We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg

Traveller (111)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (4)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Hotel Sonnenberg in Kriens offers a panoramic view over Lake Lucerne, the mountains and the forest. The rooms are all equipped with wooden floors, a coffee machine , TV, free mineral water and free Wi-Fi access. The Hotel Sonnenberg is easily reachable by the historic funicular, climbing up from Kriens within 7 minutes and operates from April to November. You can park your car for free on our big parking lot. The hotel provides a panorama restaurant with an amazing view over Lucerne and the mountains, where seasonal and regional dishes are served. The restaurant is open from 8 am to 11 pm from Tuesday to Saturday and from 8 am to 6 pm on Sunday. It is closed on Mondays. A lot of hiking trails surround the hotel as well as a miniature golf course and a playground on site.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference Facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
HOTEL CLASS
129Reviews
140Photos
5Q+A
18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 60
  • 48
  • 14
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Decent food and a great wine list were the gravy to a overwhelming view from Sonnenberg. Best would be to go there in warm weather so that you can enjoy the great terrace. There is ample parking space and the environment is calling for a digestion walk after lunch.
Read more
Very kind and friendly welcome and relaxed atmosphere for couples or families. Good morning today after the party of the new year...it was a perfect stay and a nice location with view of Luzern and mountains and a good breakfast!
Read more
The view is breathtaking and the staff really nice. The bedrooms are confortable and very clean. As it is up in the mountains, there is no noisy! We didn’t get to know the restaurant as it closes on Mondays, but breakfast is delicious! Right next to it there is a funicular that
Read more
Response from Manuela E, Leiter Front Office at Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
Responded 29 Oct 2018
Hi Tati Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you soon! Best regards
Read more
We stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks back and LOVED it; couldn't recommend it further. The room was large bright and airy, we had a balcony with stunning 360 views of Kriens, with the sweeping landscape and valleys. We did see some of the other rooms were a little smaller /
Read more
Response from Manuela E, Leiter Front Office at Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
Responded 29 Oct 2018
Thank you very much!
Read more
A nice sized, modern room. Good water pressure, consistent water temperature, nice bedding, ample electric outlets, and plenty of room for your luggage and stuff. Other than the lack of an elevator, we would have liked this hotel in September. Unfortunately, we were here in
Read more
Response from Manuela E, Leiter Front Office at Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
Responded 29 Aug 2018
Dear DG Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate, that you liked the Hotel Sonnenberg. Unfortunately we do not have Aircondition, it's also marked on every booking-plattform that we are NOT equipped with. We are very sorry, that you visited Switzerland when it was hot and sunny - in a Hotel outside the city with a great panoramic view. Due to climate-friendly laws in Switzerland, it's forbidden to chill a room to a temperature more than 6 (six) degrees lower than the outside temperature. So also with AC, the temperature in the night won't be much colder than it was. As the morning manager told you, we do not have mosquitos in Switzerland, we call them midges. Mosquitos can transmit a number of serious diseases including malaria and Encephalitis, first we do not have any of this diseases in switzerland, second the midges we have in Switzerland are much smaller than the well know mosquitos from other regions more south. But: we are sorry that you had a not so good night and well discuss some improvements, to help you Sleep without a midges-bite the next time when you come. I hope this answer finds you well and i look forward to see you again.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementHotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
Aussicht vom Balkon
PreviousNext
1234568
The train station is in the town whereas Sonnenberg is quite high up in the surrounding hills. You would need to get a taxi or a lift from a friend, otherwise it would be a steep walk.
0 votes
We stayed in a double room with our own private bathroom. Not sure about single rooms. Lots to see & do in Austria, especially visiting the scenes from the "Sound of Music". We did lots of walking to sight see the parks and along the river. Just beautiful. We were there for 2 nights. Breakfast was included in our price and it was lovely & plentiful. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Would recommend this B & B.
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you have a single room with two separate beds?
Hi, we have double rooms with two separate beds... A single room has one bed. Best regards from Switzerland!
0 votes
Bonjour, les chiens sont ils acceptés svp, merci
Oui, chez le hotel-restaurant Sonnenberg les chiens sont acceptés. Cordialement, Ron Prêtre, Welcome Desk
0 votes
"Always request a room with a view, en-suite and balcony if available!"
"ask for rooms with family and views.. and count on extras you need to pay.."
"Room 27 has a deck"
"Ask for a room with a view or get a view of the side street...."
"Be sure to choose a room with a shower/bathroom or otherwise you may be given one with a shared bathroom"
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of LucerneLucerneKriens
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing