We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
34 Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$150
View deal
eDreams
Expedia.com
US$150
View deal
Booking.comUS$150
Hotels.comUS$150
PricelineUS$150
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (85)
360
Panoramas (8)
Dining (82)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Globe is a beautiful 16th Century Coaching Inn set in the heart of Exeter’s Historic Estuary Town of Topsham. Located only 4 miles from Exeter City centre, it attracts both tourists and business travellers.The Inn has recently undergone a major refurbishment to restore and update the historic building whilst retaining its authentic character and personal touch.Topsham has a wonderful community, relaxed and friendly offering a perfect base to explore the area, whether by bike, foot or public transport.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary instant cofffee
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
709Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 391
  • 216
  • 60
  • 25
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ralph B wrote a review Yesterday
Watford, United Kingdom27 contributions14 helpful votes
Arranged for my family to stay in a house in Topsham for my big birthday celebrations. Booked The Globe for Sunday lunch (5 adults and 2 toddlers). Could not fault a thing about the whole experience. The service was absolutely superb and the food was just perfect. Even the children ate most of it and of course, all the ice cream. Big thank you to our waitress who looked after our party yesterday, give her a raise! I would thoroughly recommend The Globe and wish it was closer to home.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Candace Jury, Other at The Globe
Responded today
Ralph B, thank you for your review of The Globe, Topsham. All feedback is greatly appreciated, and we love to hear that guests have enjoyed their visit. I will find out which waitress it was. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, The Globe, Topsham General Manager
Read more
Gavin B wrote a review 19 Sep
1 contribution
We arrived at the Globe and received a brisk welcome from reception and found they had already taken full payment of our four day stay. We would have preferred to have been offered a different way of paying ie cash . The shower in bedroom six needs attention as door does not fully close and shower tray fills with water and does not drain well but a comfortable clean room and a nice breakfast .A nice stay in a lovely location although expensive .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Candace Jury, Other at The Globe
Responded today
Hi X4872jdgavinb, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for your recent visit to The Globe, Topsham. I will have a look at the shower. We always strive to deliver a great experience for our guests and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, The Globe, Topsham General Manager
Read more
Nick wrote a review 4 Sep
1 contribution
Located on the Main Street central to everything. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Great choice of breakfast, nice pub and menu. Room was very clean and comfortable. This is the only place we will be staying at in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Candace Jury, Other at The Globe
Responded 1 week ago
Nickgx6706um, thank you for your review of The Globe, Topsham. All feedback is greatly appreciated, and we love to hear that guests have enjoyed their visit. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, The Globe, Topsham General Manager
Read more
Kelly D wrote a review 1 Sep
1 contribution2 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at The Globe in November 2019 and really enjoyed our stay. We thought we’d take a mini break recently having been at home shielding and felt lucky to get a room. I felt quite apprehensive about staying away but assumed cleaning would be top priority in any guest house, hotel so we went for it. However on arrival before a welcome we were immediately asked for payment and then we were shown ‘The Apartment’ the smell of dogs just hit us walking up the stairs, under the console on the landing was an old chewed up dog bone and biscuits and a lot of dust!! It got worse, the bedroom carpets stank of dogs, the curtains had been chewed, the bedrooms had thick black cobwebs and the wooden head boards were dusty, the bedding seemed fresh as did the towels which there were plenty. The kitchen was filthy, we just used a couple of mugs which we washed before using, the dishwasher smelled and was filthy, the sink smelled, the extractor fan was splattered with grease, and the bin was dirty and broken, it felt dirty everywhere, we went out to buy Dettol wipes to clean everything down, we also felt perhaps the door handles and hand rails probably hadn’t been sanitised either so we also did that too. The bathroom shower was black with mould, the toilet roll holder rusty and thick with dust, the window didn’t open as it was broken and the lights blew every time we took a shower leaving you in darkness until the trip switch was flicked on again. The dining table chairs had someone else’s hairs over them and covered in crumbs, so we decided we weren’t to eat there, the table legs were also thick with dust. The lounge was Cosy on the top floor but also smelled of dogs, the sofa looked like someone had just got up from it, cushions all squashed down and the odd stain. As The Apartment is situated above the kitchen it’s noisy in the evening and smells of cooking! This place could be so lovely and needs some urgent TLC and maybe warn guests that dogs stay in these premises. Considering these places were probably closed off and on over lockdowns it was apparent it had not been deep cleaned in some time or even spruced up ahead of reopening. Our three night stay cost £705 and we left feeling so sad and disappointed and wishing we had stayed home but also hoping we haven’t caught COVID from the place as it most definitely had NOT been cleaned. I sent an email on our way home asking for the manager’s contact details and had an immediate reply and was told all emails went to the main address and then forwarded on, as expected no reply and so of course can only assume my email was probably deleted. We absolutely love Topsham but think there are more inviting and cleaner places to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Candace Jury, Other at The Globe
Responded 1 week ago
Hi P3374bxkellyd, thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Globe, Topsham. We strive to ensure our guests have the best experience possible when visiting us, and we’re disappointed not to have met your expectations. The best thing to do is tell us, so we can do something about it and try and resolve the problem. Not tell us at check out that everything was fine! Please reach out, so we may assist you in moving forward towards a resolution. Best wishes, General Manager, The Globe, Topsham
Read more
fcorson wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Only planned to stay one night but ended up staying a second because it was so lovely. I stayed with my dog - a very dog friendly place. He was allowed in the bar area (not the main restaurant) but the full menu applied there too. Accompanied me to breakfast and was given a sausage in his own bowl! All staff friendly and helpful. Room very clean and well designed. I can’t actually think of anything negative to say! Thoroughly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Candace Jury, Other at The Globe
Responded 2 weeks ago
Fcorson, thank you for your review of The Globe, Topsham. All feedback is greatly appreciated, and we love to hear that guests have enjoyed their visit. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, The Globe, Topsham General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonExeterTopsham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Globe
Which popular attractions are close to The Globe?
Nearby attractions include Topsham Museum (0.3 km), The Bridge Inn (0.5 km), and Topsham Quay Antiques Centre (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Globe?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Globe?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Globe?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Galley Restaurant, The Restaurant at the Salutation Hotel, and Sara's Petite Cuisine.
Is The Globe located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Topsham.
Are pets allowed at The Globe?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Globe?
Many travellers enjoy visiting A La Ronde (6.0 km), Powderham Castle (4.3 km), and The House that Moved (6.5 km).
Is The Globe accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.