We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (16)
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (13)
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good38%
  • Average13%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible11%
Absolute beachfront boutique accommodation on Northland's stunning Cable Bay beach. Relax, unwind and enjoy the peace, privacy and serenity in one of the 6 spacious units or separate Bay View Cottage.You can be as active or inactive as the mood takes you. Swim in the sea, walk or jog along the beach, boogie board when the swell is up, take a sit-on kayak for a leisurely paddle along the coastline, pick up some fresh green lipped mussels ready for the BBQ or just sit back and enjoy the magic of Doubtless Bay.John & Jackie look forward to welcoming you to their little piece of paradise.FREE glass of wine on arrival. FREE WiFi for stays of 2 nights or more.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Good to know
Great View
Full view
Getting there
Kerikeri Airport49 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the location is perfect sand view fishing ocean
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When ever we go to Northland we always stay at the Driftwood Lodge every time we have stayed there we have always had the same outstanding service. The rooms are always very tidy. You have everything you need in your room. The manager and owner...More

Reviewed 19 September 2018

Everything turned out fantastic lovely new everything loved the way it was decorated love and care down to really nice wall pictures nice new good sized television the view was so much more the bed so comfortable it was hard to get up 9 days...More

1  Thank Mary D
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Our room was Roadside not Beach Front - up the back and old with a terrible smell. Definitely not what we expected and would never go back. Doubtless Bay is a pretty place with lots of other lovely accommodation.More

2  Thank Mandy M
Response from DriftwoodLodgeNZ, Owner at Driftwood LodgeResponded 18 July 2018

Sorry about the mix up with your booking ,poorly a misunderstanding with the booking agency As luck would have it we were able to find you something more suitable nearby and gave you a refund even though you said you would not give us a...More

Reviewed 19 October 2017

We were just driving by and stumbled across this gem! Owners are wonderful the setting is awesome right directly on the beach. The location is perfect to explore northland with mangonui just up the road. Perfect and highly recommended! We will be back for sure!

1  Thank AlexHowieson
Reviewed 22 February 2017

You honestly can't beat the location - absolutely beachfront & a beautiful beach at that too. But given the price I had much higher expectations for the condition of the room and the overall cleanliness. If you can overlook floors that look in need of...More

2  Thank Cigar0
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Driftwood Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"This is a motel unit do you want to be nearer the beach or don't mind the road you can choose"
18 Sep 2018
Read review
"Stay at Golden Sands Next Door!!"
31 Jan 2018
Read review
"All rooms are sea facing so all a qgood position"
21 May 2016
Read review
"We had the end room double and a single bed, only noise the ocean."
25 Feb 2016
Read review
Show More 
US$93 - US$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionMangonuiCable Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing