Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown

Traveller (55)
Panorama of the King Room at the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
360
Panoramas (21)
The bathroom in room 301.
Room & Suite (202)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#87 of 126 hotels in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown their hotel of choice when visiting Toronto. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a budget friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

While staying at Econo Lodge Toronto, visitors can check out Chinatown (1.2 mi) and CN Tower (1.3 mi), some of Toronto's top attractions.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Econo Lodge Toronto features 24 hour front desk, baggage storage, and newspaper. In addition, as a valued Toronto Econo Lodge guest, you can enjoy a sauna and breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to parking.

Toronto has plenty of Italian restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Terroni, Old Spaghetti Factory, and Cibo Wine Bar, which are serving up some great dishes.

If you’re looking for something to do, St. Lawrence Market (0.8 mi), Distillery Historic District (1.1 mi), and The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario (1.0 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown.

At Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Toronto.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay 2x, Get a $50 Gift Card

Location

335 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C2 Canada
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 89 out of 100
89
Toronto Island Airport
Toronto Pearson Intl Airport
20.4 km
See all flights
College
8 minToronto Rapid Transit
254Reviews4Q+A35Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 83
  • 76
  • 37
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
kirt h wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is easy walk to all the fun areas of downtown Toronto. Not far from public transit and restaurants. Unfortunately it does not have a elevator so dragging luggage to the 3rd floor was a challenge. And the main door card reader was not functioning, but they were getting that looked into
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SalimaM82, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Hi kirth2020, Sounds like you had a great time hanging out in downtown Toronto thanks to our convenient location! Thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to your return next time you are in the area!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GeoGlas wrote a review Apr 2006
Glasgow, Scotland12 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here five nights in April 2006. The hotel has only recently opened after refurbishment so everything is clean and new.
Great location in Downtown Toronto close to all the main attractions and shopping. We even got free parking in the side street with the use of a permit from the Hotel.
There is no bar, restaurant or other amenities in this hotel but at $80 CA (£40) including taxes this was one of the cheapest and best hotels I stayed in whilst touring Ontario. Some rooms have a fridge or computer; all rooms have TV, hairdryer, iron.
Only slight drawback some visitors might find off-putting is beggars on the street corners asking for money but just say no and walk on.
All in all excellent value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2006
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobono A wrote a review Dec 2013
Montreux, Switzerland1 contribution6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
There are certain prejudices about this hotel that need to be dismissed:
- The staff are efficient and friendly (especially the desk manager). However if you are inclined to ask them a dumb question (like where can I park my car) you are likely to get a curt reply.
- The area around the hotel is EXTREMELY safe (as is most of Toronto). It is a great location (ex Allen Gardens, College street cars). But if you are the type who is afraid of friendly Ryerson University students (the campus is right next to the hotel on Gerard), then stay away.
- The hotel has all the amenities one could hope for (AC, ironing board and iron, coffe maker, bedside reading lamps, cable, alarm clock). The rooms are clean. However, if you are the type who gets queasy over a plastered wall, a scratched table or a rusty rad then you should not travel at all. Just stay at home.
- The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast (I had toasted raisin bagels with coffee and bran cereal with milk) with a free newspaper.
- I can imagine that the hotel could be noisy during the summer when it is full, but you would have the option of running the 9000 btu AC unit in your room to drown out the noise. I went off season (December) and the hotel was extremely quiet and warm.
- Don't forget to tip the maid.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just book. All the rooms are equally comfortable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heather K wrote a review Jan 2020
Thunder Bay, Canada11 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I believe I wrote a review of this place a few years back saying I was pleasantly surprised by the quality considering the low price. Well, the same can be said again. You can frequently get a room here for under $100 a night - cheaper than most Air BnBs downtown - and it's a perfectly nice room. Unlike most two star hotels, where you're likely going to be dealing with stains in the bathroom, maybe some mildewy tiles or chipping tubs, dowdy looking furniture, carpets, and linens, the owners of this Econolodge seem to keep on top of necessary renos and keep the place looking inviting. This time we had a small room with a queen size bed, desk, fridge, drawers, tv, coffee maker and ironing board. It had what appeared to be inexpensive flooring designed to look like hardwood, but it was in good shape. There were no stains or chips on anything. My partner, who worked in hotels for years, noticed one piece of stray cobweb in a corner that hadn't been cleaned, but I likely wouldn't have noticed. Our bathroom had a clean, faux marble counter and clean subway tile in the bath/shower area. The price of the room includes free wifi and a modest, free breakfast (cereal, toast, bagels, fruit and beverages). And the hotel is two blocks off downtown Yonge Street and three blocks to the College Subway station. Oh! Also, the staff were great about accommodating our need for separate receipts for each night of our stay, one for me and one for my partner, because of our expensing needs. You really can't get better value for your money in the heart of the city.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SalimaM82, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Responded 21 Jan 2020
What an amazing review Heather! We are so happy to hear you were able to enjoy all the amenities we have to offer at the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites and we will see you on your next visit to Toronto!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob A wrote a review Feb 2020
Montreal, Canada26 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is perfect. The price of the room is perfect. The staff are perfect. The breakfast is great. I toast the raisin bagels and slather butter on them with a fresh banana. There is plenty of hot water for making tea. The place is clean and the rooms well heated or cooled (a large modern unit in the room below the window). The only way you could hear noise outside is if you stuck your head out the window. And the area is not all that noisy for a major downtown intersection. It would be disingenuous to complain about noise in the center of a large city like Toronto. The people who live and frequent the area (including the lovely Allen Gardens plant conservatory across the street) are wonderful. Some are down on there luck, some crazy, some eccentric some just tourists like me. Toronto is a pathetic city but the Econo Lodge is an exception that makes the city much more bearable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: back side if possible.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SalimaM82, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Thank you for your thoughtful and thorough review of the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites! We are so happy to hear you had a perfect experience and would love to welcome you back anytime for another!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicholas K wrote a review Feb 2020
Islip, New York25 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice staff. Easy to find overnight parking a block or two away. Tim Hortons and 24 hr food close by. Was a lot of fun seeing Toronto and Allan Gardens nearby. Also the old maple leaf gardens is close, as well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SalimaM82, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Hi nkooky5, It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of our exceptional customer service and proximity to local attractions and Tim Hortons! Thank you again for choosing the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites for your trip and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wes Z wrote a review Jul 2015
1 contribution12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not recommend. Infested with bedbugs and the staff did absolutely nothing about it. Had horrible bites all over. No doubt that there were bedbugs. Manager was extremely rude when we brought it up to him and called us liars. Do not recommend this hotel at all. The management is corrupt and rude.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lama F wrote a review Apr 2016
Dubai20 contributions23 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to this hotel after spending a night at Comfort Inn right next to it. Rates were better and the room is way more spacious so the hotel did not seem that bad in comparison to our terrible experience the night before. We stayed here for 2 nights. Wi-Fi connection was very bad especially at night. Breakfast is a joke. They only had bread, cheese and cereal. They ran out of juice and did not bother to refill even the next day! They lock up the coffee machine so you have no access to it throughout the day.

I wouldn't even recommend it for just a place to sleep since the pillows and mattress were not comfortable at all. The bed sheets were stained too so cleanliness is not all that great either.

I would not recommend and would not stay there again..
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rons1961 wrote a review Jan 2007
Vancouver, Washington47 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent budget hotel in downtown Toronto. Just minutes from Eaton Centre by walking and at great savings in room price. Hotel was clean and nice, but no elevator for the upper floors.
We had a very nice queen size room and was well taken care of by the staff. Even saved a gift that I mistakenly placed near the trash and the staff kept it and asked us about it. Very friendly and honest.
Would definately stay there again when next in Toronto.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2006
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jay M wrote a review Jun 2017
Belleville, Canada79 contributions187 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent one night here on May 27th ( I have stayed here 3-4 times before over tye last 10 years ). Each stay the hotel has gotten worst in being run down, tired and dirty. My recent stay has made me decide to look to other hotels when in the Toronto downtown core. Staff are great ... But i require a clean and confortable room. I took a pic if the office chair in my room.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JACOB M, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Responded 15 Jun 2018
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. Looking forward to meet you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Toronto area.
PRICE RANGE
$470 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
econo lodge inn & suites downtown hotel toronto, econo lodge inn and suites downtown, econo lodge toronto, econo lodge downtown, toronto econo lodge
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioTorontoDowntown / Cabbagetown / Cabbagetown South / Moss Park / Old Toronto
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ECONO LODGE INN & SUITES DOWNTOWN - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Toronto, Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Allan Gardens Conservatory (0.1 km), Maple Leaf Gardens (0.4 km), and Niagara Tours (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and baggage storage.
What food & drink options are available at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kinka Izakaya Original, Hair of the Dog Restaurant & Pub, and Loblaw's.
Are there any historical sites close to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Centre (0.8 km), Spadina Museum (3.3 km), and Casa Loma (3.3 km).
All Toronto HotelsToronto Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TorontoHotels near Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire