Beaches Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Beaches Motel

40 Seaforth Road, Waihi Beach 3611 New Zealand
Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (20)
Pool & Beach (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 motel in Waihi Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
6 fully self-contained ground floor units just across the road from one of New Zealand's best/safest beaches & yet only 90 minutes away from Auckland International Airport. Units sleep from 1 to 6 persons. Come & stay at Beaches Motel-Waihi Beach whilst down in New Zealand.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Beach
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern

Location

40 Seaforth Road, Waihi Beach 3611 New Zealand
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 40 out of 100
40
Tauranga Airport
35.8 km
See all flights
Hamilton Airport
73.4 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 1 kilometer
47Reviews0Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 13
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Shirley wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Once again Beaches Motel provided the peace and quiet needed. The hosts are super accommodating, leave you alone, bend over backwards to provide you with whatever you need. Room well presented and bed super comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacqui cronje wrote a review Sept 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great little motel. Walking distance to spectacular beach and restaurants. Spotless with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Will highly recommend. Welcoming staff, great walks in area. Waihi is an excellent place to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah G wrote a review Apr 2014
West Sussex, United Kingdom88 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My Partner and I decided last minute to stay overnight at Waihi Beach - didn't pre book. Looked around and through all accommodation options. The other options were very expensive and not intimate at all (campsite cabins). Took a punt on this motel and had a fantastic experience. Spacious unit, beautifully clean, all mod cons, informative and helpful Manager, and a skip from the beach front. Don't pass this little gem just because of her looks from the road. We will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dexter Morgan wrote a review Feb 2020
Tokoroa, New Zealand7 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We hired three units for our group. Rooms were spacious though prices were at higher end. Sadly the plumbing in particular is diabolical. Water temperature was totally impossible to adjust to body heat. Electric heaters in line with probably uneven pressures & 2 taps. The bathroom tap was nearly impossible to turn off & again water temperature was difficult.
One hotpoint had a dicky switch.
Zenbu WiFi was it's normal near useless state, kicking on & off, limited data etc.
Poor value for money. If you book - get a shower somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bks421 wrote a review Oct 2010
Auckland, New Zealand15 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked in after a tiresome North Island buying trip in our camper looking forward to a hot shower and some telly for a change, we clipped the building with our camper (no damage to the vehicle what so ever) a little scrape on the guttering, could have not told the owner and got away with it but being honest types alerted the owner, wow big mistake, came down using bad language and ranted about having to pay for this by the metre, "I'm not F#%&'n happy, not F#%&'n happy" quite aggresive, not interested in being abused we left after leaving our full details, doesn't end there, owner had our details told him to ring us with repair bill cost, apparently not good enough, chased us down the road, had an altercation, told him to chill, threatened to bring the police down. Followed us around Waihi Beach, put a bit of a damper on the nice week we had travelling the North Island, so being not far from home decided to travel home and use our own shower. Brought the camper back to the depot the next morning, poor office staff have had abusive phone calls from him from 8.30 am that morning, they were expecting their camper back in total disrepair and were waiting with baited breath, they were told that we rammed the building and caused major damage. Very unproffesional and aggresive.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2010
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
golfers2016 wrote a review Feb 2016
Hawera, New Zealand8 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Were staying as a sporting group and had booked two rooms originally. Tens day out from staying one room had to be cancelled which he was not happy about.
When we arrived we were meet by a very abbussive grumpy man who had made no attempt what so ever to sell this room and stood there arguing that we had to pay for it.
Told us the sofa bed didn't work in our room then told us he was lying.
We made him take the no vacancy sign down and the room sold for the 4 night we were staying. He had told us he could have sold it 1000 time over but he certainly made no attempt to do so.
Nasty man who should not be in the business.
Shower is terrible
Invasion of ants in kitchen.
Have to do dishes when you leave or you will be charged for it.
This is such a shame as it in a great location
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CyrusB_93, Manager at Beaches Motel
Responded 7 Jul 2019
Hi there, I'm sorry you had a terrible experience with the previous owner at the Beaches Motel this has however changed OWNERSHIP as of Feb 2019. Could you please consider removing this negative review as this is irrelevant to us? Thank you kindly Cyrus
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AMLondon2 wrote a review Dec 2013
London18 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights in mid-December. Having stayed at Waihi Beach numerous times as a child, I knew what to expect from the town and the beach - it's a fantastic beach town.

The motel was great - spacious bedrooms, very clean, modern appliances. Would recommend to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joe Dennie wrote a review Nov 2016
Cuenca, Ecuador8 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived on the 21st of Nov. Steve, the owner/operator greeted us. He was so jovial. A real ambassador to New Zealand.
Our timing was off a d we could only get one day here. The accommodations was excellent. We had a private cabin with every available accessories. We had it all for 115 per night.
Steve is a first class tourist operator. After retiring from the travel industry with 40 years I feel qualified to make these statements.
Joe Dennie.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kay A wrote a review Mar 2015
Flemingsburg, Kentucky16 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at this motel my last four trips to New Zealand. my grand daughters and I vote it our favorite place to stay. the owner Steve is a delight, always a pleasure to deal with, even changed my flat tyre!. Across the street from access to the beautiful beach, the motel is fairly small but units are absolutely spotless and nicely furnished. There is also a great outdoor area under the trees to eat or relax.Just a great place to stay at a quiet and beautiful beach. I would really rather keep it a secret but its to good a place to not brag about.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: I have stayed in both the 2 bed and single units, although the single bed units are close to the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cookie-dave68 wrote a review Apr 2014
London, United Kingdom3,449 contributions249 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here after going to the x2 camping grounds and inquiring about the price's of self container rm's/units....
This motel was far cheaper..
One street back from beach,with easy access....
Room's were clean and tidy, even a couple of tradesmen were in rm next to us...
The owner was very helpful (an English/London expat), the r'ms soon filled up after we arrived late afternoon, I guess couples had same idea as us.... ''Value for money''....

We'd stay again though a little far to come from uk....
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Room's closer to office get better wifi signal...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Craig W wrote a tip Mar 2016
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You don't need to go anywhere else, unless ( of course ) they are booked out, which is on the cards. Make sure to book early and enjoy"
Read full review
Kay A wrote a tip Mar 2015
Flemingsburg, Kentucky16 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I have stayed in both the 2 bed and single units, although the single bed units are close to the street they are quiet"
Read full review
Eileen M wrote a tip Feb 2015
Hong Kong, China18 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room five has two bedrooms and is very spacious."
Read full review
cookie-dave68 wrote a tip Apr 2014
London, United Kingdom3,449 contributions249 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room's closer to office get better wifi signal..."
Read full review
Bailey B wrote a tip Jan 2013
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand10 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in a 2 bdrm unit, lovely and spacious and with the blockout curtains, is great for young kids and light sleepers."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Waihi Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
$174 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionWaihi Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEACHES MOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Waihi Beach) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Beaches Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Beaches Motel?
Nearby attractions include Waihi Beach Gallery (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Beaches Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Is parking available at Beaches Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beaches Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flatwhite, Secret Garden, and Waihi Beach Hotel.
Are there any historical sites close to Beaches Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Historical Athenree Homestead (4.8 km).
All Waihi Beach HotelsWaihi Beach Hotel DealsHotels near Beaches Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire