We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
D826 / C27 Road, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park Namibia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (464)
Room & Suite (177)
Pool & Beach (44)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 14 Speciality lodging in Sossusvlei
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Desert Quiver Camp uniquely combines modern self-catering accommodation with comfort and style. Conveniently located a mere 5km from the entrance gate to Sossusvlei, the inspiring scenery characterised by granite outcrops, spectacular views and roaming wildlife will captivate your senses. The 24 uniquely designed self-catering accommodation units have spacious bedrooms, en-suite bathrooms, shaded patio areas and private parking. Each twin-bedded room features a fold-out sleeper couch to accommodate 2 small children (under 12) free of charge when sharing with 2 full paying adults. The patio is equipped with a barbeque facility, a fitted kitchenette with under counter fridge, 2 plate hob and a wooden bench for seating. Utility boxes with most utensils needed are available at reception and fresh food supplies can be ordered daily. Facilities at the main building include a fully stocked bar with a big screen television, a sparkling swimming pool and 2 communal boma-areas.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Public wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Poolside bar
BBQ facilities
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Clothes rack
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Walk-in shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
349Reviews9Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 224
  • 100
  • 22
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ZA_world wrote a review 27 Sep
Johannesburg, South Africa1185 contributions86 helpful votes
Awesome desert camp experience in modern self-catering chalets, serviced by a reception with bar and pool area. Order braai goodies from the reception for delivery at 6pm each day - try the Oryx steaks!! - as an alternative to the buffet dinners at the Lodge 4km down the road.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Order the braai supplies from the reception for an easy and inexpensive eat-in option
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp
Responded yesterday
Dear ZA_world, Thank you for the superb rating and review! Delighted that you enjoyed our prime location, the modern self-catering units, the fresh food on order service and the delicious Oryx steaks! Looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Sossusvlei! Best wishes, The Desert Quiver Camp Team
Read more
#TravelingWithPieter wrote a review Aug 2021
Antibes, France127 contributions37 helpful votes
+1
On arrival we were greeted with a refreshment at the main lodge, and informed our chalet was already cleaned and available for an early check-in. This gave us an extra afternoon to explore the National Park, a mere 5min drive from the lodge. Fantastic bar & pool area to enjoy after climbing the Namib Dunes. Pre order your braai packs with delivery daily before 18:00. Overall a well run lodge after our disaster of a stay at a near by lodge! Will highly recommend, book in advance like we did! We will return with the Put Foot Rally next year.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp
Responded 23 Aug 2021
Dear Pieter, Thanks so much for the superb rating and recommendation! Delighted that you enjoyed the early check-in, the fantastic bar and pool area as well as the fresh food on order service! Looking forward to see you again with the Rally next year! Best wishes, The Desert Quiver Camp Team
Read more
Seanine v Rensburg wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
We wanted to get away a bit just to clear our mind from all our anxiety and stress this past year has brought. Saw desert Quiver’s special that they are running and thought okay WOW let’s book this. Spoke to the booking agent ( whom we later found out sits in South Africa for some odd reason 😐🤷🏼‍♀️) She told us on mail it’s not necessary to book at all there wil be enough space for us at Desert Quiver. We drive all the way from Swakop arrive there at around 7 at night. The lady at reception says No there is no space at Desert Quiver and sends us to their other camp cause according to her it “looks the same”. We get to the other side and no it does not look like the pictures we saw as we had this idea in our head already. Just to check in took us about and hour and a half. We insisted to sleep at Desert Quiver ( then after insisting they miraculously have space for us again at Desert Quiver wow 🤦🏼‍♀️😐)as the booking agent specifically said there is space. Then this guy who helps us insists we pay upfront-this is after we wanted to book and pay online through the booking agent too but she advised us to pay everything on checkout. Now please keep in mind we had reached our swiping limit for the day ( filling up the car buying groceries for the trip etc) so after an hour and a half of a struggle just to get the keys for our camp I started to get really annoyed as we are tired and hungry. We arrived at the camp so late we could not even cook the food or make a braai. A beautiful evening wasted. Now guys this was a very bad experience for us service wise we were very unhappy. The place is beautiful but we will definitely not be returning. In these Corona times I feel you should cherish each guest but this was definitely not the case.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Dear Seanine, Thank you for the feedback. On the afternoon before arrival Mario contacted our reservations office stating that he is having problems with his card when making payment on our online booking platform and if we can make the booking and he will pay on arrival. Our policy is the same as most other accommodation establishments in Namibia that if full payment is not made prior to arrival, you are welcome to arrive as a walk-in guest to make a booking and payment onsite upon check in. We don’t allow payment on departure and this was never mentioned in the email conversation between Mario and our reservations consultant. We have 2 self-catering establishments with the exact same facilities, Desert Camp and Desert Quiver Camp and due to the impact of the pandemic on our industry we have to carefully manage occupation at both camps due to the fact that we are still forced to run on a low number of staff. Unknowing that your mind was set on Desert Quiver Camp our receptionist suggested Desert Camp on your arrival as we would ideally have an equal amount of guests at both establishments. When you returned and insisted you want to stay at Desert Quiver Camp our team made the booking immediately as we had other guests that were more flexible in regards to which camp they wish to reside in. Once again you experienced trouble with the card payment which is not of our doing. You were checked in by 19:18 within minutes from arrival with ample time to still enjoy a beautiful evening and braai should you have wished to. We do have a smooth online reservation system and successfully process the majority of our bookings this way – online bookings are confirmed instantly on the successful processing of the credit card provided. The fact that your credit card declined due to transaction limit reached was beyond our control and we tried our best to assist accordingly. We do cherish every guest in these difficult times and do apologize that you did not enjoy the experience and beauty of Desert Quiver Camp due to the check-in process. Best wishes, The Desert Quiver Camp Team
Read more
tunabWHK wrote a review Apr 2021
Windhoek, Namibia2 contributions
The staff were friendly and professional. Made us feel welcome and we felt comfortable to approach them for assistance, advise, etc. The pool/bar area is great!. Wifi. Drinks at the bar are ice-cold. The pool was refreshing. The view is amazing, especially at sunset. The rooms were clean and comfy. Appreciated the AC in the heat. Dig the outdoor kitchen and fridge. Plus the braai area. We felt there could have been more shade in the front kitchen area. We threw up a blanket to create more shade. Convenient that we could rent a kitchen kit with cooking utensils, cutlery, dishwashing liquid + sponge, etc. Location is perfect if you want to visit Sossusvlei, Deadvlei, Sesriem canyon, etc. Plus the little store at the Engen petrol station close by is well stocked. I definitely recommend this place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp
Responded 19 Apr 2021
Dear Tuna, Thank you for the excellent recommendation and kind compliments to our staff! Delighted that you enjoyed our perfect location, the comfortable rooms, the self-catering facilities and equipment to rent, the refreshing pool as well as the amazing views at sunset! Looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Sossusvlei! Best wishes, The Desert Quiver Camp Team
Read more
DudesAdrift wrote a review Mar 2021
Dallas, Texas303 contributions59 helpful votes
Located in the middle of gorgeous desert and mountains, the views are spectacular. Miles and miles of hiking and exploring are possible. Nice pool area to cool down, friendly, helpful staff. Nice bar service. Restaurant is nearby. The quality of the room is over the top. Luxurious beds, shower, and spacious rooms. Great wildlife and bird watching location.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for room near pool, if you don't like to walk far.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp
Responded 11 Mar 2021
Dear Dudes Adrift, Thanks so much for the superb rating and review! We are delighted that you loved our spacious rooms, the bar and pool area for relaxing, the most amazing views as well as the friendly service you received from our staff! Looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to our beautiful Namib Desert! Best wishes, The Desert Quiver Camp Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaNamib-Naukluft ParkSossusvlei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Desert Quiver Camp
Which popular attractions are close to Desert Quiver Camp?
Nearby attractions include Dune 45 (4.5 km), Sesriem Canyon (5.3 km), and Sesriem Canyon (5.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Desert Quiver Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Desert Quiver Camp?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Desert Quiver Camp?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, a poolside bar, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Desert Quiver Camp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Desert Quiver Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Desert Quiver Camp?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Desert Quiver Camp have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Desert Quiver Camp accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.