We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 9 Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500 Mexico
Hotel direct offer!Receive 500 free points
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (14038)
360
Panoramas (36)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Cancun
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#90 of 269 hotels in Cancun
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 24h All Inclusive Hotel Riu Cancun opens all year round and is located right on the beautiful beach of Cancún, in the Corazone area which is the modern hotel zone with American-style shopping center, various restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to Cancún Airport (20 km) and Cancún city (10 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 569 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa or get in shape at the fitness center. 4 outdoor pools. Day and evening entertainment, as well as our Pacha Discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer a live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Asian, Italian specialty restaurants, Steakhouse, and 5 bars.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Kids club
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points
12610Reviews1940Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6,532
  • 3,514
  • 1,310
  • 638
  • 616
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
kjt964 wrote a review 5 Jul
Las Vegas, Nevada1 contribution
We received an upgraded room upon arrival which was very nice after a long travel day. Everyone was friendly and helpful as we enjoyed our visit. Weather and beach were great. Plenty of activities scheduled each day if we choose to participate or just relax. This was our second visit to RIU Cancun and we will definitely be back again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
BetsyFB wrote a review Jun 2021
Chihuahua, Mexico11 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Great place, lot of great spots where to be: pool, beach, restaurants, bar. Clean and the beach and the sea are beautiful!! Very good place since nightlife ends early but you can get back to the hotel and enjoy the beach with friends and 24hrs drinks. Excellent place. I would only say that rooms require to be updated, look quite old and not well decorated, but the most of the time you are not in the room so nothing to be concerned of. Also few options for specialty restaurants, buffet is always there but not many options “a la carta”. Good food, great vibes. Excellent option. Super location very close to the night life in Cancun.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Cancun
Responded 17 Jun 2021
Dear Betsy, We would like to thank you very much for staying with us recently, and for taking the time to provide your review. Since we work hard daily to ensure our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay with us, we are delighted to read your positive words and that your experience was a positive one. We hope the next time you visit Mexico, you will come back to see us. Kind Regards, Hotel Riu Cancun Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Doug L wrote a review 4 Jul
2 contributions
Just finished a 2 week trip with my wife and 9 year old daughter. It is a bit on the lively side which is good. Food was reasonable always found something to eat and the steak and Italian restaurants are really good. Staff are amazing can’t fault them in anyway at all! Entertainment was good some nights not great but over all good Down sides are rooms are not 5 star more like 3 star we upgraded to a bigger room and it’s well worth it over a standard room! Pools are pretty dirty tbh 1 you can’t even see the bottom and always food drink or even sick floating it it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
nathb981 wrote a review 1 Jul
Warrington, United Kingdom1 contribution
Amazing stay. Staff were always brilliant. Beautiful hotel with lots of pools and right next to a great beach. Food was good also. Bed was also confortable with the bedroom being very good also. Would 100% recommend to other travellers!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
antoinettemt61 wrote a review 1 Jul
1 contribution
Best customer service by all employees! Treated us like royalty. Shout out to towel service guy, all the poolside servers, especially, Jose, Alejandra and Roberto. And all the entertainment staff who entertained us night and day, especially Luis! Great shows each night with great talent by all. This is a friendly resort. Food is great at buffet. Drinks kept coming. All in all it was a great time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
peter p wrote a review Jun 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom59 contributions44 helpful votes
This hotel is a party hotel and I don’t take issue with people partying , the issue is the thin walls and adjoining doors meaning you can hear everything and on top of that every night there were large groups partying till 5am on their balconies and in their rooms which could be heard all over the hotel and is routinely ignored by the hotel who should be responsible for managing peoples late night behaviour but did nothing During our second week we developed stomach cramps and diarrhoea as did many other guests . We told our rep who clearly did nothing and when we returned home found out we had covid and these are apparently symptoms so a covid outbreak within this hotel was likely and we have also informed TUI in uk as soon as we were aware and are awaiting their investigation into this The gym has outdated equipment of which some is broken but when it’s quiet is adequate Avoid floor 13 as doesn’t have a proper balcony The shows are pretty poor compared to other hotels It’s not all bad however, the staff are first rate especially all the bar staff The rooms themselves are quite good with minibar fully stocked The beach is beautiful Location is perfect for everything on the strip Food is as expected in all incl Drinks are decent Plenty of room to sunbathe although people were up early to get a spot around the two party pools which I was a little further along and had no issues and had a great view of beach
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Cancun
Responded 3 days ago
Dear peterp50, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to give us your feedback. We always strive to provide an exceptional experience to all our guests and it is always troubling to hear that we missed the mark. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that has been caused, and how we handled this situation. We are very sorry that you had such an experience with us as this is not our standard. We only wish you would have informed us so we had been able to resolve your issues while you were still here so that you could have left with a better feeling about your stay. Our guests are our number one priority and we try our best to help as much as we can, especially in situations like this. We will be sure to work with our team to avoid inconveniences like this in the future. At the same time, we are very sorry to hear that you became sick during your holidays and truly hope that you have fully recovered in the meantime. However, it surprises us enormously that you write, because contrary to what you say, there are no other guests with the same symptoms as you experienced, nor is TUI UK currently investigating anything in this direction. It is our hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future and show you what a true RIU experience looks like. Please receive our warmest regards, Hotel Riu Cancun Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Kellie365 wrote a review Jun 2022
Borehamwood, United Kingdom1 contribution
Had an amazing holiday. The staff were very friendly & the hotel was extremely clean. The food was great. Lots of choice in the buffet which changed daily plus the 4 restaurants (steak house, Italian, Asian & Japanese) were great. It’s was my birthday whilst we were there & the staff decorated my room with birthday banners, I received a card plus cake! I would highly recommend this hotel
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Simon K wrote a review Jun 2022
Newmarket, United Kingdom74 contributions98 helpful votes
I have had to wait 3 weeks since coming home to make sure I wasn't being unfair on the Riu before writing this, but I still feel the same. Quite simply the hotel has gone down hill, and the management don't care. Its a cash cow of a hotel, and that's all that matters. This was my 5th stay at the hotel, 2013, 14, 15 and 16, and wow what a difference!! For the worse! Arriving at the hotel we waited over 20 minutes at the desk, when we were finally given a room it was room 4, not 4 and something else, just the dark and dingy rooms behind reception, and next to the Covid testing room, great! 2 weeks before I had emailed the hotel with reference number asking for a room on a higher floor. The hotel acknowledged yes, great! We were told nothing they could do though on arrival. We went for a drink and decided its not acceptable, they referred us to guest services, and by sheer luck the lady who had emailed me back, was the person serving on the desk, I presented the email and she looked embarrassed. She hadn't done her job! Our room was changed even though we were told no other rooms were available. The reception team, didn't care, weren't interested and frankly rude. That is the problem when you put children on reception. The rooms - down right shabby, marks on the walls, dirty bathroom, leaky fridge, just not well maintained. Walking down the corridors most doors were chipped and scuffed. Key Cards - we went through 40 of them, we kept them well away from our phones, and other cards, yet daily we had to go to reception and get new cards as they wouldn't work, it wasn.t just us dozens of people had to complain. Pool areas - filthy!! Previously every morning the pool guys cleaned the terraces, and sunbeds, the first week, I saw no one, the activity pool was filthy!!! Scum on the surface, rubbish in the corners, gross. Glasses - The first drink in the evening was always served in a glass, but every one after that, a plastic cup, they simply run out of glasses. Had to request an ironing board for the room - 5* really??? Food - same old, same old every night - boring Clientelle - well the hotel is full of large groups, all playing their own music, even at the quiet pool, the groups just over took everywhere. Daily guest were taken back to their rooms in the wheel chair buy the towel hut, never in my times there had I seen so many times guest being served too much drink they passed out. The toilets by the sports bar, a cruising spot in the gents, disgusting what I saw and on open display. Service - while some of the team had remembered us which was nice they were worked hard and service was slow. The positives, Joey and the entertainment team, the Beach Party and the silent disco, and the sunrise and sunsets, although the hotel cant control those, oh and the drive back to the airport. To say its gone downhill is an understatement, the hotel used to pride itself on standards, but now they show no care. The lobby has a beautiful floor that used to have 2 or 3 cleaners constantly keeping it clean, Not this time, I fear Covid has cost them there jobs with others to. The sand and filth was awful in reception. It used to feel special walking into the hotel, all that is gone. It shouldn't be rated any more than 3* Plus.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, but you wont get it
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Cancun
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Simon, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Riu Cancun. Our goal is to provide a great experience for all visitors to the hotel, so that we are certainly sorry that your 5th stay proved not to be as enjoyable as ever. Please accept our apologies. We assure you these issues are not indicative of the high standards that we strive for, and for this reason we have immediately shared your feedback with our Management Team. We do appreciate you staying with us and regret that we did not leave you with a positive impression. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards, Hotel Riu Cancun Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Robyn W wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Won’t be back at another riu hotel, let alone this one! The way we were spoke to by staff was disgusting especially the manager Luis, considering we have paid for a 5 star hotel and all inclusive you’d think the staff would speak to you with some respect. Food was terrible therefore we spent a lot of our money eating out most nights to get a decent meal. Not to mention the shop inside the hotel is overpriced. We shouldn’t have to leave the hotel and buy meals/condiments as we have already spent enough money to get here! We were also charged 400 pesos as soon as we arrived for the beaches to be cleaned which no one told us about. Room wasn’t ready when we arrived which was extremely disappointing after a long flight. Furthermore; we were not told about the hotel having free Wi-Fi so we had to buy our own for 2 days until someone at the pool told us. Your staff should have told us when we checked in to either go on the website or read the sheet of paper they gave us instead. When I explained to the manager this was a mistake and we were not told about the Wi-Fi he said if we don’t pay it he will get the police. To be threatened with the police when we are young adults on our first holiday together was a terrifying experience therefore I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone, attitude of the staff is shocking! The manager then proceeded to laugh with his colleague as we walked away. We are beyond disappointed as we had waited 2 years for this ‘dream’ holiday and unfortunately it was ruined by the competency of the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Cancun
Responded 3 days ago
Dear robynwX2700SD, Thank you for telling us about your stay at the Hotel Riu Cancun. We make every effort to exceed all of our guests’ expectations with a unique experience and ensure every detail of your stay is perfect. It is clear by your feedback that we did not fully succeed on this occasion. While oversights can occur from time to time, as Online Reputation Team of our house we assure you that the encountered issues are not the lasting impression of our standard of hospitality that our guests normally leave with. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies, and rest assured that at RIU we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations, so that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences. Again, we appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Cancun Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Brendan M wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
When we arrived at the hotel we asked for upgrade to a better room as the one we had was leaking from the toilet system and floor 2 with no view we had to pay extra 80 dollars each to find out the upgraded other people for free. Also on floor 13 there’s no view there a gap and for people who are under 6ft would struggle to have any view need a set of ladders 😂 ! The cleaning wasn’t great the balcony was never cleaned the mini bar was never filled had to keep phoning reception. The food was really nice on a Tuesday that’s the only day they do prawns not great for vegetarian options at all so repetitive and the queue to get into the restaurants was a joke then the hour wait to get a starter in the Japanese the Italian food and staff where lovely also the staff at the buffet go above and beyond for you but the reception are so rude. I don’t normally write a review but I would advise anyone not to come to this hotel my friend was sick on a sheet and they charged her 89 dollars for it at checkout would have been nice to have a little communication before this ! Definitely not 5 star 3 at a push.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Cancun
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Brendan, We appreciate you took the time to leave your impressions regarding your recent stay with us. We always thoroughly read every comment from our guests, in order to give the most accurate response. We take this task very seriously since it helps us have the feedback from our guests and we use it when applying changes to improve our services. In this case, since you do not provide your full name, it makes this task more difficult and we cannot do the proper follow up of you state. Please let us explain when a booking is made through a third party and not RIU, it is the agency with whom the guests have booked, who has charged and is in charge of the reservation, unfortunately, we cannot reply on their behalf. It is very important to us that all our guests feel welcome at our resort and treated with respect, which is what we also expect from our guests. Nonetheless, we wish to clarify that RIU Hotels & Resorts greatly cares about the wellbeing of our guests. Your feedback will be shared. Best regards, Hotel RIU Cancún Online Reputation Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$249 - US$355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu cancun hotel cancun, riu cancun mexico, rui cancun, cancun riu hotel, hotel riu cancun
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCancun
NUMBER OF ROOMS
569
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Cancun
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Cancun?
Nearby attractions include Palazzo Cancun (0.5 km), Plaza la Fiesta (0.3 km), and Playa Linda (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Cancun?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Cancun?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Cancun?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Cancun?
Conveniently located restaurants include Marinero's, Mextreme, and El Timón de Cancún ZH.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Cancun?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riu Cancun?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Riu Cancun offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Cancun?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueologica El Rey (7.7 km) and Scorpion’s Temple (3.3 km).
Does Hotel Riu Cancun have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Hotel Riu Cancun accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.