We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Muri Lagoon View Bungalows

Aroko Drive Up Aroko Rd, 3rd drive on the right, Muri 3050 Cook Islands
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (6)
View from Room (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 2 apartments in Muri
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
5 small self contained bungalows located on the hillside of Aroko, walking distance to Muri Beach. Good value for money, mosquito screened, super king comfortable beds, serviced every 3 days, wifi (additional cost) Moana TV, BBQ and balconies
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
18Reviews5Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 5
  • 5
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
GDS wrote a review May 2023
Auckland, New Zealand76 contributions8 helpful votes
I read a few of the negative comments about the Lagoon View Bungalows and despair at the comments some people will raise when this is clearly not advertised as a high end luxury property - yes you realise that also by the price you pay - and yet they fail to tell you that for a very reasonable rate you get very clean and well presented bungalows which are serviced every 3 days by the most welcoming and pleasant housekeeping team. You absolutely get views of the lagoon which, as clearly stated in the website - is a 10 minute walk to the Muri township. Given it is elevated - there is a driveway up but not (as described by one person) really steep. It is a slight rise for around 100m. As a hotelier myself and having managed 5-star Luxury Properties inn NZ over many years - I can honestly say that this property is value for money, clean, well presented and without doubt - a must stay. We have just spent 7 nights at the bungalows and would highly recommend if staying in Muri. Given all of the high end luxury resorts welcome anyone in - you can save money on your ‘bed for the night’ by staying at the bungalows and spend the money saved on some of the wonderful experiences Rarotonga offers - while still being able to frequent the resorts. My only comment would be to the owners - put a sign on the main road at the bottom of the drive- as one comment was correct in saying, it is difficult to find. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Liana Scott, Owner at Muri Lagoon View Bungalows
Responded 4 Jun 2023
Aw thank you for a lovely review and so pleased you could see the value for money in our property - we will certainly take your advice and see how we can get a sign back on the main road :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
67TravelBug67 wrote a review Sept 2022
Auckland, New Zealand1038 contributions249 helpful votes
+1
MLVB are located on the hillside with a peep of Muri Lagoon. They are extremely difficult to find and I dont recall any instructions provided to assist. I had to stop and ask a few people and ended up going to Muri Beach Club for help as there is no sign on the road. Basically look for a sign that says Aroko Villas, directly opposite that is Aroko Drive, head up that road and almost at the top there is a sigh and the Villas are on your right. No one is there to check you in so look for the villa with your name on it. Villas are good size for 2 people and fully equipped to be self catering. The view from my Villa at the back was a bit disappointing but I think others had a better view. It's only a 5 to 10 min walk into Muri but take a flash light as it's super dark at night. Pack some ear plugs too as there are what sounded like a hundred roosters outside crowing all through the night. Apart that that it's a nice quiet, safe spot.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Julie Morvern wrote a review Sept 2022
Sydney, Australia23 contributions7 helpful votes
Firstly I would like to set straight several mistakes in other reviews. The walk up the hill is NOT steep nor is it a LONG walk. Secondly there is a view through the trees to Muri Lagoon. No it's not on the water, it has Muri Lagoon Views - just like the name says people! Roosters...yes there are roosters, there are roosters everywhere in the Cook Islands. Our name was on the door we walked in and the self contained cottage was spotless and modern. The bed is large, decor is polynesian interesting and new. The kitchen is highly effective with all you need and more. The bathroom was virtually new, well maintained with plenty of products and lovely pressure and hot water. We stayed on a night the Muri Markets were open so we opted not to cook. We walked easily to the markets, about 500 metres soaking up the atmosphere of Rarotonga (walking past many other dinner options and convenience stores and atms), enjoyed looking at huge scurrying crabs, local houses with the ancestors graves, chickens with tiny chicks, friendly dogs. I highly recommend Muri Lagoon View it over delivers, and the hill IS NOT AN ISSUE, thats just nonsense.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: All we saw were fully renovated and accommodation the owners should be proud of
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Irenem wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed at the muri lagoon view bungalows for a week long family holiday. I had one bungalow to myself and my parents had another unit. The units are so well appointed, spacious, clean, modern and super comfortable. Liana the host is incredibly helpful and the cleaners were lovely. I enjoy the flexibility of being able to cater for myself if I want to and the kitchen with large fridge made that really easy. It is a little walk away from Muri town area so you might want to consider some transportation but it's beautifully quiet and has great views. I ended up contracting Covid on my holiday and had to isolate for an extra week at the bungalows. Liana and her team went above and beyond to ensure I could stay in mu unit longer and that I had everything I needed. Incredible place definitely recommend if you want somewhere quiet, private and well appointed
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Fraser C wrote a review Jul 2022
Hastings, New Zealand1 contribution
+1
This place is exceptional for its price point. I stayed in bungalow 3 and it exceeded my expectations. The bungalow was immaculately clean. It was spacious and stylish equipped with a modern bathroom, stylish and practical kitchen, a high-end, 5 star hotel comfortable bed, and plenty of storage space for your clothes and bags. It had a nice view of Muri Lagoon from the balcony, and its location was close to the Muri shops and restaurants just down the hill. The ensuite bathroom came with a plentiful supply of body wash, shampoo and conditioners. The shower was fully tiled with a huge 'rain' shower head and shelving to put body wash. The hand basin was modern and deep, equiped with a huge mirror with lighting. Toilet, modern. The bag storage area was a open plan wardrobe with clothes hangers, shelving, and ironing board. It even had beach towels for swimming. The kitchen was fully equiped with everything you'd need to cook and serve a meal ( pots, plates, cooking utensils etc). It had a full size fridge/freezer for drinks and ice making. The room had aircon, a large screen TV, dining table and chairs for 4, and was equiped with a vodafone hotspot wifi router to stay connected. The balcony had modern seating and a clothesline with pegs. There was also a laundry basin outside the back door. Pros: - Emaculately clean room, modern bathroom, fully equiped kitchen, super comfortable bed, 5 star at a 2 star cost. A must stay Cons: - Could have had more plugs near the bed for electronic devices. - Agoda didn't give me the aircon option when I booked, but I didn't need it. Just be weary when booking through Agoda. - If you unfit, the hill walk to Muri shops may be challenging. I suggest you get a rental car. - car parking could be awkward if other bugalows had rental cars aswell . Overall, an amazing stay. This accommodation was better than some of the other resorts I've stayed at on the island, so I will definitely try to stay here again when I come back to Rarotonga. Thanks Liana for an amazing stay. I hope to come back to your lovely accommodation
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I would recommend getting a rental car for mobility. Purchase a vodaphone hotspot topup voucher...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Charlotte M wrote a review Jan 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand2 contributions
I had booked a bungalow for 7 nights. I only lasted less than an hour after check in! The photos must be very old as the bungalow didn’t look anything like them in real life. The whole place is very run down and definitely in the budget/backpacker category. I was told I’d have to pay an extra $50 per night for air con even though my booking clearly stated that air con was included. I had booked via Agoda so my payment for the 7 nights was non refundable but I honestly would have paid more than that to be able to get away from that place! I ended up finding a place just down the road for the same price but a million times nicer. I’m still having nightmares about the terrible state of the bungalows!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Liana Scott, Owner at Muri Lagoon View Bungalows
Responded 1 Feb 2022
Kia Orana Charlotte, Indeed already we accepted that we were at fault for not having the air conditioning provided immediately on check in. We also offered a complimentary upgrade to another property. At the time of the cancellation which was hour after arrival you stated that the photos were not what you thought it was going to be. I went through those photos of which most were taken from my camera phone and am confident that they a true reflection of our property. Regards, Liana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Taina S wrote a review Feb 2018
Whangarei, New Zealand82 contributions16 helpful votes
our bungalow was great and was exactly what we needed. The bed in Unit 2 was comfortable, the amenities just what we needed. The sign was hard to spot on a dark night when we arrived - and the car parking was limited but we managed to get it sorted. Overall a good place to stay and just up the road from Muri Beach and the Night Markets. Roosters were not as bad as on other parts of the Island - and the dogs likewise.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: everywhere in Raro has roosters - come prepared (earplugs etc)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BE2468 wrote a review Dec 2017
Australia110 contributions90 helpful votes
We stayed here for 7 nights with a large family group and have to say it was a good choice all round. Rarotonga prices can be expensive, so it is good for the budget conscious. With a fully equipped kitchen, you can get a bunch of your own meals' especially breakfast was very handy. It is a short walk up a bit of a hill - take it slowly and its not so bad. Or even better hire a scooter, car or bike. About a 10 minute leisurely walk to the Muri night markets.. The owners were extremely responsive for any little issues that we had and nothing was a problem. The bungalows are cleaned every couple of days. The rooster are noisy, but I don't believe it matters where you stay, you hear and see them everywhere on the island.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
X8771ODhelenb wrote a review Oct 2017
1 contribution
We stayed 6 nights. Bit disappointing by reading about this place then seeing it not that great. I'd call it budget accommodation. Lock on screen door was broken. Dirty curtains. Curtain coming off track. No privacy at kitchen window I had to put up a towel. Not enough equipment in the kitchen. Washing machine wasn't working only could do 1 load of washing. Very old. Not enough parking for all units. Roosters crow from 5am plus a dog next door barks at night. You do need a car really to get around. Muri lovely tho. I'd definitely go back but stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
D J wrote a review Aug 2017
New Zealand28 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed in two of the bungalows after the all night and day crowing of roosters (aren't roosters supposed to crow only at dawn?) drove us out of the first one. The units are fairly spacious. The studio unit was more inviting than the one bedroom unit. We do most of our own cooking and pots and pans we're insufficient , but we were quickly brought two new pots when we mentioned it. We had no car and it was 5-10 walk to Muri town and beach. Rarotonga is nice enough but the roosters and the smoke from the constant and ubiquitous fires are a drag. Next time we will bring a slingshot and put a chicken in the pot.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Muri area.
PRICE RANGE
$149 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsRarotongaMuri
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MURI LAGOON VIEW BUNGALOWS - Apartment Reviews & Price Comparison (Cook Islands) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Muri Lagoon View Bungalows
Which popular attractions are close to Muri Lagoon View Bungalows?
Nearby attractions include Te Vara Nui Village (0.6 km), Muri Lagoon (0.7 km), and Muri Night Market (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Muri Lagoon View Bungalows?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, airport transportation, and shuttle bus service.
Which room amenities are available at Muri Lagoon View Bungalows?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Muri Lagoon View Bungalows?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Muri Lagoon View Bungalows?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Mooring Fish Cafe Rarotonga, Deli-Licious Cafe Limited, and Sandals Restaurant & Barefoot Bar.
Does Muri Lagoon View Bungalows have airport transportation?
Yes, Muri Lagoon View Bungalows offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Muri Lagoon View Bungalows?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wreck of the Matai (6.6 km).