One&Only Palmilla
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

One&Only Palmilla

Traveller (1394)
Panorama of the Adult Pool at the One & Only Palmilla
360
Panoramas (73)
One&Only Palmilla
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 6 resorts in San Jose del Cabo
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Cradled on the cusp of the Baja Peninsula, One&Only Palmilla is a legendary retreat where the marvels of Mexico come to life in authentic style. Here you’ll find unrivalled experiences and endless activities for adventure and discovery. From incredible, authentic cuisine, to unique tailored experiences, and spectacular spaces to simply be. Look forward to finely appointed accommodations and the services of an intuitive butler to ensure your stay surpasses all expectations. Let every care fall away as your surrender to total happiness.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Golf course
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Aerobics
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Laptop safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Carretera Transpeninsular, San Jose del Cabo 23400 Mexico
Name/address in local language
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,628 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

One&Only Palmilla is highly regarded for its pristine cleanliness and the staff's meticulous attention to detail in maintaining both the grounds and rooms. The hotel's service is frequently lauded as exceptional and personalized, although some guests suggest there's room for improvement. While the rooms are celebrated for their aesthetic appeal and stunning ocean views, a few guests mention they might benefit from modernization. Visitors appreciate the tranquil atmosphere but some crave additional entertainment. Opinions on value are mixed; while the amenities, including the spa and pools, receive high marks for luxury, a number of guests find the cost of extras steep and not always justifying the expense.
Atmosphere
Serene
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Luxurious

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,628Review128Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,393
  • 127
  • 55
  • 28
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Karen Parks wrote a review Dec 2022
San Ramon, California
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I apologize for the lengthy review but our stay here made a tremendously positive impact and we feel individual praise and recognition are necessary.

My first draft of this review was written on our last full day and as we reflected on what was quite possibly the most perfect vacation had at O & O Palmilla.

We were sitting on the secluded, white sand beach that embraces this gorgeous property, being doted on by Alberto and Elias when right before our eyes a whale jumped in and out of the water 3 times. It was magical. I was so taken aback by the whale that my draft somehow deleted.

This version is being written on our very last morning, as we listen to the waves from our Casita Suite and take in the sun light reflecting off our plunge pool.

We are saddened to leave this magical place, luxurious grounds & accommodations and incomparable service. Our sadness was intensified during breakfast by Gabino at Agua. He has to be the most genuine, kind, warm, and attentive individual ever.

I’d like to make clear that EVERYONE you encounter at Palmilla is phenomenal, gracious, warm and inviting; eager to make your stay perfect and exceeding all expectations. However, like most relationships there are some you hit off better than others. Gabino was one of them, as was Seesa (also at Agua during breakfast - beautiful soul).

From day one, our hosts Victoria and Isaac were amazing! Victoria has the most beautiful smile. They both exude warm and positive energy and genuinely care about your needs and wants. They will make the impossible, possible. Let me put it this way, if you ask them for a unicorn with a rainbow mane, their follow-up question will be: what color horn? Gold or silver? That’s how well you will be taken care of.

After you are greeted by your host (if you’re lucky enough, you’ll get team Isaac/Victoria) you will be escorted through the lush and majestic grounds of Palmilla and into your beautifully appointed room.

We were left breathless with our beachfront Casita. The view is unbelievable. The temperature of the plunge pool is perfect. You are welcomed with fresh fruit and the smoothest tequila in your spacious yet cozy living area. The beds are so comfortable. My husband and can never get a good nights sleep in hotels slept like a baby all 7 nights. The cleaning service is immaculate and everyday the room smelled and looked fresh. I also loved the little surprises left at turndown - very cute and thoughtful.

The bathrooms are well equipped with most everything you can need during your stay. You also have the most beautifully smelling incense that seems to also be the scent that permeates the entire resort.

Dining, pool and spa were always a special experience, led by the most welcoming and gracious staff.

But first, the pool! We kept ourselves at the adult only pool (next to Breeze) or the beach. Hands down these gentlemen work hard to make your lounging as comfortable as possible. You cannot go wrong with any of the pool attendants, but you’ll be in good hands with Joaquin, Efren, Elias, Javier and Alberto. As one of them once told me, in all seriousness: “anything is possible at the Palmilla…” and they lived up to that promise!

If you get any of the spa treatments, do yourself a favor and ask for Edaena. She is very talented, but kind and warm. I was also blessed to have met Daniella and Heidy, spa attendants, who made my visits enjoyable. Daniella also has a very pretty smile and awesome personality- we hd our laughs and chatted quite a bit, which was very nice.

AGUA: we had most our breakfasts at Agua and as already mentioned, we were blown away by Gabino and Seesa. The food was delicious but my all time favorite was the El Rancho with plenty of habañero sauce. I must also bring attention to Julian, who always made sure our coffee was hot and plenty; very sweet gentleman that was eager to please.

BREEZE: Oscar!! Enough said. He had the most welcoming smile and even when we wouldn’t eat there, if he saw us he went out of his way yo say hello and chat with us a bit. Now, if you’re a Fish & Chips fan - wow!! You must try that at Breeze.

SUVICHE: OH. MY. GOD!!! Hands down my favorite place. Amazing service was had from Fernando (at the lounge area); with great memory: he remembered my Woodford Reserve Old Fashioned. I was very impressed by the branded “O&O” ice cube that accompanied my old fashioned - beautiful detail.

Arturo was also quite awesome and made us laugh. He was very personable and inviting and he and my husband had their inside jokes, which was very nice to see.

My favorite sushi: Tuna with truffle (melt in your mouth tuna!!); and all 3 Wagyu nigiri but the Rossini is very damn tasty!!!

Not enough words of praise exist to describe our wonderful stay at Palmilla. It is obvious that warmth, kindness, impeccable service, and genuine care for guests are their guiding principles.

Everything about Palmilla is luxurious (and yes, you will pay for it) but it is worth every peso. Palmilla exceeded our expectations and set the bar very high.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OneandOnly Palmilla Management , Owner at One&Only Palmilla
Responded 4 Jan 2023
Dear sfmamaesq, It is hard to find words that the meet the level of gratitude that I have after reading this lovely review, where just the same way our team does, no detail was spared. Thank you dearly for giving us the opportunity to host while visiting Los Cabos, and for acknowledging the exceptional efforts our team does to deliver the most amazing experiences! I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, and as we say in Mexico, "Mi casa es tu casa". On behalf of the One&Only Palmilla team, and specially from your hosts Isaac and Victoria, we send our most heart-felt regards and best wishes for this 2023! Kindly, Sergio Pereira General manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KristaDonaldson wrote a review Apr 2020
Toronto, Canada
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I were here for 8 days in March 2020. We had extremely high expectations as have heard nothing but great things prior to our visit from friends and they were far exceeded. From the food, the grounds, the location, the staff, everything is amazing. Our room was beautiful we could watch whales swimming by every morning. The staff go above and beyond for you and you can tell they are always striving for perfection. Marco, Jose, Jacob and Clemente all helped to make our stay so enjoyable - all the staff there work so hard and are so friendly. We visited all restaurants on the property multiple times and loved each one. Palmilla as a town is a stunning slice of heaven. This way by far our favorite vacation and we cannot wait to return. The care and detail that is put into this property is evident. My only critic similar to other reviews is that everything on property is quite expensive however, in my opinion best on the level of service and quality of food/beverages provided well worth it. Very quiet there overall and was the perfect getaway for my husband and I. They do an amazing outdoor pizza dinner in the herb garden one night a wekk - highly recommend. Complementary foot massages by the pool during the day and are always coming around with small treats like frozen chocolate covered bananas and smoothies. There is always fresh fruit in your room and snacks delivered every afternoon. You can walk the beach for hours it's so long and perfectly maintained. We travel frequently and both agreed this is our favorite place to date. We ate tacos and drank tequila for a week and had the best time - this place is all you could dream of and more. Anyone who finds something to complain about with this place is just plain crazy!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Plunge pool highly recommend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OOPalmilla, General Manager at One&Only Palmilla
Responded 30 Apr 2020
Dear KristaDonaldson, Thank you for this wonderful review. It is always a joy to hear of our guests’ incredible experiences. Everyone on the One&Only Palmilla team thanks you for your kind words and dedication to our property. Your opinion means the world to us, and we are so happy we could serve you in the true Palmilla fashion. I am very happy to know that Marco, Jose, Jacob and Clemente took great care of you. They are outstanding colleagues, and I will make sure they receive your message and the proper recognition. It was such a joy to host you and your husband, and we hope we will continue to be your first thought when planning a getaway. Until then, we look forward to hosting you again soon. With warm regards, Robert Logan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Jet06497085754 wrote a review Jul 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is pretty magical. The grounds, landscaping, pools, and beach setting are amazing. Five stars all the way. Service also is five stars. Everyone is very kind and respectful. At first I wasn't sure I would like the personal "butler" idea, but it turned out to be a great experience. Diego and Paula were available if we needed anything, but they were not overbearing or intrusive at all. It was great to be able to just send a text and get answers, recs, and assistance almost immediately. My wife injured her knee on a hike and Diego was even able to find her some crutches that were her size! The only area that I wouldn't give One & Only Palmilla a "5 star" rating is on value. This is a high end property and it is expensive to stay there. I get that. I think the location, service, and grounds justify the high price of the accommodation, but additional food and drink costs seem excessive for many items. A single margarita by the pool ends up being close to $28 (w/ automatic 15% tip) and they are small and weak. A couple drinks at the pool and modest lunch for a family of 4 will set you back ~$300. At our first dinner we were charged almost $40 for 2 bottles of "fancy" still water when their house still water is perfectly drinkable and acceptable. It is not made clear that you have options other than the silly high price bottled water, and that just felt wrong and sneaky. I wholly recommend O&O Palmilla if you are looking for a relaxing vacation in a beautiful setting. Some things will seem overly expensive to some, but others might not even notice. I do feel very satisfied and would definitely consider a return visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OneandOnly Palmilla Management , Owner at One&Only Palmilla
Responded 19 Jul 2022
Dear Jet06497085754, We are absolutely humbled to know that you have found our resort to be as magical as you describe it! On behalf of our team, and specially from Diego and Paula, please know we would be pleased to have the opportunity to host you and your family again on a future visit to Los Cabos, and will do our utmost to improve your next experience. Our team awaits! Best regards, Sergio Pereira General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dluxtravelgal wrote a review Nov 2021
San Diego, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Second time here and we still love it and we’ve stayed at Las Ventanas, pedregal, chileno and others. There is something magical about the Palmilla that I can’t really describe until you experience it yourself. The staff is genuine and really go above and beyond to make your stay amazing. We had an oceanfront room this time and wow watching the sunrise and sunset from our balcony was just priceless. The mornings sitting watching the pelicans dive in the ocean for food drinking my coffee was wonderful. We enjoyed breakfast at Agua the best. For dinner we reserved a private half moon table and it was so special. The live music was an extra special touch. Dinner and service at Seared was just as spectacular. We only left the resort once for dinner at another nearby hotel. The family pool was our favorite place to be. Much larger and quieter than the adult pool. Don’t miss the free foot massages just reserve with the pool attendant. The beach was nice and service was excellent. My kids loved catching rides from the golf carts. Housekeeping was fantastic! Butler service was spotty. Our butler told me we had complimentary laundry service for 2 items a piece but we were charged for it. We had complimentary breakfast in our package but were charged too. So please review your folio BEFORE leaving the property!!! They pretty much ghosted me when I left the property. I emailed 3x, called once and left a message and ZERO response!! Still shocked I didn’t expect this from a hotel of this caliber. Lesson learned. Never had an issue with another hotel even a Marriott would have gotten back to me! Although I gave this place 5 stars it definitely left a bad taste in my mouth.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OneandOnly Palmilla Management , Owner at One&Only Palmilla
Responded 29 Nov 2021
Dear Dtravelgal, Thank you for your thoughtful review. I am very grateful to see that you and your family enjoyed the different spots around the resort. Although, I am very sorry to hear about your billing request. Please be so kind to send your email address to my assistant Wendy.Armenta@oneandonlypalmilla.com and I will personally make sure it’s sent to you. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and accept my apologies for the inconvenience it may have caused you. We truly look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to the resort. With warmest regards, Sergio Pereira General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill B wrote a review Feb 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second visit and there were many missteps, beginning at the airport. Our transfers were included in our package but the airport representative did not have our information. We called the hotel and they said transfer was not included. We paid for a taxi. Once at the hotel the reception desk noted their error but would not reimburse us.
The negative experiences continued to mount over the next four days. Nothing big but very surprising after our first visit which was an incredible experience and had brought us back. Things like lukewarm coffee (everyone complaining) and wrong orders delivered at breakfast. Evening turndown service missed two of the four nights. Service staff talking loudly outside the rooms early in the morning. Occasional cold shoulder response to special requests at restaurants. Mind you, the food and drinks are very expensive and the daily room rate includes a staff gratuity that is 15% of the daily room rate. This visit was so much different than our first that we were really surprised.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OOPalmilla, General Manager at One&Only Palmilla
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear Bill B, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor following your recent visit and we appreciate your feedback as it encourages us to focus on the details. Please be certain that I have shared your feedback with all the teams involved to improve on each area mentioned. We are committed to meeting your every need throughout the entirety of your visit, and it is disappointing to hear about the issues during your past stay, as this is totally unusual in the resort. On behalf of One&Only Palmilla, please accept my most sincere apologies for those inconveniences. I sincerely hope that we will regain your confidence by welcoming you back to our Resort in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is any assistance I can provide for a future visit. Sincerely, Robert Logan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rray3 wrote a review Jan 2020
California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at the Palmilla a few times since my initial review. Each time has been mostly good with a few hiccups (as noted in my original review).

In all of my years of traveling, l have been fortunate that nothing has ever gone missing from my room. It finally happened on this most recent stay at Palmilla. A sweater that l loved, and cannot replace, went missing from my closet. At first l thought l had simply misplaced it and turned the room inside out looking for it. I even had the butlers and two members of the security team look too. Nothing...the sweater was nowhere to be found.

I was so distressed/concerned that l stayed up most of the night looking all over the room multiple times.

I pleaded with security to look at camera footage of me dining at Suviche at 7:00 p.m. on 1/4/20 which is the last time I had worn the sweater. I also wanted them to see the sweater for themselves so everyone knew what it looked like. To my incredible disappointment, they refused to look at the footage of that particular evening/time and instead opted to look at footage of me at Agua Bar in the afternoon wearing a blue/white striped linen top, implying that since it was still in my possession, l was imagining everything. I felt so humiliated!

I still insisted that they look at the video from Suviche and requested a follow up once they had, yet no follow-up was forthcoming.

At this point l just wanted to go home and would have in a heartbeat if United had any availability, which they didn’t.

Truly appalled that a 5 star hotel cannot be bothered to follow-up with guests in a serious situation. That pretty much says it all!

It is unlikely that anything will ever be taken from your room; however, if there is an item that you treasure, please keep it locked in your suitcase. On the off-chance that it does mysteriously disappear, you will treated like a pariah and blamed for it no matter how much you try to prove your innocence.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OOPalmilla, General Manager at One&Only Palmilla
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Dear rray3, Thank you for writing your sentiment about your stay. We do appreciate very much your loyalty, thus it is quite disappointing to hear of your experience, and we are sorry that your stay did not exceed your expectations this time. Please rest assured that our Security team has diligently made a full investigation since the moment we received the notification on Tuesday 1/7/2020. They have also been searching all around the resort and even in a restaurant off-property that you had the chance to visit. My team made me aware of this situation and I have made sure they are following our strict procedures as always. We do respect your reasons for not having a conversation with our Security Manager and the team regarding the outcome of the investigation, therefore I have asked them to please send you the full report to your email address. Should you have any further concerns I am available at your convenience. Respectfully, Robert Logan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michele O wrote a review Nov 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful hotel and location. Rooms are spacious but the decor is long in the tooth and amnenities too basic for the price. Overprice? Yes. All around. Room food and store. The cheapest sunscreen was $77...!
The staff is very kind and helpful though.
The problem? Too lax about safety. One reason we chose the hotel was how they advertised the high level of safety. However- no enforcement at all.
Tourists are allowed to walk around the property without masks. Waiters have custom made masks (no shields) that fall off their faces. When i pointed out to the management that i didn’t feel safe and their masks were not fitting i was told they were “approved”. I continued to try and get them to improve the safety situation but very little changed . I beleive i got them to at least to not touch my silverware and serve it in a napkin...
If you are looking for basic safety that is not the place. For those who think they are immune/ have a great time. Exquisite location.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OOPalmilla Staff, General Manager at One&Only Palmilla
Responded 17 Nov 2020
Dear 821micheleo, Thank you very much for this review, we really appreciate you have taken the time to leave your comments. We take guests feedback very seriously as this is what help us to strive for perfection. I am truly sorry to read you saw a lack of enforcement on our protocol and I can assure you your comment have been shared with our team in order to reinforce them among the property. We greatly appreciate all of your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Robert Logan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C Berry wrote a review Jun 2021
Mission Viejo, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I am torn as I write this review. I have always wanted to stay at the One&Only Palmilla and had high hopes that it would become our a regular vacation destination for us. Unfortunately my experience fell well short of my expectations.

5 Star property - The architecture and grounds are spectacular.

3 star service - Not sure if it is bad management, poor training or lack of staff, but the service was extremely inconsistent. Most of the time we had to flag down a staff member for service at the Pelican Beach and the Aqua pool. The checkin process was brutal because our ocean view room looked directly in a palm tree (completely blocking the ocean view). When I complained, they initially claimed that they were at almost 100% capacity. When I threatened to move to another resort, they moved us down one floor with the view for which we had paid. The whole experience was way too much drama and gave me a very bad first impression.

2 star value - $25+ cocktails, overpriced pool food (e.g. $32 pork nachos) and $75+ average entree prices at the casual restaurant are too expensive, especially when the quality is just o.k. and the service is lacking.

It is a shame because One&Only Palmilla has so much to offer, but based on the mediocre service and insanely high prices we will not be returning and recommend you look elsewhere when considering a 5 star vacation to Cabo.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OOPalmilla Staff, General Manager at One&Only Palmilla
Responded 7 Jul 2021
Dear Need_a_vacation_99, We appreciate your sincere review. While it is disappointing to hear that your time with us did not exceed your expectations, we are glad to have your feedback so that we can make enhancements in the future. Please know that your comments have been shared with the relevant team members so that we can make improvements accordingly. We would value the opportunity to serve you once again in Palmilla to deliver an unforgettable getaway. Robert Logan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yuri Vanetik wrote a review May 2021
Newport Beach, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great resort, and the people that work there that I interacted with during my stay are kind and thoughtful people. The grounds are beautiful and you get access to a small beach where you can swim. It’s not as fancy as Chileno Bay or Montage beach, but still nice.
Let me tell you where, in my view, Palmilla fails. It pricing protocol on certain items is excessive because it’s not supported by the service. However, we can get over crazy prices for small things. The real issue is the operational protocol. The greetings and interactions are memorized, rigid and awkward. The employees of the resort are trained to use guests last names. That wonderful. Yet, there is nothing worse than having your last name butchered after a painful pause where the staff member gets an expression that makes you think that they are struggling with horrible heartburn. I don’t think I had my name butchered more times in 5 days than ever in my entire life. Several times I would call and could not get through to in room dining or butler service. I could not get towels after several requests. No one knew my name or room number and even when I provided the information, the people struggled to find me.

The hand on the heart began to feel cultish. I would never bring this up if it was not for the posturing and the prices for everything. The Cape, another property where I stayed offered complementary COVID testing for its guests. Palmilla offered the same service for 100 dollars or more. Basic requests were difficult to complete, and at the end of the day the Butlers and hand on heart and long labored greetings with so many extra words were incommensurable with systemic failure to deliver on basic requests or handle simple interactions. Even the bill was in pesos without providing (as other hotels do) US dollar conversions. Perhaps One and Only Managment can send their staff to train at the Cape?

Perhaps, they can dispense with fake rituals and unnecessary procedures, and tell their staff that if someone asks for the bathroom, offer to take her or him into the direction of the facilities. Other than that, it is a luxurious property for people that are not bothered by the small stuff, and can pay 2 to 3k per night without worrying about the small stuff.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OOPalmilla Staff, General Manager at One&Only Palmilla
Responded 19 May 2021
Dear YuriVanetik We appreciate your candid review. While it is disappointing to hear that your time with us did not exceed your expectations, we are glad to have your feedback so that we can make improvements in the future. Our team is consistently looking for new opportunities to add value to our guests’ experiences, your comments have been passed along to the head department of each area. Rest assured these are been taken into consideration to work on the corresponding improvements. It would be an honor to welcome you back to Palmilla for an improved stay in the future. Robert Logan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dustin Blodgett wrote a review Jul 2021
Boca Raton
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at One and Only for the second half of our Cabo trip based on advice from a lot of people who had been there several years ago. We didn’t have their same experience and I felt that there are significantly better options in the area.

The buildings on the edge of the resort are on the public beach were less than romantic. The pools were really busy and to get a good seat required getting down there to “reserve” your area early. A few times we ordered drinks and they just never came. There was a big wedding and a lot of the lack of service was blamed on that.

Their version of butler service is just kind of ok room service. Never met or heard from our butler other than when the room flooded.

The food at Seared was the best food we had in Cabo and definitely the highlight of the resort. Agua had less quality food but a fantastic view and live music ambiance. These were both actually high quality food and service.

After a night on the public beach rooms we bought the plunge pool suite which was much nicer. The drain in the shower flooded the room and they just left down some towels and didn’t turn down the room which was pretty gross. The plunge pool rooms were very nice otherwise.

We stayed at the Rosewood and Waldorf for a few nights each on the same trip and found those to offer significantly more from a quality of resort, room and service standpoint.

It wasn’t all bad and we had a great time in Cabo, but I would definitely recommend trying one of the other 5 star spots.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OOPalmilla Staff, General Manager at One&Only Palmilla
Responded 27 Jul 2021
Dear Relaxer77, We appreciate your thoughtful feedback. It is disappointing that your most recent stay with us did not live up to your expectations. Our colleagues consistently try to add personal touches that go above and beyond the needs of each guest, and we are sorry to hear that, this time around, this was not your experience. Please know that your comments have been shared with the relevant team members so that we can make improvements accordingly. We would value the opportunity to serve you once again in Palmilla to deliver an unforgettable getaway. Alexandre Mathais Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from P-Fogg-1873
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania30 contributions178 helpful votes
I don’t remember any live music or dancing. Pretty quiet and low key.
Answer from GP
1 contribution
The butler will help accommodate or arrange whatever you need and they do offer unpacking and packing service though we didn’t take advantage of it. No questionnaire was provided at check in to customize our experience. The biggest issue was that the butler at check-in did not fully explain all the amenities available for us to use, for example, we only found out by chance on the 3rd day that we could use all the wet areas of the spa including the plunge pool and the small quiet pool which is included in the stay.
Answer from Khalil R
1 contribution
Super private and safe. No randoms wandering around or vendors trying to sell you stuff. 2 beaches. On the left more swim friendly and crowded but super nice. On the right barely anyone and still swimmable. Ocean in cabo in general is not for beginers and depending on conditions can be quite dangerous. We stayed at Nobu once on the pacific side and swimming in the ocean is strictly forbidden. I was so pissed they didnt tell us that when making the reservation. One and Only and Las Ventanas are the only place one should stay in Cabo is price permits. One & Only is by far my first choice!
Gongzhuela wrote a tip 6 Jul
New York City, New York27 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for another O&O"
Read full review
21Family21 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Brisbane21 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The oceanfront rooms are incredible "
Read full review
Erica S wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The yoga is at 7 AM is free and is fabulous. It is early becuase it gets hot later. We loved the classes went every day."
Read full review
Blitch S wrote a tip May 2024
55 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be prepared to need a car or taxi everywhere if you wish to leave the resort. Not in walking distance to anything."
Read full review
laxcf269 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Boulder, Colorado25 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"stop at store and grab some beers or drinks for the mini fridge in room. well worth it. Use Uber for sure."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Jose del Cabo area.
PRICE RANGE
$1,779 - $2,817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
one&only palmilla hotel san jose del cabo, one and only palmilla, palmilla cabo, one only cabo, la palmilla
LOCATION
MexicoBaja CaliforniaBaja California SurLos CabosSan Jose del Cabo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
174
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ONE&ONLY PALMILLA - Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (San Jose del Cabo, Mexico) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about One&Only Palmilla
Which popular attractions are close to One&Only Palmilla?
Nearby attractions include Jonathan Sanchez Jewelry (6.5 km), Cuadra San Francisco (6.8 km), and Ivan Guaderrama Art Gallery (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at One&Only Palmilla?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at One&Only Palmilla?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at One&Only Palmilla?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at One&Only Palmilla?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to One&Only Palmilla?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vela, Chambao Los Cabos, and Bistro By Sébastien Agnès.
Are there opportunities to exercise at One&Only Palmilla?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does One&Only Palmilla have airport transportation?
Yes, One&Only Palmilla offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at One&Only Palmilla?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does One&Only Palmilla offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does One&Only Palmilla have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All San Jose del Cabo HotelsSan Jose del Cabo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San Jose del CaboHotels near One&Only Palmilla
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire