked a question Jun 2023
Port of Spain, Trinidad15 contributions2 helpful votes
Is this an all-inclusive resort?
Answer from Samuel E
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii29 contributions63 helpful votes
No.
Answer from Christopher V
14 contributions1 helpful vote
The pools are not heated as I think you mean but the water heats with the sun. It can be a relief when it is cold as it does get hot there. You won't have any issues with the pools. The cliff is safe and you can't get directly to it. The lift was not working when we were there. The stairs are safe and after eating the wonderful food was my main source of exercise. Hope you have a wonderful time.
Lynne D wrote a tip 25 May
7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring lots of money "
Read full review
John G wrote a tip 20 May
Isle of Man, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be prepared for problems with equipment in the rooms being broken or damaged and not working properly."
Read full review
Allen H wrote a tip 14 May
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"As an owner, the decline is unbelievable. High staff turn over rate has created a serious issue with cleanliness and customer service. "
Read full review
Brandi M wrote a tip 4 May
Saint John, Canada5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I’d recommend at least getting the breakfast buffet included as eating at the restaurants everyday adds up quickly (like it would anywhere) "
Read full review
Keith C wrote a tip Apr 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rent a car. Drive the island away from the tourist destinations. The east coast of the island is breathtakingly beautiful. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Diamond Valley area.
PRICE RANGE
$396 - $744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the crane residential hotel saint philip, crane hotel saint philip, crane saint philip, crane barbados, the crane barbados, crane hotel barbados, crane resort barbados
LOCATION
CaribbeanBarbadosSaint Philip ParishDiamond Valley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
318
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CRANE RESORT - Reviews & Price Comparison (Diamond Valley, Barbados) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Crane Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Crane Resort?
Nearby attractions include Foursquare Rum Distillery (4.0 km), Bottom Bay (4.0 km), and Crane Beach (0.01 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Crane Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Crane Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Crane Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Crane Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Crane Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Shack Restaurant And Bar, Cutters of Barbados, and Dis Ole House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Crane Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Crane Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, The Crane Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Crane Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Crane Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Crane Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire