Shaw Club Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Shaw Club Hotel

Lounge
Traveller (308)
Club Room with Fireplace
Room & Suite (162)
Shaw Club Hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#7 of 17 hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Car hire
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Bed & Breakfast

Location

92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 92 out of 100
92
Buffalo Niagara Intl Airport
44.3 km
See all flights
Niagara Falls Intl Airport
19.6 km
See all flights
1,177Review11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 833
  • 239
  • 54
  • 25
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lori and Tony O wrote a review Nov 2022
9 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a perfect location. The boutique style makes each guest feel at home. The front desk is always available in person or through their virtual concierge Ivy. The staff is warm and welcoming. We have stayed at this resort multiple times because of the exceptional service, comfort of bed and pillows, room size, in house bar, in house restaurant and the option to have their driver bring you to local restaurant or winery. It is a wonderful place to stay. The only thing missing this year were the delicious brownies!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Dickson, Guest Services / Front Office at Shaw Club Hotel
Responded 23 Nov 2022
Thank you very much for choosing Shaw Club as your go to when you visit Niagara-on-the-Lake. Perhaps we could arrange for one of our delicious brownies for your next stay! I look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elle A wrote a review Jan 2020
Waterloo, Canada47 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first time visiting this hotel. We had been into the restaurant many times before for breakfast and always found the staff in the lobby very friendly. We booked the wine and whiskey package with the hotel. We loved having access to the shuttle and enjoyed tasting and skating at Wayne Gretzky.

The reception staff were friendly, helpful and polite. The staff left a cupcake fore my husband as it was his birthday which was a nice surprise. My
Husband enjoys his fish at home, and when I saw it was an option, we requested a fish for our room. Our fish Davide kept us good company. the room was on the smaller side but clean and well appointed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Shaw Club Hotel
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Thank you “Elle A” for joining us at the Shaw Club Hotel! I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all of the wonderful inclusions of our popular Wine and Whisky Getaway package –tastings and skating at Wayne Gretzky Estates, the complimentary shuttle service, and a delicious breakfast at Zees Grill! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shaw Club Hotel in the future! Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brw10 wrote a review Feb 2020
North Canton, Ohio13 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our 3rd time at The Shaw and our 1st time staying in the Annex. We love the annex room; cozy fireplace, a jet tub, and a wonderful shower! King size bed a pleasant plus. The staff is just super friendly and attentive to all of our needs. We’ve always got great value for the cost and it is centrally located to any shopping and restaurants.

It’s our go to place at NOTL!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Dickson, General Manager at Shaw Club Hotel
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Thank you "brw10" for choosing Shaw Club as your go to place when staying in Niagara-on-the-Lake. I must agree, I also love the Annex guest rooms! They are the best value as they feature a king bed, gas fireplace and in room jacuzzi tub. Our doors are always open when you are ready for another getaway. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter W wrote a review Feb 2020
Ajax, Ontario, Canada15 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed for one night during a Niagara on the Lake weekend. The first thing we noticed when we entered the room was just how small it was. We booked a King deluxe room and what we got was a room size you would get on a cruise ship. This is not what is referenced on their web site.

The hotel had a weird vibe. There were multi coloured lights above each doorway kind of like what you would see in a red light district.

Back to the room. The decor is tired looking. Very dark and the finish on the desk was worn out. This was complimented by ripped wallpaper in the bathroom and sub-par cleaning.

The service in the hotel was quite good, so no complaints there. All in all I can’t say that we will return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Shaw Club Hotel
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Thank you "Peter W" for joining us at Shaw Club. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the size of your room. We offer a variety of guest rooms which have different features and sizes. I invite you to contact myself directly for your next visit and I will personally assist in finding you a guest room that suits your needs. Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maya_elizabeth wrote a review Jul 2021
Ottawa, Canada187 contributions112 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Shaw Club was a let down. We had higher hopes based on the website description and its affiliation with the Niagara’s Finest properties brand. The best thing about the hotel is the location. The exterior of the hotel looks lovely and the location is excellent for enjoying the old town of NOTL. Other positives include that staff were also attentive and friendly in our limited interactions. Our guest room also came equipped with bathrobes which is one of my favourite amenities. However, that’s pretty much where our list of ‘positives’ ends. The interior of the hotel is dated and past the small lobby, it could even be described as shabby. The hallway to our room on the 2nd floor was dark, dingy and poorly lit. Our room was not ‘intimate’ - it was tiny, cramped, dark and dated. The bathroom was about a foot from the bed and had a pocket door so you can appreciate the limited space. The A/C unit was loud which made for a terrible sleep. We turned off the A/C at times but the room was too warm to sleep comfortably so we endured the noise of the A/C unit. The bathroom was tired looking, had poor lighting and while it was nice to have the option of the rainfall shower, the scathing hot temperatures and hard-to-adjust faucet, made for a less than comfortable experience (and I say this as someone who typically loves hot showers but with both the shower and hot setting on the sink, you have to be careful to avoid hurting yourself!).

I booked this stay after previously staying at The Prince of Wales and The Queen’s Landing (which is our favourite for NOTL), expecting more of a higher end boutique experience from the Shaw Club based on its description but it absolutely was not that (yet, the price was).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Dickson, Guest Services / Front Office at Shaw Club Hotel
Responded 14 Aug 2021
Thank you "maya_elizabeth" for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am very sorry to see that you were less than satisfied with your visit, I wish I had had the opportunity to speak with you directly. I would love an opportunity to connect with you and invite you to email myself directly at jdickson@niagarasfinest.com. Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pdto19 wrote a review Jul 2021
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico17 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
According to the web site, the Shaw Club Hotel looked like a clean, comfortable hotel with refined design. For a special weekend for me and my husband I tough it would be worth the 1013.00$ cost for three nights (including taxes + services charges). At check in I saw the room and right away, I when back to the front desk and I asked if it was a joke.

Avoid the room 305 at all cost. The room is in the annexe, above the Thai restaurant. it is a left over design from the 80' that is falling a part. There is a jet tub in the middle of the room with a very shaky water tap. Also the tap in the bathroom had the same issue. The paper wall in the bathroom had unsanitary yellowish, brown drip marks and coming off the wall. We could not use the rain shower head because it was plug up. The carpet was bumpy, dirty and well used. It should had been removed a few years ago for health regulation. The bed was not comfortable. The side tale on one side was so off that we could not put a glass without it sliding off.

Room 305 is NOT, Niagara's Finest Hotels. I paid top dollars for a clean, comfortable, luxurious room with a nice interior design and I got a cheap dorm room with mixed and match furnitures. In 2021, this kind of surprise is dishonest... it is just wrong.

I check out, i got a 10% off for my trouble. However I can't stop thinking who will the next Shaw Club Hotel advertising victim.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Room Tip: Avoid room 305 in the annexe - sad experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Dickson, Guest Services / Front Office at Shaw Club Hotel
Responded 5 Jul 2021
Thank you for joining us at Shaw Club Hotel, I am very sorry that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. Our main goal is to ensure that our guests have the best experience while staying with us and we hope that starts right from our online reservation process. We have ensured that with our website, we have provided an exact picture of each guest room type to help our guests make a decision as to the room type that best suits their style and needs. I would love an opportunity for you to join us again, and I invite you to contact myself directly to assist with the arrangements. Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrea8162 wrote a review Nov 2021
4 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It is alarming to read the repeated posts about the Annex rooms and the lack of action to this situation. It is not right to charge north of $250.00 for a hotel room like this and label it as a 4 star when there is ripped wallpaper and torn carpet . This property is in desperate need of an overhaul. The Annex needs to be closed. The remaining rooms in the main building need to go back to Pre CoVid daily housekeeping standards and the female employee at the front desk needs to be made aware of the Shaw Express. We had a wonderful time in Niagara On the Lake but we will never return to the Shaw Club. Management : Do Better
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Dickson, Guest Services / Front Office at Shaw Club Hotel
Responded 6 Dec 2021
Thank you very much for joining us and I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your room. We would love to welcome back to experience one of other guest rooms and invite you to contact us directly to reserve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela W wrote a review Aug 2020
17 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was very clean and efficient, not big but had a comfortable chaise to sit on. The bathroom was very nice, clean and the shower had two shower heads which made for a much more fun experience getting clean than at home! We had a personal concierge who was very responsive and helpful. Espresso machine in the unit was hard to see ( in the cabinet) and then we realized someone had anticipated that problem and there was a flashlight left next to it to help.The decor was nice and the bed was very comfortable. We also ate at the restaurant and the breakfast was lovely, service was very good and supper was exceptional!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We had a room on the back facing the parking lot and it was quiet. No view but we weren't...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Dickson, General Manager at Shaw Club Hotel
Responded 10 Oct 2020
Thank you "675angelaw" for joining us at Shaw Club Hotel and dining at Zees Grill! I am thrilled that you enjoyed the shower in your room, the rainforest shower is a definite favourite amongst our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fred G wrote a review Nov 2021
Milton, Canada583 contributions258 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were three couples, celebrating my wife's and another friend's birthday, and stayed overnight at this nice little hotel in Niagara on the Lake. Good location, and free parking on site, was an asset. We had a package which included dinner at Zee's, and the meals were tasty if a little pricey. Four in our group had the sirloin steak, while two of us had the arctic char, and everyone enjoyed the meals. Rooms were comfortable, beds were fine, although the heating systems were somewhat noisy through the night. Staff were great, and Paul, our waiter at dinner, was very attentive.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose a room at the main hotel, as the annex is not user friendly if physically challenged
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica H wrote a review May 2022
St. Catharines, Canada88 contributions18 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this room last minute through Hotwire. Although we got a deal.. we still found it overpriced for what it was. This is a very quaint boutique “hotel”. The hallways had the weirdest lights and the numbers were not on the doors but on the floors? Which we also found very different. The room was TINY and slightly outdated. However, it was clean, the king size bed was very comfy and the bathroom was quite nice. Check-in was quick and easy and the people working were very nice. We loved that it was within walking distance to the main strip as we did not dine at the connected restaurant (a little too pricey and fancy for us). Overall we had a nice stay!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from PKS6636
Peterborough, Canada283 contributions171 helpful votes
You can prepay at time of booking through one of the packages offered through the hotel website and I’m sure they will book your meals at reception.
Dan B asked a question Oct 2018
Do they have hot water?
Aneres1 asked a question Oct 2018
Wexford2 contributions1 helpful vote
Is there a pool in the hotel?
Answer from Mary2691
Toronto, Canada15 contributions12 helpful votes
Unfortunately no.
Glocalexplorer asked a question Apr 2018
Mumbai, India304 contributions78 helpful votes
How much time would it take to get to Toronto airport from this hotel?
Answer from travelguy002
toronto191 contributions178 helpful votes
At a minimum 2 hours depending on time of day. Leave Pearson at 3-4 pm expect 2-3 hours.
Pat G asked a question Nov 2017
8 contributions4 helpful votes
Are infants welcome here?
Answer from Jennifer D
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Good morning "Pat G"! Yes, we welcome infants at Shaw Club Hotel. If you should need it, we do offer pack & plays for the guest room.
loree r wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wish there were access to a pool."
Read full review
Marlene wrote a tip May 2024
Fredonia, New York180 contributions80 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t forget to check out the lounge for bottled water and hot chocolate!"
Read full review
Plumbob1954 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Erin, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I don’t recommend the annex rooms. Make sure you book a room in the main building."
Read full review
Global32711191852 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Oshawa, Canada2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A must stop in NOTL"
Read full review
Joinerfamily wrote a tip Jan 2024
Parry Sound, Canada18 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do the wine trolley tour. It's worth it and a lot of fun. Our driver Candace was outstanding. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Niagara-on-the-Lake area.
PRICE RANGE
$345 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shaw club hotel niagara-on-the-lake, shaw club hotel and spa, shaw hotel
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioNiagara-on-the-Lake
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHAW CLUB HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Shaw Club Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Shaw Club Hotel?
Nearby attractions include BeauChapeau Hat Shop (0.4 km), Niagara on the Lake Heritage District (0.3 km), and Shaw Festival Theatre (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shaw Club Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Shaw Club Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Shaw Club Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shaw Club Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tiara Restaurant, Masaki Sushi, and Il Gelato di Carlotta.
Is Shaw Club Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Niagara-on-the-Lake.
Are pets allowed at Shaw Club Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Shaw Club Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Shaw Club Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Fort Niagara (1.1 km), Fort George National Historic Site of Canada (0.6 km), and McFarland House (2.5 km).
Is Shaw Club Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Niagara-on-the-Lake HotelsNiagara-on-the-Lake Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Niagara-on-the-LakeHotels near Shaw Club Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire