Ruhunu Safari Camping
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ruhunu Safari Camping

Traveller (331)
Dining in the jungle
Dining (42)
Tusker Tent (interior)
Room & Suite (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 9 campsites in Tissamaharama
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Ruhunu Safari Camping operates two luxury tented safari camps in Sri Lanka. Established in 2009, we run premium safaris in Yala National Park which has the highest concentration of leopards per square kilometre in the world & Udawalawe National Park which has Sri Lanka's largest population of Asian elephants. Our specialist guides & trackers speak several languages & have an in depth knowledge of the mammals, birds, reptiles & insects found in Sri Lanka to give guests a memorable wild life experience. We also offer our guests a number of other exciting tours such as birding at Bundala National Park, an internationally important wintering ground for migratory water birds and famed for its large flocks of flamingoes. Our luxury tented camp surrounded by lush tropical jungle provides our guests with an hotel standard of accommodation . The cuisine is a combination of European & Sri Lankan dishes from locally grown organic crops. Our guest experience evokes a bygone age combining luxury & adventure.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Public wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Yala Rd, Tissamaharama 82600 Sri Lanka
181Reviews1Q+A23Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 150
  • 21
  • 4
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Diplogirl wrote a review Jun 2015
Washington DC, District of Columbia84 contributions139 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I enjoyed the two night glamping trip with Ruhunu, spotting 4 leopards, several elephants--including a tusker--and a host of water buffalo and monkeys. As it is was the low season, we had the campsite to ourselves.

From booking to drop off the service was prompt and professional. I want to personally thank Chamara for the fantastic service, who waited on us for our meals We will note that we were expected to do one full-day safari on our full day, although Ruhunu's website stated that we would do two safaris. We were not keen on the idea of a full day in the sun on a bumpy truck and instead asked to do the originally planned two safaris. We were happy with our choice as leopard and other animal sightings usually happen in the mornings or evenings.

The camp was spacious and we enjoyed the solar shower and ensuite bathroom. It was really, hot, however, and it would be great to find a way to improve air circulation in the room at night.

Food was tasty--we enjoyed the Sri Lankan specialties, especially the chicken for lunch on the second day. I understand the owner's mother makes a lot of the dishes, and we appreciated the home cooking. The alcohol selection includes beer and whatever bottle of wine they happen to have, which in my case was red. If you would like to have a certain type of wine, best to request it in advance or bring it yourself. After the evening safari the staff will serve a cocktail hour before dinner, sometimes by the fire or a quiet place to look at the stars. Well done.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
karen D wrote a review Apr 2016
100 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here with two of my children and we had an amazing time. The staff went out of their way to ensure our experience there was the best.
There was plentiful, beautifully cooked food and the tents were very comfortable. It was a little hot in the afternoons, but I think I'm a little soft (and overly used to air conditioning).
The camp is conveniently located close to the entrance of the park, giving easy access for the daily safaris.
The only down side was the long wait in the morning at the National Park office to get the daily permits to enter the park. I know they are working on a better system to avoid the delays.
The safari experience was fantastic. So many birds and animals. It really was amazing.
Our whole visit was really great. I am particularly happy to support a business that seeks to benefit the local community with sourcing local produce and expertise.
I really hope we can return soon!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SimonCharlesNapier, Owner at Ruhunu Safari Camping
Responded 2 Jun 2016
Hi Karan, Thanks for your review & we're glad that you had a good time. We agree with you that the wait at the Yala National Park office can be a drag sometimes & we've implemented the system we mentioned to you when we were in camp together so now it's NO MORE WAITING just more time in the park watching wildlife. Come back again soon. Thanks Simon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
R S wrote a review Nov 2014
London, United Kingdom25 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We travelled from London with a few friends on a short trip to Sri Lanka.
These guys gave a us an unforgettable experience even though it was a just for a night. The guide knew his stuff and guided us to seeing a few leopards chasing monkeys!
The Jeep was comfortable as it can be on those conditions and had good viewing points. Some of the lads were pretty much beginners to Sri Lankan food and enjoyed what they served.The highlight of the trip was definitely the leopards and we will next time for sure stay more than just one night. Will certainly see yala with Ruhunu Safari again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graycieon P wrote a review Sept 2020
Welisara, Sri Lanka8 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked three rooms for 07 guests for today (05th September 2020), I tried to contact them from yesterday morning to check the situation, their phones were ringing but nobody answered. Their website is also not functioning. I had to undergo severe difficulties to find a place for them. Such a third class act.

Not anyway professional as mentioning in the telephone answering machine.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maree C wrote a review Apr 2014
Brisbane, Australia13 contributions21 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My friends and I recently booked a 2-night stay with Ruhunu after doing A LOT of research on safari camping in Yala.

I'd like to start by saying that all the staff that worked at the camp site, including our guides, were lovely and very helpful and we thank them for a lovely experience. We were also extremely fortunate and saw a leopard!!!

However, when you're paying nearly AUD$700 for 2 nights, you expect a little more bang for your buck. There were definitely a few discrepancies in reality from what we had read on the website prior to booking.

1. We did do 4 game drives however, the first game drive on day 1 and the last drive on day 3 were to the same area ("block 3") which contains very little to be seen. There are a few deer and water buffalo, perhaps a lizard or two, but the real action is in "block 1". So while this company boasts more game drives than its competitors, it's a little misleading as you don't actually enter any area of the national park that requires ticketing on the first and last drive. The track actually felt a little like it had been bulldozed and used solely by Ruhunu as there were no other cars to be seen on either of the two drives.

2. On our first game drive our car became bogged which was quite funny however, it became apparent quite quickly that neither of the two cars on the drive had any kind of towing equipment. This incident (to cut a long story short) resulted in us making it back to camp quite late in the evening after we were all buggered from what had been a looooong afternoon! Luckily the second car was there to take us all "directly" back to camp!

3. The campsite itself is quite simplistic. There is no electricity so make sure you take all your devices fully charged with backup camera batteries if necessary. The tents and beds were comfortable but very basic and not the luxury the website makes them out to be. There is a cold water shower and a port-a-potty which were fine. Upon arrival, there were no tents erected so we had no choice but to cart our luggage with us on the first afternoon's game drive which proved a small hassle when we got bogged and had to transfer everything to the other vehicle already containing the other camper's gear. The tents etc are clearly not permanently in place. Perhaps there's a good reason for this but we were a little surprised when we arrived to the campsite...

4. The food was also a little average on the whole. The first day we arrived, we made the long (and almost death-defying - watch the sharp sticks along the bumpy dirt track just waiting to take an eye out!) trek to the campsite and were greeted with a very nice meal! We assumed this was a sign of things to come - we were mistaken. Breakfast the following morning occurred during the game drive to Block 1, not at the campsite as the website states. Breakfast consisted of a jam sandwich on slightly stale bread, a banana, hard boiled egg and juice/water/milo. Lunch was the same thing with some leftovers included from the previous evening's meal. The website states that breakfast is "Sri Lankan or western breakfast". This wasn't the case. It also states that lunch is "Sri Lankan boiled rice and curry with spicy Chicken/ Beef/ Pork with freshly prepared salads." Except for the first day, this also wasn't the case. Other than beer and water back at camp, there was also nothing else to drink. The website states there are unlimited supplies of juice, water, beer and wine. As a non-beer drinker, it didn't leave me with many choices and I felt a little robbed of my 700 hard-earned dollars. Finally - there was no "roaring log fire" on either night we stayed and the photos of the campsite on the website don't appear to match anything we saw. Perhaps the campsite has moved since those photos were taken and new ones haven't been taken. There was definitely no stream.

5. The site also states that you will have a guide with you on each game drive. This wasn't the case for us. We had a guide during our visits to Block 3, BUT we had NO GUIDE during our full day safari to Block 1 where all the wildlife is!!! In fact, OUR car never had a guide at all! The guide rode in the other car on the two occasions when he did come out. That was definitely disappointing as it was evident that the guide had a lot of knowledge that he had shared with the other group of campers.

6. DO NOT book a 1 night stay as the gentleman who did that on our group only experienced 2 trips to Block 3. You'd be better off staying home and watching a David Attenborough wildlife documentary than doing the trek to Block 3! You're much better off paying the extra cash to spend 2 nights and do a full-day trip to Block 1. At least you get *some* sort of value for money in the event you spot a leopard (which are extremely rare and you're more than likely NOT going to see one FYI. The guides stated that they see one on average around 10 times per month.). Also - if you DO stay 2 nights, lunch is NOT served back at the campsite as the website clearly states. Instead, it is served by a lovely stream visited by a number of other vehicles during the day. We had a 2.5hr stop here which was nice but again, not in line with our expectations. Having said that, Block 1 is so far away from the campsite and down a death-defying dirt track that there's no way any of us wanted to drive back for lunch only to return in the afternoon for the next game drive. We were happy to stay out but it's important to note.

7. If you have any kind of back problems, this is not the trip for you. The roads can be extremely bumpy and the days are very long. Block 1 is definitely worth it but Block 3 is not.

8. The park is very busy with a ton of tour cars from early on in the morning and the roads are made of dirt. I recommend some sort of cloth to cover your face and even a bag or something to keep the dust out of your belongings - especially if you have any expensive camera equipment etc. It was very hot during the day also so plenty of sunscreen and a hat is a must even though there is a canopy on the car.

Personally - if I were to do this trip again, I'd try and find accommodation in a hotel etc close to Block 1 and book a full day safari tour separately through a local company. I think this would make things much more affordable and you'd achieve/see just as much. I would only go this option again if the price was brought in line with the service provided.

Thanks again to the staff that really were nice guys and we were definitely thrilled by our leopard spotting.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam wrote a review Aug 2018
Melbourne, Australia31 contributions57 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The only good thing about this place was the staff. Especially Dinesh. Dinesh was amazing at spotting wildlife! We saw 3 leopards in one day. You should hire him even if you don't stay here - check out his insta dinesh_dream_hunter
This place could be so much better or they need to make the cost $US200 per night. It was the most expensive accommodation we had in Sri Lanka and one of the worst.
For US$500 per night we expected a lot more than we got.
The main problems were:
- no air-con for a whole night (power kept going on and off the second night)
- one morning we had a trickle of water for a shower
- no glasses or enough water in the tents
- air-con drips inside creating a pool of water at the door to the bathroom
- we were out in a tent that was not fully furnished (we were told that it wasn't finished yet) even though this was the one the the owner Simon (who lives in Singapore recommended we book months prior)
It's also quite miss leading, if you are used to African safaris where you actually stay in the national park you may be disappointed that you are not in the NP and you have option to do night spotlighting (when the majority of animals are active) and that you have to drive quite far to enter the National Park. Just a massive let down overall, maybe the owners haven't visited in a while or they have other things they are focused on.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go to another place!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SimonCharlesNapier, Owner at Ruhunu Safari Camping
Responded 20 Aug 2018
Thanks for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your safaris with Dinesh as your guide & you saw 3 leopards. Dinesh is a great guide & along with the rest of our staff is very attentive of guest needs & we're pleased you enjoyed your time with Dinesh & the rest of our staff. We always appreciate candid feedback & sometimes things don't go to plan especially when operating a safari camp in a remote rural setting in south Sri Lanka. We allocated one of our Tusker tents on the edge of camp because you requested this. The air-con failed during the night because a frog or lizard (we're not sure which) got into the air-con unit seeking water (the condensate from the air-con process) to drink & keep cool, however, in doing so this shorted the air-con & resulted in the power failure to your tent's air-con & water pump (hence the lower water pressure) until we got it fixed. We moved you to another tent the next day. We are a safari camp surrounded by jungle with many animals in it & sometimes they cause us humans problems such as shorting the power supply causing loss of air-con & lower water pressure. The power failure only happened to your tent but that's no consolation to you. We supply bottled water & glasses to each tent. If this is not enough guests request more & we're always happy to top up the supply if requested.. You're quite right that African safaris are different from the Sri Lankan experience. Different, ecosystems, different habitat, different animals, birds, insects etc. Even within Africa there is a huge diversity of habitats & game so it's absolutely true that Sri Lanka is different from the African experience. Similarly national park rules are different in Sri Lanka from many of the national parks in Africa. Yala national park authorities do not allow camping inside the park (they used to but it was prohibited several years ago because it stressed the animals in the national park). Our camp is on the border of the national park & is situated in 10 acres of jungle with wild life abounding around the camp. Udawalawe national park (where we have another safari camp) has different rules so we're allowed to camp deep in the jungle of the national park. Isuru & I are owners. Isuru visits the camp every day (not necessarily when guests are in camp) & often stays over night. I visit very regularily so we are both very hands on & ever present. We have great faith in our staff to work effectively & give guests a great experience as you kindly mentioned in your review. We're sorry you did not enjoy your overall experience but I hope this reply has been helpful
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kimberly p wrote a review Jan 2018
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia10 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I read all the reviews before booking and thought I had made a great choice, but I was 100% wrong!!! and here's why:

1- No hot water, so a day out in a jeep getting all dirty and all I wanted when I got back to the tent was a nice warm hot shower as it was getting a bit cool when we got there. No hot water. (for $1000AUD we expected at least a half decent hot shower) It got a bit cool there and water is ice.

2- Bed was horrible... I booked 7 months in advance I felt like I got the shittest tent in the complex. The bed was 2 single 5inch foam mattress pushed together with one very used pillow, a sheet. It was the worst sleep I have had in years. The dirt floor would have been more comfortable.

3- The food was horrible, watery curry with no spice, breakfast was cold toast, horrible chicken sausage and scrambled eggs which came out right at the end of breakfast oh and dry milk rice (yuck).

4- When we got to the destination on the side of the road, we were pushed into a very old Indian jeep with no explanation as to what was happening. When we got to the camp not one staff member introduced themselves or explained what was going to happen we just sat there and they talked to explained everything to all the families. It felt like we were just not there and they didn't give us a second thought.

5- The Early morning safari trip was not worth the extremely early start. They told us to be at the main tent at 4 am and no one was there. we sat waiting until 4.45am until they started to load us in the safari trucks. Only served tea and coffee before the safari great for someone who doesn't drink either, no juice available.

6- We also got the oldest 4wd truck, no suspension at all and it couldn't go over 10km per hours, we were getting overtaken by everyone so they meant all we did see was dust. We were covered in dirt (and no hot water to clean). Since the 4wd was so slow we covered a tiny little part of the park and the next day did the same track over again.

7- There were 4 families at the camp on the night we stayed and there are only 3 sets of couches to sit and relax the families pretty much took them over and left all their stuff there so no one could sit when they weren't there. so had to sit at the dinner table to relax. (not relaxing)

8- No one saw us off in the morning. One staff member at breakfast asked us how many minutes until we are ready to leave (just sat down to breakfast) so we said 30mins quickly eat a couple of bites of a gross breakfast got ready, had no shower and went right to the main tent. Again no one there we sat there again waiting and no one talking to us about what is going on. We waited there for 35mins until finally, a truck arrived and we ourselves took it upon ourselves to get our suitcase and our selves in the truck and back to the road. No one asked us how was your stay, sleep, safari nothing, no said nothing just looked at us every now and then.

We paid almost $1000 AUD for one night and I wish we never went, it put a really bad taste for the rest of the day, we were tired, dirty and ripped off BIG TIME!!!!!

If that was glamping I did it better as a kid in my own backyard... Seriously Don't book at this place. IT isn't worth a cent!!!!!!! Don't get ripped off and upset like us. We felt like idoits for going and wish we could have stayed at a regular hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't book here. Rip off...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SimonCharlesNapier, Owner at Ruhunu Safari Camping
Responded 4 Jan 2018
We’re sorry that you did not enjoy your time in camp. You said in your post you checked our TripAdvisor reviews before booking & 86% of our reviews are Excellent & 96% are Excellent/Very Good. We’ve worked over the last 8 years to create a beautiful safari experience which almost everyone loves…..but that does not mean we can’t improve. Clearly we didn’t impress you & we will learn from your criticisms You booked with us about 7 months ago & our Tusker tent, which everyone loves, was not complete so we could not offer it to you when you booked but it is now available. It is our most luxurious tent & has air-conditioning, fans, hot water, a large relaxation area & a large modern bathroom. We are building more of them in order to improve our quality standards. You stayed in one of our large air-conditioned tents. Our staff checked the beds & bed linen in your tent & all was freshly laundered & in good order before you arrived. Most guests prefer a cool shower after a safari followed by a cold drink but we appreciate not all guests are the same & we are adding hot water to all our Luxury tents. We’re sorry you didn’t like our food & if you had mentioned this at the time we would have tried our best to cook you something you would prefer. Our staff spent time with you explaining the operation of the safari camp, how our camp operates, times of meals, times of safaris etc etc & if you wanted more time with them they would have been happy to talk but they have to divide their time between all of our guests. We appreciate they were much in demand but Christmas/New Year is a very busy time. Our jeeps are safari jeeps & built for tough terrain. They are not like the 4x4’s you see in cities which are driven on city roads. The safari trails in the national park are not paved & when you are deep in the bush looking for game you need a tough 4WD drive vehicle not something that gets stuck. Thanks for your post which we will learn from & improve but please bear in mind we are a safari camp in rural Sri Lanka not a city hotel. Simon & Isuru
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveller G wrote a review Jul 2019
Cambridge, United Kingdom13 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were greeted by very welcoming and friendly hosts at the camp. From then, the trip only got better!! The staff here were so lovely to us and we couldn’t have asked for a better experience - delicious food, good fun and great chats! The game drives were amazing - we saw so many elephants and leopards and had the best fun. An experience we’ll never forget.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruhunu S, Owner at Ruhunu Safari Camping
Responded 29 Jul 2019
Thanks for your very kind review. We're pleased you had a great time. Simon & Isuru
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate L wrote a review Mar 2019
Melbourne, Australia28 contributions22 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me preface this with saying how much we loved Sri Lanka and it's beautiful people.

We were 2 families travelling around Sri Lanka and chose this 'Luxury' Safari camping as it sold well on the 'bestoflanka' website. It was overpriced for what it was at US$370 pp/night, and run by people who didn't really seem to care much for those that were only there for one night. For our safaris we were given a young driver who not only didn't know the National Park well, he also didn't know how to drive well! Just a little bit frightening. He was meant to be our guide as well as our driver but he couldn't speak a word of English, which was quite important as we didn't speak Sri Lankan. I'm also not sure how the driver is meant to be the 'animal spotter', guide and stay safely on the track all at the same time. With much insistence we were given an additional local who turned out to be very good. Unfortunately we were given the dump of the 4WDs and it died before we made it back to the safari camp and had to walk in. We did laugh and felt safer walking than in the car.

We didn't get to see a leopard but we weren't really expecting to as very few people who visit Yala have this privilege. There's a lot of driving for not much spotting, except for birds and black faced monkeys.

The food at the camp was very disappointing and unfortunately 2 of our group ate the chicken which had been sitting out and spent the next 12hrs quite ill and unable to leave the tent. We were only offered one beer to share at dinner and there was little free flowing.

There is WIFI at the camp site and the manager was very reluctant to turn it on for us... he tried telling us it didn't work well so not worth it. We kindly asked again and when he turned it on it worked brilliantly.

I'm sorry to give such a negative review however we did have quite a negative experience. What should have been the highlight of our trip, was the one place we couldn't wait to get out of. However as I said at the beginning, we absolutely loved Sri Lanka all that went with it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Tent was very comfortable and clean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruhunu S, Owner at Ruhunu Safari Camping
Responded 21 Mar 2019
Hi, thanks for your review & we're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You have mentioned a number of problems & I will try my best to answer them. Firstly you mention the price is high. You booked through a travel agent & all travel agents charge guests a higher price because that is their business. We did not receive anywhere near the amount you mention. It is the same with all holidays you book when you use a travel agent anywhere in the world. This is normal. Our drivers are all well trained & they know the national park, the wildlife & the roads very well. The problem is that the roads are natural dirt tracks & therefore very bumpy some times of the year. I'm sure you would agree that if the national park authority covered the roads in tarmac or concrete it would diminish the safari experience. We're pleased that you found our guide to be very good. I'm sorry you did not see a leopard which is unlucky but as you say it is a privilege to see one of these beautiful big cats in the wild. Yala is actually one of the best national parks in the world to see leopards but I think that you were unfortunate not to see one. I'm sorry about that. As you can see from almost all out TripAdvisor reviews guests usually love our food which is authentic south Sri Lankan cuisine & I wish we could have given you something you truly enjoyed. Yes our wifi works well but if many people in camp are using it the down load speed can slow because we are situated far from the nearest village with good internet. We wish we could have made your stay with us a much better & more enjoyable experience. Simon & Isuru
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margot H wrote a review May 2018
Sydney, Australia9 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 2 nights at Ruhunu Safari Camp and loved every minute of it. The campsites and communal dining area are beautiful, the food was wonderful, the staff were great and our guide Dinesh was fantastic ... very knowledgable and passionate about the wildlife. We saw so much wildlife, and were very lucky to see leopards on both days, as well as elephants, deer, buffalo, monkeys, mongoose, wild boars, monitor lizards and so many bird species. It was a wonderful, fun and relaxing experience. Out in the bush, in a comfortable tent, eating great food, with wildlife noises all around is my idea of perfect wildlife camping. I highly recommend them.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SimonCharlesNapier, Owner at Ruhunu Safari Camping
Responded 24 May 2018
Thanks Margot for a great review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team really appreciate your kind comments. Simon & Isuru
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tissamaharama area.
PRICE RANGE
$1,052 - $1,057 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceTissamaharama
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RUHUNU SAFARI CAMPING - Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (Tissamaharama, Sri Lanka) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ruhunu Safari Camping
Which popular attractions are close to Ruhunu Safari Camping?
Nearby attractions include Yala national park (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ruhunu Safari Camping?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Ruhunu Safari Camping?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ruhunu Safari Camping?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
All Tissamaharama HotelsTissamaharama Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TissamaharamaHotels near Ruhunu Safari Camping
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire