We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Relais San Maurizio

Traveller (646)
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (181)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
Relais San Maurizio is a unique, unforgettable place. Refined and romantic, it is the ideal place for a true time of wellness, relaxation, soothing the senses and the spirit. An unexpected, happy discovery. The frescoed halls, the 31 rooms with unique decorations, the gardens and the park with centuries-old trees are all truly enchanting. The large outdoor swimming pool at the top of the hill provides a 360° view of the surrounding landscape. The hotel is also home to the Michelin starred 'di Guido da Costigliole' restaurant and the exclusive 'La Via del Sale' Medical & Beauty SPA. It is a partner of the Relais & Chateaux chain.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room service
Airport transportation
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
38Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 405
  • 125
  • 39
  • 15
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed there in October 2018 - as part of a trip to celebrate a wedding anniversary. The hotel and staff were excellent. Picturesque location on top of a hill surrounded by wine vineyards. The setting provides the opportunity to take walks on the property or visit the Spa.
Read more
the relais san maurizio is a very charming place, we went in the peak season (white truffle time) and unfortunatly they had only one room available which was in the dependance outside the main building. due to cold weather the experience was not one of the best ever due to i)
Read more
Response from SanMaurizio1619, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais San Maurizio
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion with the Tripadvisor community. We are pleased to discover that you enjoyed the coziness and style our former Monastery and had a good time during our Truffle Season. We did several interventions against bugs but we prefer to not use aggressive pesticides to preserve the environment, we kindly ask you to understand that being in the countryside might cause, sometimes, for some insects to get into the room when windows are open. We apologize for the inconvenience. We are very happy to read your enthusiastic review of our Michelin-starred restaurant, many thanks for your kind words. We apologize if the room’s access through the park was a bit inconvenient for you, we understand the cold weather can be quite annoying in November. We would be more than happy to allocate you with a cozy room within the main building next time. We kindly ask you to inform us about your preferences at time of booking next time and we’ll certainly allocate you to the room that suits you best. Guido and Relais San Maurizio are waiting for you! Warm wishes from Langhe, Chiara Pavese
Read more
Our expectations were high, I have to admit this. We had heard of San Maurizio from so many people and had been wanting to stay there for a long time. But in the most objective way, this has been a very disappointing experience. The location in Langhe is beautiful and the
Read more
Response from SanMaurizio1619, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais San Maurizio
Responded 12 Dec 2018
Dear PiaLindt1976, We are very glad you enjoyed our location and the magical history behind our walls. We are happy to hear you previously received good feedback about our House, however we are also sorry if you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. The attentive restoration of our common areas has been undertaken in respect of the heritage of the past. The owners of our property tried to maintain the charm and spirit of the monastery, preserving some of the former floors and walls, the ancient chapel and the frescoes. We believe the most fascinating places are those which resist the passage of time and that are reinvented whilst remaining faithful to their origins. We are sorry if you did not entirely appreciate our style and philosophy. If you prefer a more modern design and contemporary furniture, we invite you to specify your preferences at time of booking next time and we will be happy to accommodate you in our more modern rooms in San Luigi villa. As we are applying important changes to our Breakfast and Bistrot service, we will be extremely glad if you could provide us with more details as to where you did not find your food experience particularly pleasing. Regarding the feeling you had about our Staff we would like to better understand what went wrong. We believe that our guests’ comments are the best way, for us, to improve the quality of the service we offer. Our Front-Desk team and, more generally, our Staff, is always at your disposal to discuss and analyze any issues our guests may have, and we are sorry we didn’t receive any report during the period of your stay. We will be glad to further analyze your experience and we would be happy to receive more specific feedback if you would like to share it. Sincerely, Chiara Pavese Guest Relations c.pavese@relaissanmaurizio.it
Read more
We enjoyed a 3 night break in this 5 * hotel recently which is steeped in history, our expectations were high. We stayed in a spacious Luigi Suite in the new building adjacent to the main hotel, bedroom, 2 bathrooms, sitting room, two terraces, one with a jacuzzi. Very modern,
Read more
Response from SanMaurizio1619, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais San Maurizio
Responded 27 Nov 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we greatly value our guests’ feedback as we constantly strive to improve ourselves and our service. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed our San Luigi suite, it is always a pleasure when our guests are satisfied by the combination between our historical patrimony and the comfort of our technology. The attentive restoration of our suites has been undertaken in respect of the heritage of the past, trying to put together original details and refined technology and the philosophy of good living. We also very pleased to read you had an enjoyable experience at our award-winning spa, as well as in our Michelin starred restaurant. We are surprised nobody asked to you about the impression about your stay, we have carefully analyzed your comment. Regarding the choice of cocktails, we passed the comment on to our Bartender and there must have been a linguistic misunderstanding. Our cocktail menu has indeed various San Maurizio creations and our Bartender asked to provide a name of an international cocktail simply in order to better understand your preferences and prepare the right cocktail. Our bar crew is always happy to come up with new customized creations according to our guests’ taste. We are quite concerned about your report on the Truffle Bistrot, for this reason we will discuss the issue with our passionate Chef and our direction, furthermore we are applying some important changes in the breakfast service. We apologize if the Bistrot did not meet up to your expectations, we will do our best to improve the dining experience. If you have any other suggestion to improve our service, feel free to write me and I will be happy to further discuss it with you. Warm regards, Chiara Pavese Guest Relations Manager c.pavese@relaissanmaurizio.it
Read more
We stayed in one of the larger rooms with our two kids 4.5 and 1.5. Our daughter slept in the second bedroom and our younger son was able to sleep in the second bathroom with the door open for ventilation. It was more than enough room and very comfortable. The back patio was
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRelais San Maurizio
The Monastery's Junior Suite of the Abbot at the Relais San Maurizio
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRelais San Maurizio
The Monastery's Suite of the Compass Card at the Relais San Maurizio
Photo provided by managementRelais San Maurizio
Guest room
vue 2
Yes I would like to know how long your indoor pool is in either meters or feet
Dear Al, In order to provide the best information level about our special treatments, I suggest to write an email to the spa. Unfortunately I can't write here the email address but you can easily find it on our website. Our therapists will be available to explain every detail and give you any further information you required. Looking forward to welcoming you as our guest, we wish you a fine evening. Federico - Communication Relais San Maurizio
0 votes
Show all answers
Dear Steve, Our fitness center is Technogym equipped as below: - Two tapis roulant - An elliptical - An exercise bike - Weight bench Our fitness area is about 40 square meters and is lighted by windows overlooking the sky. Please, contact us if you need more infos. Thank you so much for the question! Relais San Maurizio
0 votes
Show all answers
prenotando una camera su booking l'accesso alla spa e gratuito o prevede un costo aggiuntivo? grazie.
E' gratuito all'infuori della grotta del sale
1 vote
Show all answers
"The Luigi Suites are the most spacious in the hotel"
"luxury suites are worth it!"
"See my comments"
"We were in the old monastery building...just loved that. Beautiful sitting rooms...one after the other."
"One grade UP from a normal double ensures you have great views."
US$223 - US$548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
relais san maurizio hotel santo stefano belbo
ItalyPiedmontProvince of CuneoSanto Stefano Belbo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing