We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melia Peninsula Varadero

Save
Share
Parque Natural de Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200 Cuba
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (7593)
Pool & Beach (1639)
Room & Suite (1065)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 23/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Melia Península Varadero
Updated 23/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#20 of 96 hotels in Varadero
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Melia Peninsula Varadero, for fun with the family on an endless beach

Exclusive All Inclusive 5 Star hotel on Varadero beach, close to the Dolphinarium, the Shopping Centre, Plaza America Convention Centre and the Varadero Golf Club. A resort in the colonial style of Key West, with all you need for an unforgettable holiday on Cuba's most famous beach.The ideal location for a holiday with your family, partner or friends. It boasts numerous pools, large walkways with terraces and gardens, walks, pergolas, lakes, parks and spaces in which to stroll and enjoy the outdoors. It also has a Cubamigos Club, offering a daily programme for children and family packages with special amenities.Its welcoming rooms have beautiful views of the garden or the pool and some have facilities for multiple occupancy.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Kids stay free
Parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Salon
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
6812Reviews613Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,430
  • 1,996
  • 1,177
  • 698
  • 511
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Paulina G wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This is our 3rd time at this Resort and we love it! We stayed in block 25 which is the best, close to the beach!! The grounds of this place are beautiful, and kept so clean. The rooms spacious and very clean. Restaurants are good we loved the Japanese and the Cuban. Totally recommend them! The guys at the beach are so helpful, as soon as they see you they run to get you chairs and a place to spend the day. Lots of mosquitos so bring spray. We were a group of 8 and we all loved out week there. Went to Varadero in the hop on and off bus, went to la Floridita and Bodeguita del Medio for a drink, it was amazing too. The only thing I didn't like was the stuff at the main reception. I get that they are busy, but at least acknowledge your clients, say Hi, welcome to Melia Peninsula I will be with you shortly. Or whatever, don't just ignore us. They need a better process for main reception for sure. For example have an specific line for quick things like more internet access, lost key, a quick question. I had to line up for 20 mins to get my key programmed, which took 20 seconds..... Always a pleasure to visit this place, and I 100% recommend this Hotel. Thanks you for a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: block 25 close to the beach and pool
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Department Melia Peninsula Varadero, Ventas at Melia Península Varadero
Responded 1 week ago
Dear z5572LMpaulinag: Thank you so much for choosing us as your travel destination. We are more than glad to know that your experience with us was as special as planned and that you enjoyed the facilities of the resort. We will take your suggestions into account in order to improve our service. It will be a pleasure to receive you again. Best Regards
Read more
Archie wrote a review Jun 2022
Chelmsford, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
Before offering any kind of ctitique on hotel I think it important to acknowledge that the current economic circumstances in Cuba cannot posdibly fail to impact on the quality and standard of the 'all inclusive' on offer here. Having visited here as a final destination during our island visit I have observed and conversed with enoughCubans to understand that the political landscape is (in their words) "complicated". I perceive that the intermittent supply of such things as wine, cheese, milk, tomatoes etc. is not down to the exceptional efforts of hotel staff and management. The largely friendly staff are comended for trying to smile through a difficult time for the leisure industry in Cuba post covid. I also acknowledge that our visit was towards the end of the season-indeed the rainy season truly lived up to the title with intermittent thundery downpours and high humidity. I also grasped the reason for the largely personal server based Cuban delivery of 'all inclusive' in the buffet regarding cooked meats etc. This means less of the usual helping yourself, that often involves overindulgence and excessive waste when here, many things are limited in their availability and need to be consumed with a degree of discretion. We witnessed Cubans elsewhere queing for hours just to get single grocery items. Onwards with the review; this hotel is a huge modern beach side complex with adequate rooms, nice gardens, a crèche, a couple of swimming pools and bars (main and poolside incorporating a 24h snack-bar) plus a buffet restaurant and some a la carte restaurant options which we didn't try. There is daily entertainment/ activities on offer for adults and children and generally the evening live entertainment was good. There is not much to see within walking distance so budgeting for excursions/transport may be worthwhile. The place is about twenty years old and showing some signs of wear. For example our room fridge cupboard door was hanging off and the regrouting in the shower room had not had it's final clean leaving grout on the tiles.Not indicative of the 5 star rating claimed,! Our stay was overall okay but seriously marred by two things. The first being the savage and relentless onslaught of mosquitoes which might be a seasonal problem but brought genuine misery. Repellant was in very short supply and without it the beautiful beach was beyond our tolerance. Our evening drinks also required running the constant 'mozzie' gauntlet. Depite the use of a crop sprayer on the site to try to address the problem it seemed obvious to me that the stagnant, green water in the ornamental pool surrounding the bar and restaurant was very likely to be the source of mosquitoes. I would recommend it should be drained immediately. Our second issue was on site food poisoning when in the early hours of day two I had severe diarrhoea and vomiting which required nil by mouth other than water for 36 hours. My wife experienced the same 24 hrs later. This unpleasant experience left me very wary of trying any of the tempting food on offer and I chose to stick to mainly bread for most of the stay with cheese when available. Very bland and poor value when all inclusive! The D&V subsided but stomach cramps remained for our entire stay. The buffet was similar throughout the week featuring salads, fruit, juices, rice/pasta etc., freshly cooked meat (often pork) and seafood which was mainly prawns, muscles or razor clams. There was also a hot pasta bar, a selection of self serve hot vegetables / carbs and a generous choice of very sweet desserts. With a few variations of choice this remained pretty standard for the week and the similar breakfast arrangements catered for most needs fairly well. All drinks had to be ordered via table service. The coffee was to us undrinkable but thankfully we had our own tea bags.I refer to my initial comment for those that may complain certain things are lacking. The following suggestions are made in the interest of improving service: We felt there was a lack of general information available when we arrived and we were not made aware of the files on the internet app. Please instigate a tips package that can be purchased during holiday booking and distributed evenly amongst staff. It is very difficult to tip every staff member fairly when in contact with so many. I am not sure how to control the wild birds entering the restaurant but I don't want them pecking at the food on my plate or walking on the tables/ cutlery. It is neither cute or quant in my opinion. Please lay the restaurant tables with a couple of spoons. It is a waste of time expecting staff to fetch them on request. The available bread would benefit from the provision of a board, knife and clean cloth to hold loaves. Please supply kitchen staff with more than one cheese grater. The sharing of this item was ridiculous. The main bar is far too small to cope with evening demand and the extra outdoor Cuban bar should open every night purely for those just wanting beer/soft drinks. I cannot understand why pool cleaning is required late mornings when people want to use the facility. Surely cleaning at 6AM would make sense? The daily provision of water in rooms was welcome but this plus two little bottles of cola does not constitute an all inclusive mini-bar as claimed when we checked in. Overall we were personally disappointed with our stay but this hotel should I think offer good value for the average all inclusive sun/ beach lover out of mosquito season although it should be pointed out it offers very kittle flavour of everyday Cuba. With insect protection the beach and poolside bar were both enjoyable. Just remember some immodium and plenty of mossquito repellant! PS Many guests take their own large vacuum flasks/ mugs for keeping beer cool which were readily filled at the bars .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take mosquito repellant, teabags, milk, immodium and consider taking day to day medications as...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Department Melia Peninsula Varadero, Ventas at Melia Península Varadero
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Archie Gri: Thank you for choosing us as your travel destination. We are deeply sorry that some of the details of your stay were not of your total liking. Regarding what you comment us of the mosquitos, these are present in most of the tropical weather during this time of the year, so, there is no way to avoid them in the resort. We appreciate every suggestion you give us in order to improve our service and we will take every one of them as a process of feedback. Always at your disposal. Best Regards
Read more
Ryan V wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had an excellent family vacation. Beach was beautiful. Service was great. Elyanys from the lobby bar and Roberto in the buffet was by far the best employees on the resort. They were very attentive and pro active. Always took time for us. I’ll definitely be back with the service they gave us. I was surprised by the food. Not the same every single day, lots of different such as meats, seafood, fruits…it was good. Clean resort, cleaning lady was very nice also. fully recommend if your up for a relaxing vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Department Melia Peninsula Varadero, Ventas at Melia Península Varadero
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear ryanvT5039VX: Thank you so much for choosing us as your travel destination. We are more than glad to know you had such a wonderful experience in our facilities and that you received a good service. It will be a pleasure to receive you soon. Best Regards
Read more
Zlata y Lucia wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We (Lucia y Zlata) spend amazing Holiday in Varadero from 31.3.-14.4.2022. We traveled from Slovakia (central Europe) cca 24 hours. I want to thank you every person from staff of Melia. Girls and men who dancing every day on the beach and near the pool was absolutelly kindness. Yamilka, Carmen, Greta y Pochi.😊 Every day was various evening program. Dance, performance in teatro, disco on the beach. Ouu awesome memories ... The weather was very good 10 days without big wind and waves in the ocean. Next 5 day was big wind and we canot swim in the ocean 🥺 Temperature was between 26-33°C . The food was okay. They had various meat,fish,vegetables,fruit and caces with merenque... Yummy... We ate omelette from very kindness men,tomatoes,bread,joghurt,cerealies,wafles from amazing woman😊 in the morning. We went fór a lunch about 1:30 o clock. We ate meat, chicken, rise, salads,pizza and cakes, ice cream 😊 In the evening we ate fish and seafood 😍 Resort Melia Peninsula was very clean and the staff was very hard work and kindness. I felt very good , safe and we were satisfied with room,beach, resort and pool. 😊 During Holiday we were on 4 trips. Old Havana, Catamaran to Cayo Blanco, Trip to Carribean sea and farm of crocodile. IT was absolutelly wonderful,amazing briliantly and I dont know what else 😊 Amazing tíme on Cuba with my mum. ❤️ Thank you Melia Peninsula people. I love you. We will come back comming soon.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: House 26 is close to the beach but a little longer journey to the main building where IS ...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Department Melia Peninsula Varadero, Ventas at Melia Península Varadero
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear ZlataAndLucia: Thank you so much for choosing us as your travel destination. We are more than glad that we were able to provide you with a good stay and experience. We really appreciate that you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and the attention from our staff. Your opinion it´s really important to us and it helps us to provide a quality service. It will be a pleasure to receive you again. Best Regards
Read more
lociLisbon wrote a review Jun 2022
Barcelona, Spain70 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
This Christmas holidays went to this hotel, we had a cancel in previous hotel and as a last decision decided on this. The hotel is very very bad. Food was almost no available you had to queue for e30minutes every day and the quality was very poor. Breakfast was incredibly sad and items were missing, no butter no ham,etc. almost ruined our holidays. Decided to go to Habana on the last 2 days just to go away from the hotel. On the positive side the food on New Year’s Eve was good, the hotel grounds are very nice and the beach is amazing. The rest no, swimming pools dirty, chairs stained and very old, employees aggressive and rude. Such a pity but we did really hated.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Department Melia Peninsula Varadero, Ventas at Melia Península Varadero
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear lociLisbon: Thank you so much for choosing us as your travel destination. We are deeply sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay on December last year. We will analyze every aspect you are mentioning us. We can tell you for sure that our staff is trained by the chain protocols to provide the best service. We will take your comment as a process of feedback and improvement to deliver a better service and product. Always at your disposal. Best Regards
Read more
Costa P wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
great place had a great time food is good beach excellent grounds nice swimming pool great overall nice place to spend a relaxing vacation had a great time wish i could stay longer then 2 weeks next time 30 days thanks Melia
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: junior suite
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Department Melia Peninsula Varadero, Ventas at Melia Península Varadero
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear cccp1234: Thank you so much for choosing us as your travel destination. We really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your opinion it´s really important and it helps us to keep providing good service. It will be a pleasure to receive you again. Best Regards
Read more
Stan K wrote a review May 2022
Toronto, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
Overall, I've had a very good time at this resort Excellent: 1. Staff at the front desk - very nice and responsive and accomodating. 2. Entertainment was good with many activities during the day and night 3. The Beach and the Water - the best. Only comparable is Cayman Islands which is more $$$ 4. Drinks - pretty good choice of local and international drinks. Good coffee. 5. Overall the resort is good 6. My initial room was below average (seif not working, old llights). After a change, my room was excellent! Still, phone in my room did not work. 7. Internet is very good 8. Gym was okay and had necessary equipment, but no AC Needs improvements: 1. Long lines in the buffet for meat, seafood and pasta (up to 10 minutes wait). People in line are angry. Cooks are making meat in front of you, but we are on vacation and don't need to see the process. Please make the meat in the kitchen 2. Food is often cold in the trays 3. There was a basic selection of food. It was okay. Cuban pork is the best in this hotel. 4. Mini-Fridge is supposed to be restocked with water (it is very hot outside). This does not happen. Not sure where the water or drinks go? but not to my room. I had to bring water multiple times from the bar. Overall, I had a good time. But management, please pay attention.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Department Melia Peninsula Varadero, Ventas at Melia Península Varadero
Responded 24 May 2022
Dear stanthe1: Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion with other travellers. We really appreciate that you enjoyed overall your vacations and that you had a good time in the resort. We will take every suggestion you give us and use it as a process of feedback to improve our service. Your opinion is really important to us and it helps us to satisfy more clients. We will really feel honored if you visit us again. Best Regards
Read more
Salma S wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
It i could give it a zero I would. Terrible service you need to request anything between 3-5 times before it gets done it it gets done. Furniture is worn and old. Not well maintained lots of broken fixtures in the room. Food is not edible, bland and the serve fruit and vegetables and have gone bad and bread is moldy. The beach is beautiful that the 1 single thing that is nice about the hotel. The hotel is not clean, the tables in the restaurant are filthy. Definitely not a 5 star hotel not even more like a stars. Even doctors on the resorts are unprofessional and when i went with my sick baby i was told to come back after lunch. The internet disconnects once you lock your phone and everyday i had to go the reception to fix the internet I would need to attempt logging in for few times before it connects. Overall very poor vacation experience will never come back to this hotel probably will not come back to Cuba because of my experience in this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Department Melia Peninsula Varadero, Ventas at Melia Península Varadero
Responded 23 May 2022
Dear Salmasalehh: Thank you so much for choosing us as your travel destination. We are really sorry that you presented these problems you are mentioning us during your stay at the resort. We will take this comment and analyze it with all the parties involved in order to prevent them in the future. We will take every suggestion you give us and implement them. Once again thank you for your time. Always at your disposal. Best Regards
Read more
Kay J wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks end of April/ May. We have been to Cuba on several holidays and loved the country and people so much it drew us back time and time again. However we had never stayed at this hotel or region. Disappointed is not strong enough and the reasons are numerous. Firstly don’t be tempted to change your money to Cuban, the driver who took us to our room persuaded us to change some of our money to Cuban only for us to discover no one, not even the shop on site will accept it !! they want dollars euro’s or in our case sterling, but be warned they don’t give you change. Our room was large but it was very dated and not kept very clean, we had to go request toilet paper and towels on 3 occasions. There was hardly anything on offer to drink apart from Rum .. I was having to drinking gin I purchased duty free on the plane!! They ran out of mixers beer and nearly everything we asked for, and only had wine one day ! The food was also lacking you had to queue for ages, there were some Cubans staying at the resort who pushed in at the front and took all the food, they were rude and I’ve never seen such greedy people in my life. We ended up going out of the complex to local restaurants and bars to eat decent food and have a decent drink. We appreciate that Covid has taken its toll on Cuba and tourists have just started to return, but there is no excuse for the lack of manners demonstrated by a few of the serving staff in the buffet restaurant. Even the a’la cart restaurant’s were poor, we walked out of the Italian after our food was served cold twice. The Japanese was slightly better but not brilliant. We would definitely never return to this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Department Melia Peninsula Varadero, Ventas at Melia Península Varadero
Responded 23 May 2022
Dear 920kayj: Thank you so much for choosing us as your travel destination. We are deeply sorry that you had some issues during your stay. We apologize for the inconviniences and will investigate every aspect you mention us to prevent them in the future. Your opinion it´s really important and it helps us to improve our service. We will take your comment as a process of feedback. Always at your disposal. Best Regards
Read more
Marí wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
My vacation was very good at the trip península resort with the enterteiment team Carmen,Yamilka ,yilena ,Pochi We play volleybal all the time and we dance with the enterteiment boys ,was wondeful .If you want to spend a perfect vacation , go to the trip península hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Department Melia Peninsula Varadero, Ventas at Melia Península Varadero
Responded 19 May 2022
Dear adialah: Thank you so much for choosing us as your travel destination. We are more than glad to know about your experience with us.It will be a pleasure to receive you again. Best Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
tryp peninsula varadero hotel varadero, tryp peninsula cuba, peninsula varadero, tryp varadero, varadero peninsula, tryp peninsula varadero cuba, tryp peninsula hotel varadero beach, varadero beach tryp peninsula
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Tryp Peninsula Varadero
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaMatanzas ProvinceVaradero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
581
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Melia Península Varadero
Which popular attractions are close to Melia Península Varadero?
Nearby attractions include Varadero Beach (4.3 km), Cueva de Ambrosio (2.6 km), and Plaza Las Morlas (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Melia Península Varadero?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Melia Península Varadero?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Melia Península Varadero?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Melia Península Varadero?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melia Península Varadero?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Panchita, Pizza Piazza Restaurant, and Kike-Kcho.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melia Península Varadero?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Melia Península Varadero have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Melia Península Varadero offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Melia Península Varadero have airport transportation?
Yes, Melia Península Varadero offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Melia Península Varadero?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Melia Península Varadero offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.