We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rongo Dinner Bed and Breakfast.

Traveller (26)
Dining (39)
Room & Suite (5)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Rongo was a purpose built Maternity Hospital and offers spacious living while giving a feeling of being at home. It is next to the Kahurangi National Park, Oparara Basin, Heaphy Track, airport, shops, bar and cafe. You’ll love it because of our amazing locally grown organic dinners and breakfasts, friendly atmosphere, groovy style, art gallery, yoga classes, fun activities and comfortable beds. Rongo is perfect for couples, solo travellers and groups. Rongo is a great base to explore the many attractions of the Kahurangi National Park, including the Heaphy Track and the Amazing Oparara limestone caves and arches Or take a tour of the Honey Comb Caves and step back in time to when the Giant Moa and the Hasst Eagle Roamed the Land. Rongo Kitchen Sources as much locally grown (and our own home grown using Perma-culture Princples )- Vegetables and fruit also Meat from the wild Kahurangi and locally grown made by our amazing local Boutique Butcher... He does Gluten Free as a Standard.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport transportation
Breakfast Available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Golf Course
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
57Reviews
101Photos
0Q+A
8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 9
  • 2
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Came here for dinner with a party of seven (including two 100 year olds). Paul the host greeted us and made us feel very welcome; staying to chat with us about the history of Rongos and the Oparara Arches. The house is beautiful with art hung everywhere and very comfortable. We
Read more
Response from Paul M, Owner at Rongo Dinner Bed and Breakfast.
Responded 10 Jan 2019
SurfChicken...You STAR!! Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement. We sure love what we do and to hear that our guest have enjoyed our facilities and food is GOLD! Thanks for taking the time to review our services and facilities and come on back again any old time. Regards from Sunny Karamea, Paul and Crew.
Read more
+2
We were on a 2 month trip around our own country. Rongos popped up on my Facebook newsfeed around 3 years ago. I was immediately attracted to what was on offer deciding that if we were ever in Karamea Rongos would be on the itinerary. We were not disappointed. Warm friendly
Read more
Response from Paul M, Owner at Rongo Dinner Bed and Breakfast.
Responded 10 Jan 2019
Hi Christine, Thanks a lot for your review of our services and facilities. We're always working hard to improve and yoru feedback is very helpful. Regards from Sunny Karamea, Paul.
Read more
After walking the Heaphy track, we decided to spend 3 nights just relaxing in Karamea because, well, it looked like an interesting place, and Rondo DBB seemed like our sort of place. It was - and we had a fantastic stay - we could have happily stayed longer. Great people running
Read more
Response from Paul M, Owner at Rongo Dinner Bed and Breakfast.
Responded 8 Apr 2018
Graham, you STAR...Thanks for your kind words and for sharing your thoughts about our place with other travellers. You got everything right, except the name of the business, which is "Rongo" Dinner Bed & Breakfast. "Rongo" means "Peace" in Maori and we hope our facilities enable people to be at peace when they are staying with us enjoying comfortable lodgings, artistic style, exceptional food and friendly service. You're also right that there is a LOT to see and do in the Karamea region and it's good advice to stay a few nights to really explore the many superb scenic attractions Karamea has on offer. Your radio show has been very popular online...it's gone viral! (Over 100 people have listened to it!) Thanks a LOT for coming to stay with is an I hope to see you and Gillian here again sometime soon...Come on back and stay with us again anytime and bring friends!) Regards from Sunny Karamea, Paul and the Rongolians.
Read more
We stayed at Rongo a few months after its conversion from a backpackers hostel to a dinner, bed, and breakfast. This transformation made the place into a must see destination, rather than just a place to sleep. We were blown away by the extensive farm and the incredible dinner
Read more
Response from Paul M, Owner at Rongo Dinner Bed and Breakfast.
Responded 5 Feb 2018
Hi Nina, thank you so much for your kind words and we're really pleased you enjoyed your time with us to prepare for the Heaphy Track. Glad you also like our meals, the art gallery and the ethos of our business...I hope you and Michael had a tremendous time on the Heaphy and enjoy the rest of your Aotearoa Adventure. Please come on back and see us again if you have time before you head home to Alaska. Happy Trails and Fun Times to you both. Regards from Sunny Karamea, Paul and the Rongo Crew.
Read more
Ringo Backpackers is a very nice Lodge; maybe from Hippies very interessting desingd. Very good lunch and breachfast. S nice Place to sleep befor or after the „Great Walk“ with nice People on staff. It was a pleasure for me to stay by you.
Read more
Response from Paul M, Owner at Rongo Dinner Bed and Breakfast.
Responded 8 Nov 2017
Hi Josef, Thanks a lot for your kind words about Rongo and for telling people about your experience there. I'm also glad you enjoyed our meals made from fresh produce from our permaculture farm and other locally sourced produce. Sorry I wasn't there to meet you, but thanks for staying, enjoy the rest of your travels around New Zealand and come on back and stay with us again any time. Regards, Paul Murray.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerDining Room & SuiteFamily and Play Areas
Great times new gardens and laughs with friend's
Great times new gardens and laughs with friend's
Great times new gardens and laughs with friend's
Great times new gardens and laughs with friend's
schön gestaltetes Doppelzimmer mit Lavabo
"Twin and double rooms overlook the courtyard. There is a twin-share option as well as dorms for the budget traveller."
"Purple room was great, dorms looked clean and comfy"
"They're all great rooms with a difference"
"Lovely rooms throughout, you can't go wrong. I stayed at the Green Room and had a wonderful massive wooden bed with a good mattress to myself."
"This is a Backpackers, but you can have an individual room. Possibly quite noisy but is value for money"
PreviousNext
12
PRICE RANGE
US$68 - US$104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rongo Backpackers
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionKaramea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing