Te Mata Views
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Te Mata Views

Traveller (86)
Dining (9)
Bathroom (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 3 small hotels in Havelock North
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Te Mata Views-Hawkesbay Lodge- is set in beautiful amongst a large country garden and its own private lake. Offering Motel and lodge rooms - and Large houses and cottages for the corporate groups and wedding parties Bikes and kayaks are available for guest use. A short drive from the Art Deco cities of Napier and Hastings and only minutes from charming Havelock North village.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Books, DVDs, music for children
Open-air bath
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Business
162Reviews0Q+A42Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 150
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Melanie Minky Whale wrote a review Apr 2021
Auckland, New Zealand30 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Helena House. Beautifully appointed, clean and modern throughout, and a really cool spa and outdoor fire area. One thing to note is that to access the bathroom from the master, you needed to go through the other bedroom. This was fine for our family but probably wouldn’t be ideal if it were 2 couples staying. The grounds were also lovely to explore, including the orchard and duck pond. The staff onsite were all super friendly and helpful - our only critique was the setup of our accommodation seemed incomplete - for example, there was no hairdryer (although they brought us one on day 2), no firewood initially for the outdoor fire, no fire tools, no matches or lighter, no pizza oven tools, no washing machine powder - I started to feel bad bothering them to ask about something else! A minor complaint though in what was otherwise a fabulous stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon wrote a review May 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for two nights with friends whilst sightseeing and wine tasting. Comfortable bed and room, lovely relaxing garden and central guest area with kitchen. Mandy and Cedric run an organised, relaxed and extremely comfortable B&B.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bas1960 wrote a review Mar 2016
Wellington, New Zealand8 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My nights at St Andrews offered me up a wonderful haven of peace,beauty and harmony.From the spa pool in the forest to the roaring fire at night sharing food and wine amongst newly found friends it was exceptional and I look forward to my return visit.I recommend St Andrews as the place to stay in Havelock North.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Suzy2308 wrote a review Apr 2023
Tauranga, New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
my family booked the Peak House and a powered campsite in Nov 22 to stay the weekend of the Rod Stewart Concert in April 23. 5 days before the concert I received an email saying all accommodation for the foreseeable future at Te Mata Views had been cancelled so that they could suddenly accommodate people left homeless by the flooding of Cyclone Gabrielle which occurred 48 days earlier!! When my sister in law who was part of my booking, phoned to enquire about availability she was told that the houses were fully booked because of the Rod Stewart concert that weekend but that they had some availability in the campsite. I am almost certain there was either. a double booking or they cancelled mine so that they could charge another group a higher price. We were all left in a very stressful situation because of course with so many people coming into Hawkes Bay for the Rod Stewart Concert at Mission Estate Winery there was no alternative accommodation available at such short notice. It is now April 17 and I still have not received a refund of the $509.11 deposit paid last year!!! Disgraceful behaviour from this resort
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ISOBEL Wilson, Owner at Te Mata Views
Responded 8 May 2023
Hi Suzy. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have read your review. There was at no time a double booking, and we did not extort more money from someone else, therefore cancelling your booking. And your deposit was returned. Management made the decision that the homeless, displaced, flood victim families were at that time far more important then any Rod Stuart Concert and anything else. We are sorry this has upset you so, but we have made a lot of others very thankful You were given plenty of notice to find alternative accommodation
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kaye wrote a review Jul 2023
8 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked and paid $600 deposit to stay for a week at Te Mata Views in Feb 2023. Unfortunately Cyclone Gabrielle struck and we were unable to stay there as they were closed. It was not until we contacted them that we were informed of this. We asked for our deposit back. We were requested to send an email to confirm this which we did. The reply was that they would not be able to return the deposit. We made several attempts to contact the owner but were told that she did not wish to talk to us and the deposit would not be refunded!! As we had paid by credit card the bank was eventually able to refund our money. We would not recommend staying here under any circumstances. The owner is uncontactable and unreasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kalimg01 wrote a review Nov 2015
Tiong Bahru, Singapore11 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were blown away by the grounds when we arrived. A brilliant setting has been transformed by even better design. Being at the Escape is an experience from first moment to last. John is a fine host, friendly and professional. The room was perfectly comfortable. The spa was relaxing. We used bikes for a day trip to the coast which was fun but tiring. The bikes are superbly maintained. The breakfast was delicious with croissant and fresh fruit salad. The only way it could have been better would have been to have some cooked eggs and bacon as well. We were impressed by the attention to detail evident in every aspect of the accommodation. We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
revpro wrote a review Aug 2019
Auckland Central, New Zealand47 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Warm & cozy for a midwinters weekend. Clean, comfortable and private. Well set up with a separate communal breakfast/lounge facility. Beautiful large garden which must be great in summer. Only 2km from Havelock North village! Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StuartWood52 wrote a review Feb 2019
Bristol, United Kingdom129 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visiting Napier for the Art Deco festival will on vacation in NZ. Booked in advance to St Andrews Escape. It is an amazing location. In 12 acres of gardens and orchards just outside Havelock Vilkage. Mandy and Cedric are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are chalet style set in fantastic gardens. There is a communial lounge and kitchen which is stocked for breakfast. A hot tub in the gardens! You can pick your own veg and fruit.
If you are visiting this area and want something really different and special look no further.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PatsyKS wrote a review Mar 2017
London, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 1 night in Feb as we couldn't get a hotel in Napier, well what a surprise it turned out to be a little oasis in the middle of a beautiful orchard, we stayed in a lodge room which was adequate, very clean and extremely quiet, the communal lounge & gardens were fab, and John the host very accommodating, breakfast is delicious especially the peaches which are home grown. Would definitely recommend but you need a car as it is slightly out of town.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela C wrote a review Jan 2017
Auckland, New Zealand49 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This lodge is a very pleasant hidden gem, equidistant between Havelock North and Hastings. We had a fabulous weekend here with our US friends in mid January and as Kiwis we were proud to share time at a place which is the equal of any in the world.
Very fine breakfast was served in the courtyard with great attention to detail and home made touches - delicious and a great way to start the day.
Cycling is great here with flat terrain through the orchards and out to Havelock North. There's a selection of good bikes available for guests so the lodge is a good centre for a biking weekend within easy distance of a number of vineyards and the local extensive dedicated bike paths.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Ours did not have a frig but had the advantage of being at the far end so was quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Mitch W wrote a tip May 2019
Albany, New Zealand37 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"immaculate gardens and lake setting"
Read full review
Randal F wrote a tip May 2017
Whitianga, New Zealand57 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in the Pacific Room. It was spacious, beautifully decorated, comfortable, had a great view, and had a beautiful bathroom."
Read full review
Amanda E wrote a tip May 2017
Auckland, New Zealand5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make the most of the Spa and Dining Room!"
Read full review
rockport wrote a tip Apr 2017
Ottawa, Canada589 contributions123 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are great. Decide on bed size and space you require."
Read full review
Nzdiver wrote a tip Feb 2017
Auckland, New Zealand108 contributions151 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms very nice, all ground floor"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Havelock North area.
PRICE RANGE
$183 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ngatahi Lodge
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionHavelock North
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TE MATA VIEWS - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Havelock North) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Te Mata Views
Which popular attractions are close to Te Mata Views?
Nearby attractions include Te Mata Peak (4.3 km), Hawkes Bay Farmers Market (5.1 km), and Birdwoods Gallery (1.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Te Mata Views?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
What food & drink options are available at Te Mata Views?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Te Mata Views?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Te Mata Views?
Conveniently located restaurants include Craggy Range Restaurant, Malo, and Star Of India Authentic Indian Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to Te Mata Views?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Otatara Pa Historic Reserve Walk (13.9 km).
Is Te Mata Views accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Havelock North HotelsHavelock North Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Havelock NorthHotels near Te Mata Views
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire