Iberostar Selection Cancun
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Iberostar Selection Cancun

Traveller (9827)
Zona de playa, Star Prestige Iberostar Selection Cancún- Cancún, Quintana Roo
Pool & Beach (1930)
Iberostar Selection Cancún
Videos (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#24 of 44 all-inclusives in Cancun
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
No description for the hotel available
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Tennis court offsite
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Redeem Reward Nights at All-Inclusive Resorts with IHG One Rewards

Location

Boulevard Kukulcan Km. 17, Cancun 77500 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 75 out of 100
75
Cancun Airport
12.9 km
See all flights
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen
62.5 km
See all flights
9,099Reviews1,445Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 5,990
  • 1,777
  • 723
  • 277
  • 331
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Conor wrote a review Jan 2024
Rainhill, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went for 10 days from 27th December and honestly the restaurant and entertainment staff provided some of the best customer service we’ve ever received. We travelled as a group of 21 celebrating my brother in laws 18th and we had taken our 10 month old with us.

Every morning at breakfast Katia on the buffet restaurant door would find a table for us and make a fuss of the baby. We sat in Edgar’s sections most mornings for breakfast and honestly he couldn’t do enough for us and was so friendly. We got a picture with him on leaving he’d made that much of an impression on us. I also want to give Alejandro a shout out too he was working in the steak restaurant on 29th December I think it was and provided exceptional service to my wife and me. Every time after that evening he seen us he remembered my name and that we were from Liverpool too. For the amount of people he serves daily this was made our experience so personable and again he couldn’t do enough for us every time we interacted.

I have already done a detailed google review for the entertainment team but another shout for them. They worked their socks off at the pool all day then had a couple of hours off before hosting the evening entertainment.

My one criticism to help improve things is the restaurant booking system for those outside the buffet. It was time consuming queuing up from 5:30pm and we asked for help one evening to try and accommodate 21 of us for my brother in laws 18th for a special meal but no one seemed interested. Thankfully we managed to book the Japanese restaurant 5 days in advance but 6 of our party arrived 3 days after us. We were told as they didn’t have a room number they we couldn’t add them to the booking. This seemed a bit silly as surely in the system they could see they were due to arrive. This meant when they arrived there was no space left to add them so some of the family missed out. If this could be improved for situations like this it would make a massive difference.

However, all round amazing hotel with staff who go the extra mile!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Take dollars for tips the staff work their socks off and deserve it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Marketing at Iberostar Selection Cancun
Responded 17 Jan 2024
Dear guest, We thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful impression of your stay with us. It is of major importance to us that our guests appreciate our well-thought-out holiday concept. Our day to day efforts are to guarantee our guests can experience the highest levels of comfort in a really pleasant atmosphere. Likewise, we thank you for sharing your observations and we hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Cancun
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A.Sanders wrote a review Dec 2020
Columbia, South Carolina1 contribution4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I made a last minute booking to the Iberostar Selection Cancun location for our first visit to Cancun. We normally cruise; however, our cruise had been cancelled for the second time this year and so we decided to try an all-inclusive resort instead. I was not sure what to expect; however, we were extremely pleased with the Iberostar Selection, Cancun. The property is quite lovely, and the location next to the beach was perfect. It was immaculately kept, and each day we observed the staff working hard to clean and perform maintenance tasks on the property. The staff was very friendly, attentive and responsive to any requests that we made. Additionally, we observed them implementing very stringent protocols with regard to Covid. In fact, this went beyond what we were actually expecting.

Our room was clean and well maintained overall. We did experience a problem with the room being a little warm in the beginning; however, our concerns regarding this was addressed promptly. We had an ocean view room with a balcony. The view was awesome! The housekeeping staff did a fabulous job each time they serviced our room.

The food was very good also. There was a variety of foods to choose from at the buffet, and we also ate at a couple of the specialty restaurants, both of which we enjoyed.

The facilities at the property are awesome! We really liked the pool, which is huge! The pictures don't do it justice. It was perfect, and overlooks the beach. I was quite impressed! I was even able to swim laps in the pool without colliding with other users. We used the services at the spa several times. We were extremely pleased with the services and amenities at the spa.

I really enjoyed the entertainment. There was a variety of different types of entertainment, and I enjoyed the traditional Latin music, singers and dancing. There was also a Broadway themed show, which was great. The singers and dancers also made the customers feel so welcome by joining us on the dance floor after the shows. They were all so nice and friendly, and made the customers feel quite comfortable in getting out on the dance floor! One of the dancers in particular Beto Calderon, who is a fabulous dancer, taught me some Latin dance moves that I did not know I had in me! He was awesome, and I had such a fun time! I feel that I want to sign up for Latin dance classes now that I am back in the United States!

In conclusion, I would say that this was a really great visit, and we definitely would come back to this location in the future if we decide to return to Cancun.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Owner at Iberostar Selection Cancun
Responded 22 Dec 2020
Dear guest, First and foremost, thank you for choosing Iberostar Selection Cancun on your most recent vacation, and for sharing your kind comments with us. We are honored to know that you have enjoyed of an excellent holiday and have left with wonderful memories of your vacation. Our combination of both a friendly and competent service is one of our highest priorities and we are constantly working to provide our guests with an excellent experience. Thank you once again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Until then, we wish you all the best. Kind regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Cancun
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jorge A Cruz wrote a review Feb 2021
Miami, Florida15 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I want to start by saying THANK YOU to all the hard working staff of Iberostar, I want to give a special thanks to Santiago(entretainment), Gisel (mesera de la.piscina), Sergio(mesero del desayuno) and also our housekeeper which made sure our room was always spotless. They all worked together to make sure our stay was very enjoyable, fun and relaxing they went above and beyond to make sure all the guest were taken care off.
Breakfast was good overall with plenty of different selections from pancakes, eggs fresh fruit cheese, natural juices etc etc.
During the day they normally had some sort of lunch special "event" from tacos, pichaña, fresh fruit, cocinas etc. Make sure to stop eating about a week before coming to Iberostar😋. Plenty of activities for all ages. I enjoyed the pool.volleyball the most. Room and towels were always clean. We had a small balcony with Oceanview it was very relaxing to sleep the the balcony door open and listen to the sea. They had very good covid protocols in place, temperature checks, sanitizing stations all over. Also they have a covid rapid test in place at the hotel all you have to do is make a reservation when you arrive and its painless, the whole process takes about 20 minutes and you can expect the results the following day, the rapid test is free but the PCR I believe you have to pay for it.
Evening shows were amazing the one I enjoyed the most was Noche Mexicana with tons of authentic mexican food and also professional dancers demonstrating some of the traditional Mexican ballet folklorico.
Staff was super friendly I will definately return to this hotel the next time I come to cancun.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Propietario at Iberostar Selection Cancun
Responded 1 Mar 2021
Dear guest, Your review of Iberostar Selection Cancun is very much appreciated. We are always very happy to receive confirmation that our guests have enjoyed a wonderful holiday and have left with happy memories. Our combination of both competent and friendly service is one of our main priorities and we are constantly working to provide our guests with a genuine experience. Again, we thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Cancun
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam P. wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If i could rate this hotel a negative star, I would. Lets begin with the food. Same food everyday and the fancy restaurants you have to book to get into have the exact same food. Its almost like a bad joke. I honestly thought they went to the buffet and brought food into the other location they call “fancy”. I get covid and all that but this feels as if management cut costs to a bare minimum to receive their year end bonus.
Now lets talk drinks. If you enjoy watered down, warm alcohol then this is your place. The swim up bar was closed due to covid but the bar couple feet from the pool was open because that made sense somehow. Honestly there is nothing good to say about this place because it really feels as if its on its last leg. Aside from saving on food and beverages, they’re doing a great job of keeping the pools clean by keeping them at freezing temperatures so that no one can swim more than 5 minutes. This pool could cure anyone of covid because no germ could survive that temperature. Now you’re thinking, surely the jacuzzi is hot and clean, and you would be wrong. It was a lukewarm pool of leaves and sand.

I blame the management because this level of incompetence starts from the top. Untrained staff (Jamie is the only bartender who knows how to mix a drink), lack of choices, lack of entertainment and constant issues with rooms (keys stop working constantly) make me never want to visit this resort again. I honestly asked my wife if Iberostar was Spanish for one star. That is what this deserves and its clear the reviews have been bought.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Propietario at Iberostar Selection Cancun
Responded 1 Dec 2020
Dear guest, We would like to express our appreciation for the time that you have taken to send us your review. Allow us to mention that at Iberostar Selection Cancun, we are on a daily quest for culinary perfection. Our team of hand-picked professional chefs, using only the highest quality ingredients aim to please our valued guests three times a day without exception. It is disappointing to read your observations, however, we will take note and use the improvement opportunity that this gives us. It is important to add that the safety of our guests is our number one priority and due to the new normality, we have implemented new protocols and measures to keep our guests safe. Following these protocols and procedures, some services and amenities are now different, limited or temporarily closed. We have available those facilities where the protocols, required by our Medical Advisory Council and the relevant authorities, can be guaranteed. We truly regret this have meant an inconvenience for you during your stay. We certainly believe that our positive reviews are a confirmation of the efforts of our staff, to offer the best experiences. Allow us to inform you that a very substantial portion of our business is repeat business. We believe that the level of repeat business that we have experienced over the years is the very best testimony to the manner in which we have cared for our guests, to their sense of comfort and safety and to their very high level of satisfaction. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Cancun
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valerie Raul O wrote a review Jun 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were expecting great things based on majority of reviews posted and were instantly disappointed.

The good: the pool and beach access were nice. Lots of pool space available to social distance. The buffet was fresh and they had no meal options at every meal.

The bad: Check in was a mess with long lines and slow progress. The room needed major updates and was filthy at check in. It had just rained and there was water all over the room floor that came in through the sliding balcony doors. The toilet wobbled. The sink was clean, but crusty from wear and tear. There was standing water in the shower since it wouldn’t drain properly. The in-room safe wasn’t even mounted to the shelving. The wall behind the towel rack was beyond disgusting. At the buffet, hand sanitizer is only offered while initially stepping into the restaurant but not before every trip to the buffet (imagine people licking their fingers then grabbing shared serving utensils).

I would not recommend this facility.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Owner at Iberostar Selection Cancun
Responded 30 Jun 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments regarding our hotel Iberostar. We regret that you did not completely enjoy your stay. It is important to mention that through our How we Care philosophy we comply with the highest standards put in place in our rooms for the cleanliness of linens, furniture, service protocols, as well as caring for the environment. However, we thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us, we truly appreciate as it will help us to detect the areas where we have room for improvement. Also, allow us to mention that at the buffet entrance we do have hand sanitizer dispensers for all our guests to use before entering the buffet. For future occasions, we kindly ask you to contact our Public Relations staff for any inquire or request you may have in order to make your stay much more comfortable. We hope that you will grant us another opportunity and that we will see you at one of our hotels in the future. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Cancun
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert P wrote a review Feb 2020
Frederick, Maryland8 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the second time we have visited this resort. The first time was 3 years ago and we decided to go back this year with friends. For the most part we were very happy with our stay. I will comment on a couple of issues that need to be addressed by the hotel, 1) the elevators; they are only 3 in the main building, but only 2 worked for the time we were there, and they were very slow and one day, 1 of those broke down. 2) the TV's, there were only 3 English TV channels so plan accordingly. 3)the beds and pillow, there were in need of new ones and finally number 4) the age, the building is starting to show it's age. I am told the building is over 25 years old. I'm not sure when the last update, but I notices where tiles were fixed that should have been replaced, but it is still very clean. I feel the best part of this hotel is the staff, everyone from the house keeper to the wait staff are very helpful and willing to go above and beyond. Also, you don't have to worry about the water here it is filtered and there is a ice/water dispenser on every floor. The food in the buffet is good, but it does get old after 3 or 4 days. The specialty restaurants are all very good, remember to make a reservations. The nightly shows are done well and worth going to. If you are adventurous, you can grab the bus out front and head into town, about a 7 minute bus ride. Like in any resort you have the option of taking any number of excursions or day trips. In closing I find this resort to be a good value and worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are closer to the restaurants
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Selection Cancun
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear guest,  Thank you so much not only for choosing Iberostar Selection Cancun but also for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdviso community.  We are happy to hear that you had a great time at our resort and that our nightly shows  were of your liking. Likewise, we thank you for voicing out your concerns with us as your comments allow us to identify the areas where we need to improve our service; thusly, your observations will be forwarded to the corresponding departments for a proper follow-up.  It will be an honor to receive you once again in the near future!  Friendly regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Cancun
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tvdang wrote a review Jan 2020
Spring, Texas8 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently had a wedding here with 90 guests. The resort itself is great for adults and children. Sports bar to hang out , cigar shop with hookah 24/7 coffee and snack bar. There is even a basketball goal on the tennis court that is not mentioned anywhere in anyone's review nor the website.The wedding coordinator Janet did an amazing job with my wedding. Food was about average to above average but I am not complaining too much on that.

My first problem is that the rooms are outdated and the shower/toilet area is about 50 sqft. For the bride and groom we were given a corner superior suite with a massive balcony on the first floor which we could not really see any water. There is no shower curtain so when you shower you splash everywhere if you are not careful. I believe this is a way to force you to upgrade to a nicer room which there is not too many choices. I was able to upgrade to a new category which is not released to the public yet for a small $95/night which gave me a living room and a much more modern almost coral level like room. I am sure in the future ,this room will cost much more as the other rooms we toured looked the same as my normal room but were $250,$350,$450 more per NIGHT! Also if you do not have kids you can go to the adults only coral level for $120 more per night.

Last but not least is the food restaurants reservations, for a group of 90 people you would think they can accommodate some small groups of mine to certain places . However I came in on a Tuesday and most of my guests came on Wednesday/Thursday , before half of my guests even came they had 0 reservations available at all of their restaurants until Saturday the day after my wedding. I was able to finally get a standby reservation and come to my surprise you see MANY open tables throughout the night which leads me to believe either they do not have the wait staff to assist everyone or those tables are reserved for the "start prestige" club members that you have to pay to be apart of. So in summary My big group was basically eating the buffet until Saturday where I would say half of my wedding party was able to make any kind of reservation. This is infuriating to give the hotel so much business and they give you only 1 day (everyone's last night) to enjoy the food.

I do hope they refresh the rooms with more modern rooms and improve food accommodations. The rest of the resort ,beach,activities , were top notch. Everyone was friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: if you can splurge get the newer modern room with a living room or move to the coral level
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Selection Cancun
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear guest, First and foremost, we extend you our gratitude for choosing our Resort to celebrate such a special occasion as your Wedding. We thank you for bringing to our attention your valuable observations, we assure you that we will pass on your comments to the proper departments for their review in order to enhance our service. Thank you once again for trusting in our Resort and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you once again. Sincerely, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Cancun
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margarita S wrote a review Sept 2021
Calgary, Canada248 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This Iberostar was wonderful, lots of pros, the beach is beautiful there was some seaweed but not much. All rooms are ocean view and we loved having the view of the pool and ocean. The rooms are clean although when we arrived the floor in our room was dirty and we had no towel to put on the floor in the bathroom which became a puddle every time after a shower, the sink faucets were also leaking water all over, these are the only complaints I have, the bathrooms could use a much needed update. AC worked well and the glass bottles to fill with water are awesome to avoid plastic. The staff were amazing, this is why I keep returning to Mexico. The housekeepers did amazing cleaning our room everyday, concierge were great, entertainment staff (Hector and Franco were always making sure guests were informed on activities and inviting everyone to participate), restaurant staff, everyone provided a 5 star customer service. The buffet was delicious, I could eat the fresh guac all day everyday. We went to 3 of the a la carte restaurants and they were all good, loved the Mexican restaurant right by the beach. The star cafe is awesome for lattes and cappuccinos and it's opened 24/7. Right now because of Covid their sports bar is closed and they stop serving alcohol by 11 pm which is a Cancun rule for all resorts. For anybody who needs a Covid test before going back home you can arrange that right at the hotel, I booked our PCR tests the next day we arrived and it took me 10 mins, we got our PCR tests done on the Thursday, had results by Friday morning and flew on Saturday without issue, you can ask the concierge to print the results for you as well. If you have to get a PCR test the person goes right to your room which is so convenient since we didn't want to disrupt our holiday, we did pay 135 USD each but it was worth it. I highly recommend this Iberostar, you cannot go wrong! I also liked that it's only 20 mins from the airport. For anyone worried about COVID measures they're really good about it, all their staff wear masks and they can provide a mask for you if you forget it, guests wore masks all around the resort indoor areas and when you entered the buffet they give you hand sanitizer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Owner at Iberostar Selection Cancun
Responded 15 Sept 2021
Dear guest, It has been a real pleasure to read this excellent review of your recent holiday with us at Iberostar Selection Cancun and we really appreciate that you took the time to write and share it with us and other travelers. The fact that we were able to exceed your expectations with our excellent standards in every area that characterize our company is of great importance to us. Also, we are delighted to know that the initiatives we have in place to protect our ecosystem have been to your liking. Let us mention that with our Wave of Change movement, we have removed unnecessary items from our journey to eliminate the use of single-use plastics from all of our operations, thus contributing to the care of the environment and the oceans. It is therefore very satisfying for us that you have kept us in your fondest memories and it would be wonderful to welcome you back again. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Cancun
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DiChoiMe wrote a review Nov 2020
5 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our 3rd time staying at Iberostar but was greatly DISAPPOINTED! Will go back to Riu the next time we are in Cancun.
The buffet had same things for breakfast, lunch and dinner! No variety like before. We know it is during Covid time but really? All you changed is tuna instead or salmon or a different kind of fish.
In the room there is no liquor and you HAD TO ASK for soft drink or beer, there is no automatically refurnishing what we drank previous day/night! No bottle water, we have to go get our water at the fountain. Rooms had different problems too, mini bar not working - had to be replaced. Toilet flush not working had to be fixed. Remote control of TV low on battery! At least thanks to Blanca, she got everything fixed pretty fast. you need to give her a bonus. Jorge at the concierge after he could not get us to sign up for presentation, he was BARELY POLITE to us and don't even answer our question, just pointed us to ask another person!! You need to have a talk to him to be more courteous even we are not interested in his presentation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Date of stay: November 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Owner at Iberostar Selection Cancun
Responded 16 Nov 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you on your recent vacations at the beautiful Mexican Caribbean. It is important to mention that at our establishment our entire team of staff are characterized by their kind, friendly and helpful manner, and our reviews support this fact, therefore, we are truly surprised to read your personal observation, however, we have passed it on to the correct department for their consideration and we apologize for the inconvenience caused. On the other hand, we regret to read that our gastronomic offer did not meet your expectations; nevertheless, we thank you for sharing your feedback with us, as being our gastronomy one of our most important pillars, we are sure that your comments will be of great help for us to enhance our service. It is in our hope that you can grant us the opportunity to host you again and change your perspective of our Resort. Attentively, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Cancun
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tammy L wrote a review Feb 2021
Knoxville, Tennessee63 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First I want to ensure you I am a recent guest from the last week of January 2021 and not paid to do this review as some have stated they thought was happening. I want to immediately address any COVID related concerns as to me they were non-existent at Iberostar Selection. The hotel was spotless, and I felt sanitized at every spot. The staff was continuously cleaning, and I did not see one person without a mask. Every member of the team from front desk, to servers, to pool towels, to bartenders, and housekeeping went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and memorable. We did have an ocean front villa which was spectacular! I do want to point out that the room was dated, but very clean. They definitely need to refresh the rooms. Overall, the food was "okay" for an all inclusive. This was not the first time for us so we didn't expect 5 star restaurants. The steak house was our favorite followed by the Italian, Japanese, American Bistro, then the Mexican. The Mexican restaurant was the worst and needs some revamping of the menu and quality of food. The breakfast buffet was superb and there was nothing that you couldn't get. The bartenders and wait staff made sure we always had whatever we wanted to drink and the drinks were well done. We did not do any upgrades for wine, but was happy with what was included. The spa was outstanding. We always use the spa on vacations, and this one was in the top three. It is really big area with its own pool, sauna, steam room, meditation, and treatment rooms. Again, very very clean and taken care of. We felt completely safe and cared for down to the included COVID testing required to return to the U.S. I do want to mention some outstanding staff even though the list would be a lot longer if I wasn't so terrible with remembering names. First of all, Irving at breakfast and lunch, Raphael at the pool, and Edwarda who was fantastic at our "special" dinner served on the beach. The only extras we paid for were the spa and the "special" dinner. Everything else was included and there was nothing more anyone could have wanted. My only advice is stay away from what they call the "concierges" These are high pressure sales people wanting you to join the "club" All you need to do is a quick Google search on these type of products to find out the "real" value. You do not need these people to book your reservations at the restaurants. We will most likely be returning to this location in Cancun very soon!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Owner at Iberostar Selection Cancun
Responded 8 Feb 2021
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your kind review of your recent holiday with us at Iberostar Selection Cancun. Such a friendly review of our hotel is, of course, a great pleasure to read and confirms for us that our daily actions are worthwhile and that we are on the right path with our numerous efforts. Again, we thank you for your pleasant review of our hotel and hope that Iberostar will continue to provide you with excellent holiday experiences in the future. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Cancun
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
D R wrote a tip 12 May
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring a water bottle with filter in it. Do not drink the water provided. "
Read full review
Ben B wrote a tip 12 May
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The general workers are nice but manageme unt isnhelpful and disrespectful."
Read full review
Expedition635661 wrote a tip 9 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't get burned at the beginning of your trip :)"
Read full review
Travis Z wrote a tip 8 May
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cheeseburger at the Mexican restaurant for lunch. Pool chairs were accessible but would get there by 10am for a guaranteed chair"
Read full review
Joseph C wrote a tip 5 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay at the coral level and play golf "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cancun area.
PRICE RANGE
$559 - $931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
iberostar cancun hotel cancun, hilton cancun hotel, hilton golf spa resort cancun, hilton cancun resort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Iberostar Cancun
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCancun
NUMBER OF ROOMS
426
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IBEROSTAR SELECTION CANCUN - All-inclusive Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Mexico) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Iberostar Selection Cancun
Which popular attractions are close to Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Nearby attractions include Playa Marlín (0.4 km), Avenida Kukulkan (0.1 km), and La Casa del Habano (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nicoletta | Modern Italian Kitchen Cancún, La Buena Barra Mexican Steakhouse, and Ilios Greek Estiatorio Cancun.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Iberostar Selection Cancun have airport transportation?
Yes, Iberostar Selection Cancun offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Iberostar Selection Cancun offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Iberostar Selection Cancun?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueologica El Rey (3.3 km) and Scorpion’s Temple (1.1 km).
All Cancun HotelsCancun Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CancunHotels near Iberostar Selection Cancun
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire