We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretera Las Americas, Km. 3, Varadero 42200 Cuba
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (9113)
Pool & Beach (2077)
Room & Suite (1850)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Barcelo Solymar
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#40 of 96 hotels in Varadero
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The hotel Barceló Solymar stands right on the sea front of the top spot of Varadero beach, Cuba’s best-known tourist destination. With a privileged setting, it’s the perfect place to combine rest and relaxation with a wide array of exciting activities. At a short distance from downtown Varadero.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
French, Spanish
8403Reviews770Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,939
  • 2,751
  • 1,603
  • 1,054
  • 1,056
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
master506 wrote a review 12 Aug
West Palm Beach, Florida29 contributions3 helpful votes
This was the best vacation we had this summer. Everything was excellent, Food and service was great, Kids loved the soup and grilled chicken in lunch . Receptionist Gisela was great and helpful. House keeping also very clean. I will like to thank Natacha again. At evening entertainment was great we all have so much fun, thanks to Alejandro and DJ Harold. THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH, SEE YOU NEXT YEAR!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Marqués, Director General at Barcelo Solymar
Responded 4 days ago
Dear guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Barceló Solymar. It's a pleasure to read that you spent a nice holidays with us. We ensure you we will let to the staff know your impressions. Thank you once again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aylin L wrote a review 4 Aug
Miami, Florida1 contribution
Thank Miss Yeni Sanabria from the reservations department. I had the best experience in this beautiful hotel. They have the best service. We receive good attention from the workers. I really liked the food and the entertainment. Next year we will return
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Marqués, Director General at Barcelo Solymar
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Barceló Solymar. It's a pleasure to read that you spent a nice holidays. We ensure you we will let our staff know about your impressions. Thank you once again and we hope you could be back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mariana P wrote a review 2 Aug
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was in this hotel for one week, and I have to mencion the sympathy of some employees, specifically from the restaurant Solymar, they are amazing, I wanna thank you to Ariana, Birinia, Suzette and Alexander continue with the good work and generosity.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Marqués, Director General at Barcelo Solymar
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about our staff and we would also like to ensure you we will let them know about your impressions. They will be so glad for your kind words because they work so hard to provide you the service with the standard that our guests deserve. We hope you could be back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Altica B wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Very Good hotel rooms are incredilble in the Buffet lots of varias foods bit one place I recommend is restaunt criollo, also you should play bingo in the pool. Also for the athletes There is a gym, go have fun
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Marqués, Director General at Barcelo Solymar
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at our Occidental Arenas Blancas hotel on the TripAdvisor website, and for choosing our hotel to spend your vacations. It is a pleasure to read that we were able to make your stay pleasant. We hope to welcome you again very soon. Thanks again for your time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gumbo32 wrote a review Jul 2022
Toronto, Canada26 contributions16 helpful votes
This resort was well kept and is in a great location. The rooms were also kept very clean. The location on the beach i would say is one of the nicest in all of varadero. The resort is in great walking distance to the town of Varadero so you can enjoy all the events in town. The food here is like everywhere in cuba which is acceptable,I mostly ate at the buffet and i always sat in the same section because of the great hospitality of this waitress named WENDY .She always made sure the table was clear and our drinks were always full very great work ethic and always smiling.The drinks were a little strong but good(a nice tip goes a long way). Only thing that i didn't like that much was i noticed a lot of locals on the resort being rude to the staff. Would i return here? yes in a heart beat!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Marqués, Director General at Barcelo Solymar
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay at Barceló Solymar Occidental Arenas Blancas. It's a pleasure to know you had spent a nice stay. We hope you could be back soon. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Philip C wrote a review Jul 2022
Toronto, Canada11 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Where do I begin... The Solymar has never let me down. What makes my experience wonderful each time is the staff(Cuban people). They have hearts of gold! Lala and Aliochy at the pool bar who make the best Mojitos!! Lobby bar has live music and helpful bartenders like Julio and waiters like Yovanni who never leave you with an empty glass. The front desk staff like Miriella who are welcoming and very helpful. To Ana at the Las Dunes Bar making the amazing fresh juices (boy do I miss those). The service by Juan Carlos in the Spanish restaurant Don Coyote always provides exceptional service. The hotel is older than most now, but slowly they have made improvements to its outer building, to its main lobby and most rooms. The buffet was also given a facelift. WIFI is readily available and included. I had WIFI in the room, at all the bars, even pool bar and the lobby of course. Its actually really fast and reliable. I recommend the bungalow rooms as they are recently upgraded and close to the beach and pools. Most rooms have upgraded mattresses that are really comfy. You will never go hungry at the Solymar as they provide access to its sister hotel next door which gives options of many delicious a le carte restaurants like Seafood, Italian and Spanish. Not to mention the two snack bars. The buffet has variety, but you can't go wrong with freshly grilled fish or pork. Service is exceptional, Yenis and Aydil are so pleasant everyday, whether its breakfast, lunch or dinner service. The Animacion team is wonderful, and work very hard all day in the sun. Raul has put together an amazing staff like Dailiana and Alejandro. Nothing beats the Solymar's location. Just a 2 minute walk to the brand new Boulevard area. And the beach... Just WOW!! Probably the best stretch is at the Solymar. Beach and pool chairs are plenty available. The Cuban people need us the tourist now more than ever, I hope when you are shopping for your next vacation you will keep this in mind.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Bungalow Rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Marqués, Director General at Barcelo Solymar
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Dear guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay in Barceló Solymar. It's a pleasure to know that you had spent a nice stay and you had had a great experience with our professional staff. We ensure you that we will share your impressions with each one of them. Thank you once again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dana C wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The hotel was clean and rooms were ok. We had some issues but nothing major. Food was acceptable, cuban food standards, you can’t expect too much. Personnel was excellent, best part of my stay, outstanding help from the Public Relationship girl (Mabert, Meybert?). Hotel was close to amenities We had a good stay, I am sure I will return next year
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Marqués, Director General at Barcelo Solymar
Responded 12 Jul 2022
Dear guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel Barceló Solymar. It's a pleasure to know that your stay was good. We ensure you that we will let each head of department know about your impressions regarding the services you mentioned. Of course, we will share with Meybert your point of view about her job. We really hope you could be back soon, and thank you once again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dania wrote a review Jul 2022
Miami, Florida2 contributions
The only good things about this hotel are the beach, Gisela at the reception, and the staff from the Arenas Blancas gazibo restaurant by the beach. The resorts needs a complete renovation, everything looks old and the rooms are deteriorated. Me and my family had 3 bungalow suites and they had AC problems, missing sliding doors in the bathrooms, closed restrooms and lots of mosquitoes inside. Since the hotel is full of Cubans now, the service staff is not eager to work as before, when there were only tourists. And even when they when to work, they don’t have the means. The lobby bar ran frequently out of plastic cups, the buffet servers only had like 8 glass cups for 7-8 tables, they had no small spoons, no cups, nothing. The food was very poorly cooked and a very limited selection. During 6 days I only saw in the buffet chicken (sometimes raw) and tilapia fish. They never served pork, in any way, nor beef, pastas, or any other option, just chicken and tilapia fish. Breakfast was even worse. No coffee and milk to get a warm café con leche. I ordered one that they brought from a machine that makes the worst cafe con leche ever, artificial and tasted awfully. Never saw cheese for breakfast, and even when the buffet closes at 11am, I went one day at 10:45am to get an omelette and I couldn’t get one, they were cleaning and refused to do one for me. Snacks by the pool? That doesn’t exist anymore. Not a french fry, not a burger or slice of pizza, nothing. All bars only serve beer or rum, I was dying for at least a piña colada, zero! They don’t offer those drinks at all… the only two times when we ate decently was during our special restaurant reservations, and the italian restaurant brought us the pizzas almost raw… what a waste of money! Go spend yours somewhere else, because it’s not worth it. For me, I felt like they took my money, and they told me: here you are, eat and drink this crap, that’s all I’m going to give you during your stay. With all the money they charge, and least they should use some of it to invest in food, drinks and supplies for the guests… they don't seem to care. They take your money and that’s it. It’s a complete waste! What a shame, with all those beautiful beaches out there, all the potential to be the best vacation and they try to impose rationalization and shortages in the resorts as well. Unbelievable!! Go somewhere else, it’s not worth it! And, and they shut down the music at the pool at 5pm so you leave the pool by 6pm…
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Marqués, Director General at Barcelo Solymar
Responded 6 Jul 2022
Dear guest, first of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Barceló Solymar. We ensure you that your impressions about the staff you just mentioned will be shared. We also like to apologize to you on behalf of Barceló because the inconvenieces you had experienced. We also let each head of department know your comments regarding the hotel services. However, could you be so kind to contact us through comercial@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu to get more details about the date of your stay and to find your inconveniences report at the guest services desk. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chiara C wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
i went to barcelo solymar in mid june. i thought it was a good price for an all inclusive resort but it’s not worth the money. we went to party but there was 20% of capacity and all cuban families. no party and no alcohol. on the website there is a lot of activities and restaurant but there is only 3 restaurants; 1 buffet, 1 sea food restaurant and 1 italian restaurant à la carte that is a snack bar from 11:30 pm to 6 am. my two friends (M) and i (F) were told we can’t enter the buffet in tank tops even tho it’s +30° and it’s right beside the pool but the cubans could enter the buffet in bathing suits and weren’t being called out. we couldn’t serve ourselves in the buffet for sanitary reasons but it created long ass lines because they weren’t enough servers. the food was 2/10. the staff don’t seem to like their job they were rude. the only amusement there was in the resort was bingo in the pool during the day and a dance show from 9:30 pm to 10:30 pm. the pools were clean that’s 1 good thing. we paid for a room in the hotel we got “upgraded” in a bungalow that was nasty. there was mold in the bathroom and the ac leaked form the roof. shoutout to luis from the buffet he’s the only good servers. wounds rather pay more for a good time
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Marqués, Ventas at Barcelo Solymar
Responded 25 Jun 2022
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Barceló Solymar. We would like to apologize to you for the inconvenieces during your holidays. We would also like to explain to you that the 20% capacity in the party hall is due to Covid19 protocols, as well as non self-service in restaurants. However, since June 6, all of these protocols were cancelled. We remind to our guests that this resort offer double service, then we also have another open party area at Arenas Blancas resort to be enjoyed for all our guests even if you have booked through Occidental Arenas Blancas or Barceló Solymar. We have at the resort 3 buffets, 1 Italian, 1 Creole and 1 Seafood restaurants which were opened the whole June. We also have dress protocols at the entrance of the restaurants that it's applied to each one of our guests. Would you be so kind to contact us at comercial@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu for more details please? We ensure you that we will let Luis know about your opinion on his job. Each one of your comments will be shared with every head of department. Thank you again for letting us know your impressions.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RegYarrow1961 wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Me and my husband, we spent an unforgettable time at this resorts. We've got an standard room, however we could watch the ocean. Housekeeping lady used to come to make our room each morning. We enjoyed Seafood and Creole restaurant. We had lunch in downtown two times to avoid the Solymar buffet, later, we realised we could enjoy also, Arenas Blancas Resort and I would like to share that the Ranchon at the beach is amazing because it seems you can eat on the nature and beach. Staff is so profesional and polite. The lobby barman and waitress from Seafood are Unique!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Yeni Sanabria SANABRIA, Ventas at Barcelo Solymar
Responded 1 Jun 2022
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience at the resorts. It's a pleasure to read that your stay was great for you. We ensure you, we let our staff know your opinion about his/her service. Thank a lot and we hope you could be back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo hotel solymar, barcelo hotel varadero, barcelo solymar cuba, barcelo solymar hotel cuba, barcelo solymar beach resort, barcelo solymar varadero cuba, barcelo sol y mar
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaMatanzas ProvinceVaradero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
525
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Barcelo Solymar
Which popular attractions are close to Barcelo Solymar?
Nearby attractions include Mi Casa Beatles (0.9 km), Calle 62 (0.7 km), and Taller de Cerámica Artística (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Barcelo Solymar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Barcelo Solymar?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Barcelo Solymar?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Barcelo Solymar?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Barcelo Solymar?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Gruta El Vino, Waco's Club, and Varadero 60.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Barcelo Solymar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Barcelo Solymar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Barcelo Solymar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Barcelo Solymar?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cueva de Ambrosio (9.0 km).
Does Barcelo Solymar have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.