We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
5/11/2017 6/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Maraehako Bay Retreat

    State Highway 35 | Waihau Bay, Opotiki 3199, New Zealand
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    5/11/20176/11/2017
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Traveller (30)
    Room & Suite (9)
    Pool & Beach (4)
    Overview
    • Excellent61%
    • Very good13%
    • Average0%
    • Poor13%
    • Terrible13%
    Travellers talk about
    “the kitchen” (3 reviews)
    “km” (2 reviews)
    “modest” (2 reviews)
    Free Parking
    Beachfront
    Hot Tub
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Family Rooms
    Spa
    Self-Serve Laundry
    2.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    5 Nov6 Nov
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    View all 0 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (15)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 15 reviews

    Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

    I did not enjoy my stay in this hostel. We stayed here with the Stray Bus company, which I have really enjoyed so far, but I did not like this particular hostel, and most of my fellow travellers felt the same. The blankets we got...More

    Thank Lynn F
    Response from MaraehakoRetreat, Manager at Maraehako Bay RetreatResponded 4 days ago

    I remember you couple that come with stray, all I herd was moans on your holiday from the other travelers, for my Retreat it is keep very clean when gest arrive I show them arround the Retreat and yes it is very tidy , the...More

    Reviewed 16 August 2017

    Very bad experience at Maraehako bay retreat. We called the owner to warn him that we were going to arrive at 9.pm instead of 8.30pm as planned in our booking. So 30min late, on a 8 hours trip during this day. The answer was unacceptable...More

    Thank Alexis S
    Response from MaraehakoRetreat, Manager at Maraehako Bay RetreatResponded 18 August 2017

    I'm sorry the place did not meet your expectations during your stay. Like you mentioned in your comment, we did have a member of the staff up to check you in, but I'm sorry that you felt uncomfortable at the time. We will take your...More

    Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

    The location here can't be beaten. It's secluded and beautiful, and I felt myself beginning to relax before I'd even stepped out of the car. Clean, comfortable facilities and amazing location. Incredible ambience. Awesome outdoor fire. Lying in bed, you can hear the waves breaking...More

    Thank novicekiwitraveller
    Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

    Love this place. Beautiful and peaceful, Awesome for the kids. But can get noisey over Xmas-new year period, with campers aloud to light firecrackers near tents is abit dangerous. But otherwise Friendly staff. A must stay!! Toilets may get abit dirty at busy peak season...More

    Thank matesnz
    Reviewed 15 January 2017

    A very relaxing and friendly place in an extremely quiet location. The view was the best view I've ever had when staying somewhere. I will definitely be going back. It was basic but clean, had everything we needed. The cats gorgeous, and very cheeky as...More

    Thank HJH1968
    Oceanside Apartments
    32 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Waihau Bay
     
    White Island Rendezvous
    344 reviews
    #2 of 12 hotels in Whakatane
     
    Ranui Motel
    4 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Opotiki
     
    Livingston Motel
    195 reviews
    #3 of 12 hotels in Whakatane
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Beachfront
    • Free Parking
    • Spa
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Things to do
    • Hot Tub
    • Spa
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$24 - US$59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 7
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maraehako Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • North Island >
    • Bay of Plenty Region >
    • Opotiki
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (30)
    Room & Suite (9)
    Pool & Beach (4)
    Dining (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (17)
    Nearby
    Oceanside Apartments
    32 reviews
    15.75 km away
     
    Livingston Motel
    195 reviews
    78.82 km away
     
    White Island Rendezvous
    344 reviews
    76.50 km away
     
    Ranui Motel
    4 reviews
    59.23 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Kitchen khaos
    19 reviews
    7.16 km away
    East Cape Manuka Company Cafe
    27 reviews
    48.01 km away
    Hati Nati Cafe
    6 reviews
    51.70 km away
    Two Fish Cafe
    168 reviews
    58.37 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Waiotahi Beach
    40 reviews
    62.21 km away
    East Cape Lighthouse
    226 reviews
    66.03 km away
    Otarawairere Bay
    34 reviews
    74.92 km away
    Ohope Beach
    416 reviews
    75.80 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Maraehako Bay Retreat staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "If you like the sea ask for sea view"
    Read review
    "If less agile, ask if the manager's daughter's room is available. It is a very nice room and next to..."
    Read review
    "Avoid the 6 bed dorm under the house"
    Read review
    "I think would all be great. Very small but a comfy bed was all you really need."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing