Edward Hotel North York
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Edward Hotel North York

185 Yorkland Blvd, Toronto, Ontario M2J 4R2 Canada
Traveller (47)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

2.5
#110 of 126 hotels in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Edward Hotel is located conveniently off Hwy 401 and 404 in North York. Complimentary parking and WiFi are available throughout. There are 290 beautifully renovated rooms situated across 10 floors. The hotel features an on-site restaurant and lounge, a self serve business center, on site ATM machines and 24 hour reception. Each room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, an alarm clock, a coffee maker and a large work desk with ergonomic chair. The hotels offers a sophisticated and comfortable stay for both business and pleasure seekers. Attractions Nearby: Don mills Subway- 1.1 km Fairview Mall- 1.3 km Seneca College- 3.6 km Ontario Science Center ; Aga Khan Museum- 8.6 km Toronto Pearson Airport- 28 km Downtown Toronto- 20.8 km
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Wifi
Indoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese

Location

185 Yorkland Blvd, Toronto, Ontario M2J 4R2 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 47 out of 100
47
Toronto Island Airport
Toronto Pearson Intl Airport
25.6 km
See all flights
Don Mills
12 minToronto Rapid Transit
50Reviews1Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 11
  • 9
  • 7
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Michaelagh P wrote a review Feb 2020
Peterborough, Canada57 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dont expect a great clean room... the spa is worth going... owner was amazing!!! The restaurant was good just very simple. The room had bug traps and pubic hair in the with the gate 2014. I asked to have a clean room.. there was dust on the walls too.. just thick and was falling onto the bed... it looks like a really old hotel that someone is trying to re camp.. I appreciate all the hard work that has been done but the pool liner is falling off so you can feel it when you swim on your feet. The hot tub is closed ... they have a wicked fire pit out back but they dont use it. The spa was honestly so well priced and the owner there gave my son a free manicure..she was so so sweet!
Close to the mall but not going to go back until Reno's are done. ...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paula J wrote a review Dec 2019
Toronto, Canada90 contributions101 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We hadn't read the reviews before we booked, so we were obviously quite worried. We didn't notice any of the issues mentioned by others, thank God. The hotel foyer is nice, the breakfast was okay, the rooms were okay, although some of the hallways need a new paint job. The value wasn't great based on the reviews and the condition of the rooms, hallways, etc. However, the bones of the hotel seem good and hopefully they can do some upgrading to acquire better reviews. Also, if you don't have a CAR, there's nowhere to go - everything is far, far, far away.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: You need a car to stay at this hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah W, Guest Relations Manager at Edward Hotel North York
Responded 4 Jan 2020
Dear Paula Thank you for choosing Edward Hotel North York for your recent stay in Toronto and appreciate that you were taking time to provide your valuable feedback to us. However, I do not quite agree with you that “everything is far far far away”. The hotel is walking distance to Fairview Mall, Don Mills Subway station, many restaurants and a food building. The hotel should be considered as a very convenient location and no need to have a car. But the hotel does have plenty of parking space if you do have a car. Happy Holidays! Sarah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TripAdvisReviewer wrote a review Aug 2019
5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel itself is okay, it's a little dungeony (black exterior, black stairwells, dark halls, dark carpet) and lots of damage.
It's the kind of place you want to take pictures of any room damage as soon as you arrive because there's lots of gouges on the walls, and you probably don't want to get stuck with paying a fee for the damages that you didn't cause.
The food at the hotel restaurant is mediocre at best.
The Wi-Fi is very poor and constantly cuts out.
My room was okay, clean, but a lot of scuff marks and gouges on the wall.
The best features in the room are the waterfall shower head and air conditioning.

When I arrived my room didn't have bath towels so I called the front desk and they told me I had to come down and get them myself. I told them that's their job to ensure my room is equipped. The cleaners were out in the hallway so I asked them if they had some... they didn't but radioed to the front desk and then the front desk finally brought them up.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shelly G wrote a review Feb 2020
Kitchener, Canada69 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had to be at hospital in North York early so decided to stay at hotel to avoid the stressful morning commute. The Edward is a very clean hotel. Looks newly renovated. They would have gotten an excellent rating if the beds were a little more comfortable. Good parking and a decent rate. We ended up staying there 2 more times in the next two weeks!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Edward Hotel North York
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to host you at our hotel. I have noted your comment regarding the beds and am happy to inform you that we are scheduled to replace all the room case goods including the beds in the near future. At the Edward Hotel, we strive to ensure all our guests have a great stay and we look forward to hosting you again. Sincerely Kayo Mehta
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DFF155032 wrote a review May 2018
Montreal, Canada35 contributions59 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After noticing that they were not re depositing my security deposit of 200$, I called the hotel and found out that they were falsely accusing me of smoking in the room and keeping the security deposit. I am a non smoker, and yes during one of the nights I was there, somebody was smoking somewhere, and the smell was coming into my room threw the poor ventilation. After making many calls, and verbally fighting with managers and front desk, I finally got a promise of reimbursement. Still have to see the money. Stay away, if not be warned. Such an easy way to scam clients !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah W, Manager at Edward Hotel North York
Responded 12 May 2018
Dear Danielle Thank you for taking time to provide your comment. I am very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced. The Edward Hotel is a completely non-smoking hotel and we endeavor to ensure there is no smoking in the rooms and the premises. Just as other hotels do globally we have a process that our staff follows when that rule has been transgressed. We apologize if our staff were overzealous in your case but hope that you could understand that we are dedicated to providing our guests with quality service and comfort in every possible way. As mentioned during our conversation, if you had informed the front desk when you noticed the sign of smoking in your room or in the area during your stay, we would not have had this unfortunate misunderstanding. Once again, thank you for choosing Edward Hotel and we appreciate your business and feedback. Warm regards, Sarah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KAYANDDEE wrote a review Aug 2019
Port Dover, Canada121 contributions79 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel knows very well what it’s doing on Expedia they do not call list hotel and we’re village they call it the Edward hotel North York they have put money into the lobby making it look modern fresh and clean but behind the elevator is like a glass door you enter what used to be apartment living spaces completely non-renovated every level has ripped wallpaper stained carpet dark brown stains all along the walls and chipped paint in addition to cigarette stain ceilings. If you check out the pictures for Edward Hotel North York the hotel looks like a beautiful boutique style modern stay we entered our room past other rooms where people were clearly cooking ethnic food in their rooms and staying long-term to find a room completely in habited by German cockroaches!!!!! Shame on this company for putting the pictures out on their website that are not a true representation of the business they are offering!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jody L wrote a review Aug 2019
Ottawa, Canada9 contributions22 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are going on a family vacation be cautious. This hotel felt off. I was not comfortable taking stairs. I did once, and ran into kids running the stairwell with soccer balls, toys etc. They were everywhere by themselves. I saw gobs of something on walls and floors and it stunk. I became curious about this. It felt odd.
I selected this hotel due to the price n location . Breakfast is not included, but there is a Tim’s up the street. You can walk to Fairview mall as well. This was not a leisure trip, so I did not use the pool and other amenities. However I did check it out.
It appears like people are living there. They took over the pool. Kids running around with toys. Chaos. Not a pool you want to hang out at. I felt uncomfortable. I was only staying one night so I didn’t check reviews. It was Very noisy in the evening. I Could hear someone drilling into a wall or something around 9:30pm. I had a room that could adjoin to another room so I put chairs against it. I just didn’t feel comfortable there. The rooms were decent for the price . We had a good sized fridge n microwave and the bathroom was new n redone. One night in and out was enough. I won’t go back. I will pay more n go with Marriott.
Today I was reviewing a comment about potential asylum seekers staying there, it made sense to me. This hotel is housing people. Also, when our elevator was brought down to the basement. I saw the the same kids running around down there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher wrote a review Jan 2019
18 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to book this Hotel as it was the closest Hotel to our Birthday destination. Since we live in Burlington we didn't want to do the drive due to the weather/drinking/time. We checked in and immediately left to meet with up my Parents for dinner in Markham. Before getting ready for the Birthday party at 7:00 pm we decided to go for a swim and explore the Hotel. This was a huge mistake - the pool liner was falling into the pool, their was garbage all over the hotel and individual floors. There was dirty laundry laying in the hallways. It was quite disgusting. On the way back to the room to prepare for the party there was a gentlemen who worked there waiting for the elevator. I asked him why their were kids running all over the place, playing "elevator tag" and the running noises above us - his reply absolutely shocked me. This hotel is a refugee residence. I checked on the website thoroughly as well as Expedia's who I booked with - and neither of these disclosed this information. We felt disappointed that this information was not disclosed. We proceeded to our room to get ready and upon entering the room - we found the bathroom to have bugs crawling on the counter. This prompted me to walk around the hotel to take pictures of everything. I called Expedia and they were shocked - they told us to check out of the hotel and they were going to refund us in full. But this left us with nowhere to stay except to drive home since the other Hotels in the area were all booked. This hotel caused our weekend getaway to be a complete disaster. The Hotel offered no help and seem to not care at all.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: No rooms are good (read the review)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah W, Manager at Edward Hotel North York
Responded 31 Jan 2019
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to voice your concern. We appreciate your valuable feedback but hope that you would leave a complete and comprehensive review about any company on any sites in the future. I believe that you had never contacted the hotel, but the hotel took action immediately after receiving the phone call from Expedia that was the site you made your booking. You declined every single offer from the hotel and decided to cancel your reservation after you had checked-in a couple of hours. I am sure that you would not get your non-refundable booking cancelled without any hassle after you had checked-in if the hotel offered no help or did not care at all. Kind regards, Sarah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SDP wrote a review May 2019
Singapore, Singapore13 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Honestly, I was ready to be disappointed when I read reviews about the hotel. But, when I reach the hotel, I was greeted so well by a chinese lady at the reception which gave me 3 complimentary breakfast for the 8 nights I was there. The room was really clean, and the toilet looked good too. There was even a microwave in the room and a nice coffee machine. The bed was clean, the room had all the necessity I needed. There was a false alarm at 1am when I was there which pissed me off as I was sleeping, but that was a one off thing.

I can see there were people who lived in the upper stories of the hotel. They weren't particularly noisy or anything. They were helpful. but more of it, i was happy that we are housing refugees/asylum seekers in that hotel, it means a lot to me. The check out was smooth, everything I needed was given well. Just breakfast doesn't have much variety, which if you think it matters to you, then dont purchase it. (:
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah W, Manager at Edward Hotel North York
Responded 11 May 2019
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful remarks. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel during your future travels. Kind regards, Sarah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
barbaraandfamily wrote a review Dec 2018
Granite Bay, California105 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything you want in a hotel:
Super friendly staff
Super comfy bed
Amazing shower with 5 sprays and two nozzles!
Very quiet rooms.

Breakfast is included. Eggs are awful and yogurt & granola are okay. Coffee is okay too although I held out for SB.

Photos are from hotel restaurant. Hamburger is pretty good if you’re starving:)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah W, Manager at Edward Hotel North York
Responded 4 Dec 2018
Dear guest, Thank you for your great review of our hotel and the compliments. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again as our guest. Kind regards, Sarah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martha148 asked a question Mar 2020
Harriston, Canada7 contributions1 helpful vote
Are there refrigerators in the rooms?
Answer from Kayo M
Oshawa, Canada
All our rooms have refrigerators and some also have microwaves.
Paula J wrote a tip Dec 2019
Toronto, Canada90 contributions101 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"You need a car to stay at this hotel."
Read full review
denochino wrote a tip Sept 2019
Calgary, Canada4 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Located near the Fairvew Mall and a subway station if you're looking to go to downtown Toronto. Only a 15 min walk too!"
Read full review
Christopher wrote a tip Jan 2019
18 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"No rooms are good (read the review)"
Read full review
TheCaymanHustle wrote a tip Aug 2018
Montreal, Canada95 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a recently renovated room."
Read full review
T0mmyBahama wrote a tip May 2018
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island121 contributions76 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose rooms on the East side (front of the hotel) to avoid the noise of the highway behind."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Toronto area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
days hotel and conference centre - toronto don valley, yorkland hotel toronto, wyndham toronto
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Edward Village
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioTorontoHenry Farm / North York
NUMBER OF ROOMS
290
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EDWARD HOTEL NORTH YORK - Reviews (Toronto, Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Edward Hotel North York
Which popular attractions are close to Edward Hotel North York?
Nearby attractions include Norma Reed (1.0 km), Fairview (1.0 km), and SilverCity Fairview Mall Cinemas (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Edward Hotel North York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Edward Hotel North York?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Edward Hotel North York?
Yes, secured parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Edward Hotel North York?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moxies, Sozo Ramen & Sushi, and My Place Fish & Chips.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Edward Hotel North York?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Edward Hotel North York?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Edward Hotel North York offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Edward Hotel North York?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Edward Hotel North York?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gibson House Museum (6.3 km).
Is Edward Hotel North York accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Toronto HotelsToronto Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TorontoHotels near Edward Hotel North York
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire