We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maraehako Bay Retreat

23 reviews
Save
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (8)
Pool & Beach (4)
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“on the rocks”(2 reviews)
“outdoor fire”(2 reviews)
“love this place”(2 reviews)
Free Parking
Beachfront
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Spa
Self-Serve Laundry
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (23)Write a Review
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
9
6
1
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
9
6
1
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson the rocksoutdoor firelove this placemaorimodestramshacklenoisebackpackersrubbishguestsmagicownerseanzfishingfacilities
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

This is a very simple retreat built up over time so it might seem a bit ramshackle to some. It is unique and has the charm of the unique. The location is truly stunning. We had a warm welcome and the whole place had a...More

Thank Travellingfar2
Reviewed 1 week ago

We discovered a hidden gem by chance. Our host made us feel welcome even though we didn't book for a bed. The setting is spectacular. The accommodation was comfortable and clean. The kayaking in the bay is really awesome and safe. We really enjoyed our...More

Thank Maaki T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The only thing going for this place is the location and decent WiFi, though it’s $5 per device. Whilst in a beautiful cove, the building itself is horrible. It’s like a barley put together tree house. It’s slapped together. The bunk beds look like they’ve...More

Thank Brittany B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really helpful owner (Pihi) place is rustic with a fantastic view of the sea nestled in old pohutukawa's on the water front. The dining room can get a little crowded at times but overall a great place to chill out

Thank Henare K
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

The title sums it up really and proves you can have some interesting stays if you don't research hotels/guesthouses/B&Bs properly. We booked here expecting a double room with a shared bathroom - shared with another double room we thought. However, the beach resort also has...More

Thank Blitz S
Response from MaraehakoRetreat, Manager at Maraehako Bay RetreatResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, We are sorry that you did not get what you were expecting from our Retreat. We are a Retreat that is aimed at budget accommodation as per our prices. We have two shared bathrooms in our Retreat, and are looking at upgrading these...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Things to do
Hot Tub
Spa
Details
Price range
US$51 - US$61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$51 - US$61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (8)
Pool & Beach (4)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Maraehako Bay Retreat staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Best view for a spa bath, beer and bed"
Read review
"Arrive early"
Read review
"There is mobile reception, take sandfly repellant, take you're own salt, pepper and oil, all cutlery is..."
Read review
"If you like the sea ask for sea view"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing