Aristotles North Shore Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Aristotles North Shore Motel

Small, but adequate kitchenette.
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (20)
Pool & Beach (5)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
$189
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Wairau Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Aristotles is a 4-Star Qualmark approved Motel in the heart of Auckland's North Shore, serving as your #HomeAwayFromHome. We offer rooms that are both clean and large. We're a 5-minute walk from the Sunnynook bus station/interchange, which provides speedy and direct access to the Auckland CBD, making us a great spot to stay for business, hospital appointments, pre/post-surgery accommodation, or visiting friends and family on the North Shore. We have 31 rooms over two floors, served by a lift and stairs (including a lift to our secure basement carpark); and we provide safe access with CCTV throughout the property for your added peace of mind. Multiple food options are within 50-100 metres, every room has Sky TV with 50+ channels, free and secure parking, overnight EV charging, and an onsite Conference Room. Aristotles has updated rules and procedures in place under the new management of Sandy and Glen to guarantee you have a great experience with us. For the first time, Aristotles was evaluated by Qualmark thanks to these new policies and procedures. We're ecstatic to have received formal recognition as a 4-Star-Qualmark Motel. We were also awarded the Covid Clean Approved certification from Qualmark as a result of Sandy and Glen's improved standards, so you can be sure that our cleaning protocols go above and beyond. Aristotles North Shore Motel have also been awarded the World Travel & Tourism Council’s ‘Safe Travels’Global Safety Stamp from Qualmark. This acreditation recognises that we are following the Global Safe Travels health and hygiene global standardised Protocols. We're looking forward to welcoming you to your #HomeAwayFromHome.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Electric vehicle charging station
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Highchairs available
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Qualmark.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business

Location

20C Link Drive North Shore, Wairau Valley, Auckland 0627 New Zealand
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 71 out of 100
71
Auckland Intl Airport
28.1 km
See all flights
135Reviews2Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 82
  • 39
  • 9
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
HawaiianFrenchy wrote a review Mar 2024
Honolulu, Hawaii26 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean, comfy room. Super friendly staff. Little kitchenette was helpful. Bathroom was roomy and very clean. Did not explore much of the area, so no comment there for food . We arrived after hours and left fairly early the next day. Go to Sheepworld next!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lynn wrote a review Dec 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Aristotles when we were in Auckland for my husband’s surgery at nearby Southern Cross. It was a perfect choice - quiet, clean, and minutes away from the hospital. Glen and Sandy were wonderful hosts, helpfully upgrading us to a larger, more accessible room than the one we originally booked and offering parking at the door for ease of access. They are accustomed to accommodating for hospital patients and the rooms have kitchenettes so you can make it your home away from home. The motel is perfect for families as well, with a lovely pool and Sky TV.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The hotel is located amongst Asian markets and restaurants with authentic Chinese, Korean,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louise wrote a review Sept 2020
15 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this as a last minute decision the night before an early morning competition (to avoid Auckland traffic) as it is very handy to North Shore Event Centre. Great decision!
Karen was really friendly and helpful in terms of leaving instructions for after-hours access. The room (family shower suite) was clean and tidy, with all the necessities for a short-term stay. Also has a toaster (not mentioned on the website) so that was a bonus. And the beds were super comfortable, with nice sheets and warm blankets!
Would stay again if we had another early morning comp.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karen G, General Manager at Aristotles North Shore Motel
Responded 9 Oct 2020
Thanks for the great review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a booking for 4 hours before we had to cancel, we telephone them at 2pm and cancelled but were still charged for a night’s accommodation. We then tried calling again at 4 only to have them call back at 5.30pm to tell us that they would be unable to let the room and would charge us, even though we would be paying the hotel direct as they had our credit card to hold the room they said they’d charge that. Both the male and female owners were incredibly rude. I wouldn’t recommend staying here. We had planned to travel again in two weeks and were hoping to stay here - HOWEVER NOT NOW. We’ll definitely be looking elsewhere and telling plenty of people of this experience. Word or mouth goes along way.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karen G, General Manager at Aristotles North Shore Motel
Responded 24 Oct 2020
It's certainly true that it's better to book direct, we don't pay commission to a third party and can be much more flexible with prices, date changes or rescheduling. However, you chose to book through a third party, and in line with the terms and conditions your booking was non-refundable. You also failed to cancel the booking until 5pm on the day of check in, making it unlikely that we would resell the room. It was difficult to deal with your sense of self entitlement, with your expectation that your flight being cancelled should be our responsibility and at our cost. As a gesture of goodwill we made the decision the next morning not to charge you the cancellation fee. Had you bothered to check your bank statement before reviewing us, you would be aware that we have not charged your card.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharlene E wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Prebooked group for business trip (5 rooms). Day1 3x rooms not serviced, no coffee in 1 room, Day2 preplanned power outage not notified until evening of -unacceptable given motel knew about this a week b4! Day3 hot water issue! Motel notified of issues but unwilling to accept that our stay was unacceptable & experience disappointing. Given full payment was req'd 1 week ahead we felt we did not get what we paid for & were cornered into accepting less than average from this accommodation provider.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gedeve wrote a review Jul 2020
Oxford, New Zealand13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spend two days at this motel, the staff was friendly enough but looked a bit on the end of their witts. The room was very nice, clean and spacious. A seperate dining set in the room and a cook facility was present in the room and we had a very good time here. If the time would have been different we would have had a good dive in the swimming pool, that looked attractive and well maintained. The location of the motel is close to the business, and close to supermarkets. also their motel is surrounded by many food establishments from all kinds of culture.
A nice motel, definitely something to consider when you visit Auckland.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: just go for it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karen G, General Manager at Aristotles North Shore Motel
Responded 9 Oct 2020
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again in the summer so you can enjoy the pool!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hebe W wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent stay, clean, tidy and spacious rooms. Staff especially Ken were extremely welcoming and helpful, he even drove me directly to the hospital when my taxi didn’t show up on the morning of my surgery. Great spot for patients to stay before/after hospital or family and friends visiting patients. Also a nice place to stay in for business or otherwise. Close to a lot of restaurants as well.
Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aristotles Northshore, General Manager at Aristotles North Shore Motel
Responded 7 Jan 2023
Hi, Hebe-Webber, thank you for your kind review. Take care and all the bests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FamilyTravellerX4 wrote a review Jan 2023
Perth, Australia57 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Auckland. Really close to the freeway which was handy and only about 10-15mins into town.
Room was big enough for our family, 2 adults and 2 teens. Bathroom was huge and great shower pressure.
Kitchenette was fantastic as it meant we could cook up meals instead of always having to buy meals.
We didn’t use the pool as it said not heated and although we were there in January it wasn’t warm enough for us!
According to teenagers, wifi was great!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aristotles Northshore, General Manager at Aristotles North Shore Motel
Responded 7 Jan 2023
Hi, dear, thanks for your kind review. Good to know that you like our spacious room and location. Our motel is located in the heart of North Shore, surrounded with shops and restaurants. Convenient, easy and quiet. Looking forward to having you and your family again. All the best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pen94 wrote a review Jun 2021
4 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We needed a place for the family to stay on the North Shore for 2 nights at short notice. This place had everything we needed and more. Convenient to bus and supermarket. Good car parking and easy access to motorway. The room had great amenities including a kitchenette, plenty of quality bedding for our family of four and a large ensuite with spa bath. Everything was tidy, clean and in good working order. The front desk was well serviced and staff were friendly. We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend Aristotles North Shore to others.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Managers Aristotles, General Manager at Aristotles North Shore Motel
Responded 28 Jun 2021
Hi Pen94, Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it. We so glad we could help you out with accommodation at shirt notice. It was lovely to read your review comments and that we had everything your family needed and more. Thanks again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janneke H wrote a review Jan 2022
Kaitaia29 contributions37 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We've been coming to this hotel over the past 10 years, and always had a good stay. But this time was the last visit, as it was not what it used to be. Never before did we have to pay for our room when checking in! No more little carton of milk for the tea, the plunger coffee that used to be a morning treat was of El Cheapo. Nothing personal from the new managers, the towels not as white as they used to, etc. And no breakfast! What a shame!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aristotles Northshore, General Manager at Aristotles North Shore Motel
Responded 8 Jan 2022
Hi Janneke, Thanks very much for taking the time to review us; we do appreciate it (good or bad). It seems in your case we let you down, and for this we're truly sorry. Our policy (which has not changed for about 3 years) it to take payment upon arrival, and this has become standard practice. You would have noticed in the fridge the sign advising that if you prefer fresh milk to request this and we can easily provide. We hope you can appreciate that the effects of Covid have hit us incredibly hard and we have had to take measures to save where we can (and most guests have appreciated and understood this). The plunger coffee has been updated to reflect supporting NZ made - sorry that you thought this positive change was El-cheapo. We're disappointed that you didn't feel there was anything personal from us as the new Managers and that there has been some changes since you were last here. We'll take your feedback onboard and we wish you a safe and happy 2022.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Aristotles N
Auckland, New Zealand3 helpful votes
Hi Chris Many thanks for your message there are all room types upstairs executive suite where king bed in separate room and come out into lounge. Family Studio 2 x queen bed all in 1 room and Spa bath studio al in 1 room 1 queen and 1 single.hope that it is of help.just give me a call if you want to discuss further.have a good day.Kind regards Anna
Deylight W asked a question Jan 2019
Washington DC, District of Columbia9 contributions
Greetings, Is transportation to airport easy?
1 contribution
Yes ask hotel to order airport shuttle for you
MurrayL wrote a tip Dec 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand96 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms seemed fine - ours was on the ground floor, making it convenient."
Read full review
lynn wrote a tip Dec 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is located amongst Asian markets and restaurants with authentic Chinese, Korean, Vietnamese, Malaysian, Thai and Japanese food."
Read full review
Gedeve wrote a tip Jul 2020
Oxford, New Zealand13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"just go for it."
Read full review
EmceeWaitakere wrote a tip Oct 2019
Auckland157 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just state any particular preferences when you book and no doubt they will do their best to accommodate you."
Read full review
The Swiss Technician wrote a tip Jul 2019
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are no bad rooms. If you are a smoker, there are rooms with balcony or flat level with the pool."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wairau Valley area.
PRICE RANGE
$169 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
"Flag Inn"
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandNorth ShoreWairau Valley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARISTOTLES NORTH SHORE MOTEL - Now $172 (Was $̶2̶0̶4̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Wairau Valley, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Aristotles North Shore Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Aristotles North Shore Motel?
Nearby attractions include Xtreme Entertainment Wairau (0.3 km) and Laserforce (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aristotles North Shore Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Aristotles North Shore Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Aristotles North Shore Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Aristotles North Shore Motel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aristotles North Shore Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fact Tree, Cafe Eleven, and Hollywood Bakery & Espresso.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aristotles North Shore Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Aristotles North Shore Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Wairau Valley.
Does Aristotles North Shore Motel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Aristotles North Shore Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting J.F Kennedy Memorial Park (2.7 km).
Is Aristotles North Shore Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire