bE SixFifty Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

bE SixFifty Hotel

Apparently the flooring contract was won by the Toronto School for Blindness
Traveller (41)
Queen Bedroom
Room & Suite (30)
Cafe Interior Front
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#84 of 126 hotels in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Chic, stylish and modern. A three story walk-up boutique hotel located in the heart of the City! Steps to Dundas square, Eaton's Centre, theatres and more. Our rooms are small in size but BIG ON STYLE. Relax and re-charge in our stylish rooms with single, double or queen sized beds. All rooms are hypo-allergenic with luxurious linens, modern artwork and an iPad for you to use during your visit. Free Wifi and Netflix. Complimentary coffee and pastries in the morning. The perfect place while here to enjoy fine dining, shopping, theatres or simply visiting on business.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Quaint

Location

650 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1M8 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Toronto Island Airport
Toronto Pearson Intl Airport
19.7 km
See all flights
Dundas
4 minToronto Rapid Transit
112Reviews7Q+A22Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 44
  • 13
  • 10
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Canadian Traveller wrote a review May 2016
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Small rooms but everything that comes along with them is great. The rooms are done up nicely and the beds are comfy. We stayed here when I purposed to my fiancé and they treated us amazing. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and will book with them next time. Good location and friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ktlovesscience wrote a review May 2015
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a great location with excellent, friendly staff.

The good: the room was well decorated, with a comfortable bed and was (generally) quiet (more on this later). The continental breakfast and coffee was a plus. I knew these rooms were small. If you go with these expectations, you will not be disappointed.

The not so good: I had requested a quiet room when I booked 2 months prior to my stay. Initially, I was given a room right by the entrance door to the hall. Not a quiet room at all. I was disappointed because I had made my booking months in advance. With travel and a time difference, I maybe slept 4 hours the first night here. On the plus side, the staff was super accommodating and was able to move me to a quieter room for the next two nights. The new room had less windows, so I was actually able to sleep and was further from the hallway entrance. The windows do not have black out curtains, so it can be frustrating when you are needing to sleep and can't. I am not bothered by street noise at all, but there is also street noise here.

The bad: the rooms are not really laid out well for travellers. There is no place for the suitcase, very few hooks (2, to be precise, and one of them was broken in the room I stayed in). The toilet paper holder is weird, and at one point I ended up with a soggy roll as it flew off into the toilet. The internet connection is awful - I tried to FaceTime with my husband and the picture was super choppy and often frozen. They give you iPads, but if you can't even use them, what's the point. Finally, the bistro next store has strange hours - I was hoping for a small meal late at night on my first day in, and had to go venture out as there were no options.

Bottom line: would I stay again? Maybe. If the Internet connection was better, definitely. With my husband? Maybe not. It's a perfect room for one. I did enjoy my stay overall. It just could have been better.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jssurleplateau wrote a review May 2015
Montreal, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The good: excellent staff, friendly and helpful. Nicely designed rooms with cotton bedding and great location in downtown Toronto. Pet friendly too !

The not so good: the rooms are minuscule. Really. No elevator, no closets or things to hang your clothes on, no telephones (iPads), no black-out blinds so when morning comes, you wake with the sun. I would not spend a week there unless it was a casual getaway and I only use the hotel to shower and sleep.

Oh, and we were told we had a Queen bed. Oddly, it measured 54" inches across which is double...
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Ask for 201 or 301 which receive the least amount of daylight if you want to sleep in.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matthew T wrote a review Aug 2015
Chicago, Illinois
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am an experienced traveller who has stayed everywhere from the shabbiest third world hostels to 5-star establishments. Never in my years of traveling have I been greeted with such apathetic unprofessionalism as I was at this establishment. Furthermore, I have never given a one-star review of a hotel for any reason...until now.

I live down the street and had helped my father reserve a room at this establishment vis a vis a popular online 3rd party provider (not TripAdvisor). I arrived with him, presenting unequivocal documentation showing a confirmation number. When we arrived there was a girl who could not have been more than 19 years old who appeared to be the sole employee present at the hotel. When we showed up she was thoroughly confused by our presence and frozen like a deer-in-headlights. She mentioned that the manager did not leave her with a "print-out" of our reservation. However, she DID find our reservation in the system, but asked us to come back later so she could "sort everything out" (note: it was already 9pm).

When we returned an hour later, she told us that the hotel was booked and they had no rooms for my 65-year old father. She explained that she had called the manager, but he had not returned her call (I do not believe this, as she was clearly coached to shoot us down). My father asked for compensation, assistance finding another room or for a room at one of their other two locations, but was again turned down. No apology, no compensation, nothing. They had our reservation but refused to honor it.

The cherry on top is that as we were leaving, someone else came to check-in, and they gave him a room!!!! The only thing we can reason is that they didn't like the rate we were receiving from the 3rd party provider (which was pretty standard and still more than the hotel down the street) and gave away our room...the cowardly manager leaving his young employee to take the heat.

Stay far far away from this hotel...and as a matter of fact, you should go to the Eaton Chelsea down the street. Much cheaper, much more professional, and you can be assured your room will actually be there once you arrive.

This place should be out of business in the near future. You don't get very far treating people like that.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Evan E, Manager at bE SixFifty Hotel
Responded 29 Sept 2015
Thank you for your less than truthful review and manipulated facts. For such a world traveller, odd how you have only reviewed less than 10 hotels. The fact is that you did not have a reservation and you showed up at our hotel demanding a room. Unfortunately, the front desk agent on duty was in fact a new member of our team and was shocked to say the least by your aggressive manner. She explained to you that we did not have your reservation and that we were fully booked. She asked you to wait in the adjacent hotel cafe and offered you complimentary coffee and tea so that she could look into the matter and see if there was anything that we could in fact do in order to accommodate you. Other guests showing up actually had reservations and they were not "walk-ins" demanding a room. Outr front desk agent did attempt to offer assistance in finding another hotel, but you made it well known that you are a world traveller and that you could find your own hotel and of course made a scene in the lobby as to how you would be sure to write the worst review. God bless social media!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashley Y wrote a review Aug 2015
Toronto, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Really liked the room and hotel. Small, but cozy and clean.

However, the day after check out there was an extra $175 charge on my Visa. When I called, I was told a coffee table book and blanket were missing from the room after check out. I assured the staff member that I was not in the habit of stealing from hotels. She was rude and apathetic. Stating the items were missing and I have to pay. That was it.

It was only after I demanded to speak to the Manager, and wrote a nasty email, did I get another phone call stating they had made a mistake. They forgot to check their inventory books. Maybe they should have done that before charging a client's credit card and engaging in a verbal dispute.

VERY UNPROFESSIONAL.

Also, no cable TV and Netflix worked intermittently.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The_Doctor01 wrote a review Jun 2015
Ottawa, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
BE Six Fifty is a small “boutique” hotel located in downtown Toronto, right next to the Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning (i.e. “Sick Kids”). The rooms in the hotel are very small, however they are new and clean. The reception and cleaning staff were friendly.

I was in Toronto for work (a one-week conference). I arrived at the hotel Sunday evening for check-in around 4pm, confirmation email in hand (from 6 months ago). The hotel did not have my reservation on file! This is every traveler’s nightmare – you show up at a hotel with a “confirmed” reservation but there is no place for you to stay. Worse, Toronto’s downtown hotels were pretty well booked up, thanks to my conference and others. After several hours the hotel eventually managed to accommodate me, however they wanted to charge me 50% more than what was written on the original confirmation email. The hotel said that the price quote in the original botched reservation was an error and that I should pay “the actual rate”. After several email exchanges and a meeting with the manager, the hotel eventually reduced the price down to a level which was reasonably close to the original quoted price. Everything was finally settled by around 4pm on Monday, 24 hours after I first showed up for check-in.

The lengthy and stressful 24-hour check-in process (especially the issue of the price) left a bad taste in my mouth. Unfortunately I would not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FlowerPowerDecor wrote a review Sept 2015
Rochester, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It was my birthday & one of the most awful experiences of my life! The phone reservation was screwed by their reservation person (to which they admitted later) where we were only booked for one night instead of two as was anticipated. When we arrived we were told the room was to be ready by 3:00. By 4:30 we were still waiting. The next day we were out on an all day tour, we get a call saying we were only booked for one night & had to abandon our room. Housekeeping had to pack our belongings & we had to cut our tour short to come back.They did nothing to help us into another room, saying they were full, nor did they try to find us another room at a different location. They were the most unfriendly, unhelpful, and obviously untrained staff we have ever encountered. They also refused to let me speak to a manager. I do not recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Evan E, Manager at bE SixFifty Hotel
Responded 29 Sept 2015
Thank you for staying at bE SixFifty Hotel. We appreciate your business and apologize for your poor experience. It is unfair however to make false and misleading statements. The truth of the matter is that you made a reservation for 1 night only. The fact that you claim you had to wait for over one and a half hours to check in, is absurd. We have a log of your check-in time which we would be happy to display. On check in, you advised our front desk attendant that you booked for 2 nights instead of 1 night. You were advised that we were fully booked and that we would see if we could do anything to extend your reservation. At no point did anyone state that it was our error because it wasn't. You were informed the next day that we unfortunately could not extend your reservation. You stated that you were out and you could not return until much later and asked that we pack your items and hold them until you returned, which we did. We did indeed offer to assist you to find another hotel, however you were too upset and left stating that you would write about your experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shelby H wrote a review Aug 2015
Edmonton, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After staying one night in this hotel, storing luggage for the day, and returning to retrieve luggage before flying home, I was accused of theft. Not having adequate time to handle this matter in that moment and no manager on duty, I was reassured that a manager would be in contact with me the following day. In the elapsed time of 2 weeks, I have made numerous daily attempts to contact the hotel by phone and by email, always to be told "there is no manager on duty but my message would be passed along". My credit card has now been charged $550 without any justification or documentation from the hotel. My caution to anyone looking for accommodations in the downtown Toronto area is to avoid this hotel! I question the security of any personal belongings stored in the room while you are away. There was a blatant lack of customer service to resolve this issue in a professional and timely fashion, not only on the day of the incident but in the days and weeks following such a serious matter.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katherine A wrote a review Dec 2015
Quebec City, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE : The worst in Toronto

If you want to have a sleepless night and stay in a tiny prison cell-like room then this is the place for you.
-walls are paper thin : I could hear EVERYTHING going on in the rooms on my entire floor (loud noises and screams from woman and man until 3 am), TV playing all night, there’s no privacy, terrible insulation... as well as the cleaning ladies waking everyone up at 7am
-loud traffic noises all night from outside street (windows are also paper thin)
-stuffy rooms and dirty washroom : found gunk and hairs from previous tenants
-rooms are even smaller than listed and not accurately portrayed
-NO elevators: had to drag my large suitcase up 3 floors with no help from staff.

I called and emailed over a dozen times to speak with the "manager" Evan and he is nowhere to be found. He literally doesn’t care about his business or his clients. Large hotel chains help their customers right away -this is unacceptable.

TRUST ME: Don’t bother with his hotel. I travel frequently for work and stay in about 40 hotels per year and this is by far the WORST!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Noisy hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Evan E, Manager at bE SixFifty Hotel
Responded 4 Feb 2016
Your review is not only false, but absured! You wanted a free upgrade and because you did not get it, you decided to post these absurd comments - Who books a room and then shows up to a hotel and demands a free upgrade and threatens with a negative review?? Sorry to ruin your plan, but we do not give in to threats. We are a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Toronto on one of the busiest street in the City. Despite insulation, new windows and triple brick constructions, some noise is bound to be heard. As far as cleanliness, we are probably one of the cleanest hotels in the City, if not the cleanest. We maintain a very high standard of cleanliness and we are extremely thorough. The same goes for our customer service. If you had a large suitcase, we are certain that we would have offered assistance, since that is a standard service we offer. Perhaps you should only stay at chain hotels where perhaps your under-handed tactics work.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenn G wrote a review Apr 2016
Halifax, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me start by saying I stayed here in 2014 and am just now submitting my review because I didn't know about TA back then and I am just now getting around to reviewing the hotels I've stayed.

I knew what I was getting into when I booked this hotel - the rooms were small as they stated on the website, but updated and the finishing touches were what made this a great stay. I'm not kidding when I say small either - you literally had enough room on the side of the bed to walk to the bathroom and that was about it and the bed was pushed up against the wall into the corner.

However, if you're staying in Toronto for the weekend, you're probably not spending the time stuck in your hotel room, you're out exploring and seeing the attractions. I was here for a photography workshop so I checked in at 3pm, met up with friends for dinner, went to the CN Tower, out for drinks and came back to sleep, then up early for the all day workshop. That evening I went to the aquarium, had a late dinner, then came back to the hotel to relax with free Netflix and one of the comfiest beds I ever slept in.

The room was cute AF, and I loved the bear skin rug.

The only thing that was a downer about the Be650 was that they did not have an elevator, and the stairs were steeper than most.

Would absolutely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the CN tower or the streetscape.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from bE SixFifty H
Toronto, Canada
Hi thanks for considering to stay with us! The neighborhood is amazing! We are in the heart of downtown Toronto! Shopping, Entertainment, Great Restaurants, Art Gallery, Museums, the CN Tower,Toronto Harbor Front front are all within 5 - 30 minutes walking distance! All major transportation is steps away - city street cars, buses and the subway station (metro) The neighborhood is excellent and very safe! As with all major cities though, always be aware of your surroundings. Stay alert, vigilant and safe! Hope to have you as our guest!
T Z asked a question Feb 2017
Mannheim, Germany103 contributions14 helpful votes
Hello - Can two people stay in the single room (the smallest room)?
Answer from bE SixFifty H
Toronto, Canada
hi unfortunately our singles have only 1 single sized bed in them and the maximum occupancy is 1 adult.
Gary A asked a question Oct 2015
Tonawanda, New York15 contributions16 helpful votes
Can you tell me about parking?
Answer from bE SixFifty H
Toronto, Canada
Thank you for considering bE SixFifty Hotel! There is a parking lot immediately next to us. They are not affiliated with us, but it provides full day and overnight parking and for hotel guests, you can tell them what time you want to leave your car there until and pay and ccordingly so you do not need to wake up early to go make a payment. Weekday/overnight rate is approximately $30. If you have any other questions, please let us know. We look forward to possibly welcoming you!
Answer from bE SixFifty H
Toronto, Canada
Good morning! There is a parking lot immediately next door to the hotel and you can buy an overnight pass, along with the following day. The daily rate is approximately $20, plus there is an overnight charge of another $15 approximately. They do allow in and out privileges however. We are very close to Princess Margaret hospital. If you have any other questions, please let us know and we will be happy to answer them or if you would like to book a room, please call us at 416-971-6500. All the best.
becky w wrote a tip Jul 2017
3 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book at another hotel."
Read full review
KasStL wrote a tip May 2017
Saint Louis, Missouri109 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are upstairs and there is no elevator."
Read full review
RonnieMac1584 wrote a tip May 2017
Ottawa10 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Street facing is a bit noisy but the in room fan (attached to heating unit) drowned it out for me."
Read full review
Jenn G wrote a tip Apr 2016
Halifax, Canada30 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms with a view of the CN tower or the streetscape."
Read full review
SommerX0 wrote a tip Jan 2016
Hamilton, Canada1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"request bigger room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Toronto area.
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioTorontoDowntown / Bay Street Corridor / Discovery District / Old Toronto
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BE SIXFIFTY HOTEL - Reviews (Toronto, Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about bE SixFifty Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to bE SixFifty Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Little Canada (0.3 km), Ed Mirvish Theatre (0.4 km), and CF Toronto Eaton Centre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at bE SixFifty Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at bE SixFifty Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at bE SixFifty Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to bE SixFifty Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Adega, Donatello Restaurant, and JOEY Eaton Centre.
Are pets allowed at bE SixFifty Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to bE SixFifty Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Centre (0.6 km), Spadina Museum (3.1 km), and Casa Loma (3.1 km).
All Toronto HotelsToronto Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TorontoHotels near bE SixFifty Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire