The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments

Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (21)
children enjoying the pool
Pool & Beach (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#6 of 8 villas in Arorangi
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located on the sheltered sunset side of the island, the Black Pearl at Puaikura enjoys an enviable location with a pristine beach across the road, safe for swimming and snorkeling; a magical spot to watch the sunset. A mere 15 minutes to downtown Avarua, 10 minutes to the airport and 20 minutes to the eclectic hustle and bustle of Muri. Intimately set in tropical gardens around a central salt water swimming pool The Black Pearl’s 12 apartment are spacious with high vaulted ceilings. Apartments are decorated in an ocean colour palette and are all on the ground level. Each apartment has a private patio with a view of either the lush garden or sparkling pool (or both). Our self catering apartments allow you to prepare breakfast, a light lunch or dinner in between dining at a great choice of cafes or restaurants, many of whom offer a free pick up and drop off service. Alternatively you can use the poolside BBQ. The Black Pearl at Puaikura is a haven for those not wanting a large hotel with multiple bars and restaurants but rather an intimate environment where the emphasis is on friendly personal service, a place where you can lose yourself in a tropical paradise, at an affordable price
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid wifi
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Bicycle rental
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Street parking
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Complimentary tea
Canoeing
Diving
Golf course
Hiking
Mini golf
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Ironing service
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Sofa
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Business
Languages Spoken
English
31Reviews4Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JessieCl0ud wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia17 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our second stay at the Black Pearl and it continues to delight. Right across the road from the reef, this hidden gem boasts a large and relaxing pool set against lush tropical gardens.

The accommodation is very well equipped with a large bathroom, kitchen and lounge room - comfy beds, all within a very generous space.

The location is ideal, next to cafe, store and ice cream shop. Other great restaurants/ cafe are a short drive/scooter/bus trip away.

The new owner Paul is a warm and welcoming host and I would highly recommend the Black Pearl to anyone planning a visit to Rarotonga.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul S, Owner at The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments
Responded 30 Jan 2020
It was great having you guys stay with us. Look forward to your next stay at The Black Pearl
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlotte wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Paul and fellow staff members were incredibly welcoming and helpful during stay at the Black Pearl. Having access to cooking facilities within rooms was fantastic and then also having access to a larger BBQ area by the pool allowed for a truly tropical holiday experience. Pool was lovely and felt incredibly relaxing. Perfect location for beach access and sand shoes were available to borrow which were super helpful when out snorkelling. Cannot recommend this place enough for anyone wanting a lovely holiday destination with their family and friends!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garry & Ali Wgtn wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cant speak highly enough of our hosts. Nothing was a problem and they could organise anything for you. The property was immaculate and the rooms newly renovated were airy and cool with lots of space for all our luggage. We loved having our own deck overlooking the pool but private and relaxing. The pool was fantastic and we utilised the communal BBQ and eating area. The shopping facilities and cafe for morning coffee next door made self catering easy but fantastic restaurants were not far away. Paul recommended and organised a small hire car which we picked up at the airport and used throughout our holiday - no need to wait for the clockwise or anticlockwise bus in the heat of the day! The beach was just across the road and the snorkelling was great. Would definitely recommend to friends and have started planning our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise M wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a group of 20 stay 8 nights with 5 rooms booked. Servicing was a huge issue during our stay. We often had to request that the rooms be serviced with new bed linen, towels etc (which they said could only be serviced as linen became available). Many of our group were stuck with dirty linen for a number of days and encountered push back from service staff when asked for the basics - fresh towels, linen, toilet paper. Our room was not pleasant - the bathroom unclean with a bad odour! Paul and Rangi were very helpful - however would not stay again!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Take some linen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janelle Namana, Owner at The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments
Responded 8 Aug 2023
A direct approach over your 8 nights would have been appreciated and remedied if appropriate! However, the rooms were serviced every 2nd day and towels swapped out more frequently to assist the group who experienced exceptionally damp weather. Interesting to receive a negative comment after we had contacted your travel agent on the state of 2 rooms in particular which were left with aging half eaten food and drinks everywhere, damp towels on wardrobe shelves, in draws, left outside on the rubbish bins, several white towels look to have been used to wash cars (stains have not been come out), broken bed leg, missing sim card and unpaid dryer costs (which we provided purely to assist your group out). The state of the mess exceeded normal expectations and this is the first time we have sent feedback to a travel agent and noted your group would not be welcomed back. Very unfortunate, as most of the group were very pleasant and rooms left in normal condition.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
traveller2australia wrote a review Nov 2022
Australia1,543 contribution253 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first time staying at The Black Pearl, but it certainly won't be the last. A perfect setup inside the accommodation, with a handy verandah outside with table and chairs for afternoon drinks - or meals, or to just wind down and read a book. The salt water pool is only a few steps away and was used on many occasions. Just across the road is the beach so very handy with good swimming and snorkelling. Next door is a service station/supermarket, an ice creamery and a cafe. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable and also had a kitchen with fridge. There was a continental breakfast provided on the first morning, along with a fresh pawpaw every couple of days.
A very relaxing stay - thanks to Paul & co - especially Lily (the dog) who visited us many times.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Stevens, Owner at The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments
Responded 25 Jan 2023
Thanks guys. Look forward to seeing you again. Paul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jordan M wrote a review Jul 2022
Kapiti Coast, New Zealand4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Host Paul and staff were excellent with local advice and recommendations. Facilities were fantastic we frequently were in the pool and used the barbecue and outside dining area for dinners as a good option instead of dining out. Did not pack beach towels and Paul was very accommodating letting us use the resort towels which also saved space in our suitcases. We also borrowed sand shoes which was a life saver as one of our pairs broke in the water!

All in all not a single complaint and you can bet we will be back to stay at the black pearl!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
madison d wrote a review Jan 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow what can I say - Paul and Janelle were incredible hosts. Went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We stayed over the New Year period and Janelle saved events and specials that were happening across the island for our group - such a help! Paul even set up the BBQ patio with plates and cutlery for us on New Years Day. The local cell phones in each of the rooms (loaded with $10) were an awesome way to go the extra mile with guests. Rooms are enormous, very clean and have modern facilities. Loved hanging out at the pool and using the BBQ table space. Thank you both for having us.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Colin Gibson wrote a review Oct 2023
Whanganui, New Zealand20 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in Sept - Oct 2023 fabulous stay in lovely private gardens .We had a Pool side view .Hosts could not be more welcoming & all our needs were met with pleasure .
Hosts even enjoyed joining us for a delicious BBQ .Great CITC store next door with all the products you may need & the Maori Cafe alongside has great Burgers & meals.Safe swimming directly across the road with the hosts offering free use of snorkeling equipment. We will definitely be coming over again to holiday at the Block Pearl.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leigh S wrote a review Sept 2022
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival we received a very warm welcome from Lily and Paul. We stayed in Room 3 which was kei te pai for us. Included were kitchen amenities and a refrigerator which came in handy as there is a superette very close by...so is a cafe and icecream parlour!
Across the road is a swimable beach. Paul has scuba gear and beach shoes for guests to borrow. Both bus routes stop outside. The area is quite peaceful and not too built up. The salt water pool is a treat and is surrounded by immaculate gardens and lawn.
Paul and Rangi take excellent care of their guests. They are so knowledgeable about aspects of the island and willingly assist with car hireage booking restaurants and events.
Lily, the (dog) is such a character. As dog owners, we appreciate staying somewhere where pets are an integral member
We made a wise choice, staying at The Black Pearl,
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manon F wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am writing this review on behalf of my elderly Grandparents. They visit the Cook Islands once a year for my Birthday. This is their second stay here at The Black Pearl at Puaikura. This was the perfect place for them to stay for a number of reasons: the room is on ground level, there were no large stairs and everything was easy and comfortable. Nice and close to the shop which allowed us to do our own shopping and eat at the resort when we didn’t go out for dinner. My son is Two and he had a blast in the pool with his great granddad which was a bonus. They went for nice little walks along the beach which is just across the road. Lastly we would love to thank the wonderful staff, Paul, Rangi and your team. You are all so welcoming and friendly, thank you for the chats with my grandparents most days and delivered a delicious breakfast most mornings. Their kind demeanour and comfortable environment made the stay that much more memorable. Meitaki Ma’ata for another wonderful stay. If they are still able. They will be back again. And they will most definitely spread the word when they return home. Kia Manuia.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pip asked a question Jul 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi there, can you swim at the beach?
Answer from Rangi N
Cook Islands
absolutely - lovely snorkeling and swimming right at our front gate
Answer from Rangi N
Cook Islands
Apologies for late response, I am learning my way around all the admin areas and had missed this. Hi there, we do have a suite with child gate. the doors can not be locked internally but we would be more than happy to look at some extra measure for your peace of mind if you book with us :)
Jet Setter 🌴 asked a question Feb 2020
79 contributions22 helpful votes
Why have all the reviews disappeared?
Answer from Paul S
Southern Cook Islands, Cook Islands
Hi Janelle and I recently purchased The Black Pearl and we elected to start afresh with our reviews. All existing staff have been retained to ensure our high level of service is maintained. We have introduced a maintenance plan which has already seen improvements made to guest facilities. We will continue to enhance the Resort to ensure our guests enjoy the experience they expect. Paul
Deborah C asked a question Jan 2020
Auckland, New Zealand8 contributions
Kia Orana. Has The Black Pearl been recently sold?
Alison O wrote a tip Aug 2023
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pre hire a car or get the Bus App on arrival."
Read full review
Denise M wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take some linen"
Read full review
whanau_of_9 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Palmerston North, New Zealand1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Leave your watch at home"
Read full review
stusan4 wrote a tip May 2023
Palmerston, New Zealand2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"With only 12 rooms this place place is great to relax by the pool or walk across the road to the beach"
Read full review
Wander17838799844 wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have gently used clothes/shoes they are a nice gift to give to the service staff. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Arorangi area.
PRICE RANGE
$241 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
puaikura reef hotel arorangi
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsRarotongaArorangi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BLACK PEARL BEACHSIDE APARTMENTS - Now $242 (Was $̶2̶8̶1̶) - UPDATED 2024 Villa Reviews & Price Comparison (Arorangi, Cook Islands) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Tik-e Tours (3.2 km), Aroa Marine Reserve (1.0 km), and Cook Island Christian Church (CICC) (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a pool view.
What food & drink options are available at The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beluga, The Waffle Shack, and Wilson's Beach Bar & Restaurant - Castaway Resort.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments have airport transportation?
Yes, The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wreck of the Matai (6.8 km).
All Arorangi HotelsArorangi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ArorangiHotels near The Black Pearl Beachside Apartments
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire