Havelock North Motor Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Havelock North Motor Lodge

Dining area with single bed in the background
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (84)
Restaurants from the motel entranceway - literally across the road
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
$206
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 3 small hotels in Havelock North
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Havelock North Motor Lodge provides modern, spacious accommodation in the very heart of Havelock North Village. Eateries and boutique shopping literally outside the gate. A selection of King Studio, One and Two-Bedroom Suites all come with unlimited free WI-fi, large screen ‘SMART’ TVs with Sky Guest Select (own decoder) and 50+ channels, DVD player and free access to a large library, air-conditioning, kitchen facilities, comfortable beds and free secure parking. Some suites have spa baths and all have separate showers in spacious private bathrooms. A variety of cooked and continental breakfast options are available daily and your Hosts will be happy to assist with activities and directions. Hawkes Bay’s wineries, golf courses, cycle-ways, tramping trails and children’s amenities make Havelock North Motor Lodge a great base for both leisure and business.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Highchairs available
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shops
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
On-demand films
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Thai

Location

7 Havelock Road, Havelock North 4130 New Zealand
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 85 out of 100
85
Hawkes Bay Airport
22.4 km
See all flights
2 Attractions
within 0.5 kilometers
92Reviews0Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 64
  • 25
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lynda B wrote a review May 2021
Wellington, New Zealand1,393 contribution121 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here several times before and always enjoy our stays.

This time for a three-night stay in early May we were in room 7 at the back of the complex (we’ve always had room 3 in the past), in a one-bedroom unit.

The motel is very quiet and so convenient being located right in the centre of the village, with several different choices of takeaway or sit-down meals directly across the road.

It is always very clean, and very warm. There’s a heatpump that we used a couple of times, and the room maintained the temperature very well. Despite being next to a roundabout, there is very little traffic noise.

The land is flat and you park right at the door. Apart from two units, all are ground floor one level, great for those of us with older joints!!

The kitchen is well equipped with all the standard things plus a Nespresso machine, and scissors in the utility drawer – not all motels have scissors and it’s very handy to have a pair to use.

One thing I especially like, that I’ve never found with any other accommodation that we stay at, is that the TV’s in both the lounge and the bedroom are fitted with MySky. Means we can set the programmes we want to watch to record and not have to worry about being there to see them (eg the News). Yes, yes, I know you can watch them on demand but I prefer to watch them on the tele. Must be a generational thing.

Very helpful and friendly service at reception.

Would very happily stay here again…in fact we are booked in again for a short stay in late June.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aaron Mills, Owner at Havelock North Motor Lodge
Responded 9 May 2021
Thank you very much for staying Lynda. We look forward to welcoming you back again in June.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynda B wrote a review Oct 2021
Wellington, New Zealand1,393 contribution121 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had another five night stay at this fine establishment in mid October when on a six day trip to Havelock North from Wellington.

We’ve stayed here probably five or six times previously. We really like the motel itself, the friendly and helpful owners/staff, and the location.

There’s a good range of takeaway/dine in food directly across the road from the motel.

This time we were in unit 13, an access studio unit towards the back of the courtyard. We only had a microwave for cooking, but that was fine as we either had cold food for our meals or takeaways during our stay.

As with all the other units we’ve stayed in, it’s very well appointed with lovely toiletries and plenty of room throughout the unit. A nice comfy king size bed and great wifi. Everything was scrupulously clean.

We thought having the QR code scanner thingy on each individual unit door was a very good touch.

Thanks again for another nice stay, we’ll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aaron Mills, Owner at Havelock North Motor Lodge
Responded 26 Oct 2021
Thank you Lynda, We will look forward to welcoming you back again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CaitlynsGrampa wrote a review Sept 2020
Wellington, New Zealand54 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for one night with our grandchildren recently- aged 5 and 11.
The unit was spacious, clean, and ideal for 4 of us. 2 single beds in a separate room for the kids and a comfy king size for us. The welcome was friendly. Carparking at the door of our level floor unit. The kitchen was well equipped and we had everything we could need- even a coffee machine ! The sky worked well and it was lovely to have the facility to use a smart TV. The location was very handy to shops, restaurants and Mc Donalds was a short walk in the opposite direction. Bed was comfy and the shower hot. We will return again. Free speedy wifi too.Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aaron Mills, Owner at Havelock North Motor Lodge
Responded 17 Apr 2022
We apricate your business, thank you for reviewing us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynda B wrote a review Mar 2023
Wellington, New Zealand1,393 contribution121 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hubby and I have stayed at this motel many times and really like it. The owner and staff are super friendly and helpful.

We normally have a one-bedroom unit, which we did again this time round. It gives us a separate bedroom if one of us (normally me!) wants to go to bed earlier than the other.

This time we were in Room 3 again, it’s our favourite (for no particular reason, we’ve stayed in other one-bedroom units and they’re all the same but we’ve gotten used to this one). There is a single bed (a proper bed, not a bed/settee) in the lounge so it would comfortably sleep three if required. There is a lot of room in the kitchen/dining room/lounge area.

The rooms are always scrupulously clean, and the complimentary toiletries are very nice to use. We find the large super King sized beds extremely comfortable and always have a good night’s sleep.

Directly across the road from the motel entrance are about six different restaurants, some eat in, some takeaway, some both. We highly recommend The Great Chilli for a delicious Indian meal, and Havelock North Fish for some of the best fish and chips we’ve had in a long time. The fish and chips was so nice we had it twice during our four-night stay.

The motel is right in the centre of the village, so you’re only a minute or two’s walk away from the shops and other cafés/eateries.

Should you wish to cook meals, there are two hot plates set into the benchtop, and a microwave. There is a very generous supply of tea/coffee/chocolate/sugar etc and a Nespresso coffee machine that uses pods, with two pods provided free.

The rooms have “My Sky” so you can set the recorder to record whatever you want during your stay. Not many motels have this, and it’s really great.

Unlimited wifi which works very well.

Thank you Havelock North Motor Lodge for another enjoyable stay, we’ll be back again in a few months.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynda B wrote a review Jun 2020
Wellington, New Zealand1,393 contribution121 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for four nights in mid June. It was our “welcome to retirement” holiday, as we retired the day before we headed to Havelock North.

We’ve stayed here before, and as with our previous stays, we were really pleased with our accommodation.

We were in Unit 3, a one-bedroom unit. It’s very roomy and has a good kitchenette setup.

One thing I really like is that they have MySky so you can set it to record whatever you want to watch.

The unit was very clean and everything worked really well. Very friendly staff, check in and check out was very easy.

It’s so handy to everything. There are about six or seven different eateries directly across the road from the motel.

We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
melb1710 wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia77 contributions98 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My preferred hotel in Havelock North so booked here. Incredibly spacious rooms that were very comforable and had a lot of facilities. Felt like i was right at home. Hotel was also walking distance to the CBD and was easy to get breakfast and dinner nearby (highly recommend Starlake Thai if you want a fix of asian food that is quite authentic). Will definitely be back and thank you for the great experience!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShaunD1058, Owner at Havelock North Motor Lodge
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynda B wrote a review Jul 2023
Wellington, New Zealand1,393 contribution121 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stay at this lovely motel several times a year, and had a five night stay booked in late June, to celebrate my birthday.

We duly travelled up (from Lower Hutt) on the Sunday and as usual our room (unit 3, a one-bedroom unit) was scrupulously clean and waiting for us.

One of the things we love about this motel is that it’s directly across the road from about six or seven different restaurants. No need to worry about cooking dinner!! Highly recommend The Great Chilli (Indian, see separate review) and Havelock North Fish – as it’s a takeaway only I can’t do a review, but we had a beautiful meal of fish and chips on our last night.

Unfortunately we received a call from back home on the Monday to say one of our close relatives had been hospitalised unexpectedly, so we had to cut our stay short and headed back home on the Tuesday after only two nights.

Thank you Aaron and team for another great stay, we’ll be back again in a few month’s time.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aaron Mills, Owner at Havelock North Motor Lodge
Responded 16 Jul 2023
Thank you Lynda for your lovely review! We're thrilled you had another great stay at our motel. Celebrating your birthday with us was fantastic! We're glad you enjoyed your regular unit :). We are very lucky to be close to great restaurants, and we're delighted you liked The Great Chilli and Havelock North Fish. Sorry to hear about your relative; we hope you have done what you needed to do. Thanks for your kind words, and we can't wait to welcome you back in a few months! Your loyalty means a lot. Take care!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maddy wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent 5 nights in a two bedroom apartment with a girlfriend.
The room was very clean and beds were comfortable and good quality.
Shaun and Michele were amazing and very friendly accommodated my clothes washing obsession and even gave me access to a clothes line.
Cleaning ladies were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble.
So close to the shops and local supermarket.
A lovely clean friendly place right in the heart of Havelock.
I look forward to my next stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from havelocknorthmotor, Owner at Havelock North Motor Lodge
Responded 20 Mar 2020
Thank you for your review. Its really great to have our efforts acknowledged, especially at a time like this. I have passed your complements on to the cleaning staff as well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marilyn E wrote a review Feb 2023
Auckland, New Zealand41 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed another great stay. This is the only place we will stay when holidaying in Havelock North. The location is superb and the accomodation is excellent. The owner Aaron operates the property in a very professional manner. Thanks for your great hospitality from you and your wife. We’ll see you when we visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aaron Mills, Owner at Havelock North Motor Lodge
Responded 13 Feb 2023
Thank you very much, we look forward to seeing you again next time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kej5 wrote a review Jul 2020
Auckland, New Zealand207 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely check in team; easy and organised. Our unit had a good sized lounge and bedroom. Small kitchenette but well equipped. Bathroom was very roomy and had a beautiful range of toiletries to use. The spa bath was a lovely option for those that prefer a bath to a shower. Clean and tidy, and very close to all shops and restaurants. The main road behind the motel was a little noisy but it did become quieter later in the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
ElsaMiro wrote a tip Apr 2023
283 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"One of the only places we've stayed in with great lighting, and lots of plugs, so often have to take extra plugboards etc."
Read full review
Chuck W wrote a tip Oct 2018
Levin, New Zealand10 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We chose a one bedroom apartment to get a little more space and this was excellent value for money as well as being the right choice."
Read full review
Paul E wrote a tip Sept 2018
Wellington, New Zealand35 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms are equally good"
Read full review
Jane wrote a tip Oct 2017
Napier, New Zealand40 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are a light sleeper, ask for a quiet room away from the traffic and street noise"
Read full review
simpo1590 wrote a tip Mar 2017
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand30 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a separate bedroom. The room was air-conditioned."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Havelock North area.
PRICE RANGE
$197 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionHavelock North
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HAVELOCK NORTH MOTOR LODGE - Now $210 (Was $̶2̶5̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Havelock North Motor Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Havelock North Motor Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Event cinema (0.2 km) and Juniper (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Havelock North Motor Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Havelock North Motor Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Havelock North Motor Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Havelock North Motor Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Havelock North Motor Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Malo, Pipi Cafe, and Maina.
Does Havelock North Motor Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Havelock North Motor Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Havelock North Motor Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Havelock North.
Are any cleaning services offered at Havelock North Motor Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Havelock North Motor Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Havelock North Motor Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Otatara Pa Historic Reserve Walk (13.7 km).
All Havelock North HotelsHavelock North Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Havelock NorthHotels near Havelock North Motor Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire