We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
300 Mountain Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2 Canada
4 people have started booking this hotel
Booking.com
US$580
View deal
Expedia.com
US$539
View deal
Agoda.com
US$516
View deal
TravelocityUS$539
Official Hotel SiteUS$605
PricelineUS$609
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2223)
360
Panoramas (16)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Rimrock Resort Hotel
Updated 06/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 34 hotels in Banff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Highchairs available
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Skiing
Squash
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French
6856Reviews76Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,241
  • 1,580
  • 590
  • 266
  • 179
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pangagee wrote a review 13 Aug
south yorkshire17 contributions2 helpful votes
The customer service in this hotel was absolutely outstanding. We stayed in many hotels on our two week stay in Canada, including Fairmonts and this topped it. The room we booked was one of the older, more tired ones but it couldn't be beaten for cleanliness. We had a room with 2 Queen beds for our family. Love the green eco programme where you save 12 dollars a day for not having the room made up if you don't want. The pool area was spotless and facilities fantastic. We were also really glad that we didn't stay right in Banff. It just seemed much more peaceful and less frenetic looking at right at Sulphur Mountain! The free bus for the ten minute journey from Sulphur Mountain into downtown Banff was very frequent and even got us to Lake Minnewanka for free! When we ate at the hotel we used the lounge and the shop cafe as the other restaurants were a bit pricey for us. All in all though a fantastic hotel with professional, genuine and friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gillam203 wrote a review 13 Aug
Peterborough, United Kingdom100 contributions55 helpful votes
Good hotel, just make sure that your room is not near the lifts......they are quite noisey. We had to change rooms because of this. The new room was briliant. (And so were the staff arranging it.) Breakfast is a bit confusing, with numerous cost options. Free bus pass given so transport to Gondola, town etc is easy but bus does get busy at times.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid locations near lifts (including service lifts).
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rimrock Management, Other at Rimrock Resort Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for sharing your review. Our team is delighted to know that your overall stay with us was enjoyable. We apologize that you had to switch rooms during your stay due to noise concerns however we are pleased that our team was able to resolve your concerns promptly. We have shared your comments with the team and appreciate your feedback to better our processes moving forward. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon! In Hospitality, The Rimrock Resort Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Minudi2721 wrote a review 11 Aug
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Had a wonderful stay during our summer Banff trip. The location is the best with beautiful views of the mountains, away from the town hustle bustle. We loved the fitness center, pool and hot tub. Best things to do after day long hikes in the mountains was to soak and treat your aching muscles in the tub, followed by Sauna and steam. Showers were well maintained and clean. We only ate at the Larkspur lounge one night. Food was ok. But the place fills up quickly, and they don't take reservations. Self parking is expensive ($22 per day) but convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rimrock Management, Other at Rimrock Resort Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
We are so pleased to hear that your time with us was enjoyable. We will be sure to share your comments with our team as we strive to receive such great recognition from all our guests. Spa and other amenities indeed are quite relaxing and rejuvenating as an experience. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you this time and we hope to see you back again soon! In Hospitality, The Rimrock Resort Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
canadiansrule wrote a review 11 Aug
Glacier National Park of Canada, Canada34 contributions45 helpful votes
View is spectacular and location was great..nice to be away from the busy downtown area and the local bus stopped right in front of the Rimrock. Staff were lovely. Breakfast buffet very good. Unfortunately rooms are quite old and dated. Really needs an upgrade/ facelift to justify the price per night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Skip the balcony upgrade. They are not very nice.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rimrock Management, Other at Rimrock Resort Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality, service, dining and incredible views. We are sorry that the room decor was not up to your expectations and would love to share information on different room categories meeting your preferences for next visit. Please feel free to connect with our reservation team anytime. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon! In Hospitality, The Rimrock Resort Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelli O wrote a review 10 Aug
Kingston, Canada36 contributions41 helpful votes
This is an incredible location that understands service and hospitality. Truly beautiful grounds, impeccably clean, beautiful rooms and wonderful food. Staff was kind and knowledgeable. Many places in Banff could learn from this establishment. If we ever return to Banff, we will definitely stay here. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rimrock Management, Other at Rimrock Resort Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
This is such an accomplishment for us. Thank you so much for your kind words and sharing this review. Our team is delighted to know you enjoyed our hospitality and can't wait to have you back again soon! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us! In Hospitality, The Rimrock Resort Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neeta wrote a review 8 Aug
1 contribution
The hospitality at Rimrock was amazing! Room was very clean and modern. Food and entertainment was great! Andrea at the front desk kindly accommodated us with a room upgrade.. stunning view!!! Richard at concierge set us up with sight seeing bookings and planning. Overall great experience and highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rimrock Management, Other at Rimrock Resort Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
This is exactly what we strive to hear from our guests. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely comments with us and we will certainly share your kind words with Andrea and Richard. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon! In Hospitality, The Rimrock Resort Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen D wrote a review 4 Aug
Liverpool, United Kingdom310 contributions135 helpful votes
We stayed two nights as part of a Rocky Mountaineer trip. The only issue was that we had to queue for quite a time on arrival to check in whereas as at the rest of the hotels we stayed check in had been pre-done and keys directly allocated. However after this we found the hotel excellent. The room was spacious, the Primrose Restaurant excellent, the concierge service proved helpful in tracking down a pair of sun glasses left at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise and for their eventual retrieval and we were given a hotel pass to use the bus service to take us into Banff town. We enjoyed Banff and should we return we would book into this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rimrock Management, Other at Rimrock Resort Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your splendid review as our team is very glad to know that your time with us was enjoyable and our team was able to assist you with retrieving the sun glasses. We will certainly share your suggestions and wonderful comments with our entire team and hope to see you back again in mountains some time soon. We wish you safe & fun travels ahead! In Hospitality, The Rimrock Resort Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra Deer wrote a review 1 Aug
1 contribution
Can’t say enough about the service at the Rimrock! Sorry Fairmont, the Rimrock has won us over. They had a special birthday treat waiting for me in my room. Evening supper at the Primrose was exceptional! The vegetarian dishes were so flavourful- a true dining experience thanks to the chef and staff Chas,Lucas, and Prabash! The kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Fun for the whole family.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mira K wrote a review Jul 2022
Calgary, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
I am truly curious as to how much longer hotels like the Rimrock and the Fairmont will wait before undergoing large scale renovations. The carpets and bathrooms are badly in need of a refresh… the “old” doesn’t make it feel historic, just sad and kind of dirty. The views, on-site dining and pool facilities made this trip worth it for our family (two young children). The only miss in dining was the hot breakfast buffet; some items were delicious and some were truly off in terms of taste (orange juice that tasted like tap water, oddly spiced pork sausage, pastry items not very fresh, etc.). Service was generally good except we had someone knocking at 11:45am about checking out… I have never had that happen, even at lower starred accommodations.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rimrock Management, Other at Rimrock Resort Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your detailed review. Our team appreciates you choosing to stay with us and providing us your feedback for the experience. Please know our management team periodically does property renovations and maintenance projects in an effort to offer the best product and experiences to our guests. Nevertheless, we do apologize for falling short in exceeding your expectations regarding the decor and breakfast dining however we are happy that team was able to please you with our service. We have also forwarded your comments to our Housekeeping team to investigate the departure concerns mentioned and would like to apologize for the inconvenience. Once again thank you for spending time with us here at Rimrock Resort Hotel and we look forward to having an opportunity to better serve you next time. In Hospitality, The Rimrock Resort Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
inmy60s wrote a review Jul 2022
Boston, Massachusetts, USA71 contributions55 helpful votes
For about $800 U.S. dollars per night per room, I expected more. We reserved two rooms. Upon arrival mid-afternoon, I discovered that the a/c in my room was not functioning properly. Reception said they would get it taken care of while we went off to hike and have dinner. Upon returning at 9 p.m., it still was not fixed. They had lowered the setting on the a/c, but it still was too warm. They sent maintenance. The maintenance man told me (incorrectly) that the hotel a/c was set so that when you weren't in the room, it would turn off to save energy. As he said this, while we were standing in the room, the a/c shut off again, even though the ambient temperature was far above the set point. So he conceded it wasn't working properly. Then reception got me another room, a nice one, but it didn't have a balcony like the one I had reserved and which I very much wanted. No offer of a price reduction or to comp some food at one of the on-site restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rimrock Management, Other at Rimrock Resort Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're extremely sorry to hear that you had to unfortunately face challenges regarding maintenance issues with Air Conditioning in your room. Although our team was able to find you a suitable alternative, we do understand how much of an inconvenience it could be changing rooms as you prefer to spend your time on vacation to the fullest and we sincerely apologize for falling short in that respect. Our management team will surely follow up regarding these concerns and implement measures towards betterment of our processes moving forward. Should you wish to discuss this any further please do not hesitate to connect with our team anytime. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have an opportunity to better serve you next time. In Hospitality, The Rimrock Resort Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$315 - US$665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rimrock hotel banff, rimrock resort banff, banff rimrock hotel
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesBanff National ParkBanff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
343
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rimrock Resort Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sulphur Mountain (1.4 km), Tunnel Mountain Trail (2.9 km), and Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sky Bistro, Northern Lights Alpine Kitchen, and Hello Sunshine Banff Sushi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Rimrock Resort Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.