We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Athenree Hot Springs & Holiday Park

Save
Share
Traveller (44)
Dining (4)
Pool & Beach (3)
Overview
1 Athenree Road, Athenree 3177 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Wifi
Free Parking
Pool
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
Self-Serve Laundry
2.5 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
55
17
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
55
17
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolsholiday parklarger poolwaihi beachstudio unitcamping groundcold wintersthe kitchenon easter sundaypowered sitea lovely holidaypool areaspent nightsacross the roadshort drivegreat spoton arrival
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

After a big day exploring aspects of the Coromandel Peninsula, including a lengthy trek from Hahei Beach to Cathedral Cove, we were looking for somewhere at the southern end of the Peninsula to park the campervan and relax. Up popped Athenree Hot Springs and Holiday...More

Thank peterbmst
Response from Mike H, Owner at Athenree Hot Springs & Holiday ParkResponded 5 days ago

Wow! Thanks for the great comments. You're right about the hard to beat soak after a long day exploring - our guests just love it. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly hope we see you again!

Reviewed 15 August 2018

It is so beautiful here. There are mature trees and lots of shrubs etc. The birdsong every morning was fantastic. The whole place is so clean and tidy. We’ve had the best showers ever because of the water pressure. We were checked in by Sue...More

Thank Kwai L
Response from Mike H, Owner at Athenree Hot Springs & Holiday ParkResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks! We think we've got a lovely spot here too and we are always delighted to hear guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Thanks again for the great comments and hope we see you again soon!

Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed a night in a small cabin (very small!) but we got what we paid for. Each cabin has a lockable cupboard in the kitchen & the facilities are excellent. This would be the cleanest motor camp we've ever stayed at. The hot pools...More

Thank diver201
Response from Mike H, Owner at Athenree Hot Springs & Holiday ParkResponded 13 August 2018

Excellent !! Always great to know guests have enjoyed their stay with us - even in our smallest Cabin! Glad you enjoyed our Pools too, and appreciated how we try to keep things clean. Hope we see you again.

Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

We did not stay at all because it smelled too much like a brothel and we were not happy at all so we turned around and drove 2 hours back to Hamilton but they would not even refund our second night. Would not recommend

Thank Nicnichi
Response from Mike H, Owner at Athenree Hot Springs & Holiday ParkResponded 30 July 2018

Crickey!! That's a bit rough.That's not the reason you gave us for leaving early, but either way we are always disappointed when a guest hasn't enjoyed their stay with us.

Reviewed 21 July 2018

We had a good time here, not a very big pool, one for family and one for adults only. No lifeguard thou they are watching you on camera in the office. Seating for people watching and lovely mosaics on the wall. Changing rooms are very...More

Thank chapbear
Response from Mike H, Owner at Athenree Hot Springs & Holiday ParkResponded 23 July 2018

Great to hear you enjoyed your soak! We think our mosaics are a bit special too. Thanks for taking time to comment.

View more reviews
About
Description
Athenree Hot Springs & Holiday Park is your family park of choice. Located in New Zealand's sunny Bay of Plenty region, at the northern end of Tauranga Harbour. Our all-season Athenree accommodation has a ...More tranquil, park setting with magnificent mature Puriri trees and an abundance of native birds. Great memories are created and a relaxing holiday for the whole family is guaranteed! There are many activities in the area and we offer several great accommodation options for you to choose from. We have spacious 2-bedroom Motel Units and Deluxe Chalets available (each with Freeview and SKY TV), also standard cabins (share park facilities) and we certainly don't compromise on space for camping with our range of tent and campervan sites. Thermal Mineral Pools Staying guests are free to enjoy our two natural mineral pools. The pure thermal water feels silky and soft on the skin and are perfect for relaxing in after a long day sightseeing. There is a continuous flow of spring water in the pools, creating bubbles to help soothe away any aches. Our new mosaic artwork within the pool area has created quite a buzz among our guests. Both pools are drained and thoroughly cleaned daily so you can be guaranteed a special experience in our chemical free pools. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Room types
Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Price range
US$55 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Athenree
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Price range
US$55 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Athenree
Photos
Traveller (44)
Dining (4)
Pool & Beach (3)
Room & Suite (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Beaches Motel
38 reviews
4.03 km away
Waihi Motel
44 reviews
12.49 km away
Katikati Motel
36 reviews
12.81 km away
Asure Kaimai View Motel
70 reviews
12.82 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all restaurants
Surf Shack
137 reviews
2.05 km away
Flatwhite
539 reviews
5.19 km away
The Porch Kitchen & Bar
183 reviews
4.55 km away
Waihi Beach Hotel Eatery and Store
169 reviews
5.02 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all attractions
Orokawa Scenic Reserve
33 reviews
6.30 km away
Anzac Bay
24 reviews
.59 km away
Waihi Beach Wellness
17 reviews
6.29 km away
Athenree Hot Springs
55 reviews
.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
BMNz
9 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Mike H | Property representative |
Hi Babu, We do have a few sites left for these dates but they are going fast. The tariff is $27 per adult (15+) per night, and $16 per child. This includes using the pools, showers and bbqs. Give us a call during office... More
0
Votes
Excina
14 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Mike H | Property representative |
Hi Excina Hi from Athenree. The cost for these units at current rates are Chalet (self-contained) $235/night and a cabin (share park facilities) would be $125/night. Please feel free to give us a call on 0064 7 863 5600... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Accessibility, comfort, family friendly"
Read review
"The only thing was all the water on the floors in the ladies side . . . . . had wet bottoms of my trousers..."
Read review
"good range to choose from tent sites, through to motel units"
Read review
"Cabins or self contained"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing