Hotel Riu Palace Baja California
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Riu Palace Baja California

Camino Viejo a San José, 3,5Km El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23453 Mexico
Infinity pool
Traveller (2270)
Japanese restaurant
Dining (134)
Hotel Riu Palace Baja California
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#17 of 20 resorts in Cabo San Lucas
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
The 24h, All Inclusive & Adults Only Hotel Riu Palace Baja California opens its doors in December 2018 and is situated in the south of the Baja California peninsula, directly on the lovely El Médano beach; is set next to the Hotel Riu Santa Fe. RIU Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence & sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to the International Airport of Los Cabos SJD (40km), Cabo San Lucas (4,5km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 602 cozily furnished Suits with free Wi-Fi and offers modern amenities. Relax in our spa or get in shape at the fitness center. 4 outdoor pools, 2 with swim-up bar.Day & evening entertainment, Pacha Discotheque at our neighboring hotel. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant; Japanese, Italian, Fusion, Indian specialty restaurants, Steakhouse. 4 bars.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Aerobics
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
24-hour security
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Riu Class Benefits

Location

Camino Viejo a San José, 3,5Km El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23453 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 70 out of 100
70
Los Cabos Airport
35.9 km
See all flights
2,134Reviews408Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,120
  • 475
  • 225
  • 145
  • 169
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dee C wrote a review Jul 2023
Rowlett, Texas98 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been to a good amount of all-inclusive resorts and I have to say for the price we paid this one was pretty top notch!

First the room: I reserved a Jr Suite Oceanfront double bed room and they put me in a King. When I pointed that out as an error upon check in I was told they were fully booked but could move our room the next day. It was just me and my sister do we just kept the King room. The room was large (pics included) with a large balcony and a hanging rack for your swim wear!

The Food: by far best daily buffet! I don't like eating at buffets necessarily, except for breakfast, but we did Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at least once during our 5 day stay! We only dined at the Italian restaurant and Krystal, the fusion restaurant and both were quiet good! We didn't bother with the Japanese restaurant bc no sushi rolls OR Teppanyaki/Hibachi which we've come to expect based on all the other all-inclusive resorts visited. We also passed on the Indian restaurant bc they had a very limited menu and didn't include basics like Butter Chicken or Tiki Masala tho it did offer Biryani.

The Drinks: This is the only all-inclusive resort I've been to that doesn't offer a higher bar package at a cost. Why you may ask??? Because all top shelf liquor is included in your stay here!!! Shots of Patron and other higher end Vodkas and Tequilas were flowing! Fernando and Angel at the Dark Bar were our favorite bartenders!

Location: This RIU is a $4 Uber to the harbor and downtown area. It's nearly an hour from the airport. There's a Walmart right across the main street from the resort and other shopping and restaurants.

RIU Parties: This was the only major disappointment with this resort. All the theme parties happen at the family resort next door and the communication of timing is lacking. We went to the Pink Party Friday night just to find out it was a daytime pool party. The parties were over crowded as well bc it's 3 RIU resortsin at one party. WITH THAT SAID THOUGH there was evening entertainment each night at our resort, it just wasn't the theme parties the RIU is known for.

I would definitely recommend this resort and may even return myself with my hubby!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The ocean current it rough so swimming wasn't an option when we were there in July.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California
Responded 12 Jul 2023
Dear Dee L, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant experience in our hotel and we appreciate the kindness of your comments. We look forward to welcoming you soon again. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Palace Baja California Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashley P wrote a review Jan 2020
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this resort last week for a week long babymoon. It was fantastic! The resort itself is brand new, very clean, and modern. I especially liked that it was much smaller than the other 2 Riu resorts next to it. It was easy to get around, the layout was not confusing, and we could find everything we needed. We explored the other two resorts and couldn't find the lobby without having to ask. The staff are always around, and very friendly and accommodating. The buffet was great. We tried all the specialty restaurants, they were so-so. The coffee bar they have was fantastic. The entertainment was ok, we much preferred the band that played many oldie and classic rock songs after the shows. The crowd here was much older than the crowd at the next door Riu Santa Fe, so there was really no loud music or drunk college kids at night, though if you are into that you can access the other two Riu resorts for free and attend their parties. The gym had a decent amount of equipment in it. The pool was great, you could always find a free lounge chair. We spent much of our time on the beach out front, often walking down to the marina and exploring shops. We took a water taxi to the rocks and arch, highly recommend going to Divorce Beach there as the beach is beautiful. We had maternity photos taken by the hotel photographer Cabo Adventure Photography, and the pictures turned out amazing and they were very reasonably priced. We ended up having to stay at the Riu Santa Fe next door for one night as our flight was cancelled, and I can say we much preferred the cleanliness and relative quietness of the Riu Baja California. Would very much recommend coming to this resort!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms at the front have ocean view, but you can still see the ocean from the sides as well. We...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear Ashley, Thank you for taking the time to share that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California. We appreciate your fantastic feedback! It was our pleasure to serve you, and we hope to have you back with us again in the future. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Baja California Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JohnnyMcComb wrote a review Jan 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom919 contributions217 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having stayed at a Riu before and the decor being a bit dodgy I was pleasantly surprised to see a nice modern hotel with fresh decor. This hotel is only around a year old. Our room was a sea view suite and there was a beautiful view. The room position also meant that it was quiet. The food and drink are like all inclusive hotels you would experience so if you’re looking stronger drinks and better food you can easily pop downtown for that which we did. The staff at the hotel are amazing and they are so helpful. The hotel is also really clean and tidy. The room service menu is limited but it is there nevertheless. Location wise you can walk to a Walmart in 20 min or downtown via the beach in around 45min. Taxis are readily available for 250pesos (£10) to downtown Cabo. The hotel is set on the beach which is lovely. You can’t swim at all points due to the current and boat activity but it’s perfectly safe to swim in. The best food was breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear JohnnyMcComb, Thank for your time. We are truly grateful to read your inspiring review!! We are delighted that you had a fabulous stay and that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Baja California Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jess wrote a review Feb 2020
Kelowna, Canada25 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our recent stay at the Riu Baja was just okay. They claim this is a 5 star hotel but I would definitely not agree with that.

Food was okay, breakfast buffet was great, lunch and dinner were not good. We went to all the speciality restaurants and they were alright. Japanese was probably our least favourite and the Indian and Italian were probably the best out of them all.

Our room faced the Riu Santa Fe, pool parties were loud but we usually didn’t go to sleep until later anyways.

Room service wasn’t anything special as it was all premade food like sandwiches and salads, more options are needed as most people ordering room service after 11PM are drunk and want something other then a sandwich.

Pools were great but if you want a good chair you need to be out reserving a spot before 7AM. On our last day I was up at 6:30 reserving a spot and almost all the front row pool spots were all reserved. Servers were great.

When we went to check out that’s what really changed my experience at the Riu and I will never return because of it. I was charged $107 CAD for sheets as one night I was sick in the bed. We requested to talk to the manager as the supervisor was no help to us. The manger also gave us the run around and almost caused us to miss our bus back to the airport. After spending $4000 to stay at this resort and they charge us for fresh sheets is absolutely unacceptable. This charge came as a surprise as no one had told us prior that we would be charged for new sheets and left us feeling poorly about the resort and unlikely to ever stay with the Riu again. After we got home I was told to email the Riu complaints and I’ve been given the run around from them as well. Poor customer service for such a big company.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear foodiekelowa, Thank you very much for your comments. We would like to apologize if we did not provide you with the vacation you were looking for and if you did not feel well taken care of. Please let us assure you that this was surely not the intention of our staff but we hope for your understanding that, as you were informed upon arrival, our guests are responsible for any damage caused to furniture, decoration and other facilities. We will share your feedback with the relevant department and we kindly ask you to keep in contact with our After Travel Customer Care for an adequate follow-up. It is our sincerest hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide you with a better experience. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Baja California Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aisforastrid wrote a review Nov 2020
San Francisco, California39 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Riu Palace Baja California-Adults Only is located in a great area. It's not too far from Cabo San Lucas' Marina, the downtown area, and San Jose del Cabo. However, you'll need to arrange transportation in order to leave the resort since the general area isn't walkable. I had an ocean view room and the view was spectacular! The resort faces the Sea of Cortez and I could see the famous Cabo San Lucas Arch from my room and throughout the resort. There were still multiple outdoor events and shows during the week that I was there and all of the great DJs made spending time at the pool even better. There are multiple restaurants on the property, including an outdoor cafe and grill. In order to enter the buffet and restaurants, diners must wear masks and have their temperatures checked. All utensils are wrapped in plastic when given to guests. Staff now serve guests at buffets and room service has been suspended. Whenever I would return to the resort after attending tours, I had my temperature taken. Guests have access to the water park at Riu Palace Santa Fe at no additional cost and the park is so much fun! The staff at Riu Palace Baja California were the best part of my stay. From the front desk to the restaurant staff, everyone that I encountered were so nice. All staff are required to wear masks. Young Gen-Xers to Gen-Zers will enjoy the fun atmosphere. This resort wouldn't be ideal for travelers who want a quiet and tranquil environment.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: It's worth it to book an ocean view room!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California
Responded 19 Nov 2020
Dear aisforastrid, Thank you for your five star review and for staying with us! We are very happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and you enjoyed the great service mentality of our staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Best regards, Hotel Riu Palace Baja California Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Funati wrote a review Jan 2020
Winnipeg, Canada77 contributions37 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently stayed at the Riu Baja Calafornia with my Wife and 19 year old Daughter. This is our first stay at an "adult only" resort and we had a great trip. The fact that the resort was only 12 months old was a huge positive for us and not only were the rooms very nice but there was someone constantly cleaning everywhere you looked. The service was excellent at all locations, whether it was the buffet, cappuccino bar, a la carte restaurants we were impressed. The food was more than acceptable and there were always good choices. I am not one to get too upset with all inclusive resorts and even the very finest food will still be simply ok as far as I am concerned but we were always satisfied. We did go into town one night and had an excellent meal at an Italian restaurant. The pools are simply excellent although I would recommend getting out early to reserve a chair. The beach was nice but the only drawback was the large slope down to the waters edge and you cannot bring chairs past a limited range so you cannot truly enjoy the water or waves. Beach vendors were not too aggressive and the entertainment by the pool wasn't too overwhelming so you could truly relax. We had a nice room with partial ocean view away from the other Riu Santa Fe property,as we were told this would be very quiet, and it was. In fact the property is exceptionally quiet after 10:00 pm. If you are looking for more excitement you can go next door to the Santa Fe which has a much different and younger crowd. The serving staff in the buffet was a treat every day and they go out of their way to make you feel at home. The fitness room although busy was quite adequate with an acceptable amount of equipment. This was our first trip to Cabo and we would definitely return to this property.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms opposite the Riu Santa Fe property are much quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Dear Funati, Thank you for sharing your outstanding experience with us! We are delighted to understand that you had a wonderful time during your stay at our Hotel Riu Palace Baja California! We appreciate your kind words and compliments! It was a pleasure to take great care of you! We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future! Greetings, Hotel Riu Palace Baja California Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pamela M wrote a review Feb 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is one of the best we've stayed in and we are very seasoned travelers. It was adults only which suited us very well. The staff were extremely courteous and and friendly and could not do enough for you. The five Al La Carte restaurants were exceptionally good our favourite was the steak restaurant, but they were all exceptional. The buffet restaurant was also excellent but we found we ate too much here as the choice was phenomenal. The bars were also good serving any drink you could think of. By day the beach was on hand but the sea was quite rough (the sea of Cortez meets the Pacific Ocean) so no swimming. However the pools made up for it lovely and warm and very cleaning. There were plenty of sun beds available all day. The weather was beautiful so all in all an exceptional stay. I will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. RUI hotels are generally excellent but this one surpassed our expectations. Thank you for an amazing holiday.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear Pamela, Thank you for staying in our Hotel Riu Palace Baja California, this great recommendation, and five star review. We are so glad our friendly staff help make your stay comfortable from beginning to end. Your review gives a great perspective to what makes our property very popular for visitors in the Cabo San Lucas area. It would be great to welcome you soon again! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Baja California Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kevininco wrote a review Feb 2021
Seattle, Washington131 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have the preface this that I am in the hospitality industry and have been lucky enough to travel to many fine hotels and resorts so I like to think I know what outstanding service is. The Hotel Riu Palace Baja California exceeded every single expectation we had!

Every single item that they promised was executed successfully from the hotel shuttle pickup to the room type to the COVID test. The hotel staff has gone above and beyond to know our names, likes, and wants in the short time we have been here. We have not had to ask for 1 item as they are on top of it!

Currently, the hotel can have up to 50% occupancy but are keeping to around 30%. The staff is always cleaning, all are wearing masks and all are looking out for you! The grounds are spectacular, the rooms are super clean and you can see the dedicated extra staff onsite being extra COVID safe with wiping tables and such. All the bars and restaurants at the hotel are open. We had plenty of food and drink and felt super safe. Great location, the beach is super nice, clean and soft white sand... you do have to deal with the peddlers selling but they are super nice and I would recommend the massage on the beach for $45. Make sure to ask for Hugo, at the buffet restaurant, Miguel at the pool (he read out kind the whole time) Isreal and Vega in the specialty restaurant. All rockstars! All in all a super great value and AMAZING needed vacation! Thank you Riu staff!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: 1237 was killer as had a huge patio, soaking tub, great view, and could see the shows from the room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California
Responded 12 Feb 2021
Dear kevininco, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We greatly appreciate you choosing our hotel, and we are even more pleased to learn your stay was comfortable and met your expectations. We especially appreciate you calling out Hugo, Miguel, Israel and Vega for their devotion to service; we will share your kind words and thank them personally. It is our hope to see you back again soon for your next relaxing vacation. Best regards, Hotel Riu Palace Baja California Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JohnandDene wrote a review Jan 2020
Ottawa, Canada31 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great place to be. Do not bother with the negative review reviews as I cannot see what they are thinking of. Maybe they stayed at the RIU Santa Fe and I could see that place being a problem. The food was excellent, staff were great, rooms well appointed and clean and the view was superb. We stayed over New years and the entertainment, especially the live bands, were fabulous. The only recommendation I would have is, while this was not an issue due to lots of available chairs around the pool, is they advertise that people not to reserve pool chairs but they allow it. It should be enforced. I have been at other resorts (i.e. hideaways) where they do enforce it. Some people get a little upset at first but quickly learn that get the chair when you are there. Not throw towel on a chair at 6am in the morning and then show up at 10 or 11am.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you want quiet stay on the opposite side from the Santa Fe.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear JohnandDene, We are glad you chose to stay at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California. Your positive feedback is gratefully received! It brings us great joy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you staying with us, hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Baja California Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Renee wrote a review Jan 2020
Kitchener, Canada131 contributions67 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort was modern and clean with excellent food and service.

Room
The room was tastefully decorated and clean. The layout (bath tub in middle of room, toilet in separate room, and his/hers sinks outside of shower area.

Food & Bars
The buffet was plentiful and never had line-ups, the food offerings were changed daily, but always included tacos and nachos :). Ate at the Italian, Indian, and steakhouse a la cartes, they were all decent, but the buffet was just as good. The coffee shop was amazing...like their own Starbucks, cappuccino and Baileys were a great way to start the day. The bars (especially the lobby bar) made tasty drinks and were never overly busy.

Entertainment
The pool parties at the resort next were fun, music, dancing, and tequila! It's a must see while at the resort. Attended two or three shows, which were decent and similar to what you'd find at other resorts.

Beach/pool
The pool and beach had lots of seating so reserving a spot wasn't necessary. The beach was beautiful, but you can't swim in the area. Staff serve drinks around the pool throughout the day. A taco snack station was available at the pool and was a great lunch spot.

Pros
The resort is a short bus or Uber ride into town to see the marina, check out the bars, or do some shopping.

Cons
The layout of the resort seems to make it a wind tunnel in the entertainment / parts of pool area making it chilly on a week where the temps are 26 degrees. There are people all over the beach selling mexican ware including drugs. They aren't aggressive but can be a pain.

Overall, I'd recommend this resort for a good sunshine getaway!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear 712Renee, Thank you so much for sharing your experience and for your five-star rating. Your positive feedback is gratefully received! It brings us great joy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to serve you, and we hope to have you back with us again in the future. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Baja California Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cabo San Lucas area.
PRICE RANGE
$517 - $710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoBaja CaliforniaBaja California SurLos CabosCabo San Lucas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
602
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL RIU PALACE BAJA CALIFORNIA - Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Cabo San Lucas, Mexico) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Palace Baja California
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Palace Baja California?
Nearby attractions include Cabo Party Fun (0.2 km), Medano Beach (0.3 km), and Maria Esther Ranch (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Palace Baja California?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Casona, Carbon Grill Restaurant, and Tomatillos - Farm to Table.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Baja California have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Riu Palace Baja California offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riu Palace Baja California?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Baja California offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Palace Baja California?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Church of Saint Luke (2.8 km).
All Cabo San Lucas HotelsCabo San Lucas Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cabo San LucasHotels near Hotel Riu Palace Baja California
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire