We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Opotiki

Maraehako Bay Retreat

16 reviews
Save
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (4)
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good12%
  • Average6%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“ramshackle”(2 reviews)
“km”(2 reviews)
“modest”(2 reviews)
Free Parking
Beachfront
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Spa
Self-Serve Laundry
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (16)Write a Review
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
9
2
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
9
2
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsramshacklekmmodestbackpackersguestsmagichammocksnzfishingseafacilities
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Reading other peoples reviews I got the feeling people expect way too much. I went to Mareahako Bay with very little expectation, this place is basic, it's rural NZ and so is the accomodation. If you're expecting anything flash, you're looking at the wrong place....More

Thank BarendB_B
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

I did not enjoy my stay in this hostel. We stayed here with the Stray Bus company, which I have really enjoyed so far, but I did not like this particular hostel, and most of my fellow travellers felt the same. The blankets we got...More

Thank Lynn F
Response from MaraehakoRetreat, Manager at Maraehako Bay RetreatResponded 20 October 2017

I remember you couple that come with stray, all I herd was moans on your holiday from the other travelers, for my Retreat it is keep very clean when gest arrive I show them arround the Retreat and yes it is very tidy , the...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Very bad experience at Maraehako bay retreat. We called the owner to warn him that we were going to arrive at 9.pm instead of 8.30pm as planned in our booking. So 30min late, on a 8 hours trip during this day. The answer was unacceptable...More

Thank Alexis S
Response from MaraehakoRetreat, Manager at Maraehako Bay RetreatResponded 18 August 2017

I'm sorry the place did not meet your expectations during your stay. Like you mentioned in your comment, we did have a member of the staff up to check you in, but I'm sorry that you felt uncomfortable at the time. We will take your...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

The location here can't be beaten. It's secluded and beautiful, and I felt myself beginning to relax before I'd even stepped out of the car. Clean, comfortable facilities and amazing location. Incredible ambience. Awesome outdoor fire. Lying in bed, you can hear the waves breaking...More

Thank novicekiwitraveller
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Love this place. Beautiful and peaceful, Awesome for the kids. But can get noisey over Xmas-new year period, with campers aloud to light firecrackers near tents is abit dangerous. But otherwise Friendly staff. A must stay!! Toilets may get abit dirty at busy peak season...More

Thank matesnz
PreviousNext
1234
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (4)
Dining (3)
Hotel & Grounds (17)
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Things to do
Hot Tub
Spa
Details
Price range
US$47 - US$57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$47 - US$57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite