We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse

Save
Share
81 West St. P.O. Box 296, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
eDreams
US$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
Agoda.comUS$113
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 13/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Updated 13/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 27 Speciality lodging in Tofino
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Whether you are interested in surfing, fishing, whale watching, storm watching, beach combing or just which to explore Tofino and its exciting arts, culture and restaurant scene, we offer the best value around. Spend your money on adventure not your accommodation. At the end of each day, enjoy a hot drink or a cold brew next to our fireplace in the comfort of our lounge room overlooking the Sound, or relax shooting a game of pool in our games room! Fully equipped communal kitchen. BBQ area and coin operated guest laundry facilities. Choose from our spacious private suites (2 - pc bathroom), private rooms with ocean views, Deluxe private room with balcony, Budget private rooms or shared dorm style rooms - all with 9 ft ceilings and many with breathtaking waterfront views. We look forward to making your experience memorable!
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor dining area
Beach
Bicycle rental
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Bicycles available
Game room
Hiking
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Fireplace
Separate dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Hair dryer
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Great View
256Reviews2Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 150
  • 65
  • 22
  • 9
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A P wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom23 contributions8 helpful votes
My partner and I stayed here in June and were greatly disappointed. Currently it is not the hostel it advertises to be. Of course we’re aware covid has had huge impacts, but with the lounge and kitchen being closed to guests it seems silly to pay upwards of $90 a night just to sleep in a bunk bed with wifi. The outside kitchen has one covered table, the rest of the patio furniture is at risk of rain. There are no cooking utensils or crockery provided, we were told we needed to supply our own, and guests have no access to food storage or a fridge. Unless you’re travelling in a camper with a mini fridge (and then why would you need a hostel), or plan on eating out all the time (and you could probably afford better than this hostel), it’s almost impossible. This wasn’t communicated to us when we booked over the phone, nor did it properly explain the level of covid closures online so we had a rude surprise upon arrival. Hoping hoping this review informs other travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tofino Hostel, General Manager at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Responded 17 Jun 2021
Hello Anna, Thanks a lot for leaving a review for us after reaching out to us by email before. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected. We try our best to make a stay during COVID-19 as pleasant and normal as possible. However, we also have to ensure the well-being of all our staff and guests. After more than a year into COVID-19 most of our guests understand very well that travelling during COVID-19 is a different experience than during pre-pandemic times. We are also aware that our house rules here are strict and at times very different from what other hostels offer. However, for the last 16 month we successfully managed to prevent any COVID-19 exposure here at our hostel and were able to keep the highest possible safety standards to ensure the well-being of our guests, staff and ultimately our community. Tofino is a very small community and we are operating in the traditional territory of the Tla-o-qui-aht First Nation of the Nuu-chah-nulth peoples – there have been valid concerns from the local first nations communities about welcoming tourists here in Tofino during a pandemic. This and the fact that our community has 10 hospital beds for 8,000 people is why our COVID-19 safety protocols might seem stricter than in other places. This is the reason why we are strictly following the provincial orders that put a circuit breaker on all indoor dining and also introduced strict regulations around travel. As a result, we had to make the hard decision to close all our communal areas to guests until further notice. This is clearly communicated in all our confirmation emails, pre-arrival emails and also on our website (https://www.tofinohostel.com/ and https://www.tofinohostel.com/covid-19-info ). We also give out pots, pans and dishware to all our guests who want to use the outside kitchen. We will make sure to communicate this again with our team to ensure this is clearly explained to all our guests at check-in. Luckily, with the new infections going down and more and more people getting vaccinated we were able to open all our communal areas and kitchen again. Again, we are sorry that your stay during COVID-19 was not as anticipated. We do hope you enjoyed your trip to Tofino regardless and hope you will give us another chance during post-pandemic times - when hostelling and travelling is hopefully like we all used to know it from the times before COVID.
Read more
Fellipe Trasmonte wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Super nice place to stay! Clean and comfortable, the room was perfect. The staff is amazing, I can see that the people who work there have a lot of attention to detail. Everything looks very clean and tidy. Definitely, I would refer this place to other people.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Noémie P wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
We spent two nights in Whalers Hostel and it was amazing; super clean, staff very friendly and helpful, near all main attractions. During Covid, they had special mesures in place to ensure the safety of all. I would recommend it to everyone !
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Kristine K wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Great stay! Definitely suggesting to other people. Beautiful view from the living area, nice kitchen and friendly staff! Rooms with nice bedding and towels provided. Very clean communal bathrooms. I will be coming back for sure. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
pasc1991 wrote a review Sep 2020
Montreal, Canada46 contributions22 helpful votes
We had an okay stay at the Hi-Tofino Whalers on the point Guesthouse. We had a private room with shared bathrooms. The big plus is the location. The view from the lounge/fireplace area is incredible. However, for a hostel the prices were very high for what it was. I understand that prices are higher in Tofino, but I have been to far better hostels elsewhere for less than half the price. Also, for the price, I assumed that the parking would have been included...! The COVID-19 sanitary measures were not fully enforced which made us question how seriously they were being taken by the hostel’s staff as well. The kitchen hours were quiet restrictive and the reception was almost always closed. It remains one of the most « affordable » accommodation in the area and I think it is why they are getting away with an average hostel with a high price point. We liked Tofino and the location, but we were slightly disappointed with our stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tofino Hostel, General Manager at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Responded 28 Sep 2020
Hello Pascale, Thanks so much for staying with us an leaving a review. We are sorry about the confusion with the parking fee. We only have fee for parking during high season (5CAD per vehicle) but do not charge for parking during shoulder and low season (November to March). We also recommend to visit us during low or shoulder season - Tofino is beautiful in the off-season and we have a lot of good deals and discounts during the more quiet time of the year. Please also be assured that we are taking COVID019 very serious. We re asking all our guests to wear face masks inside the building and a sanitizing and cleaning high usage areas frequently and multiple times day. Can you please reach out to us by email and let us know which sanitary measures you found were not enforced so we can retrain our team if necessary? Thanks again for visiting us in Tofino, we hope you had a safe trip home.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
whalers on the point guesthouse hotel tofino
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictClayoquot SoundTofino
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Roy Henry Vickers Gallery (0.4 km), Clayoquot Sound (0.3 km), and House of Himwitsa (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, barbeque facilities, and bicycle rental.
Which room amenities are available at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Schooner Restaurant, SoBo, and Common Loaf Bake Shop.
Does HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.