Grand Ambassador Santorini
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Grand Ambassador Santorini

View from our room #33
Traveller (1055)
Panorama at the Ambassador Aegean Luxury Hotel & Suites
360
Panoramas (10)
Ambassador Aegean Luxury Hotel & Suites
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#6 of 22 hotels in Akrotiri
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Nestled on the precipice of Santorini's iconic Caldera, the 5-star luxury suites and villas present an unparalleled blend of opulence, breathtaking views, and exceptional service, making it an emblem of the island's finest accommodations. The very essence of these accommodations is to provide an oasis of luxury that harmonizes with the captivating beauty of Santorini, offering an escape that is both exclusive and immersive. Each suite and villa has been meticulously designed to embody the pinnacle of luxury living. From interiors that blend contemporary elegance with traditional Greek elements to the expansive terraces that offer uninterrupted views of the azure Aegean Sea and the dramatic sunsets that paint the sky, every detail has been considered to enhance the sensory experience of its guests. The accommodations boast private infinity pools , where guests can bask in the tranquility of their surroundings, making it an idyllic retreat for those seeking privacy and serenity.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Diving
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Airport transportation
Car hire
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Sofa bed
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Price:Summer Offer - Up to 25% Off

Location

Epar.Od. Akrotiriou, Akrotiri 847 00 Greece
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 55 out of 100
55
Santorini Airport
675Reviews27Q+A98Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 529
  • 81
  • 37
  • 13
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jane Palm wrote a review Sept 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stunning views from the room - hardly a room, we had a duplex ‘villa’ with 3 double bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, large lounge/dining area, huge private terrace and private pool. Beds were comfortable. Maintenance helped to secure windows and shutters when we arrived as it was very windy. We wanted to soak up the view of the caldera and this hotel was perfect. The concierge was very helpful with perfect recommendations for dining, beach clubs and excursions. A nearby taverna did the most amazing food, and the owner picked us up and dropped us back and delivered lunch to us on our last day. Great beach club - 41- very comfortable sun loungers, very good food, excellent cocktails. We took a private catamaran called ‘whispering angel’ around the caldera, same price for 5 of us privately as the public excursions. Great boat and crew, delicious lunch bbq on board. Very good hotel, Oia is a must see as was the museum near the hotel of a well preserved Minoan town. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Santorini dreams wrote a review Aug 2020
Llanelli, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I cannot fault the service or presentation of the beautiful hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. It is so relaxing and quiet. It was just what we needed. We paid €10 a day to have our breakfast delivered to the room, which was well worth it - the breakfast itself was spectacular!

Two reasons for not giving it the last 🌟

1) the restaurant menu is very pricey and very limited. It also does not change. This made us reluctant to eat at the hotel as there was not much on it we liked.

2) soft drinks and water are extremely inflated in price, which was a shame. Alcoholic drinks seemed more reasonable.

A taxi to fira is €25 from here. The bus (once an hour) is €1.80

We found no other faults with this fantastic hotel. We had a heavenly stay - this was our second visit and we would not rule out a third!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Derek D wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I just stayed for 6 nights for our Honeymoon and it was everything we could have asked for and more. The customer service goes above and beyond, they answered my emails months in advance on places to eat, how transportation works there, reserving dinners, and they set up chocolates, strawberries, Champagne, and rose pedals when we arrived per my request for a small fee. Once we arrived it was the most amazing views, the restaurant will bring everything you need to your room, the maid service will come twice a day if needed and if you are on do not disturb they will call to check if you need anything still without entering the room. My favorite part is that no matter what time of day it is, the staff will set up a transfer to and from the hotel to anywhere on the island and you can simply charge it to your room most of the time. Santorini tries to advertise ATVs and Rental cars but from what I saw that was very dangerous with the busy and narrow roads, this option with the Ambassador made our days in Fira and Oia stress free knowing we had a safe ride to and from. Overall it was the perfect place if you aren't into the busy parts of the island, a relaxing honeymoon with a private pool, a rooftop public pool that always has room, a lovely cave spa, and the best hotel and restaurant staff that make it feel like home while you are there!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lesley P wrote a review Jul 2023
Reading, United Kingdom
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Quirky hotel with cave accommodation cut into the hillside. Local rep described it as living like the Flintstones. Not great if you don’t like/ can’t do steps, but they will transport you up and down on a golf cart if needed. Beds and seating area in the room are fixed stone structures. No soft seating at all in the room (had to bring in a garden chair from the patio). Smallish TV was wonky on the wall, which showed a lack of attention to detail. Room felt very sparse and quite stark with plain walls throughout. I expect this is supposed to be part of the charm, but combined with no wardrobe (a simple rail) and nowhere to put things away, you have to live out of your suitcase, which does not feel like luxury accommodation. Mini-bar was poor, and drinking water was only provided on the first day, at other times you have to pay for water even for your room, which I have never experienced in any other 5* rated hotel. A selling point is that every room has its own pool, but there were tiles missing in the pool and the jacuzzi button has to be pressed every 2 mins, which you can only do by getting out of the pool! There is no shade whatsoever on the huge exposed terraces, not even a parasol, so we were unable to sit out during the day.
The view of the caldera at sunset is breath taking, but is not unique to this hotel.
The restaurant (we had half-board 4 nights) is really very good indeed. We had the same waiting staff every day, and they were great. However, there was no change of menu at all. Breakfast is not very good, and has to be ordered on a card the night before. You can have it delivered to your room at a cost of 10 euros – pointless paying this as your food is cold on arrival. Our breakfast dishes were still on the terrace at 6pm when we returned after a day out.
On our last day at this hotel, it was my husband’s 60th birthday, They didn’t acknowledge this is in any way, despite my telling them as we checked in. This hotel is very expensive for what it can offer, and not really on a par with other 5* hotels that I have stayed in. Nevertheless, the Akrotiri area of the island was lovely and peaceful, and the bus service to Fira and on to Oia etc. is reliable and cheap. Highly recommend this area of you want to avoid the crowds.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ambassador Santorini, Εξυπηρέτηση πελατών/Υποδοχή at Grand Ambassador Santorini
Responded 29 Aug 2023
Dear Lesley P, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to address your concerns. We're delighted to hear that our unique cave accommodations and stunning sunset views left an impression. However, we deeply apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Your comfort is our priority, and we're sorry to hear that certain aspects of your room design and amenities fell short of your expectations. Our rooms are designed according to the Cycladic architecture and we're continuously working on enhancing them. We apologize for any confusion about the mini-bar and drinking water. Please know that the mini-bar is stocked with essentials, and for additional requirements, our comprehensive room service is available (free service except for breakfast) all day until evening. In regard to the pool and jacuzzi, we're sorry that you faced that inconvenience and we would like to notice that the jacuzzi has an automatic turn-off and the button is located next to the pool. Regarding breakfast, please allow us to clarify that there's no need to pre-order it the night before. We have a delightful breakfast menu available at our restaurant, where you can place your order in the morning. We're sorry if this process was not adequately explained during your stay. We're disappointed to learn that we missed acknowledging your husband's special occasion. We always give our wishes to our guests and we're sorry that this did not come to the attention of our staff. In conclusion, we are grateful for the recommendation of the Akrotiri area and our convenient bus service. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we're continuously striving to exceed expectations. We will be happy to welcome you back in the future and provide an exceptional stay. Kind Regards, The Ambassador Hotel Manager Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SamHolcombe wrote a review Sept 2021
Swindon, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Santorini as part of our honeymoon & were upgraded on arrival to a luxury suite which was a lovely start. We can’t praise the staff enough, they could not do more for us throughout our stay. A special thanks to Pepi on the concierge team, she was so informative (as were all the team) but she pretty much arranged everything for us - taxis, dinner reservations, Covid antigen tests and ferry tickets to Crete! Her knowledge of the island and advice was brilliant.

The hotel is so peaceful, with the most stunning of views. We arrived at night so we woke to the most beautiful view of the Caldera. The hotel is located in Akrotiri, which is a 20-30 drive from Fira and Oia but nice to be outside from all the hustle and bustle of the tourist hotspots.

We were half board, which we probably didn’t necessarily need as there’s plenty of tavernas either in Akrotiri or a short taxi drive away plus loads in Fira and Oia. The food was delicious and the portions were huge! One suggestion would be to change the menu every so often to offer some different options as it was the same for lunch and dinner.

Fira and Oia are really cool places, busy but with really nice vibes - very friendly and relaxed. Very couple orientated and it was nice not to have large groups of tourists taking over.

We’d also highly recommend visiting Imerovigli and Athenian House. We had an incredible tasting menu here and the sunset and view was better here than in Oia, with way less people.

We can’t recommend Ambassador Hotel & Suites enough, thank you for making our honeymoon so amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max F wrote a review Jul 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 6 nights including my birthday and engagement to my now fiancé. After booking, the reception was beyond helpful with any and all questions/requests that we had and arranged perfect transport from the airport to the hotel. Not to mention they are available 24 hours every day, no matter the need. The hotel itself was breathtaking and in a really great quiet location. Although I wouldn’t recommend walking, there is a little village with stores and great restaurants within a ten minute walk. The housekeeping went above and beyond coming into the room multiple times a day to make sure everything was neat and available for us whenever we returned. Shoutout to George for being the best and helping us with everything we needed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shayne wrote a review Sept 2022
Loveland, Colorado
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My sister and I had a great time and loved the room even though walking through the tunnel got tiresome we loved it anyway. I loved having the pool right at our room and loved the "Flintstone" ish feel of the room and cave like features. I would have liked to have tea in room but no big deal. The coffee pod machine was not intuitive and I had no idea how to use it with no instructions. Everyone on staff was so helpful and went out of their way to see that our needs were met. My only suggestion would be to give clearer instructions how to catch a bus to get to Fira. We were told to go to the bus stop which was 1/2 mile away and wait for the bus which would come every 20 minutes. So we sat waiting for an hour, on a bench at the bus stop, not knowing the bus stops on the other side of the road and they will only stop if you wave them down. We were surprised by a $50 charge for the transfer to a restaurant when we thought it was provided by the restaurant. Yes it was provided by the restaurant but at a cost of $25 each way. I chalk those up to a language barrier so we love our time there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Room Tip: We stayed in room 40 and it was awesome, The views spectacular, a larger balcony I believe,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mel S wrote a review Aug 2021
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Can’t find fault with this amazing boutique hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff have been so friendly and helpful. Rooms manage to be simultaneously simple and luxurious and literally everything has a stunning view over the sea - even the loo! Fantastic a la carte breakfast in the restaurant offering everything from traditional to Greek breakfast delicacies - staff recommend new things to try, all of which have been delicious. Poolside is serene and quiet with ambient music in the background and the plunge pools at the suites are simply perfect for family downtime. Currently on the last of our four idyllic days here and don’t want to leave! Would highly recommend for couples and families with children 7+.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emilia H wrote a review Jul 2022
Greenwich, Connecticut
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Ambassador has the most incredible views on the island and I highly recommend it, especially for those traveling with children.

We were there with another family -- four children combined, ages 9 to 12. Each family stayed in a two bedroom suite and accommodations and patios were very spacious with gorgeous views from every room.

The hotel is away from the crowds of Fira and Oia but the team easily arranged transportation for everywhere we wanted to go on the island.

Pepi on the concierge team was immensely helpful in advising on all activities and dining in advance of our trip. With all of the options on the island, it would have been difficult to plan without her assistance.

The restaurant team was hospitable, friendly and warm, remembering our children's breakfast orders each day and bringing local specialities for us to try.

I hope to return one day. Thank you to everyone at The Ambassador!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KandD765 wrote a review Oct 2022
Buckingham, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a surprise break to say thank you to my husband for looking after me after i had a stroke earlier this year. I had some contact with the hotel prior to our arrival and they were very polite and helpful arranging nice touches for my husband.
We were made to feel very welcome upon arrival and we’re advised we had been upgraded to a two bedroom room. The room was very clean and tidy with the most amazing view from the master bedroom bed! We loved that we could order breakfast to your room which made it extra special and were fantastic with me being Coeliac.
Only negative is we stayed on the half board basis for 4 nights and found the menu a bit boring/limited towards the end as it never changed. Ideally the mains you’d expect a slight change or maybe specials to make it more interesting for the price paid/ 5 star hotel? However the food was amazing! We hope to come back next year!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jennawhitfield2018 asked a question Sept 2023
Wirral, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Do the superior room with private pool overlook the sea? Thanks
Answer from MrsCPP
Durham, United Kingdom53 contributions106 helpful votes
Yes - all of the private pools are facing the sea x
Answer from Vanessa F
5 contributions1 helpful vote
We did not make it to the gym.We did walk into the village and enjoyed the food at Kafora casual but very good. as well as Thefanis and Porto Bello.Do not pay the 30 euros to get to the village. It is a nice walk.
Answer from Vivian K
1 contribution
Hi We took bus to both Fira and Oia I don't think you need a car. We saw a lot of people renting mopeds (mini motorcycle) We took a tour, tour bus picked us up and dropped us off, so no need for a car Bus stop is close. Hotel can provide bus schedule. We found it cheap and easy. The Ambassador was the highlight of our trip beautiful hotel and wonderful service. We will be back for sure. Have a wonderful stay
WiltsAB asked a question Aug 2019
Swindon, Wilts140 contributions52 helpful votes
Do they offer Twin rooms?
Answer from iladianne
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom19 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi. No they do not offer twin beds. We had a double and a fold up bed when we stayed. Hope this helps.
NickiWBristol asked a question Mar 2019
Clevedon, United Kingdom46 contributions81 helpful votes
Is food available from the bar? Lunchtime snack rather than a full on restaurant meal?
Answer from Diane C
Halifax, Canada4 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes, food is available at the bar. You can order items like club sandwich, salads, potato wedges etc... They are very accommodating, so what ever you would like they will do their best to deliver. We had an awesome stay at this hotel!!!
Lee H wrote a tip 18 Jul
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great restaurant recommendations offered by the concierge. Each of them was fantastic and with complimentary transfer to and from the hotel "
Read full review
I B wrote a tip 17 Jul
Kent, United Kingdom30 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a quad bike or hire a car or you won’t be able to explore the whole island as it’s not near anything."
Read full review
Hamzah A wrote a tip Jun 2024
21 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check the weather before you go because in June it was about 35 degrees and everything is uphill and in the heat is it dangerous"
Read full review
Dee A wrote a tip May 2024
London, United Kingdom12 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please avoid visiting during the rainy and windy season apparently May is now added to the list. "
Read full review
Cynthia P wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Learn a little Greek before visiting and share that Greek with the locals. It puts a smile on their faces and makes for great interaction."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Akrotiri area.
PRICE RANGE
$691 - $1,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Apanema Aegean Luxury Hotel & Suites
LOCATION
GreeceSouth AegeanCycladesSantoriniAkrotiri
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAND AMBASSADOR SANTORINI - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Akrotiri, Greece) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Ambassador Santorini
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Ambassador Santorini?
Nearby attractions include Akrotiri Archaeological Site (1.1 km), Caldera Beach (0.4 km), and Venetian Castle of Santorini (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Ambassador Santorini?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Ambassador Santorini?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Ambassador Santorini?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Ambassador Santorini?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Ambassador Santorini?
Conveniently located restaurants include The edge Restaurant, Akrothiri Eat Drink & Heal Bistro, and Misteli Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Ambassador Santorini?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Grand Ambassador Santorini have airport transportation?
Yes, Grand Ambassador Santorini offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Ambassador Santorini?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Grand Ambassador Santorini?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Ambassador Santorini?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Greek.
All Akrotiri HotelsAkrotiri Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AkrotiriHotels near Grand Ambassador Santorini
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire