Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages

Traveller (20)
Kina Beach Vineyard
Room & Suite (4)
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 2 cottages in Tasman
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Family-owned winery in beautiful coastal location offering free wine tastings and boutique vineyard accommodation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Wine / champagne
Beach
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Fireplace
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Qualmark.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German
21Reviews1Q+A0Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
LV Adventures wrote a review Feb 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Stans Cottage inside the vineyard with a great view of the estuary. Our hosts greeted us warmly and were available for any needs we had. The complimentary bottle of their Rose chilling in the fridge was a nice touch. Lots to do and see in the area and the beach is only a fifteen minute walk from the cottage. The kitchen was well appointed and the BBQ outside made it convenient to prepare our own meals. The king bed was very comfy and cozy and the baby quail provided some entertainment in the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogerC wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a wonderful stay for a week. Location was quiet with great views. The cute cottage had everything you needed. Ample breakfast provisions were provided with a free bottle of wine in the fridge. Karin was a great and friendly host. She provided fresh home baked loaves of bread for us. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janet K wrote a review Jan 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand17 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After a long lockdown and for a special birthday we did a road trip of top of the Sth Island. Part of this we spent 2 nights in Stans Cottage. Amazing place to relax and unwind only wish we had longer here.
Everything you need is supplied, lovely home made breakfast and the kitchen is well set up for self catering. We cooked a beautiful pasta meal over looking the vines with the complimentary wine supplied, almost took us to Italy, was just heaven! Also heaven the most comfortable bed ever!
Great advice from our host on how to see the best of the Abel Tasman National Park in such a short space of time, we loved this trip.
Would love to return some time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karin Schoch, Owner at Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages
Responded 13 Jan 2022
Thanks so much for your kind review, Janet. We love that you enjoyed your stay and that Jamie had a fab birthday trip. We hope to see you back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geraldine K wrote a review Mar 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came across Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages on an internet search and it was a complete gem of a find. The two cottages were beautifully restored and furnished with everything needed for a 2 night stay. We stayed at Stan's Cottage with stunning views over the vineyards to the tidal Moutere Inlet and the distant hills. Karin was so friendly and welcoming and made our stay very relaxing. A highlight was the private wine tasting she did which was excellent with such wonderful wines. I would highly recommend staying at this superb accommodation amongst the vines!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim wrote a review Nov 2022
Congleton, United Kingdom10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed a fantastic few days in the Old Schoolhouse as part of our honeymoon - the quality of accommodation is excellent and the location within the vineyard is really special. Enjoying fine Kina wines as part of our trip was the cherry on the cake. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Georgiethe wrote a review Jan 2022
Devonport, New Zealand45 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our 3-night stay here. The Old Schoolhouse was very well-equipped and beautifully decorated, with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The location was perfect, with gorgeous views to the sea and inlet, and a short walk through the vines to the beach. Great hosts and lovely wine too! Would love to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a very relaxing and enjoyable three night stay in The Old Schoolhouse. It was a wonderful place to unwind. It was very well appointed having everything you need. The continental breakfast was lovely...especially with the sun streaming in and being able to soak in the Tasman atmosphere. Would love to visit again...next time for longer!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karin Schoch, Owner at Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages
Responded 26 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for your review, Paul. We loved hosting you and Kathy for Easter and playing our part in a memorable birthday.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda wrote a review Dec 2022
Chorley, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Stan’s Cottage on the Kina Winery. A remote setting in a vineyard with stunning views.
The cottage itself was tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean . The large bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a walk in shower. The kitchen area was well equipped & provisions for breakfast had been left.
Karen was a very friendly host and offered lots of suggestions of what to see and do
Stan’s Cottage was the ideal place to chill for three days, we thoroughly enjoyed staying there.
A car was a necessity but we could walk to the beach nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautifully decorated old cottage with everything you might want for a stay. Well appointed kitchen, great new bathroom, comfy bed and breakfast goodies provided. Amazing views in all directions. We were well looked after by our host Karin but at the same time it feels very private. The cottage is close to Mapua and Motueka plus there's a local swimming beach. Next door is a little cafe with fresh veges and flowers for sale We had a wonderful wine tasting with friends at the vineyard and the wine is superb. We would certainly love a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy M wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We drove an hour out of our way to Kina for a wine tasting. When we discovered it was closed, we turned our car around in the parking lot since the access road was quite narrow and would not accommodate a U turn. When we tried to exit, a grey-haired man blocked our car with his car and aggressively asked us what we were doing on the property. We said we were trying to do a tasting, but saw it was closed, so were trying to leave. He aggressively and condescendingly asked us if we could read the sign, and with us pinned in by his car, it made us feel very unsafe.

Try Seifried or Neudorf in the Nelson area, both of which were friendly and welcoming. Better yet, just go to The Marlborough or Allen Scott. Please don’t waste your time with any of the Kina properties. They clearly don’t have any idea of how to treat customers. This was our worst experience in New Zealand, and we were made to feel like criminals.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karin Schoch, Owner at Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages
Responded 24 Jan 2023
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. Our opening hours for tastings are widely published and can be found on our website, the Nelson wine map and directory, Google, as well as Facebook. Like many small wineries with limited resources we cannot cater for impromptu visits. If you are looking for spontaneous tastings you are indeed better served by larger and more commercial operators.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tasman area.
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandNelson-Tasman RegionMapuaTasman
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KINA BEACH VINEYARD & COTTAGES - Cottage Reviews (Tasman) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Rare Creations Interactive Wooden Art Gallery (7.5 km), Flaxmore Vineyards (5.5 km), and Wreck of the Janie Seddon (7.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jester House Cafe, T.O.A.D Hall Store & Cafe, and Java Hut.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Church House Gallery (8.9 km).
Does Kina Beach Vineyard & Cottages have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire