We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Cardhu Del Mar

Traveller (44)
Pool & Beach (17)
Dining (13)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Hotelito on the beach, pool, hot water showers, breakfast included, beach bar, restaurant and cafe. 4 suite sized rooms, double occupancy, rooms 1 & 4 have interior seating areas, and room 4 has private walkout. Restaurant/Cafe is open daily 7 AM to 4 PM, for breakfast, lunch, coffee and dessert. Thai style menu with some beach favorites.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Concierge
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Reviews & more
105Reviews
78Photos
6Q+A
23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 10
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is a very honest review after having to chase this hotel down twice to give me information about the email I had sent of my reservation and had no comment about my last email: Very disappointing service. I had placed a deposit to hold guests here for my wedding in December
Read more
Response from Rodrigo M, Owner at El Cardhu Del Mar
Responded 13 Jul 2018
Adriana, I will reiterate our previous email. “We are disappointed that you have decided to change your wedding plans. If the rooms you reserved are rebooked we will happily refund you deposit”. Our agreement was with a non-refundable deposit of $200. In exchange for this non-refundability clause Cardhu agreed to: 1. Block out our entire hotel for 9 nights, $3000.00+ dollars worth of potential revenue for 9 months, from Feb-Oct., 5 of which have already passed. 2. Supply your guests who did reserve a 15% discount on their reservation provided it was booked before Sept. 2018 3. Finally, if all the rooms were booked by Oct/2018 you would receive you deposit back. You canceled your reservation, therefor no refund of deposit will be made, however as I originally stated, and as a gesture of goodwill, should other customers reserve the rooms, I will refund your deposit at that time. Your attempt to malign Cardhu’s reputation via social media and this web site with half truths, mischaracterizations and out right falsehoods is regrettable, especially given you are Nicaraguan and understand the circumstances our employees are currently living under. To be clear: 1. Airlines are still arriving at Managua airport daily, Avianca, Air Mexico, American and United all run daily schedules. 2. Ground transportation from Managua to Las Penitas continues to be offered from several shuttle companies as well as the two private firms Cardhu uses. 3. Cardhu remains open and staffed to tend to our guests, has no intention of closing and continues to honor reservations and cancelations according to the terms of agreement for all our guests. Best Regards Devry Armitage, Owner/Operator, El Cardhu del Mar.
Read more
We just returned home an exquisite week in Las Penitas. El Cardhu Del Mar is a delightful little hotelito that offers everything you could ever need on a vacation. I must admit, we are a "5 star all inclusive" type of couple, but from the time we arrived at the airport, with
Read more
My wife and I stayed at El Cardhu for 3 nights. The staff was outstanding, they made us feel at home right away. We ate at the restaurant 3 times, once for lunch and twice for dinner, all 3 fantastic. Rooms very clean and pool nice to cool down in. Would differently stay they
Read more
+6
We stayed for 3 days. Beautiful clean rooms, excellent friendly staff. Service was outstanding. Beach location is amazing for walking and beautiful sunsets. Owner was very accommodating and the food was outstanding!! We will definitely go back.
Read more
Our first visit to Nicaragua and what a welcome we received. El Cardhu made me feel like a pampered guest in their home. The atmosphere is laid back, the staff is enchanting, the owners are accommodating and the place is beautiful. If I could single out one thing that says
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerPool & BeachDining Room & Suite
Photo provided by managementEl Cardhu Del Mar
Hotel El Cardhu del Mar Playa Las Penitas Beach Leon Nicaragua
Photo provided by managementEl Cardhu Del Mar
3 person occupancy room, single and double bed
Photo provided by managementEl Cardhu Del Mar
3 person occupancy room, double and single bed
Photo provided by managementEl Cardhu Del Mar
View to personal patio room 4
Photo provided by managementEl Cardhu Del Mar
Room 4
PreviousNext
123
Which two rooms share bathroom?
Each of our rooms has its own private bathroom with hot water shower. Cada una de nuestras habitaciones tiene su propio baño privado con ducha de agua caliente.
0 votes
Do the rooms have a safe?
Hi, no the rooms do not have safes. They do have wardrobes with small locks on the doors.
0 votes
Do rooms have a/c ?
Hi there, yes we have AC in all rooms and it is included with the price as is breakfast. Please see elcardhudelmar for availability and pricing. Thanks.
1 vote
Show all answers
I think it is room 4 but I am not sure. Better ask the owners, I am sure they will be more than happy to answer.
0 votes
Is air conditioning available in the rooms?
Yes all rooms have air conditioning which is included in the room rate.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Rooms 1 & 4 are larger than rooms 2 & 3. Room 1 has its own patio and a futon, but room 4 has a full couch and a bit more space."
"Room 1 is very nice and big."
"Room number four is great for couples"
"All four rooms are of equal furnishings and comfort"
"#4 would be best as it's furthest from the road and the truck horns at night."
PreviousNext
12345
PRICE RANGE
US$79 - US$80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NicaraguaLeon DepartmentLas Penitas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing