Rakaia River Holiday Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Rakaia River Holiday Park

Stunning camping ground
Traveller (33)
Dining (1)
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 campsite in Rakaia
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Rakaia River Holiday Park and Motels is located 40 minutes South of Christchurch on SHW1. We have a spacious tree clad property for camping and accommodation and sites to suit every traveller from full motels to back packers cabins. We have a free mini golf course, adventure playground large pool and Wifi. We are a 5 minute walk to the village with supermarkets and cafes. We are pet friendly- (conditions apply). We are an ideal base to explore the Mid-Canterbury region with fishing, golf and lovely walks.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Vending machine
Mini golf
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Charming

Location

Main South Road, Rakaia 7710 New Zealand
72Reviews0Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 12
  • 8
  • 6
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
4happycampers wrote a review Jan 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand347 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great camp for families with children! So many positives here that will make your stay a memorable one....
Easy booking
Pool with nice grass & decking area with beanbags
Close to river for swimming
Bbqs and pizza oven under cover
Excellent old school playground
Bmx track
Hot showers
Clean facilities
Security barrier so no campervans helping themselves !
Great kitchen facilities
Laundry
An easy 45min drive from Christchurch
with lots of families making the most of
our kiwi summer.
Free mini golf and giant chess set in the grounds.
Heaps of room to kick a ball or play cricket
Put this one on your list as there aren't many grounds like this round Canterbury now.

Great to see lots of trees providing shade and privacy.
Thank you for a lovely family camping ground we will be back in a few weeks 😊
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pomwi1979 wrote a review Nov 2020
Queenstown, New Zealand41 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A beautiful campground, picturesque and friendly. The showers were easily the best campground showers we have been in - piping hot, good pressure, no time limits and a heater for each change area. Makes such a difference to the camping experience. We’ll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol R wrote a review Dec 2023
Orange, Australia43 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This holiday park was a great one night stopover point for us. The park was quiet, lots of tidy garden areas and shady trees, and great facilities such as pool, BBQ, swings and jumping pillow, so great for families. The cabin looked a bit "tired" and could do with some maintenance but was still comfortable and quiet even though it is close to the main road. The TV in our cabin was not user friendly. The hosts were friendly and welcoming at all times. The park itself is close to town where there is a small but adequate group of shops - supermarket, bottle shop etc.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KiWombat-18 wrote a review Feb 2023
Greymouth, New Zealand91 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked one of the motel style rooms, and the kids enjoyed every minute we spent there. They had a swim in the pool, rode a couple of the pedal carts, spent hours on the jumping pillow and gave the playground equipment a workout as well. We saw the mini putt golf course, but time didn't allow for us to try it out.

We will be back !

Just a couple of minutes from town, so we were able to purchase food for dinner and breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
4happycampers wrote a review Dec 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand347 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you to the lovely new owners , they are so motivated and have tidied up the sites, trees, playground, this camping ground is beautiful. The swimming pool is heated, the jumping pillow went in this week, all the facilities were really clean and tidy. Even though our kids are a bit older they loved the magical fairy tale character walk at night it truly was fantastic! Thank you we loved our stay and were sad to go. Really family friendly camping ground.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmel D wrote a review Oct 2020
8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were too tired to keep driving so stopped for the night here and found it to be more than adequate. We received a lovely welcome from the hosts - had the choice of spots for our campervan - found the kitchen and facilities superclean (albeit a bit old but cleanliness is paramount in our world) and were very happy with our stay. There are some lovely trees around the grounds, and spots to park up, but please note it isn't actually next to the river.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Theres plenty of lovely spots to camp.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelly434434 wrote a review Sept 2021
Whangarei, New Zealand12 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a family get away,its a lovely location and all facilities are adequate. It's a shame the couple running the place are so unapproachable and just plain grumpy,they seem to have a chip on thier shoulder. Prehaps in the business too long. Our children were frightened off them,especially the women who walks around with a scowl on her face . We wouldn't return again purely due to poor customer service
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glenn Cockburn, Owner at Rakaia River Holiday Park
Responded 22 Sept 2021
We are disappointed in your review, but more disappointed that you haven't realised that the problems that arose were because of the behaviour of your children and their effect on the other campers and staff. Yes we are a family camp, but we are not responsible for your childrens behaviour and your inability to keep that behaviour in check. We shouldn’t have to tell anyone to keep their children in check when a parent is witnessing their bad behaviour. We apologize if you thought us “grumpy and sour” but when we are the ones cleaning up after little ones who are allowed to run rampant then yes that does make us a little contrary.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leanne J wrote a review Feb 2020
10 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is extremely dry, I know it's summer time but there is no attempt to irrigate. Extreme fire danger and we camped on dry dirt. The owner lady is very rude, she can't even communicate with people. Showers were nice. The cleaner drove through the camp far too fast.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GlennC1085, Owner at Rakaia River Holiday Park
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review us. We appreciate you have acknowledged it is so very dry here. With you living only 20 minutes away in Rolleston you would know at the time of your visit we hadn't had rain for nearly three months. We wondered if you realised that we have been trying desperately to save the gardens in this "big dry", and are unable to irrigate over ten acres because of water restrictions, the area involved, and the associated cost of commercial water rates if we were able, as well as the cost involved in taking sites off line for two or three days at our busiest time of the season, to irrigate them. You were given the opportunity of picking your own site, we are sorry that your own choice appears to be the wrong one. Because you haven't given us an example of what is was the prompted the remark of rude behaviour, we are at a loss to defend ourselves against such a statement, but apologise if this was the case. In reading many of the other reviews, you will notice that most of them comment on the helpful, friendly staff. If there is an adverse comment it can usually be traced back to a certain problem or behaviour by a guest that doesn't fit with the community camping ethic.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ant C wrote a review Jul 2021
Auckland, New Zealand86 contributions85 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here on our first night after picking up a motor home from Christchurch. Great location for night 1 if heading south.

What we liked:

1 Only 45 mins from Christchurch.
2 Nice rural location with walking access to the Rakaia River.
3. Great for kids with mini golf & playground.
4. Great shower pressure / temp.
5. Dogs welcome.

What we didn’t like:

1. Dated toilet / shower block.
2. Muddy at sites - could do with more gravel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aulestes wrote a review Jun 2022
Haast, New Zealand108 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the old-fashioned, snug and characterful Fisherman's cottage in mid-winter. Very comfortable, warm, well-equipped and good value. Really enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere and helpful, accommodating staff.
I'd stay there again without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Fisherman's Cottage is the true Kiwi South Island crib experience at bargain price!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Aulestes wrote a tip Jun 2022
Haast, New Zealand108 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fisherman's Cottage is the true Kiwi South Island crib experience at bargain price!"
Read full review
Carmel D wrote a tip Oct 2020
8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Theres plenty of lovely spots to camp."
Read full review
Mark H wrote a tip May 2017
3 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Trust me, use Air BnB. You can pay $20 for large rooms, free wifi, free laundry and showers, larger kitchen + lounge area."
Read full review
Steve C wrote a tip Feb 2017
Wellington, New Zealand62 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I was in a caravan but have stayed in a cottage on previous occasions and they were comfortable and 'quaint'"
Read full review
lhscontrol wrote a tip Mar 2016
London, United Kingdom319 contributions146 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a spot away from the very busy and noisy Highway 1."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rakaia area.
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionRakaia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RAKAIA RIVER HOLIDAY PARK - Campground Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Rakaia River Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Rakaia River Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Rakaia Salmon Statue (0.6 km) and Salmon World (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rakaia River Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and kids activities.
Is parking available at Rakaia River Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rakaia River Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Salmon Tales Cafe, Little Red Cafe, and Railway Tavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rakaia River Holiday Park?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Rakaia River Holiday Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Rakaia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rakaia River Holiday Park?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Rakaia River Holiday Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.